Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Belfast rape trial discussion thread II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭joe40

joe40 wrote: »
    I am seriously asking you how women and men should behave on nights out in relation to "getting off" with each other as they used to say in my day. I'm not trying to be awkward but are you saying a girl shouldn't go back to a guys house unless she wants full sex. I'm not trying to catch anyone out or deflect, i'm being serious. When I was younger plenty of nights would have been like that

Dont forget me Joe, im anxious to stop doing something if its leading to Roger jnr going out raping at night

Ill repeat as you might have missed it:

A boy might take too much alcohol /drugs, and is therefore unable to (reasonably per law!) determine the sex may be nonconsensual.

My advice therefore to him would be dont drink , take too much drugs whereby your judgement may be impaired

How is that dangerous advice?
    That sounds like good advice to me if that is the affect drink has on him.

And the message to all our children is, if you make a mistake, you will pay for it with your career and good name because sponsors will squawk about morals something something.

The message to our children is, actions have consequences. Be prepared to accept them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,566 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

The message to our children is, actions have consequences. Be prepared to accept them.

The trial was sufficient to send that message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,020 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

They're ability to negotiate a good deal is significantly weaker than it would normally be.

I hope Stuart Olding in particular gets to fulfill his potential, in this whole sorry affair, he is the only one who showed genuine regret at what happened, the statement his solicitor read out was handwritten by him, he showed a bit of humility which should be recognised, humility in this case is a very good first step toward ultimate redemption (by maybe returning to the Irish team at some point).

Haha other countries wont give a crap they were found not guilty and happily take them on board. Jackson would be the one less affected of the two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

"A boy" Joe, "a boy." Nice try.

You're all right though Joe, ill spare you having to admit, advising someone not to do that which may have adverse consequences is in fact sterling advice, not "dangerous" as you claimed.

"A boy" Joe, "a boy." Nice try.

You're all right though Joe, ill spare you having to admit, advising someone not to do that which may have adverse consequences is in fact sterling advice, not "dangerous" as you claimed.
    In your case the drink was going to make hom do something. Where did I say you shouldn't advised somebody not to mitigate risks. Was that not one of the numbered points in your post that I agreed with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Mrsmum wrote: »
    Hilarious how people who think they can say what they like themselves have such a big problem when someone else uses a word they don't like. Channel your inner female and put up with it like we have to do all the time.

Your use of the word is completely sexist. Paint it any way you like, but a sexist word remains a sexist word. Your denial of this is just more head in sand arrogance.
    Mansplaining means " to comment on or explain something to a woman in a condescending, overconfident, and often inaccurate or oversimplified manner".

If the cap fits wear it.

Let me mansplain it properly. Mansplaining is a preferred femisists word used to describe a man explaining something to a woman which she, or another woman takes offense to.
    I know you guys have to latch on to something today seeing as your other cause is lost. Might as well be mansplaining. Btw when you teach your class as I teach my class, that would be called teaching. Surprised you don't know that.

More generalised sexism with a sprinkle of patronisation.
    You suspect incorrectly. And I also have four teenagers.
    See joe40's post to explain what actually happened.

You needed a man to explain what you were talking about? Even though that man got it wrong :D

I pray you never see the contents of your teenagers phones. I have a teenager and while I consider him to be a well balanced person for his age...(already talking about college and he’s not even sat his jnr cert) I am not naive enough to think he hasn’t been crude with his friends and said things that would be in bad taste.
    Are you seriously telling a mother that you know more about her son and his behaviour than she does.
    Just out of interest what is your expertise with young people and their behaviour. Young people overall that is.

I just skim read the last 20 odd pages, so I might have missed a bit, but I think he is telling her that she doesn’t know them as well as she thinks. Sure, how could she? She’s been on here all day and for all she knows, FrancieBrady could be one of her kids posting in here :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

goz83 wrote: »
    Your use of the word is completely sexist. Paint it any way you like, but a sexist word remains a sexist word. Your denial of this is just more head in sand arrogance.

Let me mansplain it properly. Mansplaining is a preferred femisists word used to describe a man explaining something to a woman which she, or another woman takes offense to.

More generalised sexism with a sprinkle of patronisation.

You needed a man to explain what you were talking about? Even though that man got it wrong :D

I pray you never see the contents of your teenagers phones. I have a teenager and while I consider him to be a well balanced person for his age...(already talking about college and he’s not even sat his jnr cert) I am not naive enough to think he hasn’t been crude with his friends and said things that would be in bad taste.

I just skim read the last 20 odd pages, so I might have missed a bit, but I think he is telling her that she doesn’t know them as well as she thinks. Sure, how could she? She’s been on here all day and for all she knows, FrancieBrady could be one of her kids posting in here :pac:

More ranting and raging against the world.

I am seriously asking you how women and men should behave on nights out in relation to "getting off" with each other as they used to say in my day. I'm not trying to be awkward but are you saying a girl shouldn't go back to a guys house unless she wants full sex. I'm not trying to catch anyone out or deflect, i'm being serious. When I was younger plenty of nights would have been like that

I am not saying any such thing.

Go back and read what I said.
    Ok maybe it is to the guys bedroom she shouldn't go unless she wants full sex.
    You said the "real tragedy" is that no one is warrning of the dangers of young ladies in bedroom of strange men. I can get the exact post if you wish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Ok maybe it is to the guys bedroom she shouldn't go unless she wants full sex.
    You said the "real tragedy" is that no one is warrning of the dangers of young ladies in bedroom of strange men. I can get the exact post if you wish.

Who in the public realm has said anything about the responsibilities of young women?

You know the people responsible for such things like the Rape Crisis Centre who have had plenty to say about rugby's responsibilities and a man's responsibilities.

Thats what ye do I thought?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Very noble of you to admit it ;)

In your case the drink was going to make hom do something. Where did I say you shouldn't advised somebody not to mitigate risks. Was that not one of the numbered points in your post that I agreed with.

Joe, Now I'm confused.
    Are you contradicting yourself or what?
    Points 1,2 and 3 I agree with.
    It is this sentence that you use which for me sums up the danger of your position

"behaviour s that might lead boys to rape"

No girl (or boy for that matter) can engage in behaviour that would lead someone else to rape. That is classic
    "victim blaming" (I usually detest buzz words but that fits)
    I'm all for teaching personal responsibility but you are never responsible for the behaviour of someone else.
    That is not absolutism.

which led to the question you're now flip flopping on, and I've just noticed misquoted me.
    Do you disagree with this position so:
    A boy might take too much alcohol /drugs, and is therefore unable to (reasonably per law!) determine the sex may be nonconsensual.

My advice therefore to him would be dont drink , take too much drugs whereby your judgement may be impaired

How is that dangerous?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,651 ✭✭✭Infini

I'll be honest there are times I wish they would just simply turn around and tell the raving mob to go **** themselves. The lads were idiots but they arent rapists because that was settled in a court of law. As far as I'm concerned it should have ended there. As for the whats app messages they werent public statements they were private and should have no bearing beyond getting the bollocks ate out of them in private.

Fact is from where I look this cancer media toxicity is the equivelent of a 21st century salem witch trials. Ignorant Bullshyte is the order of the day and people cant accept the logical arguments made in court so they want a cancer media kangaroo court.

I dont agree that their behaviour is acceptable but the public humiliation is more than enough to change their behaviour.

Anything else like losing their careers is no longer justice its malicious vengence and will only serve to come back and bite these toxic idiots down the road in some other form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,825 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Patww79 wrote: »

That wasn't what was "proven" and if you think that's the 'message' from this case you're sadly mistaken.

The message is actions have consequences.

The message is don't think because you play international rugby you have a license to do what you want.

The message is don't treat people like dirt.

Paddy Pantsdown and his simian mate are learning their lesson the hard way - you still sound like you've a way to go.

That wasn't what was "proven" and if you think that's the 'message' from this case you're sadly mistaken.

The message is don't think because you play international rugby you have a license to do what you want.

Paddy Pantsdown and his simian mate are learning their lesson the hard way - you still sound like you've a way to go.

So the jury was wrong? You still think they are guilty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

pjohnson wrote: »
    Haha other countries wont give a crap they were found not guilty and happily take them on board. Jackson would be the one less affected of the two.

Ha ha haaaa!!! Good one.

You do know clubs are ruthless bast##ds when they are negotiating contracts.

If there is a bidding war then the lads have a sporting chance of securing the money they are already on, less their international money, which they will no longer get.

If there are only one or two clubs involved then, the lads are not in a strong position...they all have sponsors too.

If you think there will be clubs throwing money at them....you should never be left anywhere near the commercial decision making process!!!

Yet you keep on saying this when the only sober witness said she saw people enjoying their behaviour.

Who was getting treated like dirt again?
    Paddy Pantsdown and his simian mate

Who is talking about 'respect'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,825 ✭✭✭facehugger99

So the jury was wrong? You still think they are guilty.

I'm capable of forming my own sentences thanks - I don't need your assistance.

Joe, Now I'm confused.
    It is this sentence that you use which for me sums up the danger of your position

No girl (or boy for that matter) can engage in behaviour that would lead someone else to rape. That is classic
    I'm all for teaching personal responsibility but you are never responsible for the behaviour of someone else.
    That is not absolutism.

which led to the question you're now flip flopping on, and I've just noticed misquoted me.

How is that dangerous?
    I just checked back I did not misquote you. You laid out 3 numbered point and I agreed with all of them.

You then talked about "behaviours that might lead boys to rape"
    That was the dangerous message I was referring to. To both yourself and francie I have consistently said I would give advice especially to my own kids.
    I just do not like linking advice to specific incidents such as this one.
    Francie was saying that the lady from the rape crisis centre should have been giving safety advice women at this time.

I'm capable of forming my own sentences thanks - I don't need your assistance.

Well you cant answer questions and can't spell Jackson so you do it appears.

One for the rugby experts:
    Is there anything to stop Jackson doing a Bundi Aki and declaring for another international side by playing in one of their club teams? I am thinking Italy maybe.

Ha ha haaaa!!! Good one.

You do know clubs are ruthless bast##ds when they are negotiating contracts.

If there is a bidding war then the lads have a sporting chance of securing the money they are already on, less their international money, which they will no longer get.

If there are only one or two clubs involved then, the lads are not in a strong position...they all have sponsors too.

If you think there will be clubs throwing money at them....you should never be left anywhere near the commercial decision making process!!!

Commercial decisions arent based around hashtags. Or people saying bad things in private messages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭skearnsot

I would DEARLY love to know why a very upset girl who had been just allegedly raped not only sat into the back of a taxi with the best friend of the alleged offenders BUT ALSO gave him her number - he text her didn’t he?
    That has me stumped - and I’m female!

If they had as much drink on board as was pointed out - they shouldn’t be able to raise a smile let alone anything else!!! Just MHO

I just checked back I did not misquote you. You laid out 3 numbered point and I agreed with all of them.

You then talked about "behaviours that might lead boys to rape"
    That was the dangerous message I was referring to. To both yourself and francie I have consistently said I would give advice especially to my own kids.
    I just do not like linking advice to specific incidents such as this one.
    Francie was saying that the lady from the rape crisis centre should have been giving safety advice women at this time.

jeez, I feel I'm labouring the point here, so its not dangerous to advise people not to engage in behaviours that may have adverse consequences.

i think I agree with you re advising our kids about their behaviour, but I think you think Im victim blaming when it comes to rape.

Joe, Now I'm confused.

That is not absolutism.

How is that dangerous?
    I was readiing over your post and I apologise I think I misunderstood you. I genuinelythought you were refering to a girls behaviour which would lead a boy to rape. Sorry about that.
    Absolutely I would give advice to both genders to keep themselves safe

Commercial decisions arent based around hashtags. Or people saying bad things in private messages.

Ha Ha Haaa...keep em coming!!!

You're hilarious!!!

Just so I know what I'm dealing with here....have you ever bought any magic beans?

I was readiing over your post and I apologise I think I misunderstood you. I genuinelythought you were refering to a girls behaviour which would lead a boy to rape. Sorry about that.
    Absolutely I would give advice to both genders to keep themselves safe

c'mere and give me a hug...

skearnsot wrote: »
    I would DEARLY love to know why a very upset girl who had been just allegedly raped not only sat into the back of a taxi with the best friend of the alleged offenders BUT ALSO gave him her number - he text her didn’t he?
    That has me stumped - and I’m female!

If they had as much drink on board as was pointed out - they shouldn’t be able to raise a smile let alone anything else!!! Just MHO

They had swapped numbers at the end of the night club, before they all went back to a house party.

The young lady claimed that she ran out of the house, after going back for her phone, at this point she began to break down, I can only assume she sat down somewhere (the back side of her jeans were covered in dirt)...she said when Rory Harrisson came out of the house after her she initially thought he was going to attack her, but he tried to calm her down, he called a taxi, at this point there were phone calls and messages firing between himself and McIlroy.

She was sobbing for the next half an hour, when she got home, he helped her to her front door.

The lads of course have a different account, but they are all different from one another so its hard to piece their part of the proceedings together.

Oh, and she gave them all oral sex, according to them, and hand jobs...so they all did manage to perform...