Did After Hours ever fit the category of 'Social & Fun'

• 18-04-2018 12:41PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭

Some very heavy topics on here these days. Anyone auld enough to remember a time this wasn't the case?

All would be lost if it wasn't for Donald Trump (the Boardsie) and his witty repartee. #MAHGA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Ronaldinho wrote: »
    Some very heavy topics on here these days. Anyone auld enough to remember a time this wasn't the case?

All would be lost if it wasn't for Donald Trump (the Boardsie) and his witty repartee. #MAHGA

Is this a popcorn thread? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Place is crawling with fruitcakes, nut jobs, and loopers. Trying to shove their stupid politics into every discussion - left and right both as bad as each other. Get the feeling there’s a lot of angry dudes posting here. Some of them would want to take a chillpill, go outside, find a partner, take up a new hobby etc. Can’t be good for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

I joined on a different account around 2010 and I remember always laughing out loud at lots of after hours posts,some of the wittiest things Ive ever seen on the internet before, after hours is still pretty interesting though I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,481 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

In its current form, I would say not. Perhaps a perpetually offended and looking to be constantly upset and outraged category might be in order.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,417 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

It's increasingly becoming no craic: just a bizarro land of people giving out and spouting off half baked nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,289 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Make AH great again.

I never went to AH in about 14 years of using boards.ie with various usernames, I though I was above it.

I was above AH, it was not the place for any type of serious discussion.

Then I found the thread with the hot women and found myself peeking into AH in general, then I found myself posting on threads about politics etc, the kind of stuff that used to be in Politics or the Politics cafe.

Now it's almost my first port of call. I never post in Politics anymore.

46, married, children.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭pleas advice

You have 46 married children?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

I though I was above it.

I was above AH, it was not the place for any type of serious discussion.

Then I found the thread with the hot women

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,291 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

We recently had an excellent thread discussing making sex illegal outside of marriage!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

It can be a bit po-faced sometimes. It's not healthy to place too much importance in 'winning' arguments that don't ultimately matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

You have 46 married children?

I'm impressed, arranged marriages I'm guessing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭JMNolan

Threads back then (actual threads btw)
    • How the governement is stopping kids drinking
    • Get your mob name here
    • Is Gaz a dirt bag???
    • Top St. Paddys Day Parties!
    • story with the obsession with goths??
    • Things My Girlfriend and I Have Argued About

Threads now
    • Is Islam right for Ireland?
    • The 8th Amendment Part 2
    • Is the new Feminist movement damaging male female relationships?
    • US considering Preemptive Strike against North Korea

This place is fair grim these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭megaten

I find it hard to remember but there was definitely time when every thread wasn't a variation of American social issue of the day or who was recently sexually abused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

I used to find AH enjoyable, but now it's gone a way too nuts. There are some interesting topics discussed here but eventually the threads get ruined by posters going on half baked rants and they lead to nowhere.

I think it would be good if we just had a thread where we would just take the piss out of each other but unfortunately there's too many over sensitive types on here that will ruin it.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

It used to be fun and hilarious and mischievous.

Now people complain about jokes. Seriously, I've seen people complain about light hearted fun jokes in the social and fun catagory.

Boobies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

People are too serious now. Any joke that's remotely off colour[sexual assault, rape, any variant of diddling kids] gets you banned immediately.

Bunch of babies if you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭boombang

Still one of the more honest places on boards where people don't explode with righteous indignation at the drop of a feather.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭clairewithani

I like the fella who has 10 different usernames a month and posts about how any man can learn to be a babe magnet and women only have chore sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

JMNolan wrote: »
    Threads back then (actual threads btw)
    • How the governement is stopping kids drinking
    • Get your mob name here
    • Is Gaz a dirt bag???
    • Top St. Paddys Day Parties!
    • story with the obsession with goths??
    • Things My Girlfriend and I Have Argued About

Threads now
    • Is Islam right for Ireland?
    • The 8th Amendment Part 2
    • Is the new Feminist movement damaging male female relationships?
    • US considering Preemptive Strike against North Korea

This place is fair grim these days

If AH was wall to wall threads like the first list, I doubt I'd ever look in. There's having an appropriate level of craic and "bantz" but one shouldn't go overboard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I blame mobile broadband. You can access the internet from any midden or slurry pit nowadays.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I like the fella who has 10 different usernames a month and posts about how any man can learn to be a babe magnet and women only have chore sex.

10 a day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

wakka12 wrote: »
    I joined on a different account around 2010 and I remember always laughing out loud at lots of after hours posts,some of the wittiest things Ive ever seen on the internet before, after hours is still pretty interesting though I think

Most of them fellas are banned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

There's a fair enough mix between Social and Fun. Taking it to mean social items and fun items rather than social items that are fun. Some dingbats get overly hot under the collar on some topics and there's the odd loon who drags threads off topic with the same old ramblings but all in all it turns up some decent discussions, has some fun and light-hearted topics and fills a gap that the other Boards forums don't cater for.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 300 ✭✭garbo speaks

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Now people complain about jokes. Seriously, I've seen people complain about light hearted fun jokes in the social and fun catagory.

That's because its only online that the loony liberals can express themselves and give out about jokes. If they behaved like that in the real world, they would get a punch in the face.

Well in the balance of fairness, there are loads of sound people in AH.....many of whom in the real world would get a smack for how they behave :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 DabllDoYa

I was never into forums like this, I found the interaction was too slow or whatever.
    I only found here out of necessity as I work in an office now and Reddit is restricted :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭JMNolan

Is yer man with the agricultural revolution still posting?

JMNolan wrote: »
    Is yer man with the agricultural revolution still posting?

Surely you could get an antibiotic for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Boobies.

Is it appropriate for a mod to use that kind of language?