Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Where's gripey and stripey these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,494 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Where's gripey and stripey these days?

I think she moved to Aberdeen in Scotland!

Anyone think Melanie new hairstyle doesn't suit? Looked far better with her old look

I think they were trying to make her look like a sassy business woman!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

I think she moved to Aberdeen in Scotland!

That's a grim enough spot. It would suit her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,347 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

They can move anyone to wherever...... Gallops/ Scotland / Fijis, I don't care, as long as they keep Sexy Cop Steve in FC, they can suck the rest of the cast into a black hole. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Jane seems to be constantly going on dates. She must have had more pricks than a second hand dart board.

That’s modern dating for ya. End, endless dates meeting lots of pr*cks.

Why doesn’t Mel work for the pod anymore and now she’s freelance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Niall_76

She left her job at the pod to concentrate on her freelance job that apparently doesn’t pay enough to keep her going. Great decision!

Niall_76 wrote: »
    She left her job at the pod to concentrate on her freelance job that apparently doesn’t pay enough to keep her going. Great decision!

Guys the pod is hard to manage with it's three rooms and breakfasts that have to be collected at The Hungry Pig!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Supernintento Chalmers

They can move anyone to wherever...... Gallops/ Scotland / Fijis, I don't care, as long as they keep Sexy Cop Steve in FC, they can suck the rest of the cast into a black hole. :)

Gallops / Scotland / Fijis / Carrickmines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Did Carol sleep with Cathal around time she got him to clear out Robbie's Station bar as payback over Aoife?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Did Carol sleep with Cathal around time she got him to clear out Robbie's Station bar as payback over Aoife?

Naw it was a ruse to annoy robbie.

Where's Nora?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭bubbles o hara

I was surprised just now to see FC is on at 8:30, I thought they never show it on a bank holiday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭Sparko

Cute to see John Deegan and Yates spending their bank holiday Sunday together, taking in all the local haunts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

I was surprised just now to see FC is on at 8:30, I thought they never show it on a bank holiday.

Strange alright, it is normally never shown on Sunday if the following Monday is a Bank Holiday.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭MsWesterosi

Sparko wrote: »
    Cute to see John Deegan and Yates spending their bank holiday Sunday together, taking in all the local haunts.

I found Deegan's ''casual'' style a bit out of place. There he was decked out in shirt and tie and Steve was all casual in his leather jacket.

I think Deegan doesn't know how to do casual! The uniform is probably the most casual item of clothing he has, and he'd probably be boring as eff to spend time off with, because I imagine Steve would be the sort that would be well up for the craic, Deegan isn't one to crack a smile, let alone have the craic.

The Angela relationship was the closest we ever saw him being to near happy, but I don't think he smiled then either....

Then she had to go and die on him.... Poor auld Deegan.... :P :(

And take Bela, Charlie and the rest of the shower with them, but I think I'd go all Kerri-Ann myself if they shipped Steve off somewhere else because on the scale of ''mean things'' to quoute KA to do, it would be the meanest thing of all! :D

I think there's something strange about Charlotte buying into the whole Spillane thing so easily, but I'm not sold on my mam's theory yet....

I know she hasn't exactly been an angel in the past, but she isn't really gangland material, and a couple of weeks ago she was all into her club promos.

My mam speculated that she thinks that Charlotte might be spying on Spillane for the cops, and she's convinced she grassed on the screwdriver thing too (have to admit I agree with her on that one, but I'm not sold on her latest, then again she was right when she predicted that Anna would be back to finish off Phelan on Corrie, when I thought it'd be Steph). My soap addict mother also has a hunch that she's been more or less a mole for the cops since Christmas time, and she's using the ''logic'' that Charlotte wasn't present for the family photo Xmas Day because she was ''having a kip'' according to Sash, yet she didn't seem drunk at all earlier as the basis for her theory....

Personally, I thought she was working with Oakley/doing a deal with him, hence her absence back then, but I was wrong, but my mam says the golden rule of all soaps (but maybe FC are not too imaginative to do this one, IMO) is that if someone draws attention to something - like Decco or one of the others asking ''where is Charlotte?'' when it was time for the pics, and Sash answering ''she's having a kip'', when a short time before she was singing karaoke and full of beans and didn't seem at all drunk, that it's a sign that something's off/about to happen - basically, in soapland, according to the ''wise one'' there's a reason for everything and no one in their twenties unless they're well hammered ''goes for a kip'' on Christmas Day, unless there's a storyline surrounding it, or one to come.

Anyway, her theory is that after Charlotte's terror at the hands of Oakley, she decided to fess up and tell the truth to the cops, so Oakley would lose his hold over her, just before Xmas, went along to that beautifully designed Garda Station with it's lovely yellow black mouldy walls and by chance the detective who - off screen, naturally - interviewed her was Sexy Cop Steve, but according to Mam, the cops already had their suspicions from the beginning that it wasn't Vivienne killed Paddy in self defence but Charlotte, yet as Vivienne had copped to it and there was no real evidence that anyone else was involved that the case was already closed, so Steve told Charlotte that as far as they were concerned the Paddy Bishop case was done and dusted and there was no point in raking over old coals. Then, as he hadn't decided to throw the book at her, as he is an unorthodox cop, he made a deal instead. She'd be protected from Oakley as long as she agreed to help them out on certain other matters - basically become a grass, and relieved that she'd never have to face any consequences over her dad's death, she agreed. Hence her dancing away happily on Xmas Day, as though she hadn't a care in the world, her ''kip'' was merely her ''nothing to report'' check in with the cops. BTW, she also thinks the whole club promo is a front for finding out which clubs are kosher and which are run by less than savoury characters, that she gets these gigs, some of which she clearly doesn't like just to spy on their activities - my mother can be pretty out there, but sometimes she's right on the most bonkers storylines...

Her tip off over the Sacred Heart Picture leading the Guards to finding the screwdriver, and now she's spying on Spillane for them, which is why she wanted in on his and Decco's dealings, when all she's actually doing behind the scenes is reporting everything back to the cops....

Told my mam that there was something off about it all right, because she had turned into a fairly okay person of late, her friendship with Katy, her promo thing, etc but put it down to FC's writers forgetting that she had actually been decent for a bit, but my mother is adamant that she'll be proved right! I doubt it though, because FC is full of changing characters personalities overnight and forgetting certain aspects of that character's prior development.

:confused::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,347 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

You're gas, MsWesterosi, I get what you're saying about Charlotte but I don't think FC writers are looking that far back into Charlotte's past behavior.

I find it strange that Sexy Cop Steve and Deegan just happened to be in everywhere.

You're gas, MsWesterosi, I get what you're saying about Charlotte but I don't think FC writers are looking that far back into Charlotte's past behavior.

I find it strange that Sexy Cop Steve and Deegan just happened to be in everywhere.

Thanks hun, but I think I'm undeserving, if I have develped a near permanent smile every time it's FC time, and can't stop smirking and blushing every time Steve is onscreen, and it's time to discuss and dissect the episode (basically take the p***) on here then my giddy mirth is all down to sexy Cop Steve xxx (can't keep the soppy smirk off my face whenever he's onscreen, just like the time I fancied my History teacher like mad every time he spoke to me, even though I'd never admit to it - I made it so bloody obvious, come to think of it, so much so, that one of the other girls played the prank of all pranks on me one day)

I still blush when I remember it, because it involved an item of mine ending up in his bag, something which I badly needed and I had to ask politely, ''excuse me, sir, but may i get my [redacted] out of your bag'', much to the laughter of the whole class, not to mention my burning embarrassment!

Sometimes, my aforesaid crush used to give me a lift home from school (as did a female teacher every other day when I'd missed the bus due to my after school activities, girls indoor five aside, which i'd never have signed up for if it wasn't for the fact that he was the coach, and various other activities such as being a lick up lol) and he'd always have the radio on. This makes me die a little inside when I recall it; the station was playing classic hits, and the song ''Don't Stand so Close to Me'' came on right after Karma Chameleon, I coughed loudly and talked nineteen to the dozen throughtout the whole tortuous experience, completely scarlet... In hindsight,, it made my crush more obvious, I'm still not over that embarrassing incident and it's been thirteen years..... *blushing to the roots of my hair now at the recollection'*

Sincerest apologies if I veered off topic there.

How about we work out the rota with regards to our sexy FC cop? Do you want him weekends or week days? - I'm flexible either way :pac:

Re the Charlotte thing - it's my mother has the theory - I only agree with her about the screwdriver for the simple reason that she (Charlotte) wanted rid of KA at all costs, but the other yoke is my mam's doing...

She keeps pointing out she was right about Anna Windass coming back to kill Phelan, and when Corrie announced that aidan Connor would be leaving, I thought he'd be swanning off into the sunset with Eva, but Mam predicted Aidan's sad end due to the fact that he was crying after the operation when he donated his kidney to Carla, she said he was depressed and had likely been hoping to die on the operating table, hence the tears, she pointed out later that he hadn't been over enthusiastic about getting the factory, but I thought it was a case of him scared of messing things up again, now that his responsibilities were biggger than ever, but she was like a broken record on what she believed what was really going on..... And sadly, she was right :(

There's been lots of other instances as well, like Decco being the father of the baby when nearly everyone thought it was Mondo, because she said she could ''sense'' a bigger storyline coming out of it than a simple affair and a paternity test, and again she was right....

Maybe she is right about this too.... But I'm still not convinced...... Then again, the club yoke - as mam pointed out wasn't making her much money; according to her the gig with the guards would be more lucrative and steady and Charlotte is a bit too fond of herself to risk getting banged up or worse.... Therefore, according to my daft mother, she knows she's more or less protected.... As for Deegan and Sexy Steve - crazy mother (God, I hope she never reads this and knows it's me!) popping up every place Spillane happened to be, it was Charlotte tipped them off too when I said they must be on a pub crawl, but should have headed into town because Carrigstown has only the two pubs! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

Finding it absolute shoite at the moment tbh think I've glanced at the episodes for 3 mins at max last few weeks when they are on in house/relatives house I usually watch with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

I wish someone would give Carol her 3 month break soon. She has literally been in practically every episode the last year.
    Are they really going down the road of Robbie and Carol getting back together? That would be severely lazy even for FC and ruin Robbies character- she an absolute wagon with nothing going for her and yet he still gets jealous over her, where is his self respect?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

Who is this "Steve" that ye are all going on about? It's Chief Dective Inspector Yates (I think)!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

What’s Deccos problem with Wayne?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

fin12 wrote: »
    What’s Deccos problem with Wayne?

He left his car in for a service before xmas and hasn't gotten it back yet.

I saw a spoiler saying the Lee takes Oisin under his wing.
    Who's Lee again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,767 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

bazermc wrote: »
    Who is this "Steve" that ye are all going on about? It's Chief Dective Inspector Yates (I think)!!!!

He's an interesting character. Very confident and alpha male (witness him calmly facing down the likes of Cathal and Robbie), which probably explains why he has a few people here swooning over him :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,767 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

I saw a spoiler saying the Lee takes Oisin under his wing.
    Who's Lee again?

Leo maybe??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Strazdas wrote: »
    Leo maybe??

He's been gone so long they've forgotten his name.