If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

F&F Chitchat a hocht, an feirmeoir bocht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

L1985 wrote: »
    Sorry for my ignorance -what is a bullet? We have never used magnesium here but I presume you can get it from the co-op? Dad swore by the hay and silage! Also would molasses be in normal beef nut mix? We usually mix a small bit through to get the cows to eat the oats as they are a bit on the spoilt side!!
    Thanks for the help-we lost one cow last year to it ☹️

I think he means a bolus but I could be wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

greysides wrote: »
    No. The theory behind the hay/straw is either the stalk is high in Mg or that the extra dry matter in the diet slows the digestive transit allowing better absorption of what Mg is in the diet.

I don't think you can rely on either theory. Magnesium buckets might help but are a bit hit-and-miss as individuals may not go near them. Bullets or chuck some calmag and molasses in with your oats would be a better bet IMO.
    Would you ever see it in cows other than extremely milky ones

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

I think he means a bolus but I could be wrong?

I did. Must be a colloquial term.

The molasses is a suggestion to encourage them to eat it as calmag has a bitter taste.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Would you ever see it in cows other than extremely milky ones

I rarely see it all. Either someone is preventing it properly or the knacker gets to see them.

Very unforgiving condition, Grass tetany.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭L1985

I rarely see it all. Either someone is preventing it properly or the knacker gets to see them.

Very unforgiving condition, Grass tetany.

Thanks greysides-that's a help!! I'll get that out to them when they get out 🙂. I was thinking a bullet was a bit drastic!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Burning Tires

How much are the bushings that are welded into a frame for taking a spike. And how much would a 4ft spike be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 978 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

How much are the bushings that are welded into a frame for taking a spike. And how much would a 4ft spike be?

Not an exact price for a 4ft one but I was in genfit last week. 1400mm tine was 135 plus 24 for the bushing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭148multi

Bought two long tines (one's used in bale splitter) 75 including bushing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

L1985 wrote: »
    Guys would giving cows oats once a day be enough to stop grass tetany? Have cows heavy in calf that will be going out and some of the grass will be a bit stronger by the time they get to it. Dad says it has to be straw or hay or silage but couldn't explain why.....

Calved down over 300 crossbreds in a mixed autumn weather wise outdoors on standing hay, the biggest problem causing milk fever in the cows there was the fresh grass growing up in the standing hay. We used to give a dose of pottassium intravenously post calving as sometimes it was not always milk fever they were down with.

Better living everyone

Calved down over 300 crossbreds in a mixed autumn weather wise outdoors on standing hay, the biggest problem causing milk fever in the cows there was the fresh grass growing up in the standing hay. We used to give a dose of pottassium intravenously post calving as sometimes it was not always milk fever they were down with.

Potassium?

Or, Phosphorus?

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Potassium?

Or, Phosphorus?

Youre right it was phosphorous, havent been thinking about cows the last while.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Don't think I'll be bothering Anna May just yet! :pac::D

IB1AgKFl.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Well good woman yourself!( said without even a hint of condescension! :D ) It's good to continue these traditions if only for traditions sake.

I wouldn't call myself a gardener by any stretch of the imagination, but in this spring of poor grass growth, l diverted my attention to the planting of a good few trees and plants around the house and farm. And you know I am getting great satisfaction now in watching the buds start to break and seeing the signs of fresh green growth. Good for the soul, if a little hard on the back!

Muckit wrote: »
    Well good woman yourself!( said without even a hint of condescension! :D ) It's good to continue these traditions if only for traditions sake.

I wouldn't call myself a gardener by any stretch of the imagination, but in this spring of poor grass growth, l diverted my attention to the planting of a good few trees and plants around the house and farm. And you know I am getting great satisfaction now in watching the buds start to break and seeing the signs of fresh green growth. Good for the soul, if a little hard on the back!

Well the wee garden is too small for a plough other than a horse one so it's loy or nothing. It is quite cathartic too, hacking away at roots :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,328 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

So how was Friday the thirteenth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Don't think I'll be bothering Anna May just yet! :pac::D

IB1AgKFl.jpg

Very impressive indeed. What kind of crop do you usually get?

For the spuds and other vegetables I use a system of no-dig permanent raised beds as the soil is very heavy clay. Digging it is like shovelling concrete.

Hand dug drains between the beds take away surface water. The beds are covered over in the winter and rotated every couple of years. Selected beds also get a good dose of well rotted manure over the winter. When spring comes it's only a matter of taking of the weed-block fabric and planting as the worms and cold weather does the rest. Saves the back and still produces a decent crop for our own use :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,677 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

whelan2 wrote: »
    So how was Friday the thirteenth?

Got the cattle out today and all sheds powerwasher. Ground just about fit but **** it it's nearly may.

We've not used this area before so that's where all the roots are coming from. Used other ground the last few years which was much easier to work with and yielded fairly well.
    Kept some of last years spuds and they've chitted well so have one ridge for them already in as I split & guggered them earlier.
    Another is onions and then final one is to be decided though might be cabbage and carrots. I like your idea of the beds and adding manure, might try it out this winter.

Nothing happened us today on the 13th......I actually got out of being dragged to a Flavin' concert so a good day :D:D
    gozunda wrote: »
    Very impressive indeed. What kind of crop do you usually get?

For the spuds and other vegetables I use a system of no-dig permanent raised beds as the soil is very heavy clay. Digging it is like shovelling concrete.

Hand dug drains between the beds take away surface water. The beds are covered over in the winter and rotated every couple of years. Selected beds also get a good dose of well rotted manure over the winter. When spring comes it's only a matter of taking of the weed-block fabric and planting as the worms and cold weather does the rest. Saves the back and still produces a decent crop for our own use :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,766 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

We've not used this area before so that's where all the roots are coming from. Used other ground the last few years which was much easier to work with and yielded fairly well.
    Kept some of last years spuds and they've chitted well so have one ridge for them already in as I split & guggered them earlier.
    Another is onions and then final one is to be decided though might be cabbage and carrots. I like your idea of the beds and adding manure, might try it out this winter.

Nothing happened us today on the 13th......I actually got out of being dragged to a Flavin' concert so a good day :D:D

That area looks ripe for trying out some biochar on.
    The fecking trouble is I've never intentionally made the stuff.
    What it is cooked carbon in the absence of oxygen. Well charcoal for an easier explanation.
    Your supposed to mix it with manure and/or fert and biological stuff if you have it for a while before using in the soil.
    It would make the soil easy till after anyway.

I unintentionally made some a few years ago by burning tree branches in a pile in a field before reseeding to grass. There was charcoal left in the heap after and then fym was spread on the field and then it was ploughed in. But there's a noticeable (especially during the bad weather) green patch with good grass growth where that burnt charcoal was ploughed in with the fym.

You should follow this fella.
    Sampo Tukiainen (@SampoTukiainen) Tweeted:
    My sweet Lumme cow came to get some #biochar while I was at it. She likes her's straight outta bag, no flavoring... https://t.co/yQsemnZlAw https://twitter.com/SampoTukiainen/status/980412261444579329?s=17

Must be a Finnish thing.....my brother tried making it here before!
    That area looks ripe for trying out some biochar on.
    The fecking trouble is I've never intentionally made the stuff.
    What it is cooked carbon in the absence of oxygen. Well charcoal for an easier explanation.
    Your supposed to mix it with manure and/or fert and biological stuff if you have it for a while before using in the soil.
    It would make the soil easy till after anyway.

I unintentionally made some a few years ago by burning tree branches in a pile in a field before reseeding to grass. There was charcoal left in the heap after and then fym was spread on the field and then it was ploughed in. But there's a noticeable (especially during the bad weather) green patch with good grass growth where that burnt charcoal was ploughed in with the fym.

You should follow this fella.
    Sampo Tukiainen (@SampoTukiainen) Tweeted:
    My sweet Lumme cow came to get some #biochar while I was at it. She likes her's straight outta bag, no flavoring... https://t.co/yQsemnZlAw https://twitter.com/SampoTukiainen/status/980412261444579329?s=17

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭mayota

Reggie. wrote: »
    Got the cattle out today and all sheds powerwasher. Ground just about fit but **** it it's nearly may.

How are the calves doing now Reggie?

mayota wrote: »
    How are the calves doing now Reggie?

Flying. Nearly 6 weeks now and not so much as a cough. Think them jackets are the dogs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭mayota

Flying. Nearly 6 weeks now and not so much as a cough. Think them jackets are the dogs

Good stuff. I have 15 here this year doing grand but 2 very slow drinkers taking up more time than the rest. Some are fairly loose too, so keeping a close eye.Did you go OAD?

You left all the cattle out. That i can understand. But you powerwashed all the sheds too! Aren't you afraid if we get this forecasted bad weather that you could be rehousing some groups, if not all the cattle again. Undoing hours and hours of work..... and fceking hours of powerwashing at that.

mayota wrote: »
    Good stuff. I have 15 here this year doing grand but 2 very slow drinkers taking up more time than the rest. Some are fairly loose too, so keeping a close eye.Did you go OAD?

Yeah always OAD here. Eating a lot of meal also

You left all the cattle out. That i can understand. But you powerwashed all the sheds too! Aren't you afraid if we get this forecasted bad weather that you could be rehousing some groups, if not all the cattle again. Undoing hours and hours of work..... and fceking hours of powerwashing at that.

Nope

Nope

Why so confident? Hillground?

Cos they'll be sold on before they see a shed again
    Machinery has moved in for the summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

Nope

He’s hoping he’ll have to put them back in so he can clean the shed again

ganmo wrote: »
    He’s hoping he’ll have to put them back in so he can clean the shed again

Tractor has to be washed again. Worked it for an hour :D