The 8th amendment referendum - part 4

Anyone else watching the tonight show? Eamon Dumphy is being uncharacteristicly reasonable.

Had to laugh, he is voting no.
    He voted no for divorce, but then got divorced!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,267 ✭✭✭✭manual_man

Thanks for having me, mum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,316 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

seamus wrote: »
    Nice. Something less contentious!

I genuinely think we can do 66%+ this time. SSM had people's attention, but it didn't have quite this much energy. And also, having seen the success of SSM, I think a lot of people will be more willing to engage with the voting process.

I don't think it'll get close to the SSM turnout myself. Polls (circa 1 month) in advance of SSM indicated an undecided of 10%, it's (undecided figure) about twice that this time around.

I think there's a lot of nervous "energy" among non vocal voters on both sides. The SSM was relatively cut and dry imo, voters were either for or against it. It was an "easier" vote. I think there are lots of voters on either side with doubts. They might not vote if those doubts remain.

You won't see those types of voters "debating" on here or on other social media.

I don't think the turnout will be above 50%. SSM turnount was 60.5% btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,784 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Jesus so this lad is saying a women who is raped should carry the baby to term ? Okay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

The poll: going for 60% to 69%.

Everton ? It's a bit of a strange annalogy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

She has accepted she would support someone close to her having an abortion if choosing so...so just voting no for the craic so!

Checked her background in March 2015 she caused controversy by sending a tweet suggesting Mothers day and Fathers day would not be celebrated should same sex marriage be legalized :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,119 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

That guy theo is good for showing up the hypocrisy of the no side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,391 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    I assumed that Fedelma Healy eimes(sp) was still a TD. It's seems she isn't.

A former rose of Tralee ?
    Just to clarify she was never a TD only a senator, so not elected by the public.
    She ran 4 times to try and get in as a TD, the last time getting a whopping 2.17% percent of the vote....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,550 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

spookwoman wrote: »

Yes in my experience they line is generally ''The baby did nothing wrong'' and a story about a woman who had no regrets!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,097 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Well he was hardly likely to say Liverpool's fullback, theyve a big game saturday.

spookwoman wrote: »
    And mentioning Everton football club in the 8th ammendment debate. That's a fecking new one on me.

Larbre34 wrote: »

Well he was hardly likely to say Liverpool's fullback, theyve a big game saturday.
    I hadn't thought about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

If you're not sure vote NO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Yeah and then she seemed confused about what was being asked.

Sorry lads who is the two guys on the panel ? Theo something is one guy but I don't know the guy on the very end.

You’re better off not knowing who he is tbh

Wow insightful thanks!

Or you could do some research and then make a decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

If you're not sure, educate yourself more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭rgace

That "real man" comment was cringe. I always regret watching these abortion debates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

According to Theo that would make you not a "real man".
    Poor panel, beauty queen spouting platitudes about how women are the backbone of the country, running the households of Ireland. Jesus, she's espousing a supposedly progressive campaign and putting women firmly back in the kitchen at the same time.

Fidelma Healy Eames came out a doozy, the young woman who is voting no because she had NO choice. She clearly didn’t think that anecdote through. I despair.

She once met a 12yo girl with two pints in her hands.

gmisk wrote: »
    Just to clarify she was never a TD only a senator, so not elected by the public.
    She ran 4 times to try and get in as a TD, the last time getting a whopping 2.17% percent of the vote....

Grand, a senator then. I should have said I was sure she was still a member of the Oireachtas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭Dressing gown

I have to say i think the tonight show tonight has been the most balanced debate thus far. Worth a watch for undecideds. Imagine it will be on player if you missed it.

rgace wrote: »
    That "real man" comment was cringe. I always regret watching these abortion debates.
    Me too.
    Tbh I am dreading the prime time one tomorrow, hopefully it isn't dragged down into the gutters and is respectful and balanced.
    I might just tape it and watch afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

No side lying b@stards that they would entertain a provision to deal with the hard cases!!

If you suggested that to them a year ago, theyd say they would in their wholes!!

They know their campaign is coming up short and they are now desperately trying to backpedal to keep half the genie in the bottle. The weak minded morons.

Best to spell check your posts before making sweeping comments about people's intelligence.
    Both sides are making ar5es of themselves when you stand back and look at things objectively.

Do we know who is lined up to appear on Prime Time tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,316 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

nullzero wrote: »
    According to Theo that would make you not a "real man".
    Poor panel, beauty queen spouting platitudes about how women are the backbone of the country, running the households of Ireland. Jesus, she's espousing a supposedly progressive campaign and putting women firmly back in the kitchen at the same time.

Terrible panel.

I have to say i think the tonight show tonight has been the most balanced debate thus far. Worth a watch for undecideds. Imagine it will be on player if you missed it.
    It was the same the other night when I watched as well, like the fact checks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Matt Cooper did a good interview today also. Everyone got tough questions, nobody was allowed get away with question dodging.

nullzero wrote: »
    Best to spell check your posts before making sweeping comments about people's intelligence.
    Both sides are making ar5es of themselves when you stand back and look at things objectively.

Yeah thanks pal, I said whole in the same way you said ar5es. I am a in every respect a grammar nazi, and far more intelligent than most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,550 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Do we know who is lined up to appear on Prime Time tomorrow?

Yes is Professor Mary Higgins and Simon Harris.
    No is Cora Sherlock and Peadar Tóibín or Ronan Mullen.(More likely Peadar Tóibín).