Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Metallica Superthread -All Metallica discussion goes in here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

Story behind James's new guitar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭Greg81

Great gig in Geneva. 22k people only standing places, good setlist. Managed do grab guitar pick and buy poster. Super happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

Lithium93_ wrote: »
    Story behind James's new guitar.

This is great, James is awesome, super interesting and creative guy. Anyone see that great interview he did with Joe Rogan? Worth a watch. Very into sustaining his family organically, hunts himself, tries to grow his own food, and makes honey and keeps bees. Really into building cars and bikes and does a bit of art. The "garage guitar" is class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

The Geneva gig finally rolled around and it was really enjoyable. Thought there were a couple of off moments (songs have possibly gotten too quick for them in parts), but solid throughout and very entertaining. Good setlist of old and new; digging the new album.

Finally got around to watching Some Kind of Monster when I got back. Interesting to see the process during St Anger - was hoping the retrospective would talk more about their feelings towards that contentious album and the reaction to it though.

🤪

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4 Man For Justice

Album Master Of Puppets.

00:00 - Battery
    5:14 - Master of puppets
    13:50-The Thing That Shold Not Be
    20:26 - Welcome home(Sanitarium)
    26:53 - Disposable heroes
    35:09 - Leper Messiah
    40:51 - Orion
    49:21 - Damage Inc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

Album Master Of Puppets.

00:00 - Battery
    5:14 - Master of puppets
    13:50-The Thing That Shold Not Be
    20:26 - Welcome home(Sanitarium)
    26:53 - Disposable heroes
    35:09 - Leper Messiah
    40:51 - Orion
    49:21 - Damage Inc

Grand so

Following facebook post. Metallica will be back to Europe for stadium shows. Do you think there is a chance they will play in Ireland???

WOW! As another amazing run of European shows comes to an end, we are a little speechless (when does that happen?) and stunned by the overwhelming response and outpouring of love you have all shown us! After 39 shows in 29 cities in front of 650,000 of you crazy die-hard ‘Tallica fans, we'll be packing up our gear and heading home for the summer.

Along the way, you helped us break attendance records across the continent 29 times, sometimes breaking the record from show number one in a venue just two days later with the second show! It is staggering to us that all of this is still happening after 37 years as a band, and we could not be more honored.

Lucky for us, we’ll be back!! Look for info here in September about our return in May of 2019 for a run of stadiums through August. And already we cannot wait! Until then, THANK YOU!!

Greg81 wrote: »
    Following facebook post. Metallica will be back to Europe for stadium shows. Do you think there is a chance they will play in Ireland???

Somehow I imagine stadium officials in Ireland being d**kheads on letting a heavy metal band play on their precious grounds. But I'd like to see it happen.

Could end up them playing two shows back to back in the 3 Arena maybe since it's not that big of a venue. They played there when it was the point in the 90's a couple of times, but they've attracted a lot of fans since then, so it could end up being two shows which would be class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,546 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

Indoor here would be unreal...defo not gonna happen.

Gonna be an outdoor field if they come for sure the stadiums here are brutal for gigs.

Last 2 Slanes were May, Castle owner was only saying recently has an act for next year one that has never played there before. :p

Indoor here would be unreal...defo not gonna happen.

Gonna be an outdoor field if they come for sure the stadiums here are brutal for gigs.

Last 2 Slanes were May, Castle owner was only saying recently has an act for next year one that has never played there before. :p

We don't have a full scale arena that has the stage in the middle of the floor like where Metallica have been playing the last while. We need something like the Odyssey in Belfast, I seen Metallica there in 2010, and it's a great venue, we have nothing like that down our way. The 3 Arena is nice and all but it's very compact isn't it? can fit a lot in it, but if Metallica were to play there, they couldn't do the middle of the floor thing, I think their whole stage is like custom made and everything, they do put a lot of effort and money into the look of their concerts. And indoor Irish arenas can't facilitate it. Unless they were allowed play in a stadium, which I can't see happening.

Stadiums are sacrosanct in this country and only particular acts can play in them....f**king Garth Brooks and Ed Sheeran and the like!

I hear Coldplay are rumoured for Slane next year. A bit lame for Slane.

zcorpian88 wrote: »
    We don't have a full scale arena that has the stage in the middle of the floor like where Metallica have been playing the last while. We need something like the Odyssey in Belfast, I seen Metallica there in 2010, and it's a great venue, we have nothing like that down our way. The 3 Arena is nice and all but it's very compact isn't it?

Saw them in London last year defo woulda fit,they wanted the numbers; only doing the biggest cities biggest venues in the UK wasn't coincidence. Muse fitted their monstrosity of a yolk in the 3.
    Stadiums are sacrosanct in this country and only particular acts can play in them....f**king Garth Brooks and Ed Sheeran and the like!

I hear Coldplay are rumoured for Slane next year. A bit lame for Slane.

Was more referring to AC/DC they played Aviva 3 years ago terrible as a music venue :)

Coldplay can get in the bin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,056 ✭✭✭✭Degag

Could easily see Metallica do the Aviva but with a very strong support. Big 4 would be ideal but with Slayer gone....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,009 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

It's all crap about stadiums being sacrosant here, and that a metal act wouldn't be allowed to play is rubbish. If MCD booked it and paid for it then there would be no issue at all.
    I'm a huge Metallica fan but there is no way i can see them playing a stadium here, the bands management would put them out to promotors, MCD would have a look and realise that it's a HUGE risk to put them on in Landsdowne when last Marley show was such a poor seller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,236 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

scudzilla wrote: »
    It's all crap about stadiums being sacrosant here, and that a metal act wouldn't be allowed to play is rubbish. If MCD booked it and paid for it then there would be no issue at all.
    I'm a huge Metallica fan but there is no way i can see them playing a stadium here, the bands management would put them out to promotors, MCD would have a look and realise that it's a HUGE risk to put them on in Landsdowne when last Marley show was such a poor seller.

While I agree for the most part, that last Marley show was a time when they had played in 09, 06, 03 and I think 05 was in there too. Market saturation, so with a long break now hopefully numbers will increase again

It's all crap about stadiums being sacrosant here, and that a metal act wouldn't be allowed to play is rubbish.

Yeah exactly it's not like they are putting on Oathbreaker or Emperor in the stadium it's one of the most mainstream bands of any genre. Who the feck hasn't heard of Metallica?
    Mushy wrote: »
    While I agree for the most part, that last Marley show was a time when they had played in 09, 06, 03 and I think 05 was in there too. Market saturation, so with a long break now hopefully numbers will increase again

Almost correct no 05

RDS shows were
    03 w/Darkness,Linkin Park
    04 w/Slipknot,Lostprophets
    06 (Download Ireland)w/A7X,Alice in Chains,Stone Sour

Stadium in Cork be a good option I wonder?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

Marley was 2008

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

I’m sure they did 05 with Iron Maiden in RDS?

Yeah exactly it's not like they are putting on Oathbreaker or Emperor in the stadium it's one of the most mainstream bands of any genre. Who the feck hasn't heard of Metallica?

Almost correct no 05

RDS shows were
    03 w/Darkness,Linkin Park
    04 w/Slipknot,Lostprophets
    06 (Download Ireland)w/A7X,Alice in Chains,Stone Sour

Stadium in Cork be a good option I wonder?

I'd be all up for Cork, could just sit out the back and hear it despite being 15km away

Jayesdiem wrote: »
    I’m sure they did 05 with Iron Maiden in RDS?

Maiden played there in 05 alright with Marilyn Manson and Turbonegro.

Somehow I imagine stadium officials in Ireland being d**kheads on letting a heavy metal band play on their precious grounds.

I don't think a heavy metal band has ever been prevented playing a stadium here before so there's no reason to think it would happen now. Money trumps most things so getting a payday would take precedence over any ill informed notion that having a rock band play your venue is a bad idea. Remember Black Sabbath and Motorhead played Dalymount Park in the '80s when Ireland was a million miles from what it is today.

Unfortunately with the prices Metallica will be charging promotors there is no way in hell i can see MCD taking the risk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,171 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Big if but I can see them play A field like Marley Park, Punchestown or Phoenix Park if they do decide to come here. RDS be a good shout but isn't been redeveloped next summer ???. Aviva, Croke Park and PUC in Cork too big Unless they have an unreal support bill but from the support were getting for the Stones next week promoters here like to go cheap

If they skip Ireland again for this run than I think we may never see them here again !!

They wouldn't fill Landsdowne or Croker but of the other outdoor venues around Dublin used these days, Marlay Park, Malahide Castle, Kilmainham Hospital would all be suitable venues I'd say.

Any idea what is the capacity in Kilmainham Hospital?

Thanks.

That could be suitable venue in my opinion.

Thanks.

No chance, they've already said it's going to be a stadium run, thats 40k +, it's Landsdowne or nothing.

They've already said they're only doing 50 shows max per year and in 2wk bursts, why would they come and play an 11k capacity venue here when they could play a 50k stadium in central europe.

In my opinion it would be too, as Scud has said though Metallica's management = 11k that all? well that's unsuitable, ya let's do Stade de France!

Stadium run just means outdoors in my opinion. I’m sure in Europe they’ll be playing festivals in fields and all sorts of places.

Unfortunately with the prices Metallica will be charging promotors there is no way in hell i can see MCD taking the risk

Oh yeah, then there's that problem. Wait and see though, I'm sure they'll find somewhere suitable (Malahide maybe)