The 8th amendment referendum - part 4

I'd put the line of when life begins (or, when a pregnancy begins, at least) at implantation,

How did you pick this particular time? Why not fertilisation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

And so should you.
    A poster said if abortion was freely available throughout history most of the "bad guys" could be removed.
    I responded that it was a pointless argument.
    Its irrelevant who said it, its a nonsense argument.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

If it was only about victims of rape I would vote Yes myself.
    Its not though.
    The proposals which a majority in the Dail back or appear to back is unlimited abortion up to 12 weeks. Remove this particular proposal and the Yes side would win easily.
    Sorry but there is NO way to allow rape victims adequate access to terminations as soon as possible without re-traumatising them without the 12-week proposal.

That was the conclusion of the Oireachtas Committee that examined the issue.

So it is EXACTLY to accommodate rape victims that the 12-week proposal is there.

spookwoman wrote: »
    There is no way to prove someone was raped!

Numerous posts from you that don't make much sense.
    Medical experts can form an opinion on careful examination if they believe someone was raped or not.

The rape issue should be left to the medical experts, otherwise you have women coming in claiming to be raped when they weren't.

Again removing the constitutional protection from EVERY unborn child to deal with a tiny minority of cases is frankly crazy and irrational, but given the recent history of our political class hardly surprising.

Never trust politicians is my advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,316 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

My prediction is still what it was weeks ago: 55% turnout, 55-45 win for Yes, with an outside chance that No squeaks a 50.1-49.9 win.

But I now see a chance that there will instead be a really high turnout - the 13th/14th got 68%.

If it is 70%, it could be a really crushing win for Yes - 65-35.

That's a big spread you've got there with the 55-70% turnout. Personally I think your first prediction will be nearer the mark. The SSM ref got 61% turnout and I think it will be lower than that. There were very few undecideds in the lead up to SSM, approx 10%. It's nearly double that for the 8th. Just over 50% would be my call with regards turnout.

I think the decision is going to be incredibly tight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

That would be Supreme Leader Ganley and his pals, but they are gaining zero traction thanks to our mole McGuirk in their ranks.

The major concern though is that they're clearly trying to recruit people to the idea of "reality doesn't matter and neither do facts, and it's not a lie if you can convince others and yourself" which has been rife through the entire no campaign and has definitely taken a fair bit of a grip. They have a much clearer roadmap to achieve this having cracked it for brexit and Trump, and I expect Ireland now that the UK has gone from the EU (essentially), to be a key target at this point.

We are generally quite good at ignoring this as a whole, but there is no doubting that this referendum has seen all new heights here when it comes to flat out denying reality when it's inconvenient. I fully expect then to try and continue to gain traction over this in the coming years and make it continue to be a wedge issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Medical experts can form an opinion on careful examination if they believe someone was raped or not.

The rape issue should be left to the medical experts, otherwise you have women coming in claiming to be raped when they weren't.

You have not a ****ing clue what you're talking about.

Macha wrote: »
    Sorry but there is NO way to allow rape victims adequate access to terminations as soon as possible without re-traumatising them without the 12-week proposal.

That was the conclusion of the Oireachtas Committee that examined the issue.

So it is EXACTLY to accommodate rape victims that the 12-week proposal is there.

Ok with allowing abortion for rape victims who have been examined as part of a rape investigation which they are already.
    Not ok with allowing abortion to any woman who comes in and lies and may even accuse someone in the wrong of rape just so she can have an abortion. And accusing someone in the wrong of rape does happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,119 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Again removing the constitutional protection from EVERY unborn child to deal with a tiny minority of cases is frankly crazy and irrational, but given the recent history of our political class hardly surprising.

Opinion is not an exact Yes or No and not all women are going to report their rapes. We keep going over this again and again and again. Rape is hard to prove and only 8% are convicted out of the tiny number that go to court.
    How are these women supposed to prove they were raped

Seems its now the politician fault.....

You have not a ****ing clue what you're talking about.

Either come up with a more mature and substantial post or say hello to ignore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭Mrhuth

So when will the results be out? Everyone talking about when to vote but what about results? Can't wait.

Ok with allowing abortion for rape victims who have been examined as part of a rape investigation which they are already.
    Not ok with allowing abortion to any woman who comes in and lies and may even accuse someone in the wrong of rape just so she can have an abortion. And accusing someone in the wrong of rape does happen.

So now it's abortion for SOME rape survivors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭optogirl

Which is why the recommendation is for 12 weeks without having to prove anything

spookwoman wrote: »
    Opinion is not an exact Yes or No and not all women are going to report their rapes. We keep going over this again and again and again. Rape is hard to prove and only 8% are convicted out of the tiny number that go to court.
    How are these women supposed to prove they were raped

They report it to gardai.
    They submit to a medical assessment.
    The medical assessor along with a second doctor forms an opinion if there was a genuine case of rape or not.
    As first recourse they are given early abortion pill, supervised medically, also the option of morning after pill and finally abortion.

But no to abortion to some clown who walks in off the street, wastes everyone's time, wrongly claims rape or wrongly accuses someone of rape. Zero time for people like that.

So what you are saying is that a traumatised rape victim has to suffer further trauma & humiliation, report a crime they may not be ready to report & undergo a physical examination, so they can PROVE they have been raped? Then they may be allowed a termination?

Can you see any problem with that? Have you any idea how you personally might feel after being raped or sexually assaulted?
    Some compassion for victims wouldn't go astray here........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,339 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

We Sold Children to Bloody Australia and America once. This country has a rotten past even though its high majority are great people.

Tomorrow we give a chance to give people a Choice and to make it a better world for everyone involved.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,168 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

How exactly does a doctor determine that the woman did not consent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,888 ✭✭✭AtomicHorror

Which forces a raped woman to subject herself to an invasive examination, one which is not guaranteed to be conclusive. The defining characteristic of rape is the absence of consent. There is no test for that.

This was all thoroughly discussed. None of your ideas are remotely novel or workable.

Not if you don't demand a reason before 12 weeks. That's part of the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭optogirl

The medical assessor along with a second doctor forms an opinion if there was a genuine case of rape or not.
    As first recourse they are given early abortion pill, supervised medically, also the option of morning after pill and finally abortion.

But no to abortion to some clown who walks in off the street, wastes everyone's time, wrongly claims rape or wrongly accuses someone of rape. Zero time for people like that.

Yet you feel they should be parents

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

With the 12 week unrestricted nobody has to lie about their reason (and they have a reason believe me) for wanting an abortion. Rape victims won't have to report their rape if they can't/are too traumatised to report it.

So now it's abortion for SOME rape survivors?

I said abortion for all rape survivors. But not for lying idiots who falsely claim rape just so they can get a handy abortion.

Again rape is a tiny minority and I have the greatest sympathy for rape victims.

But putting an over-whelming majority of unborn babies at risk is not the answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

So we're back to the rape committee idea. If this line of thinking wasn't so serious and dangerous, it would be funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭erica74

G.Leech wrote: »
    Did you know that Cristiano Ronaldo’s mother wanted to abort him?

And in the end, she chose not to.

Not every child turns into a Cristiano Ronaldo. Some children turn into someone like my brother, who abused me for years as a child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭fergus1001

California-Cheeseburger-Screenshot.jpg

Iona institute depiction of the aftermath of a yes vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,094 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Mrhuth wrote: »
    So when will the results be out? Everyone talking about when to vote but what about results? Can't wait.

Compared to an election, its mercifully quick. There'll be a clear picture from tallies by about 11am on Saturday (or earlier) , the various count centres will begin declaring from just after lunch and there will be a national declaration from the Returning Officer of the Dept at Dublin Castle sometime in the afternoon.

The only potential delay will be if numbers are tight in certain counts and one side or other asks for rechecks of spoiled votes. However, if the national picture is looking decisive, tiny numbers locally wont matter and it will all be over sooner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,119 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Do you have a short term memory problem?
    We keep saying why the 12 weeks is a possible option,
    we keep saying why its there for rape victims
    We keep saying not all rape victims come forward
    We keep explaining how the morning after pill works. etc etc etc
    If you don't have a new excuse for no then please don't post the same excuses over and over and over again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,888 ✭✭✭AtomicHorror

I said abortion for all rape survivors. But not for lying idiots who falsely claim rape just so they can get a handy abortion.

Under the current proposal, nobody has an incentive to lie. They do under your proposal though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Again rape is a tiny minority and I have the greatest sympathy for rape victims.

But putting an over-whelming majority of unborn babies at risk is not the answer.

I'm sorry but its really coming across that you have a severe mistrust of women in general, not sure if thats your intention but its clear you do.

How do you feel about the 13th and 14th amendments?

January wrote: »
    With the 12 week unrestricted nobody has to lie about their reason (and they have a reason believe me) for wanting an abortion. Rape victims won't have to report their rape if they can't/are too traumatised to report it.

Again January, pregnant rape victims are a tiny minority of pregnant women.
    I wish someone had stats on this by the way.
    Help should be given including abortion if requested for rape victims. But stripping rights for all unborn is not the best option and is a dangerous move imo.

This is my last post on this as I have to do a bit of work and those bills won't pay themselves.

People know where I stand, if they don't read back my posts.

I wish everyone luck tomorrow, make sure to vote one way or the other.

Either come up with a more mature and substantial post or say hello to ignore.

Explain to me how medical experts determine with careful examination if someone's been raped?

If, and its a big ****ing if, someone reports a rape immediately, the SATU process can gather information like vaginal tearing or bruising, defensive wounds, damage to clothing, DNA evidence like semen, blood, saliva from the alleged rapist. That information may be useful in a court case, but by no means guarantees a conviction. None of that might be present, even though a rape occured and goes on to result in conviction.

As far as I can see, you've absolutely no idea about the process, common behaviour of survivors, best practice in treatment. No clue what you're talking about.

I'm absolutely grand with being ignored by someone who's big hearted enough to grudgingly allow abortion to women who are beaten black and blue.