Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

F&F Chitchat a hocht, an feirmeoir bocht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Anyone know what this weed is. Is it some sort of chickweed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,614 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Look at them lovely soft hands charolais :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭CHOPS01

Very satisfying when you get a splinter out. Tip of a steak knife very effective

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

CHOPS01 wrote: »
    Very satisfying when you get a splinter out. Tip of a steak knife very effective

Use a sewing needle much less overall damage

ganmo wrote: »
    Use a sewing needle much less overall damage

Sometimes a snips is called for

Reggie. wrote: »
    Look at them lovely soft hands charolais :D

Hands do get fierce sore holding books all day alrite:rolleyes:;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Hands do get fierce sore holding books all day alrite:rolleyes:;)

And your poor auld lads rough as gravel from blocks. Ye grabbers have it too easy.☺

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

Yes it is a mouse-eared chickweed, not usually a problem.

And you put on your best jumper for the photo too!:)

Yes it is a mouse-eared chickweed, not usually a problem.

And you put on your best jumper for the photo too!:)

It was reseeded las autumn and has been grazed 5 or 6 times since but its still in it.will it go over time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,501 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

It was reseeded las autumn and has been grazed 5 or 6 times since but its still in it.will it go over time?

It's more a tillage weed, it shouldn't tolerate grazing. have you fertiliser spread, new reseeds can be demanding on fertility to tiller out and smother weeds

wrangler wrote: »
    It's more a tillage weed, it shouldn't tolerate grazing. have you fertiliser spread, new reseeds can be demanding on fertility to tiller out and smother weeds

3 rounds :o

3 rounds :o

It should be going out of it so, I wouldn't be too worried it's not like as if a huge crop of docks appeared in the reseed.
    Just on docks....some of my land is being grazed by cattle this year and there's a fine crop of docks coming, I would've said that I had no docks, so the wooly vermin {sheep} must have been controlling them all along.
    The'' barstool experts'' would tell you that they don't eat them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

It should be going out of it so, I wouldn't be too worried it's not like as if a huge crop of docks appeared in the reseed.
    Just on docks....some of my land is being grazed by cattle this year and there's a fine crop of docks coming, I would've said that I had no docks, so the wooly vermin {sheep} must have been controlling them all along.

Could be the cattle disturb the soil more and lead to more germination. Could have come in slurry too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

We have all cattle here bar the twenty ewes and the one garden that I only let the sheep into for the last few years has no docks now .
    I have a rake of spraying done this year so hopefully I will have less going forward aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,316 ✭✭✭orm0nd

yes sheep eat docks, one of our problems is to get enough leaf cover for spraying as the white vermin eat them so low

Mooooo wrote: »
    Could be the cattle disturb the soil more and lead to more germination. Could have come in slurry too

Cattle are only out a fortnight and the field hasn't got slurry in ten years.
    Docks just never got the chance to get up with the sheep.

It'll graze out lad. Seems to be a lot of chick weed about in reseeds from last year. Must have been the year that's in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

grassroot1 wrote: »
    16 acres of arable silage sown and grass seeds set, going to sit back for the rest of the day. Could do with a drop of rain but you would be afraid to ask for it.:D

Were looking for it here, we got 5.5ml last weekend no sowing done today nor yesterday or the day before, few other irish lads getting seriously low hours further in from the coast. Sunday was windy as and sone lads even got a day off due to the wind as it would have blown away what little moisture that was in the furrows.
    Boss rang the advisor today and told him to go deeper, sure i suppose every inch counts doesnt it....

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

For what I think is the first time ever I found a hole in the fence before the cattle did! Old tree gave up the ghost last night and brought barb wire down with one of its branches. Firewood and newly repaired fence - happiness does come at the strangest of times:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

I need a GPS system for this guy, it's a good job he has tags too!!

Middle of a clump of rushes yesterday.

Stuck in an old heap of dead ferns this morning.

Pile of whins this afternoon.

DcrVT4LW0AU2amP.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

He’s jus suggesting jobs for ya to do ;)

I need a GPS system for this guy, it's a good job he has tags too!!

Middle of a clump of rushes yesterday.

Stuck in an old heap of dead ferns this morning.

Pile of whins this afternoon.

DcrVT4LW0AU2amP.jpg
    That was mower has it's work cut out

It's just the one clump on a side of the hill! It's a side we could never really access until a hedge below it was taken out last year so :p:p:p:p

Think i might take him in though, he has a scour and my patience is worn thin spending ages looking for him. Got him a calf jacket too so might throw him on the quad tonight and bring him in, suit him up and bring him back out in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,014 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Jaysus I just flicked through the channels there and crossed TG4. I seen a few cows and stopped. I couldn't understand a word out of the narrator unfortunately cos my grasp of Irish died at the leaving. I thought it was a bout Vegans, but seems to be more about the plight of bull calves on dairy farms. Programme still on. Called 7 Lá I think. Some disturbing images of dead calves (and older cattle and sheep), and a video of poor calves in a bad way in New Zealand I think. Anyway, was pretty gruesome stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,705 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Local farm store have just set up an online ordering service,free delivery over 80 euro. Great people to deal with. www.deesidecountrystore.ie

whelan2 wrote: »
    Local farm store have just set up an online ordering service,free delivery over 80 euro. Great people to deal with. www.deesidecountrystore.ie

Always nice to see a new competitor in the market :)

Now, just a word of warning with calf jackets as this happened me this evening.
    Bought a new jacket as I had been looking at them for a while as we've one calving pen which gets a breeze in off the lake.
    Calf a few days old- heifers calf- was put out 2 days ago and was a bit off form, scour this morning. So injected him & drenched him and put the jacket on. Cows sniffed him and were mightily confused, following him around the field. I stayed watching just to see if he'd go to suck. All of a sudden, one of the cows just went for the calf, down on her knees grinding at him with her head and all, booing out of her. I couldn't fecking do anything but drive the quad straight at her and hope she'd back off- luckily she did so i leapt off thinking he was dead as he was flat out.
    Calf very shaken and reckon the jacket took much of the force as whatever luck he had he went into a track left by the tractor so wasn't on flat ground.
    But she just went nuts at the jacket, with no warning at all. My fault perhaps as I should have rubbed silage or dirt on it to take away the strange smell but still a shock to the system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,705 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Ireland through to the euro vision final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭The man in red and black

But she just went nuts at the jacket, with no warning at all. My fault perhaps as I should have rubbed silage or dirt on it to take away the strange smell but still a shock to the system.

Not half the shock the poor calf must have gotten and him sick too:eek: You will always be surprised at cattle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,356 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Davy fitz on 3e now.
    Living with Lucy.
    Very good so far.