Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2018 pt3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

United scouts are at the Molde game watching Alf Inge Haland's son, he's a 17 year old striker. They have him on their radar for a while.

Glad Alfie was keeping busy while he was on his "break" 17 years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Lord TSC wrote: »
    I'm in America, a fact boards.ie seems to have taken very personally and has decided to make itseLi as difficult as possible to post on :/

Stop posting fake news. :):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,308 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

Lithium93_ wrote: »
    So is Tescoed the new thing replacing Zerking it?

Tesco tends to zerk tesco by the looks of it

Or

Im just still as confuaed and havent caught up with the lot of ye

Daily Star: "Bayern are targeting a move for Martial".

Martial needs to stay a season and fight for that place from sanchez. If he's the footballer we all believe he is himself and sanchez fighting each other for that spot would be brilliant.

If not sell him off for 70 odd million.
    Been discussed here a plenty about how good the guy can/will be.
    Stay a season and show us and get your spot in the team back.
    Every united fan is rooting for ya to do it

Ajax lining up Daley Blind,this story was around previously but it seems to be getting some more traction now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Ajax lining up Daley Blind,this story was around previously but it seems to be getting some more traction now.

This is the type of player I'd be more disappointed if they were at the club next season.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,452 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Decent insight into Fred, Gilberto was on TV for the WC somewhere last night and was talking about him.. very long to quote so will just post the link

https://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/fred-ideal-new-manchester-united-12830236

He asked United to provide a teacher instead of a Translator which bodes well in itself, good mentality showing already

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

Happy Monday you bunch, hope all you girls and boys are doing well.

So i see the Bonucci links are getting mentioned a bit in the press with Milan under FFP problems. Got me thinking have we ever had an Italian international at the club??? I know we've had Giuliano Mariana, Massimo Taibi, Giuseppe Rossi and Federico Macheda but don't think anyone of them full blown internationals at any time during their United days...

Have i missed anyone??

Lord TeSCo out in 'Merica.. were you part of Rooneys welcoming party in DC...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,867 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

brinty wrote: »

So i see the Bonucci links are getting mentioned a bit in the press with Milan under FFP problems. Got me thinking have we ever had an Italian international at the club??? I know we've had Giuliano Mariana, Massimo Taibi, Giuseppe Rossi and Federico Macheda but don't think anyone of them full blown internationals at any time during their United days...

Have i missed anyone??

Darmian.....

pjohnson wrote: »
    Darmian.....

You were too quick for me lol.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,452 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Goalkeeper cover, must be sending the lads on loan and/or selling Johnstone

https://twitter.com/craignorwood/status/1013682916918951937?s=21

Bonucci to PSG the rumours going around now..

https://twitter.com/footballitalia/status/1013556993351671808?s=21

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

pjohnson wrote: »
    Darmian.....
    jayo26 wrote: »
    You were too quick for me lol.

Jesus above I'm a total flunkin idiot...
    Sorry folks...

Let the hate lose on me ;)

astradave wrote: »
    Decent insight into Fred, Gilberto was on TV for the WC somewhere last night and was talking about him.. very long to quote so will just post the link

https://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/fred-ideal-new-manchester-united-12830236

He asked United to provide a teacher instead of a Translator which bodes well in itself, good mentality showing already

Good reading and looks like fred is comitted to do well here.
    Gilberto was some awesome also

brinty wrote: »

Have i missed anyone??

To be fair, no one will hold it against you for missing Darmien. If it wasnt for the milan reports, i'd forget we had him as well

AidoEirE wrote: »
    To be fair, no one will hold it against you for missing Darmien. If it wasnt for the milan reports, i'd forget we had him as well

You possibly did as he is linked with Juve :D

I think that sums up Darmian really, his time here could mostly be described as "forgotten". So many of his appearances were just a 5 or 6 outta 10. He never really made a huge error but he never really put in a MOTM performance or did something amazing either. So many times I'd tune in late to watch a game and I'd figure out 10/11 of the starting team and it'd nearly always be Darmian who was the eleventh and I'd only realise after about 20mins watching.

A certain red top is claiming that Adrien Rabiot's agent has met with representatives from United, Juventus and City.

ohh i wonder much his new contract will be worth at psg?

Not a hope!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,955 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Just seen from 11 shots faced in the World cup De Gea let in 10 that is mental ,
    I know a lot where peno's but still for him that's very very poor,

Just seen from 11 shots faced in the World cup De Gea let in 10 that is mental ,

Whereas Courtois only conceded 2 goals. I think Madrid should bid for Courtois instead.

giphy.gif

Tbh some keepers are just better at Penalty saves than others. Take Mignolet for instance, he has a pretty decent record at Penalties, miles better than DeGea, but he is so far behind DeGea as a keeper it’s unreal..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,955 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Tbh some keepers are just better at Penalty saves than others. Take Mignolet for instance, he has a pretty decent record at Penalties, miles better than DeGea, but he is so far behind DeGea as a keeper it’s unreal..
    That is very true , the most surprising thing for me was De Gea's passing it was absolutely woeful in all matched, Is it that bad for United and no one notices due to the world class save after world class save  ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,199 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

Wouldn’t be too worried about Spanish Dave & penalties. Last season we only conceded two.

That is very true , the most surprising thing for me was De Gea's passing it was absolutely woeful in all matched, Is it that bad for United and no one notices due to the world class save after world class save  ?

His long distribution is very good, can pin point a pass from 40/50 yards easily, he wouldn’t be woeful playing out but it depends on the defence too and the pressing or tactical awareness of the opposition, when the opposition is not pressing or not cutting off the spaces he is grand and it’s not really noticed as he can be a yard or 2 off with the pass and you or I wouldn’t be any wiser as the defender can take the ball easily, when the press or lanes are cut off that tiny margin for error is more noticeable..

He lets himself down when he is under pressure with the ball at his feet too.. but that also depends on the defenders getting into a position that he can comfortably make a pass to them..

In saying all that now, I still wouldn’t swap him for any keeper in the world at the moment.. he’s unreal!

Also look what LVG did for Holland hooking Cillessen for Krul seconds before the shootout and Krul saved 2 (3?) penalties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

Found out something interesting with DDG (well for me).

Total record is 44 penalties 11 saves (not taking shoot-outs)

6 of those 11 saves came during his time at Atletico (2009 to 2011).
    While at Atletico he had a record of 6 saves from 15 penalties. (40%)

So since joining us he has 5 saves in 29 attempts. (17%)

Penalties involve a perfect mixture of luck and timing but it's interesting how different the stats are to me. While at Atletico it was similar to the main penalty stoppers in the PL like Almunia, Foster, Mignolet