If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Cool runnings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

Monday 8th

Easy recovery. Ish.

6.1 @8.29

HR 128

Tuesday 9th

A second easy run.

7.34 @8.42

HR 123/137

Wednesday 10th

Session. Solo in the park opposite Aherne's. 3x3/4x2/5x1mins @6.15-6.30 75 secs rec. Times a bit varied, probably due to running with/against the wind.

3x3 6.39, 6.20, 6.35 (av 6.31)

4x2 6.12, 6.29, 6.18, 6.38 (6.24)

5x1 6.07, 6.26, 6.06, 6.35, 5.58 (av 6.14)

HR 129/157

Thursday 11th

Easy run and a few strides.

7.05 @8.46

HR 125/149

Friday 13th

Date corrected. D'oh. Easy run.

6.08 @9.02

HR 114/128

Saturday 14th

Tymon parkrun. Had missed the deadline for the GIR, so hence my presence in Tymon park on a lovely Saturday morning. Perhaps a little on the breezy side, but a balmy day after what seemed like about a fortnight of grey, drizzly conditions. I hoped to improve enough on last time out a few weeks back to sneak under 20 minutes, but in the end had to settle for my usual low top-10 finish and a small improvement, to 20:09.

I have a sneaking suspicion that Tymon has been running a bit long for the last while. Since Christmas, all my (4) runs have been logged at 3.12 by the Garmin, whereas it always used to come in at 3:06/3:08.

5k 20.09 (6.28)

HR 154/170

Sunday 15th

Very soggy long run, along the Dodder to Clonskeagh and back. Hamstrings really tight.

13.54 @8.39

HR 123/158(?)

Week's mileage 56

Monday 16th

Very easy short recovery.

5 @8.59

HR 119/135

Tuesday 17th

10x800 @3.25/3.25 alternately. Quite windy on the track.

3.26, 3.34, 3.27, 3.32, 3.26, 3.33, 3.24, 3.35, 3.25, 3.30.

HR 138/158

Wednesday 18th

No running. Circumstances rather than choice, but glad of the break all the same.

Thursday 19th

AM. Easy recovery.
    5.36 @9.09
    HR 130

obviously some residual guilt from yesterday, as this happened:

PM. Another run, with lads from club.
    6.28 @8.28
    HR 122/138

Friday 20th

Pyramid session. 3x90s,3x2m,3x3m,3x2m,3x90s @6.30 - 90s rec throughout.

3x90 6.04, 6.16, 6.46
    3x2 6.16, 6.24, 6.44
    3x3 6.32, 6.38, 6.26
    3x2 6.23, 6.39, 6.18
    3x90 6.11, 6.17, 6.26

HR 134/162

Saturday 21st

Easy recovery.

7.24 @8.58

HR 117/136

Sunday 22nd

Long run. With Berlin just over the horizon, did the Dodder run again. A relatively flat profile, compared to the likes of the Waterworks. Felt a little fatigued, although a lot of that is down to the continuing tightness in the hamstrings. Sorting them out is a priority. Stopped to stretch right calf at Milltown. Had an odd soreness, as though it was about to cramp, after only 5-6 miles. Was nothing in the end though.

13.38 @8.35

HR 125/145

Week's mileage 56

Monday 23rd

Easy recovery.

6.01 @8.49

HR 119/131

Tuesday 24th

Track session. 8x600 @2.20 w 90secs recovery.

2.22, 2.21, 2.20, 2.20, 2.19, 2.19, 2.20, 2.20

HR 131/160

Wednesday 25th

Short very easy recovery.

4.06@9.16

HR 114

Thursday 26th

No running

Friday 27th

6x1k @3.55 - recoveries 2.30/2.00/1.30/1.15/1min

A fiendishly tough session. Increasing tiredness, decreasing recoveries. Loving the variety of challenge in them though.

3.55, 3.46, 3.59, 3.58, 3.52, 4.00

HR 141/166

Saturday 28th

Easy run.

7.02 @8.46

HR 120/148

Sunday 29th

Long run. Up to the waterworks back gate and back. Hammers tightening up again late on.

13.09 @8.22

HR 127

Week's mileage 46

Monday 30th

Easy recovery run.

6 @8.45

HR 120/140

Tuesday 1st

Session. 800, 3x300, 600, 3x300, 800 @6.15 - 2/1 mins recovery.

800 6.09
    3x300 5.54, 5.51, 6.17
    600 6.11
    3x300 6.00, 6.20, 6.10
    800 6.06

HR 128/153

Wednesday 2nd

Easy run, incorporating track-test of Saucony Endorphins: some strides, and then a road mile on the race course.

7 @9.06

HR 113/136

Thursday 3rd

Easy run. In and around Bushy park, on the way home from work. The hills probably account for the HR. The park was full of runners, including one group of deludeds with what looked like a paid-for trainer, some sort of boot camp job. You can always tell, because the guy had a gym-bunny physique, not a runner's. They're always a walking advertisement for their own superior training technique. He had them running, then doing what they used to call calisthenics, and he was making with the counting down and the exhortation. I ran past for free.

5.33 @8.49

HR 123/145

Friday 4th

No running.

Saturday 5th

Short shakeout with a few strides thrown in.

3.81 @8.44

HR 119/146

Sunday 6th

Tallaght 5k.

One of my early-season targets, along with the Bob Heffernan, before Berlin training kicks in. Knew from early in the week that it would be hot, and so it proved, with the mercury tipping 20℃ by the 12 noon start. I usually run the course for a warmup, but that didn't seem like a good idea in the heat, so took a shortcut back to the club after less than two miles. A few strides beforehand, and then we were counted down by the starter.

It's a classic, three-cornered road route, all left-handers, with the sections roughly categorised in turn as: 1st downhill, 2nd flat and 3rd uphill. But first there is the short section past the club entrance and into Tallaght village for the first left turn, and it's here that some bright spark of a Garda decided to park his car last year, jutting right out into the road at an angle and forcing everyone to take evasive action. Thankfully it was free of such holdups this time though, and my main concern here was keeping the pace up, but not overdoing it. It was very warm, and there seemed to be little breeze to cool anyone off. The first mile, and the second left turn, onto Castletymon road, conveniently coincide, and at 6.09 it's pretty much on the money. I'm feeling ok, and not minding the heat too much. I had hemmed and hawed, but finally decided to keep the baseball cap on, and it helps a little. On the way down main street, I found myself running with two clubmates, and together they constituted a conundrum which made me ask myself if I was running A) too fast, or B) too slow. One guy was setting a pace that his current form didn't justify, as far as I knew anyway, and I reminded myself that it was his habit to go out fast, then fade somewhat. The other chap had come from behind me, I thought, and that was his habit too, but the difference was that he was a low 18 minute man, and this gave me pause, until I remembered that he had been injured, and more than likely hadn't raced a lot.

So we ran along together for a bit, until I started getting a feeling that our speed was, ever so slightly, dropping a little. I concentrated on maintaining the pace, rather than staying in step with the other two, and sure enough, I began to draw ahead a little. I wasn't to know it, because I never looked back once (noticed in hindsight, and probably a good sign) but the injuree (is that even a word?) stayed right there with me, and finished only seconds behind. But I'm getting ahead of myself. The second mile is on the flat on Castletymon road, and it's here that concentration can waver, legs start to give out, and spirits flag as people overtake and draw away. I had little to focus on, no clubmates in the immediate vicinity and no red rags (such as a Bros Pearse singlet!) to get the dander up. I concentrated on keeping my pace up, and although a chap who had been alongside me pulled away a bit, we were both catching other runners, so I was reasonably happy. Mile 2 was a 6.24 but at the time I was completely unaware of that. Along here I overtook a clubmate and fellow age-bracketer. The gutsiest of runners, he came into the race on the back of no form and little training. He didn't look that well, in fact, but here he was ploughing along but fighting a losing battle with his own body. I drew ahead but there was no mental box-ticking or scalp-counting.

But here, what was this? Is it Andy, stopped up ahead??? Yes, the very same. I had thought for sure that these days were over, after his pyrotechnics in Manchester (1.26 Half PB and 3.02 PB IN THE SAME RACE!) and elsewhere. Only last week his RLF (Run Like F*ck - no joke, that's what he does) technique of doing ALL his runs at sub-7.20 pace had yielded an 18.18 3 mile run in training. But, when you then go out and run a 5.40 mile in 20+ degree heat, these things can and will happen. One of our stewards was dousing his head with water, and he looked in bits. I was going to say something encouraging, then thought: "Nah, f*ck him" and carried on. In truth, it was so unexpected that I didn't really process it. I had expected him to run under 18.30, and I wouldn't have been surprised if he now came sprinting past me again. So I didn't let it bother me one way or the other.

Mile 2 becomes mile 3 just before the next turn (did I say it was a classic course? More of you lot need to sign up next time. Not that many club singlets visible bar our own highly-supportive neighbours Bros Pearse and Rathfarnham) and this is a part of the course that can drag on body and spirits - but a lifeline presented itself. Young Sean from Tallaght appeared from behind me and started chivvying me along "C'mon Dave, 19.30 pace. Follow me" and so on. Often these sort of words fall on deaf ears during races, but on this occasion it was just what I needed. I asked the question, and the body responded. Strava shows my pace briefly hitting sub-6 minute pace along here, where I had been bumping along at 6.40-plus. Without his intervention I would not have lifted my pace, and that's a fact.

Mile 3 is a drag. Literally. It's a long gradual climb that saps the strength just when you need it. Frequently it is accompanied by a mean headwind that comes straight off the 'mountains'. Today, little wind, although in this heat that probably counts as a negative as well. Sean is still dragging me along, but all of a sudden he's waving me through. Looks like his goose is cooked. I've got something left though, and with about three quarters of a mile to go I can hack it from here I reckon. The course mercifully flattens out a bit after the Kilnamanagh turn and when you see the big Topaz sign you know it's nearly done.

The track finish is both exhilarating and physically daunting. 350 metres that can seem like 3,500. From a hundred metres out I punch it, and then punch it again with 30 to go (or so I imagine, until I see my son's video - dear God, I look like I'M a hundred) I haven't looked at the watch, nor checked the race clock. I don't know why. In the end it came down to that last surge to get me under, and certainly without Sean's cameo I wouldn't have got near 19.30, but the watch shows 19:28.8, and after myself and Ultraman pose for some flattering face-down-on-the-track post-race photos I recover, and find I am quite pleased with that performance. My quote beforehand had been "sub 19.30 will be a good run today". Next up, Terenure. Oh, and I nearly forgot the shoes. Quite literally. If the test of good tech gear is that you forget all about it during the experience, then these babies are outstanding. I can not think of a single thing to say about them, and that is the highest compliment I can come up with, if that makes any sense at all. I did not think about them once. They were unobtrusive to the point of invisibility. They will be employed again next weekend.

3.1 miles @6.17

6.09, 6.24, 6.22, (5.19)

HR 158/169

Week's mileage 35

Monday 7th

Short easy run.

5.08 @8.54

HR 121/135

Tuesday 8th

2x(1k, 800,600, 400) @6.25 w 90 secs recovery. On the Tallaght track.

1k 6.22, 6.16
    800 6.16, 6.11
    600 6.10, 6.23
    400 5.59, 5.59

HR 132/156

Wednesday 9th

No running

Thursday 10th

This was supposed to be an easy run, but having missed a day, obviously feeling fresher here, and went with the flow.
    8.39 @8.06

HR 133/144

Friday 11th

Shorter easy run.

5.22 @8.35

HR 126/138

Saturday 12th

Tymon parkrun. Run very easy, race on the morrow. Bit of a blast at the very end.

3.14 @8.22

HR 123/160

Sunday 13th

Terenure 5m race.

5@6.28 (32.21)

HR 157/170

Week's mileage 37

Monday 14th

Easy run with clubmates.

6.07 @8.35

HR 126/138

Tuesday 15th

14x300 in 70 sec, 50 sec jog recovery (100m). Done on the track. All within one second, bar the last at 1.08

HR 130/153

Wednesday 16th

No running.

Thursday 17th

Easy short run.

5.03 @9.01

HR 117/129

Friday 18th

6x3 min @ 6.30 (75 sec rec), 4 min jog, 5x30 sec hard (90 sec rec). Another complicated session where one needs to keep one's wits about one.

6.27, 6.36, 6.20, 6.26, 6.27, 6.20 (Av 6.26)
    5.40, 5.44, 5.47, 5.30, 5.27 (Av 5.40)

HR 129/164

Saturday 19th

Long-ish run. On instructions, racing on Tuesday.

10.01 @8.42

HR 121/135

Sunday 20th

No running.

Week's mileage 37

Monday 21st

No running.

Tuesday 22nd

Bob Heffernan 5k. A sweltering evening in Johnstown. Was reasonably pleased with this, had an idea that sub-19 was a little bit of a reach. Gave it everything, and didn't drop too many seconds in the mid-part of the race.

3.1 @6.10 (19.10)

HR 158/169

Wednesday 23rd

Short easy run.

5.03 @8.47

HR 122/138

Thursday 24th

Easy run.

6.13 @8.49

HR 123/144

Friday 25th

2x(1200, 1k, 800, 600, 400) @6.30 - 90 secs recovery, 5 mins between sets.

Was down in Kerry for some climbing, so this was done in Killarney national park, which was conveniently on our hotel doorstep. Oppressively hot and humid, but there was a breeze, which helped but also probably accounted for the slower pace in one direction. A few drinks were had the night before, so possibly not in tip-top condition, but a good honest effort all the same.

1200 - 6.38, 6.29
    1k - 6.37, 6.32
    800 - 6.52, 6.34
    600 - 6.40, 6.44
    400 - 6.33, 6.17

HR 137/167

Saturday 26th

Ascent of Carrauntoohil. A bit rich to log this as a run, but since it was effectively standing in for the long run...

8 and a bit miles in a shade under 5 hours, with 3357ft feet of climbing.

HR 98/156

Sunday 27th

No running.

Week's mileage 34

Monday 28th

Short very easy.

5.04 @8.58

HR 121/138

Tuesday 29th

Easy run.

7.1 @8.42

HR 122/141

Wednesday 30th

8x2mins @6.30, 1 min jog recovery. Planned to do this with a couple of others, but work intervened, so didn't get out onto the planned route at Aherne's until much later in the evening. It had cooled a lot, but was still quite muggy. All this good weather is good acclimatisation for Berlin - although it will probably be miserable come July/August. The flies are a problem. Swarms of the little bastards, and although I haven't swallowed many, I've had them in my eye a couple of times, and it's very offputting. Evidently I found hitting the right pace difficult at times.

6.30, 6.25, 6.04, 6.38, 6.11, 6.35, 6.30, 6.13. (Av 6.23)

HR 143/167

Thursday 31st

Easy run. Not as easy as it should have been, because Crazy Andy.

7.07 @8.23

HR 134/149

Friday 1st June

Easy run. First week, sorta, of marathon training. The official line is that we are segueing gradually into marathon mode, but, you know. I have 16 WEEKS TO GO marked in my calendar and stuff.

8.01 @8.33

HR 125/141

Saturday 2nd

6x5 mins @6.50 with 90 secs jog recovery. A little comprehension fail here, as I misread '90 sec jog' as '90 sec walk', and moreover awarded myself points because I only walked 30 secs and then jogged for a minute. Anyhoo.

6.54, 6.44, 6.46, 6.45, 6.53, 6.43 (Av 6.47)

HR 132/160

Sunday 3rd

14m long run. Majorly hungover which is why I didn't get out to do this until the late afternoon. In my defence I had been on the dry all week. Got extremely hot in the second half of this, run along the Dodder as far as Clonskeagh and back. Very happy with the pace, considering the tough session the day before.

14 @8.14

HR 134/155

Week's mileage 56

Monday 4th

Easy short trail run. A clubmate's mountain jaunt the day before gave me the goo for the hills, so went up to Ticknock and headed upwards.

HR 122/144

Tuesday 5th

4x(1k@4.05, 800@3.15) 2 min rec. Done on the track before noon, which didn't make it any easier. Very warm conditions too.

4.05, 3.16/4.06, 3.18/4.04, 3.16/4.05, 3.15

HR 131/157

Wednesday 6th

Easy run.

7 @8.42

HR 120/132

Thursday 7th

Easy run.

8.23 @8.25

Friday 8th

10mins@7.10/5mins@6.50/10mins@7.10 - magnificent acclimatisation conditions for Berlin lately, it has to be said.

7.13, 6.43, 7.04

HR 131/163

Saturday 9th

No running.

Sunday 10th

Long run. Along the Dodder again. Couldn't get into it, kept stopping, ended up feeling very creaky and dehydrated. Glutes still pinging.

14.02 @8.32

HR 129/148

Week's mileage 50

Monday 11th

Easy short recovery.

5.03 @8.46

HR 115/134

Tuesday 12th

Club race 1. A 5k run on the paths in Tymon, with a changed route owing to the ongoing works. It was a no-watch, predict-your-time effort. Didn't get close to my prediction and was disappointed to not even break 20. I ran 19.10 mere weeks ago!

Wednesday 13th

No running.

Thursday 14th

7 mile run. Overcompensating, I'd say.

7.02 @8.10

HR 135/151

Friday 15th

Easy run. More like it.

8 @8.34

HR 123/137

Saturday 16th

Marlay parkrun. Tymon having changed yet again, a run there would be meaningless, timewise, and anyway from what I've seen of the traffic-coned 180 turn nonsense from pictures, it's a waste of time at the mo. I'll return when it settles down again. So it was that my 50th parkrun took place in Marlay, where I hadn't in been in so long that I'd never run the present course. I suppose that contradicts my previous argument too, come to think of it. Oh well. At least I broke 20 this time.

5k @6.25 (19.57)

HR 150/162

Sunday 17th

Long run. Added a mile onto the recommended distance. Feeling those long run nerves already.

15.03 @8.37

HR 125/150

Week's mileage 48

Monday 18th

No running. Because I was off on holliers the following day.

Tuesday 19th

....when there was no running either.

Wednesday 20th

Second day, and it started raining. In Portugal! And it was sunny at home. Nice for a run though, into Albufeira, and then a combination beach/trail run back along the coast, being lashed by wind and rain all the while.

6.33m

stats irrelevant.

Thursday 21st

No running.

Friday 22nd

Sometime in the previous couple of days, I had jokingly demanded of the coach the whereabouts of this week's training plan. Well, the joke was on me, because when he duly obliged I felt guilty enough to carry it out. For the most part. The tricky part was finding a reasonably flat, and most importantly quiet stretch of road. The Portuguese drive very close to the kerb. A couple of miles back towards Faro, I took a turn off a roundabout, and eventually found a quiet side-road. The session was 2x8mins@6.50/2x6mins@6.40, 2mins rec. The road was downhill in one direction, so eventually the uphill stretches told, and I only managed 5mins for the last rep, at a sorry pace. In the punishing heat, though, and in holiday-drinking mode, quite pleased.

2x8 - 6.45, 6.47
    2x6 - 6.28, 7.20

HR 144/167

Saturday 23rd

Slow recovery 5 miler.

Sunday 24th

14m run. Working out a route was the difficulty here. Ended up retracing my steps from the session, and continuing on towards the sea. Eventually saw signs for Jet-Ski, followed them and ended up at a beach bar, where I had a swim, then ran along a cycle trail, and ended up at the swanky Vilamoura marina. Exhausting and in torrid heat, but it got done, even though I got disorientated and a bit lost on the way home.

14.01 @8.38

HR 130/159

Week's mileage 34

Monday 25th

No running.

Tuesday 26th

Easy 5 miler.

Wednesday 27th

Session. 2x90sec, 4X(60,30,15) fairly hard, with a floating (ie a bit slower but not much) equal-time recovery. Much, much harder than it looked, to me anyway. The hardest part was not going too fast, especially as the intervals progressed, but in not slowing down too much on the 'recoveries', and I think I probably failed in that regard. Some of the later paces seem impossibly slow too, unless I was really getting punchy from the sun.

HR 141/168

Thursday 28th

No running. Last night.

Friday 29th

Going home. No running.

Saturday 30th

Back home in good old Dodder Valley Big Loop for the second session - and the weather seemed identical to Portugal. A nice touch of coolness to the breeze though. Managed to jog the recoveries, until the last couple. Overall pace on the money.

8x3mins @6.50 1 min rec.

6.57, 6.39, 6.59, 6.47, 6.57, 6.48, 6.49, 6.37

HR 137/159

Sunday 1st July

16m run. Aimed to avoid too much climbing, but in the end did waterworks to back gate and around the brook field area.

16.01 @8.14

HR 137/154

Week's mileage 36

Monday 2nd

Very easy 5.

5.43 @9.05

HR 121/134

Tuesday 3rd

Club race 4. Brittas 5m. Aimed for 6.30s, couldn't quite hold it, but reasonably happy to break 33 on a tough enough course. It's short, which is a pity because I just realised I have a 31.17 on it, which would be a big pb.

4.93 @6.41 (32.55)

HR 158/169

Wednesday 4th

Easy run.

7.12 @8.48

HR 123/136

Thursday 5th

Easy run.

9.08 @8.30

HR 122/144

Friday 6th

Session. 12x1 @6.30, 1 min recovery. Bit of variance in the reps. Averaged out at 6.20

HR 132/158

Saturday 7th

Easy run.

7.67 @8.28

HR 127/137

Sunday 8th

15 miles @ Steady. Not looking forward to this very much. A couple of other lads out, but decided to avoid their waterworks route and keep things on the flat. Finished up with laps of the Big Dodder Loop at Aherne's. Was hot, of course, but I had started at 6.30am to counter the conditions. All was not right, though, and despite being on good behaviour the day before, I think I was still dehydrated, judging by the (excuse me) bright-yellow colour of my wee. It had been a full-on week, too, 7 days running and a race, and all immediately after the holiday break. Decided to cut my losses, and call it a day at 12 miles. Added one more as a cooldown.

12 @7.35

HR 139/151

Week's mileage 57

Monday 9th

No running.

Tuesday 10th

No running.

Wednesday 11th

3x1k@4.10, 4x600@2.30 - 2 min rec throughout.

4.12, 4.03, 4.02
    2.24, 2.29, 2.25, 2.26

HR 124/157

Thursday 12th

Easy run.

8.06 @8.48

HR 121/147

Friday 13th

Short easy run.

5.09 @8.32

HR 121/134

Saturday 14th

Day of Irish PB's 5k @ Le Cheile track, Leixlip. A scorching hot day for this, and as I lined up with about 10 others for the 19/18.30min race at 5.30pm, the butterflies were kicking in. A track 5k is very different to a road 5k - there's nowhere to hide, and the anonymity of the large-entry event is stripped away. If you flop, everyone's gonna see it.

My main worry was that the pace (I was aiming for sub-19) might be too hot from the start. There was also the fact that it was my first-ever track 5k. 12.5 laps at around 1.31 seemed like a fearsome challenge. Once a decent gap had been established between us and the 18.30 group, however, it was possible to take stock, and try to get a handle on my breathing in order to establish some control. I seemed to be consuming oxygen at an enormous rate, though, and try as I might, the needle gradually climbed ever-closer to the red zone as we circled the track.

I remembered the phenomenon from our group track sessions in Tallaght, but running with a bunch of people, especially when one is maintaining a nice even pace, really does make a big difference. Although the first two miles were as good as it got for me, I was gratified to see I had maintained sub-6 pace for those 8 laps - something I haven't been able to accomplish on the road for years. Our Rob seemed to be doing a sterling job too, and while the 18.30 group seemed to be splintering alarmingly, some of them coming right back to us, we were 'packing well', as they say.

Inevitably, though, the oxygen burn was beginning to take its toll, and little by little I dropped off the group. I found myself running with another chap, and the sheer tiredness I was feeling meant I couldn't bring myself to overtake him, and I adjusted to his pace for a lap or maybe two, which in hindsight was an error. My pace for the third mile dropped to 6.20, and as I had neglected to count laps, due to fear of miscounting, I had no idea how long this torture would go on for.

Thankfully, though, the announcers started telling the 18.30 guys that they had two laps to go, so that oriented me, and I knew I just had to keep going somehow for 2.5 more laps. The heat was punishing, although I really didn't feel it affected my performance that badly. One on lap I had made a futile attempt to grab a water bottle, and I was eternally grateful to my Tallaght teammate who sprinted around to hand me one, which I mostly dumped over my head. Around and around and then it was the last lap, and I overtook one, maybe two people coming around the final bend and up the straight. Crossing the line I could see I had just fallen short, with 19.04 coming up on the clock. Once I had recovered, several minutes later, I consoled myself that it at least was a season's best.

Great race, great event. I for one will be back.

5k @6.04 (19.04)

HR 162/172

Sunday 15th

A slog of a 16 miler, after yesterday. Up to the waterworks back gate.

16.01 @8.38

HR 128/143

Week's mileage 41

Monday 16th

Easy short recovery.

5.01 @8.54

HR 125/137

Tuesday 17th

Club race. Handicap 5k.

3.07 @6.41 (19.34)

HR 158/179(!)

Wednesday 18th

Easy run.

7.03 @8.49

HR 122/137

Thursday 19th

Short run.

5.05 @8.24

HR 126/142

Friday-Sunday

Nada

Week's mileage 23

Monday 23rd

6.31 @8.28

HR 127

Tuesday 24th

You're not supposed to 'chase' lost mileage, but it's hard not to, when you miss three days, including a long run. So....

AM

5.01 @8.22

HR 126/143

PM

6.38 @8.42

HR 125

Wednesday 25th

6x1200m @4.48 with 90 secs recovery. Found these tough enough. On the track it's a reasonably handy 1.36 per lap, but this wasn't the track, and it's not as easy.

5.03, 4.40, 4.48, 4.46, 4.45, 4.57 (average about 4.50)

HR 136/169

Thursday 26th

9 miles easy. Post-session runs are always a bit of a slog. It's so damn warm too. I waited until 8pm and it was still 21℃.

9.02 @8.48

HR 125/141

Friday 27th

Easy run.

7.01 @8.36

HR 123/138

Saturday 28th

4x(4,3,2,1mins)@6.40 - 90 secs rec. 4 mins between sets. Quite breezy, and into the wind was also slightly uphill, so I worked out a route that I could repeat, which very roughly meant I had 3 mins of the 4 min rep downwind/hill, 2 mins of the 3 min rep upwind/hill, then 2 mins all downwind, and the 1 min all uphill. A 6 to 4 downwind split. I thought that was fair enough.

4 6.41
    3 6.47
    2 6.28
    1 6.46

4 6.37
    3 6.42
    2 6.30
    1 6.34

4 6.41
    3 6.46
    2 6.29
    1 6.38

HR 130/159

Sunday 29th

16 mile run. Last 6 at 7.45 pace. Very trepidatious in advance of this. I was keenly aware that coach had deliberately scheduled a tough session just the day before. All part of the plan, no doubt. Accordingly, I agonised over time and route. A couple of clubmates were running early, but it would mean the waterworks, and that didn't work for me. One, it's too hilly, and two, it's all downhill on the way back. Very easy to knock off 6 miles at 7.45 without really having to work at it. I told the lads I'd make my own arrangements.

Having eventually settled, sort of, on a route, I headed out in the afternoon, and looped around a nearby green space before heading toward Knocklyon. I settled into a rhythm very quickly, and the miles began ticking off at 8.15 pace or so. I realised I was feeling good. Very good. Despite a savage session the day before, and 11 miles in total, I was just humming along. My intention, with the pickup section at the end, was to run nice and easy at 8.30/8.40 pace, but I was hitting 8 minute mile pace here without any effort, breathing nice and relaxed. Just like you do when you're running a really good marathon, in fact.

When I hit the Dodder at Rathfarnham, I followed it back up towards home. I decided I would do the 6 mile pickup on the Dodder Big Loop. It's pretty flat, but the prevailing wind usually means that you get the tailwind with the very slight downhill. It's always a fair test either way. After 2-3 loops the tiredness did kick in, but I had the pace programmed by that stage, and I wasn't for quitting now. Best long run I've had in ages, have to say. And I even managed to tack on a half-mile cooldown back home to get me to 70 for the week. Now I feel like I'm rolling.
    Ich bin ein Berliner!

16.02 @8.06

Last 6 - 7.40, 7.39, 7.40, 7.43, 7.39, 7.25

HR 134/155

Week's mileage 70

Monday 30th

5 mile very easy recovery.

HR 115/125

Tuesday 31st

Easy run.

7.07 @8.30

HR 125/137

Wednesday 1st August

Hill session. 14x45 secs, 90 sec jogback. Into a stiff breeze, but even so the paces look fairly slow and laboured. Hammers and glutes still tight.

HR 121/156

Thursday 2nd

Longish easy run.

9.08 @8.36

HR 129/146

Friday 3rd

No running

Saturday 4th

Session. 8mins@7:00, 4x5mins@6.45, 8mins@7.00. Recoveries 2 mins & 90 secs.

6.47, 6.44, 6.43, 6.48

HR 136/162

Sunday 5th

16 miles, with 8@7:45. Followed a similar route to last week, but when the 8th mile had elapsed, I found myself just the other side of the M50 at the Firhouse weir. With a steep downhill, similar climb back up and a couple of turnstiles to negotiate, I stopped the watch, and began the last 8 miles from the gate at the weir. Made my way up to the Big Dodder Loop, but suffered a systems meltdown after only 4 miles. It was quite hot, and I've been embracing the conditions anyway, deliberately running in the middle of the afternoon. But I needed to cool down, and took a few minutes lying down in the shade. When I tried to get going again, nothing. I slowed, and then stopped. I didn't even feel capable of running, and walked over a mile back to the house. It happened. Forget it, and move on.

8.01 @8.16
    4.11 @7.41

HR MAX 154

Week's mileage 50

Monday 6th

Easy slow recovery.

6@8.58

HR 119/135

Tuesday 7th

Easy run.

8.14 @9.09

Wednesday 8th

Session. 3 miles @7.00, 4 min jog, 5x2 mins @6.20 (60 sec rec). Bit of a wind on this, IIRC. 'Uphill' and into a headwind on the Dodder Big Loop was challenging, but a good session.

6.58, 6.57, 6.47
    6.10, 6.12, 6.22, 6.15, 6.16

HR 128/159

Thursday 9th

Sort-of MLR. A deliberate ploy on the coach's part. Both sessions are followed by a longer run, and then the long run.

9@8.27

HR 124/139

Friday 10th

Easy run. I let it get a bit on the long side.

9.01@8.45

HR 118/129

Saturday 11th

Session. 2x10mins@7:15/2x8mins@7:00/2x4mins@6:45. 2 mins jog recovery throughout. On the DBL once again, and really happy with this.

7:13, 7:10
    6:55, 6:58
    6:38, 6:38

HR 133/161

Sunday 12th

Long run. 18 miles, with last 8 @7:45. Took a chance and went sans water bottle, as while it wasn't as hot as it had been, it was still 19℃ by mid-afternoon. Cheated a tiny bit by not segueing straight into the Steady section, but taking a short break first. Really happy with the outcome, though. Deliberately held back a little on the first 10 miles, then toughed out the 8 on the DBL. The body has gotten used to these punishing weekends, with back-to-back session and (tough) long run. Another 70 mile week, meanwhile. It's all good.

18.01@8.11

Final 8 splits: 7:36, 7:46, 7:45, 7:43, 7:44, 7:44, 7:47, 7:45

HR 133/159

Week's mileage 70

Monday 13th

4.04 @9.50

HR 114

Tuesday 14th

Easy run. Fairly blitzed since the double session at the weekend.

7 @9.22

HR 112/147

Wednesday 15th

Session. 2m wu - 1@6.40/1Easy/2@7.00/1E/1@6.40- 2m cd. A bit sluggish on the jogged miles.

6.39, 6.55, 6.58, 6.31

HR 128/157

Thursday 16th

Longish easy run.

9 @8.53

HR 117/137

Friday 17th

Easy run.

8.01 @8.44

HR 115/139

Saturday 18th

3 mile pre-race shakeout.

3.05@8.08

HR 126

Sunday 19th

Kilcock 10 mile race. Great race, great event. Very windy pre-race, but the course was very sheltered, until the last couple of miles when we were exposed to a nasty headwind along the Greenway/canal section. Possibly slightly too ambitious at the start, but wilted significantly in the second half of the race.

10 @6.57 (1:09:31)

Week's mileage 54

Monday 20th

Short easy recovery.

5@9.46

Tuesday 21st

Easy run.

7@8.33

Wednesday 22nd

Session. 2 mile@6.50 pace (3 min) 5x2 min @6.30 (1 min) 1 mile at 7.00

6:47, 6:49

6:38, 6:24, 6:34, 6:18, 6:34.

6:57

Thursday 23rd

Easy longer run.

8.01@8.40

Friday 24th

No running.

Saturday 25th

Session. 7x1mile@7.00 (recoveries 2.30 reducing by 20m secs)

Sunday 26th

No running. Long run missed.

Week's mileage 41

Monday 27th

Long run from previous day.

18.01@8.36

Tuesday 28th

Easy run.

5.65@8.45

Wednesday 29th

Easy run.

7.01@8.56

Thursday 30th

Session. 20 min* @ 7.00 pace (4 min jog), 4x2 min @ 6.50 (60 sec jog)

* stretched it to 3m

6:59, 6:58, 6:53

6:47, 6:44, 6:38, 6:57

Friday 31st

18 miles @7.30

This was a big week. Last one of full-on training before the taper, and it coincided with Electric Picnic, where I would be working all weekend. It's imperative to get on site early before the traffic builds, so I thought the most sensible thing would be to move the session/long run up a couple of days and get them out of the way, rather than risking committing to them over the weekend, with all the other madness going on.

I have never started a long run at 5.30am before, let alone an almost-MP 18 miler. Untrodden territory for me. I've done 12 miles @ MP. I've done longer runs, but nothing like this sort of sustained, lengthy effort, outside of an actual race. The sheer discipline it seemed to require was unnerving. Which is why the decision to opt for loops of the DBL, rather than a 'normal' route, might seem odd. But hell, I thought. This run is all about, yes, discipline, so let's go for broke and run 15 or 16 laps at dawn. Berlin is all about long, long, unwaveringly straight streets. That's going to require lots of the 'D' word, too.

I decided to run a mile or so to warmup. It would set me up better, and also allow me to stretch the distance to 20. Old habits die hard. On the first circuit, I settled into a pace and ignored the watch. The thought nagged at me that if I finished the first mile and it was slow it would be a struggle lifting the pace I had established, but when the watch buzzed it was a 7.11, and I could relax. Bit of a cushion there pacewise, so I continued on and it wasn't until mile 5 that I actually slowed to goal pace. After about 9 miles I took a detour over a bridge and an adjacent loop, just to break things up, but then got back on the DBL. Breathing was good, the strength was there, but fatigue was building, as I knew and expected it to. Later on the pace flagged a bit, but as long as it stayed in the 7.40's I had plenty of time in the bank. At the end I finished with a 7.25, and was bang-on pace overall.

A huge psychological boost. Now for the taper.

Saturday 1st September

4.45@9.17

Week's mileage 63

Monday 3rd September

No running

Tuesday 4th

1st week of taper. Easy run

6.01@8.52

HR 120/134

Wednesday 5th

Session. 1.5m@6.50, 2x2min@6.30, 1m@7.00

6.29, 6.33

HR 134/156

Thursday 6th

Easy run.

6@9.00

HR 116

Friday 7th

Easy run.

5.58@8.47

HR 121

Saturday 8th

Marlay parkrun. Hoping for a morale-boosting outing here, but in the end just a little quicker than my previous attempt a couple of months back. The peculiar thing was that it felt quicker. I was surprised and disappointed to see 6.28 flash up on the watch after mile 1. The whole run actually mirrored the last one, with each mile being ever so slightly faster. Not sure what to make of that, really. I had gotten used banging out a really decent 5k the week before a marathon.

3.07 @6.28 (19.51)

HR 155/168

Sunday 9th

Long run. 12 miles w last one at 7.00 pace.

12@8.19

HR 128/154

Week's mileage 44

Taper: WEEK 2

Monday 10th

Rest.

by order.

Tuesday 11th

Easy run.

5.2 @8.38

Wednesday 12th

Mini-session. Just a little reminder that one can still run fast, to soothe the nerves. Stiff headwind in parts. HR stayed at around 140 for the 7 minute mile, which was reassuring.

1 mile@7:00, 2x2 mins @6:40, 3x1 mins @6:20. 3 mins jog rec after mile 1, 90 secs thereafter (Walked for about 30 secs, then jog)

7:04

6:45
    6:28

5:52
    6:07
    6:04

HR 123/154

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,827 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Best of luck Sunday D.

OOnegative wrote: »
    Best of luck Sunday D.

Cheers. Once more unto the breach, and so forth.