If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

F&F Chitchat a hocht, an feirmeoir bocht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Bullocks wrote: »
    Maybe I could get them tighter but they were burying their heads yesterday and I just said feck it !

Haha, they sound exactly like ours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Having a ****ty time of it here atm, we calve 20 sucklers and so far have lost three. One born who could not pee or poo, one born dead (pbr bull calf) and one whose mother never opened and had an awfully job getting the calf out, vet called on all occasions, now I have three calves with a combination of cocidious and another type of scour, another pbr bull calf looks to be on the way out. Nothing seems to be working on them, their all 4-6 weeks old and outside within a few days of being born, combine that with the weather (we only got manure out yesterday) i’m seriously wondering what the feck am I doing this for😡:mad:. Anyway enough time venting I have fencing to do:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Haha, they sound exactly like ours.

I wouldn't mind if they got dogged during dosing but the dose is not bad and I'm easy enough with the gun but they just do everything to avoid getting it the raps .
    Years ago we used a pig of a glass bottle and the dose smelled like a dead badger but we could still get it into them handy enough ! I must be getting old ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,718 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Maybe I could get them tighter but they were burying their heads yesterday and I just said feck it !

I'd be stubborn enough, no way I'd let them beat me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I'd be stubborn enough, no way I'd let them beat me.
    That's the job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭L1985

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Having a ****ty time of it here atm, we calve 20 sucklers and so far have lost three. One born who could not pee or poo, one born dead (pbr bull calf) and one whose mother never opened and had an awfully job getting the calf out, vet called on all occasions, now I have three calves with a combination of cocidious and another type of scour, another pbr bull calf looks to be on the way out. Nothing seems to be working on them, their all 4-6 weeks old and outside within a few days of being born, combine that with the weather (we only got manure out yesterday) i’m seriously wondering what the feck am I doing this for😡:mad:. Anyway enough time venting I have fencing to do:D
    I think everyone goes through phases like that-we lost more animals this year then the last 3 combined. Only one was something I feel I could have done something about. If the weather would pick up I think it would get some positivity back-it's been a v hard winter.
    maybe test the cows thou and see if it's some deficiency but sometimes it's just all your bad luck heaps on your head at the same time!!! I hope the calf pulls through!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,159 ✭✭✭roosterman71

My mother has been feeding the birds out the back for the last couple of years and has a right collection turning up everyday. There's 2 robins who are nearly pets and sit in the back window waiting for grub, starlings, swallows and more I've no idea what type. Then there are a couple of doves who turn up every couple of days, and the crow/jackdaw lads too. But by far the nicest is this chap:
    2018_04_29_16_50_03.jpg
    He appears every couple of days and makes his pheasant noise to let ya know he's there. He has a bad leg though for the last couple of weeks. He'd nearly move in with us at this stage he's got so quiet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,717 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,762 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

2018_04_29_16_50_03.jpg

That's a very good picture and a nice bird too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Urine produced by the cows will drain through the floor and into an air-tight storage facility. By keeping it contained there, ammonia emissions will be limited and it will be able to be distributed for use as fertiliser for city farms. Manure, on the other hand, will be collected and stored separately.
    I'm left wondering how they're going to manage to get the cows doing their business in different areas :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Wes Palmer Lee

Have you a headscoop ? I went to dose a few cows yesterday and just ended up doing the few that really needed it because they were hoors to catch .
    It will have to be injection or pour on from now on

It's one of those jobs you have to be in the mood for. The cattle seem to know when you're having one of those days...
    I always work best dosing and bolusing when I'm dying with a hangover, Can't explain why but the stock seem to feel sorry for me!!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Gaseous anaesthesia....

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

You're getting a bad run of it Mac. I think a lot of us here have been in your shoes. Hopefully that's your share of bad luck for a good few years. Keep at it and you'll get back on track!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,370 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

That’s a tough run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,446 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

First time lambing ewe had a tank of a lamb & an absolute runt that she rejected. I just happened to find him in the dry ditch and brought him in to warm him at the range. Neighbour stomach tubed him and we've had him on the bottle all weekend. Hes not able to stand or anything but still drinking a drop of milk at a time.  Considering how weak he was i cant believe hes still alive.  What are the chances of him ever getting up and being functional?.  hes passing dung etc so everything seems to be working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Burning Tires

I was taking to one of my friends for the first time in nrarly 2 months last weekend. He has 19 suckler cows and he lost 3 calves this year. He sat down after loosing the 3rd calve.... realised he was loosing money and is having a clearance sale next week of the cows and calves next week.
    He's buying cattle and calves for himself and a dealer instead now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,310 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Last day of April already. Doesn't seem that long ago we were talking about April fools day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

I think it made a fool of us all!

Good Riddance l say! Welcome May!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Burning Tires

Silage in 2 weeks here. All ground that couldn't be grazed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭I says

Silage in 2 weeks here. All ground that couldn't be grazed.

What part of the world is that

Fertiliser only going out on silage ground here today. Ground very soft in spots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭MeTheMan

Got soil sample results back. Index 1 for p and 2 for k. PH is 5.6. What fertilizer is best for p. Most have higher k then p anything out there with high quantity p or would 10.10.20 be the best to go for. I never got lime spread before. First soil sample I've ever done. Always got the response that lime makes ground wet. Thinking I'll go with 1.5ton/ac for a start. What is a rough cost I'd be looking at for that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

MeTheMan wrote: »
    Got soil sample results back. Index 1 for p and 2 for k. PH is 5.6. What fertilizer is best for p. Most have higher k then p anything out there with high quantity p or would 10.10.20 be the best to go for. I never got lime spread before. First soil sample I've ever done. Always got the response that lime makes ground wet. Thinking I'll go with 1.5ton/ac for a start. What is a rough cost I'd be looking at for that?
    Lime is the best return you'll have for your money. It will increase N response and make more P available. The next best return will be P&K.

Lime costs around 22-25 euro a tonne spread, I think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,677 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

whelan2 wrote: »
    Fertiliser only going out on silage ground here today. Ground very soft in spots

Could be just the pic Whelan but I think there's a crack in your windscreen

Reggie. wrote: »

Just a small one. It's only plastic glass so will be ok. Like that a few years. My dad was bringing a meal trough on the front loader. He raised the loader when he met a car and the trough hit the windscreen

It's the extra magnesium in applied lime that frees up any locked in phosphorus in soil.
    It's kind of why the soil in my part of wexford is so low in phosphorus and why it's near impossible to build up because the soil is so high in magnesium.

1.5 t would be a bit low imo.
    2 or 3 t would be more like it for a reading that low.
    Tbh though with that kind of test result I'd be more in favour of a plough and reseed job. I know some people don't like the plough but for a permanent pasture plough it gives a great kick of available free nutrients at the start when turning up.
    It gives the chance to level and make a proper field out of it then and it'll take any hard pan that's after forming and put some air back into the ground. Even better if you could subsoil both ways before ploughing if it's damp ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

It's the extra magnesium in applied lime that frees up any locked in phosphorus in soil.
    It's kind of why the soil in my part of wexford is so low in phosphorus and why it's near impossible to build up because the soil is so high in magnesium.

1.5 t would be a bit low imo.
    2 or 3 t would be more like it for a reading that low.
    Tbh though with that kind of test result I'd be more in favour of a plough and reseed job. I know some people don't like the plough but for a permanent pasture plough it gives a great kick of available free nutrients at the start when turning up.
    It gives the chance to level and make a proper field out of it then and it'll take any hard pan that's after forming and put some air back into the ground. Even better if you could subsoil both ways before ploughing if it's damp ground.

But there’s calcium lime and magnesium lime so know which one you’re getting.

And the recommended max applied in one year is 2t/ac(without plowing then it’s 4)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Reggie. wrote: »

For a second I thought it the screen of my phone that was cracked.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭MeTheMan

22-25 euro is for the lime and for spreading it?

Not sure we would have the best land for ploughing. The depth of clay isn't much and then your into dabby sort of stuff. Wouldn't want to bring that up to the top. I've been looking into reseeding for awhile now. I'd like to get out in the field with a spade and have a dig down and see what's there myself. I like to completely know/understand the process and outcome myself before starting a job. But for now it's just get the PH up and the p and k.

We were advised in class that 2t/ac would be tops around here unless you have good draining soil. The one thing we have going for us in these fields is it can cope with water better then most in the area. Would hate to ruin that.

Thanks for the replies!

ganmo wrote: »
    But there’s calcium lime and magnesium lime so know which one you’re getting.

And the recommended max applied in one year is 2t/ac(without plowing then it’s 4)

There's always a small amount of magnesium in calcium lime.
    There's a small amount of magnesium in gran lime too.

And just so the post isn't miss interpreted there's a larger amount of magnesium in magnesium lime because magnesium leached into that rock.