Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2018 pt3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

Spain sacked the manager...

At least De Gea won't be able to be tapped up by the manager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Rossi IRL wrote: »
    Spain sacked the manager...

At least De Gea won't be able to be tapped up by the manager

https://twitter.com/marca/status/1006826694903296000

They might leave Dave alone now.
    ¡Ojo! Hay acelerón del Real Madrid para fichar a Alisson https://trib.al/xPQzBsK

"Real Madrid accelerates to sign Allison."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

ElChe32 wrote: »
    Can we just make the highest paid player at the club. He deserves every fecking penny.

Only player worthy of the shirt bar none.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 43,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

https://twitter.com/marca/status/1006826694903296000

They might leave Dave alone now.
    ¡Ojo! Hay acelerón del Real Madrid para fichar a Alisson https://trib.al/xPQzBsK

"Real Madrid accelerates to sign Allison."

He'll cost them half the price and isn't half the keeper so not a bad move for them. Wonder what happens Curtois though. Was he not also linked to Real and reportedly letting his contract run down?

Whats the deal with Boatang? I thought he's top tier, but it looks like the Bayern president is saying he can leave? Injury issues?

EDIT: Bayern fans seem to think €40m would get him too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭xtal191

Good christ I hope this is true, a dream signing

https://twitter.com/ManUtdStuff/status/1006886066358571008

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,279 ✭✭✭duffman13

xtal191 wrote: »
    Good christ I hope this is true, a dream signing

https://twitter.com/ManUtdStuff/status/1006886066358571008

I'd love it, don't see it happening but id love it.

Again though, where do you play him if you keep Pogba, matic and Fred?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,456 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Lord TSC wrote: »
    Again though, where do you play him if you keep Pogba, matic and Fred?

Why can’t there be room for 4 top class midfielders..

Anyways we could play them all if we went diamond midfield and 2 up top, would need 2 good fullbacks though,

Lukaku-Sanchez
    Pogba
    Fred-Veratti
    Matic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,319 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

I don't see us signing Veratti, but i'd certainly not see us playing a diamond much.

Would remain, imo, a three, with the selection from 4 being based on how offensive/defensive we want that midfield 3 to be.

Most offensive (of the midfield 3 selection) being - pogba, fred, veratti.
    Most defensive of that modfield 3 selection) being Fred, Veratti, Matic.

Also - I'd be weary of trying to sign Veratti if PSG aren't the ones driving that sale - isn't Barca trying their usual approach on him the reason PSG bullied them on Neymar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

astradave wrote: »
    Why can’t there be room for 4 top class midfielders..

Anyways we could play them all if we went diamond midfield and 2 up top, would need 2 good fullbacks though,

Lukaku-Sanchez
    Pogba
    Fred-Veratti
    Matic
    I know I'd be a lot more content if Jose had a clear plan when it comes to our default strategy/formation (knowing that it may need to be tweaked depending on opposition) and then buying the right players to execute that plan rather than buying a sh*t load of high quality players and trying to come up with a plan that accommodates them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭xtal191

€80m plus Verratti for Pogba, that money can go towards Bale/Griezmann and then we have the rest of our budget to strengthen defense :p

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,456 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

S.M.B. wrote: »
    I know I'd be a lot more content if Jose had a clear plan when it comes to our default strategy/formation (knowing that it may need to be tweaked depending on opposition) and then buying the right players to execute that plan rather than buying a sh*t load of high quality players and trying to come up with a plan that accommodates them all.

In fairness we used the diamond a few times last season, think I commented on it during the matches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Veratti has had some well documented attitude issues the last few seasons. If he has been offered to teams, I wonder does it have much to do with Tuchel telling him to lose some weight.

Lukker- wrote: »
    Veratti has had some well documented attitude issues the last few seasons. If he has been offered to teams, I wonder does it have much to do with Tuchel telling him to lose some weight.

Any links to the attitude issues?

I seen the tweets from Paris United about Tuchel asking him to lose some weight btw..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

In fairness we used the diamond a few times last season, think I commented on it during the matches
    We did and I believe it worked quite well. I remember agreeing with you when it was clear we had deviated from our traditional 4-2-3-1 or 4--3-3 setup.

My intention wasn't to have a go at you for suggesting some new formation we've never seen Jose utilise before. Apologies if it came across that way.

I just simply want Jose to decide on an approach (or approaches) and buy the right players to execute his vision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

There is a MEN article by James Robson, dated June 4th, where he wrote that Jose went to scout Verratti last November. The article says Jose knew he was likely needing to add two midfielders this summer, to replace Carrick and Fellaini. Verratti could be sold to meet Financial Fair Play rules.
    The article says United had a rumoured £80 million bid rejected for Milinkovic Savic and that Verratti is seen as a cheaper option.

RobertKK wrote: »
    There is a MEN article by James Robson, dated June 4th, where he wrote that Jose went to scout Verratti last November. The article says Jose knew he was likely needing to add two midfielders this summer, to replace Carrick and Fellaini. Verratti could be sold to meet Financial Fair Play rules.
    The article says United had a rumoured £80 million bid rejected for Milinkovic Savic and that Verratti is seen as a cheaper option.

I don't get Veratti as an alternative to Savic - would have felt them quite different.

Verratti would come into the 11 for Matic, and Savic for Pogbo - I don't see the the two players as being interchangable.

I don't get Veratti as an alternative to Savic - would have felt them quite different.

Verratti would come into the 11 for Matic, and Savic for Pogbo - I don't see the the two players as being interchangable.

I’d see Verratti as a more box to box player, interchangeable with Fred and Pogba, he could also play the Matic role as he has very good defensive awareness..

How's silly season going lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭Hococop

How's silly season going lads?

Meh, pretty silly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

Verratti would be a great signing. Hard to see it happening though

[ParisUnited] Jorge Mendes is using his good relationships with Madrid, Man United and PSG to transfer SMS to one of those clubs

Lord TSC wrote: »
    [ParisUnited] Jorge Mendes is using his good relationships with Madrid, Man United and PSG to transfer SMS to one of those clubs

I’d say PSG are ruled out anyways, they need to make 40m bybthe end of the month to satisfy FFP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,993 ✭✭✭tinofapples

I’d say PSG are ruled out anyways, they need to make 40m bybthe end of the month to satisfy FFP

60 million euro

https://bleacherreport.com/articles/2780947-psg-must-raise-eur60m-in-income-to-avoid-uefa-penalty-for-overspending

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,625 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Should be able to raise that and more relatively easy ?

https://twitter.com/Sport_Witness/status/1006991276095524866?s=19

Martial wants to leave. Unsurprising if true to be honest, can't have been happy last season, particularly since Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,625 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

https://twitter.com/Sport_Witness/status/1006991276095524866?s=19

Martial wants to leave. Unsurprising if true to be honest, can't have been happy last season, particularly since Christmas.
    Let him off but need to be getting top dollar and a RW bought.

He has massive potential but won't fulfil it at United imo.