Tell us about your new improved government regulations compliant cycle part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭saccades

60km hungover commute home... Really didn't enjoy it.

Even avoided the big hill to save myself 100m of climbing.

Just hope I'm ready for the W200.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

A very pleasant and slow 55k up to the Viewing Point and back through Glencullen. A friend had a pretty rough week so this was just the tonic to help her feel a bit better. She grinded her way up the hills like a trooper and is already asking when she can go up there again!

https://www.strava.com/activities/1612807681#

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,981 ✭✭✭secman

Headed to Kilmuckridge and out on to main road to Castlebridge and on towards Wexford town, took left turn for Curracloe, average at the turn was 27.5 kph, back coast road to Blackwater, Kilmuckridge and home, avg ended up 27.5 kph... 57.5 km covered. Headwind out and tailwind coming back... but same AVG ?
    Lovely evening out there and that meandering rolling coast road is lovely in this weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭triggermortis

After 7 weeks of a course I got my overdue commute into work. My shift times have changed slightly and I wasn't impressed with the amount of traffic, but I can live with it. I'd rather have been going for a spin on the good bike, but this was better than nothing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭Felexicon

47.1km this morning. Went from Swords > Rush >Skerries >Ardgillan > Balrothery and back to Swords on the R132
    Average Speed 26.3

Lovely morning for it but my God that hill up to Ardgillan is a bollox.

Did have a strange incident when a man shouted at me from his car that I was invisible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,439 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Felexicon wrote:
    Did have a strange incident when a man shouted at me from his car that I was invisible.

Maybe he was shouting at someone beside you........who you couldn't see!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,176 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Lovely 14km off-road jaunt around the edges of the Peak District this morning; taking in a climb over Houndkirk moor, down onto the Devils elbow on Blacka moor for some downhill Gnarr, followed by a climb back the other side of Houndkirk moor (and what a sh1t of a climb it was ... ) followed by ripping it downhill through Lady Cannings Plantation, back to the pub car park, and then home just in time for the start of the UCI DH round at Fort William live on redbull.tv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭rushfan

Felexicon wrote:

How did he see you then????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,334 ✭✭✭Boscoirl

Just over 90km club spin in glorious sunshine @29kmph

these days are the reward for going out in the winter

One scary moment when some idiot just pulled out in front of us. Lots of heavy breaking and fish tailing. Luckily nobody came down

Yeah, really felt the benefits of killing myself for the last 3 months today.

80km, 900m of climbing and a decent 28kph.

And I feel good. Headed to deep into SW Wicklow on roads I'd never seen before in perfect weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Waterford Greenway... Burnt as f**k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Justwinginit

Kilbeggan 100k... Done:-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭pjmn

Did 15km this evening out around Donore. Heat still getting to me and was melting the whole way :o

I've also got a serious case of range anxiety now due to the imminent arrival of a new wee one !!!! But was told to get on my bike was I was driving herself mad.

That felling an evening like that when you have stuff on your mind and get out of town and you stop hearing traffic like theres been a button pressed to turn it off is unreal. Was 20 minutes before I met a car and all I could hear was the bike, the leaves rustling and the birds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

155km, 2,000m elevation down the Military Road as far as Glenmalure, then up to the miners village, down to Rathdrum, up backroads to Roundwood and down to the coast and back home. Proper mountains to the sea stuff. Magical day, bloody shattered now!

https://www.strava.com/activities/1615644828

https://www.instagram.com/p/Bjk797Mg0Cw/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭Felexicon

Did 15km this evening out around Donore. Heat still getting to me and was melting the whole way :o

I've also got a serious case of range anxiety now due to the imminent arrival of a new wee one !!!! But was told to get on my bike was I was driving herself mad.

That felling an evening like that when you have stuff on your mind and get out of town and you stop hearing traffic like theres been a button pressed to turn it off is unreal. Was 20 minutes before I met a car and all I could hear was the bike, the leaves rustling and the birds.
    Best of luck with the new arrival man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Down at home in Waterford for the weekend, so brought the bike with me. Had a hankering to do a decent spin around the Comeraghs.

Headed out from the city towards Carrick on suir then on to kilsheelin. Headed over the bridge there, continuing towards clonmel. Turned left then for Tickincor - jaysus in the heat it was a brute. Took a lot out of me.

Continued on towards Rathgormack, and on to Lemybrien. Turned there for home along the N25.

112km done, about 1100 m of climbing and and average of 26.5km. Headed to dunmore east in the afternoon to take a swim and bathe my weary legs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,266 ✭✭✭nilhg

Tom Crean 600 weekend, last year I was invited to participate in a charity cycle commemorate the exploits of Tom Crean and to raise some funds for charity, we went from Naas to the South Pole Inn in Annascaul, it went off very well so this year the lads decided to raise the bar a little and do an out and back....

Saturday, an early start, 2.45am alarm to eat a bowl of muesli and drive to my mates house to park up before cycling in to Naas for the grand depart towards Kenmare (this year's spin was to Tom Crean fish and wine, run by Tom's granddaughter Aileen. We rolled out at 4.00AM and made steady progress on the road to reach Kenmare by about 6.30. It wouldn't be Kerry without a downpour for the last 25km but that was made up for by the Garda escort into the town and the flags, bunting and speeches by some local dignitaries.

A quick shower, nice meal in Aileen's restaurant, a quick glass of wine left me ready for a good sleep.

https://www.strava.com/activities/1612687938

Sunday, more civilised this morning, up at 5.30 to pack up, breakfast at 6 before any necessary adjustments to the bikes were made meant we were on the road shortly after 7, I have to say I wasn't looking forwards to the long drag up out of Kenmare towards Rathmore and on into North Cork but the legs felt good and we made good time, because we were a little later on the road we slightly adapted the route to cut a few hundred meters of climbing so once we got back on to good open roads we made decent progress and even with a few detours to make up the distance we arrived back into Naas shortly after 9PM yesterday evening, where friends and family were waiting, all that was left then was the spin back to collect my van and home for a shower and a good sleep.

https://www.strava.com/activities/1615712056

The best part of the weekend it that at the time of writing we have over 10K raised for two very deserving charities with some more to come hopefully.

Last thought, you can say what you like about local politicians but the difference in road quality between South Kerry and North Cork is eyeopening.....

Nipped out for a handy 45km, teaching a newbie on the old N11 how to ride in a group and other tips ready for the ROK.

Gorgeous morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,361 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

I sometimes tire of living and working in dublin and look into moving abroad again...but days like today make you realise what is on your doorstop as a cyclist. Being able to get out of the city centre into wilderness in about half an hr is fantastic. Up the military road to laragh and round wicklow gap to blessington and back, it was absolutely glorious and the strangely quiet traffic wise (cyclists and drivers). Id say i saw less than 30 other cyclists all day, outside the city.

105k, 4h 10m, 1 iceberger in Laragh, 4 tan lines on my limbs.

https://www.strava.com/activities/1617048066

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,496 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

only just got out for a very flat 42km this evening - a unplanned trip to the vet put paid to my planned cycle yesterday morning.
    beautiful evening for it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Budawanny

120km ,2040m of Wicklow gap , Slieve Maan and Shay Elliot, Sally gap at one of the lowest average speeds ever recorded by a human .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,981 ✭✭✭secman

Up to Ballygarrett and on to courtown, Ballymoney and coast road to Castletown and on to Arklow rock. Back via old n11 to inch and on to Gorey. Back diwn to courtown and coast road back to Ballygarrett and home. 67.5 km avg speed of 27.5 kph. Beautiful weather in sunny South East.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,496 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

had to do an emergency stop earlier due to - whatever way i flicked my head or craned my neck - a deluge of sweat into my eyes temporarily blinding me. shouldn't complain, it was a lovely evening out there.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,819 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

kept having a guy try and undertake me at lights.

Passed him and then stopped at the various lights on the rock road, maybe a foot out from the pavement. Everytime the lights went green he pedalled like a mad man to get up the inside. Eventually got a long stretch and pulled away.

Odd behaviour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭Takca

I managed 100km yesterday evening after work around sligo. First ride since a bike fit last week, during which the position of my shifters was moved, I guess this put some extra tension on the cable as I couldn't get the lower 3 cogs on the cassette, it only became a problem when speed reached the late 30's.

Any lower back pain I normally had didn't reappear, but my legs were tighter then is usual, so I guess I need to get used to the new(higher) position.

Lovely evening for it
    https://www.strava.com/activities/1619619989

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭LennoxR

Very enjoyable spin on the gravel bike out the Royal Canal to Maynooth. Except for the deep sinking the canal path is very enjoyable, especially in the summer.

I rode back on the road via Leixlip and found a lovely secluded lane through/past Catherine's Park that led me directly onto the Strawberry Beds and home via Phoenix Park. Really good fun and very little traffic on the route except for the stretch from Maynoth to Leixlip.

Looking at the map though, I was wondering, can you avoid that stretch by cutting through Carton House? It seems like you can, especially on a bike that can do off-road? Anyone know?

Heading back in earlier I was behind a Tom Tom car out doing street view mapping from the looks of the camera on it's roof. Couldn't resist sitting up and striking a pose when I got up close :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Missus Doubtfire

"I was wondering, can you avoid that stretch by cutting through Carton House?"

From the Main Street in Maynooth (did you notice the cycle lane is up through the CENTRE of the footpath?) just as it twists right towards Tesco you can go straight on through a little park (Carton Way). This will bring you to the side entrance of Carton House. Follow the path/road and as you come to the bridge off to your left keep to the right and it will bring you back out onto the Maynooth Road at Pike Bridge. You can rejoin the canal here or keep on the road back to Leixlip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

Out for my first pre-work spin in too long this morning and not feeling great .

After a longish climb up Barrow road m and a short descent into Glencullen I was passed by three French* Triathletes**...who rapidly decelerated to...less than my pace and just sort of floated in a broad triangle (a menage a trois
    ) ahead of me going slow while traffic built up behind.

Had to get past and away from them or there'd be an Exchange of ill tempered words. The road broadened after a bend and I hit the gas. Passed, dropped them and tried to keep it up over the next gentle climb, before cooling my heels a bit on the Tibbradden descent that can get out of hand very quickly. After that there's a bone rattling drag for about 3km up to the viewpoint and my legs are shaking any time I let up on cadence. I heard a French accented laugh of relief behind me and don't ease off.

Suddenly I'm at the last descent back towards Dublin and work with not a Triathlete in sight...anyway that's how I set 9 new PRs this morning...

*They were chatting in French
    **confirmed by 1 set TT bars on a nice Btwin + one baselayer worn instead of a jersey + 2 pairs running shoes x 1 pair Tri shoes = Triathletes