Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,226 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Anyone remember back in back in the day when Orla had her own PR business I think it was? what the hell happened that?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,226 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Is the Kerri-Ann storyline going the same way as the Dermot one, forgotten?

Sure that's how it done in Fair City......I don't remember Barry getting a trial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 EnMarche!

Okay so a few things that I'm finding to be a bit odd at the moment

1. Hayley's brother Lee, appears for the first time out the blue from Vino's to her great surprise. Hayley really needs to keep in touch with her relatives more often because this is almost the fourth time now that a family member has just randomly turned up in her home town.

2. Speaking of Lee, why would he trust Oisin with this whole Technofest (seriously writers? technofest?) thing. He's just showed up in town and met this random young fella two days ago and he hires him on the same day.

3. Why is the streetfood van based beside Vino's and down the alleyway where the Vino's bins are stored?

4. With Wayne acting like the best entrepreneur/businessman that God ever put breath into, what happened to the garage? Its been almost a year if not over a year and there has barely been a mention of it.

I feel Wednesday night's episode showed off some of the worst of the Fair City writing. The generic formula of Character A talks to Character B in one location before having almost the exact same convo in another location minutes later was used excessively to the point of hilarity. Wayne Orla and Dolly had the same conversation about this business plan four times, moving from McCoys, to Dolly's house, to the community centre and then back to McCoys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 819 ✭✭✭dixiedan

When this Lee character first appeared he reminded me (just for a second or two mind) of Todd from Coronation Street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

How has Lee not bumped into his mother yet, seeing as the entire population of the town resides outside/inside Spar/outside Vinos or in the pub?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

How has Lee not bumped into his mother yet, seeing as the entire population of the town resides outside/inside Spar/outside Vinos or in the pub?

She's on her six week break just like the hubby!

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭Cormdogg

How many people can live off the profits of a food cart? There's only about 25 or so festivals a year in this country, done on the same weekend and anyone who's been to a festival, there's nearly more food trucks than people.

What's up with Hayley's sisters accent?

Why would anyone be in and out of a pub in the same day for a pint in their own? So f*ckin lazy

If you inherited millions of euro would you invest in a load of crappy small businesses or would you sit back and enjoy it?

Is this Bella's good bye episode?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭Sparko

Wayne suggesting that he'll just continue working himself to death.. Ha good one Wayne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭Sam Hain

dixiedan wrote: »
    When this Lee character first appeared he reminded me (just for a second or two mind) of Todd from Coronation Street.

He looks like a younger version of Steve Wall the singer from the Stunning and the Walls.
    TheStunningFeatureDec14_large.jpg?width=648&s=ie-216914

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

"slut shaming" ?

Oisín is a gimp but he rightly pointed out Paul chewed up Hayley and spat her out when he got what he wanted and that he'll do the same to her brother when he gets what he wants and she starts this "are ya slut shamin me?"

Then Hamorny and her "what an awful thing to say!" and her teflon hardman brother "don't be insultin me sister"

What a cringey set of scenes

Wayne is such a ejit can he be killed off or something I don’t mind orla

Wayne Molloy #2 passed away this week.
    Very nice guy.
    https://www.irishtimes.com/culture/stage/stephen-swift-affection-and-love-flow-for-an-actor-and-a-gentleman-1.3522686

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

"slut shaming" ?

Oisín is a gimp but he rightly pointed out Paul chewed up Hayley and spat her out when he got what he wanted and that he'll do the same to her brother when he gets what he wants and she starts this "are ya slut shamin me?"

Then Hamorny and her "what an awful thing to say!" and her teflon hardman brother "don't be insultin me sister"

What a cringey set of scenes

Plus an unusually submissive response there from Oisin, all dithering and worried. I was expecting his trademark razor sharp wit and smug smile as a response, I hope they don't make the character dull and boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,406 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Plus an unusually submissive response there from Oisin, all dithering and worried. I was expecting his trademark razor sharp wit and smug smile as a response, I hope they don't make the character dull and boring.

Guys like Oisin always have something up their sleeve. I prefer the Oisin on top swanning around thinking he owns the place than the Oisin we might be getting in the next while unable to make a bob without daddy's help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Not sure if it's being posted an actor called Stephen Swift who played Wayne Molloy in 2005 has died.

I only remember the current actor as Wayne :o but RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭ouxbbkqtswdfaw

Bella, Charlie, Cass, RTEs answer to Last of the Summer Wine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Recorded Batman Begins on TV3 and was watching it there. Heard a familiar voice as a henchman and when I went back it was none other than Hughie. A couple of frames later another henchman turns up and it's Robbie. Gas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Alan o Neill who played the part of Keith in the garage years ago has died today. Very sad. Rip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,792 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Jaysis only 47. He was in a brilliant show called Sons of Anarchy on Netflix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,267 ✭✭✭jos28

Alan o Neill who played the part of Keith in the garage years ago has died today. Very sad. Rip.

Ah that's terrible, he was way too young. Very sad :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

https://metro.co.uk/2018/06/07/sons-anarchys-alan-oneill-dead-47-7614540/

RIP

Keith was always one of my fav FC characters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭youwould

Jesus that's shocking. I remember him on some reality celebrity tv show that RTE did 10 or 11 years ago. I think it was the same one that Michael Healy Rae & Katy French (RIP) were also on.

May he RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

I think it’s cause he fancies Harmony so didn’t want to get into a confrontation with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,766 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

youwould wrote: »
    Jesus that's shocking. I remember him on some reality celebrity tv show that RTE did 10 or 11 years ago. I think it was the same one that Michael Healy Rae & Katy French (RIP) were also on.

May he RIP.

He had a great relationship with Ray on FC, they were like a comedy duo and was his girlfriend called Una?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Strazdas wrote: »
    He had a great relationship with Ray on FC, they were like a comedy duo and was his girlfriend called Una?

Yes it was Una. Did he go off to work on rally cars by way of leaving the show and wanted Ray to go with him?

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭threetrees

I always liked Keith in FC. Him and his "Úna with the fada" tattoo on his arse.

Alan O'Neill RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Brilliant character, himself and Ray together was great craic and fair play to him for stretching his wings abroad.

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭MsWesterosi

Wayne is such a ejit can he be killed off or something I don’t mind orla

I don't like either of them; Wayne has failed big time in every business venture he's been involved in, plus he stole his mam's money in the belief that the other guy would help him make the bank balance even higher, when he never copped on for even a sec that the other guy might have been a con artist.

And Orla is an annoying shrew, and re Dolores' money and getting their grubby hands on it, she's the brains behind the whole thing. For the first time in my life, I'm with Pete on this one, a thing I never thought I'd hear myself say!

Remember her overreaction to Junior's ear infection; I couldn't even watch it whilst all that BS was going on due to her screaming and crying.,She annoys the hell out of me, especially - again another mad overreaction - when an unstable mentally troubled girl kissed her husband, by going around the place bad mouthing her, threatening her and calling her a slut. Plus Wayne dragging Karen around from post to pillar when all he had to do was dial 999 once he found her bleeding in his kitchen.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭MsWesterosi

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    I only remember the current actor as Wayne :o but RIP

When I used to just glance at the mam's soaps when I was younger, there was a handsome guy playing the part of Wayne Molloy - I thought that Victor Burke was the replacement and not the original like my mother said - so I assume it was Stephen Swift I saw - or at least glanced at, playing Wayne. R.I.P