The 8th amendment referendum - part 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭One More Toy

Fcuk the iona institute. American funded right wing circle-jerk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,729 ✭✭✭tigger123

Pat's kickin ass and taking names.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,879 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Maria Steen not using the withdrawal method like she did with RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,473 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

murpho999 wrote: »
    Who are "Iona Institute" and why are they always given a platform like National TV for every referendum that they are against?

A spiteful, hate-filled bunch marauding as a charity who will screech that they aren't given a fair hearing during social issues. Given air time to limit said screeching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,637 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Mullan runs with his usual line, that the 8th has given us great health care. PK stops him in his racks, fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

I'm after spotting someone on Facebook who had their cover photo as "Don't give your constitutional power to politicians". I think someone better call the newspapers because here we were thinking we were voting on the 8th, but this person has sussed out that we are actually voting to give politicians the power to change the constitution without referendum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Why do they always say they are taking flights to the UK, plenty go by ferry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,879 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Why are the "no" side arguing that abortions that abortions will increase.

Of course it will, what do they expect?

Gay marriage rates sky rocketed after the last referendum.

Divorces increased hugely in the 90s.

Stupid argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

Steen exposed off the bat complete deception that she would support any form of legislation regarding abortion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,784 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Ah Jaysus Ronan Mullen. Ah feck it. I'd gone without seeing him. It's not his points he makes it's his tone that bugs me.

We have a low abortion rates because it's illegal Ronan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Conservatory

I'm after spotting someone on Facebook who had their cover photo as "Don't give your constitutional power to politicians". I think someone better call the newspapers because here we were thinking we were voting on the 8th, but this person has sussed out that we are actually voting to give politicians the power to change the constitution without referendum.

I think what he means is this referendum is letting us decide before they decide what the choices are.

GDY151

What will the No camp do if it goes through on Friday? Will they take to the streets and bring down the economy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭passremarkable

Mullen reminds of quagmire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭DarkScar

Because I had hopes and dreams.
    Because I wanted a baby.

Dogs aren’t human either but people are terribly upset when their beloved pets die.

A fetus has value, I don’t dispute that.
    I dispute the idea that it’s value is equivalent to that of a living breathing child or the life/health/wellbeing of the living breathing woman carrying it.
    So are two year olds of greater value than one year olds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,473 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

murpho999 wrote: »
    Why are the "no" side arguing that abortions that abortions will increase.

Of course it will, what do they expect?

Gay marriage rates sky rocketed after the last referendum.

Divorces increased hugely in the 90s.

Stupid argument.

Divorces and gay marriages started from a baseline of 0 though. Abortions still happen here, so won't rise exponentially like the other two.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Mullen. Jesus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,729 ✭✭✭tigger123

Mullen's gonna sink this for the No side.

I'd say Steen is about to have a canary if Mullen keeps talking :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,391 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Wendy Grace.... I am pretty sure she is a synth from that tv show humans

GDY151

Mullen reminds of quagmire

Or an older Will from Inbetweeners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,784 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

I really dislike Ronan Mullen and his tone. Its very nasty regardless of what he's taking about in the Seanad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭fergus1001

"mental health is not real" can't make this up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,637 ✭✭✭✭Water John

So Ronan takes aim at mental health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,097 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Ah Jaysus Ronan Mullen. Ah feck it. I'd gone without seeing him. It's not his points he makes it's his tone that bugs me.

We have a low abortion rates because it's illegal Ronan.

No. More would avail of it but for the prohibitive cost of travelling and having the procedure done privately.

UK citizens for instance can get terminations on the NHS in certain circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Maria Steen equivocating in her opening statement on a compromise solution for the hard cases and Regina Doherty calling it out as a stunt.

No she didn't.

Maria Steen said that she is clear that a life is a life but other groups that have joined her don't necessarily agree with her but think the proposed amendment and legislation is too far.

Pat asked even if they changed it for the hard cases would you agree to abortion and she said no.

So the no side is disingenious in saying the amendment goes too far because it wouldn't matter what the amendment / legislation was, they still wouldn't vote for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭DarkScar

I think what he means is this referendum is letting us decide before they decide what the choices are.
    Most people would like to know what they're voting for more than anything else. Not happening with that laughable "draft" legislation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

He's doing brilliantly for the Yes side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

It was a she, but yeah, I do know what they meant (I was taking the mick out of the poor wording) but that's just as ridiculous. It's what politicians and legislators do. We trust them with the legislation of everything else, and that's why we elect them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭brendanwalsh

Already seems to be a better debate than last night.

Maria doing the NO side proud.

Pat being very antagonistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭mugsymugsy

Pat Kenny taking no sh!te