Can you sue a pub landlord for slander

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    The landlord is better off not having someone who asks "can i sue" about something so trivial as a customer.

Not getting the logic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

Kinda important for a slander case.

Kind of hard prove reputational damage when no one knows or cares who you are....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chrongen

wexie wrote: »
    But why?

He's hardly taking out adds in the local newspaper with your picture that say 'this guy is a trouble maker and is barred from my pub'?

By your own admission you very rarely go in there? So why bother?

Don't know about you but I like to stand up for myself if I feel I've been wronged.
    If some shop assistant dicks you out of a fiver are you just going to say "sure it's only a few quid, why bother?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,885 ✭✭✭Allinall

Chrongen wrote: »
    Don't know about you but I like to stand up for myself if I feel I've been wronged.
    If some shop assistant dicks you out of a fiver are you just going to say "sure it's only a few quid, why bother?"

In your example, you would have been down a fiver, so it would be only right and proper to try and recover your loss.

What has the OP lost?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

You are comparing apples and chickens.

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    Don't need to be a wimp to realise life is too short for b.s. and drama unless of course that's what floats your boat.

"life is too short" is the cop-out that could be used to wimp out of ANY injustice. Get screwed out of your savings, get misdiagnosed and given dangerous unnecessary treatment "Ah sure I could sue and get restitution but life's too short".

It isn't going to get any shorter by standing up for yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,048 ✭✭✭.......

Chrongen wrote:
    "life is too short" is the cop-out that could be used to wimp out of ANY injustice. Get screwed out of your savings, get misdiagnosed and given dangerous unnecessary treatment "Ah sure I could sue and get restitution but life's too short".

You can't have a glass of beer in a certain pub is an injustice? Human rights being trampled on. Quick where's my solicitor....

That’s not the injustice. I don’t think you are following this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

There is no “injustice” in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

bobmalooka wrote: »
    Don’t say that out loud, some people record their conversations in case there’s a perceived slight they might want to pursue. We call them normal folk.

Personally, I will no longer go out or engage socially unless I am accompanied by a full TV crew, including sound engineer and cameraman/woman, and back-up production staff.While this can be a little expensive, and awkward ( don't get me started on taxis) I intend to recoup my outlay by suing the boll ox off everyone and anyone who offends, assaults,defames or otherwise bothers me . So there.

I guess sarcasm is lost on you. There is no injustice what so ever on this thread just an OP with an inflated ego.

There is no “injustice” in this thread.

I don’t think you are following this thread either.

The question is whether the op can sue for defamation. A simple google will confirm that people have been awarded damages for less.

Joe prim wrote: »
    Personally, I will no longer go out or engage socially unless I am accompanied by a full TV crew, including sound engineer and cameraman/woman, and back-up production staff.While this can be a little expensive, and awkward ( don't get me started on taxis) I intend to recoup my outlay by suing the boll ox off everyone and anyone who offends, assaults,defames or otherwise bothers me . So there.

You don’t need that. Just witnesses.

Still drink driving......

Oh boy, what next you're going to get on your high horse about someone getting behind the wheel after a dollop of sherry trifle for dessert?

Allinall wrote: »
    In your example, you would have been down a fiver, so it would be only right and proper to try and recover your loss.

What has the OP lost?

The right to go into this establishment and have a drink through no fault of his own apparently.

I understand that the management has the right to refuse people who they think might be potential troublemakers (we've all seen the "No Tracksuits" signs). But to bar someone for something they didn't do is an injustice. The fact that he wasn't monetarily inconvenienced or punished is irrelevant. Is that the only benchmark for fighting your corner? If you received a fine in the post over some administration error or case of mistaken identity you would most certainly fight it. If the fine was miniscule and a cost that you could easily absorb would you just pony up and say "fcuk it, it's a small amount!"

....... wrote: »

I'm not trying to provide analogies, I'm giving examples of injustices that are not huge in the grand scheme of things that people seem to just say "fcuk it, life's too short to bother fighting"

The right to go into this establishment and have a drink through no fault of his own apparently.

I understand that the management has the right to refuse people who they think might be potential troublemakers (we've all seen the "No Tracksuits" signs). But to bar someone for something they didn't do is an injustice. The fact that he wasn't monetarily inconvenienced or punished is irrelevant. Is that the only benchmark for fighting your corner? If you received a fine in the post over some administration error or case of mistaken identity you would most certainly fight it. If the fine was miniscule and a cost that you could easily absorb would you just pony up and say "fcuk it, it's a small amount!"

Management has the right to refuse anyone they want. There is no case here. This is just an OP with a vastly, vastly over-inflated sense of self importance looking for validation.

Nothing more, nothing less.

It IS an injustice. Admittedly not a very big one but it's still a case of the staff barring someone because they claimed he caused trouble. I would be incensed if I was mistakenly accused of being some scumbag brawler and barred for an establishment no matter how crappy the establishment was or how little the ban impacted my life.

Stick it to the Man!!

Management has the right to refuse anyone they want. There is no case here. This is just an OP with a vastly, vastly over-inflated sense of self importance looking for validation.

Nothing more, nothing less.

How is it "self-important" to want to address a case of mistaken identity?

The OP may be a great guy or he may be a dick. That doesn't excuse him being punished for something he didn't do. You're looking for an excuse to vindicate his unfair treatment simply because you get the feeling that he's a pain in the ass and that's a craven quality to have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,520 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

The OP may be a great guy or he may be a dick. That doesn't excuse him being punished for something he didn't do. You're looking for an excuse to vindicate his unfair treatment simply because you get the feeling that he's a pain in the ass and that's a craven quality to have.

Fair enough if it was mistaken identity and he got a custodial sentence. He’s been refused entry into a pub. On a scale of 1-100 where 100 equals a custodial sentence for mistaken identity being barred from a pub he doesn’t frequent, it is probably 1 at most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭shaunr68

The OP suffered a minor inconvenience and should be slightly annoyed. Any normal person would shrug it off, curse the staff under his breath and swear never to visit the pub again. Instead he chose to be a massive drama queen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,650 ✭✭✭cryptocurrency

Oh boy, what next you're going to get on your high horse about someone getting behind the wheel after a dollop of sherry trifle for dessert?

I wouldn’t take much notice of the likes of hitmain3000. He is just hurt about the fact he was called out on his tragic existence of living for message boards. The whole drive driving after a glass is even more of an non starter if anyone even know me so I’d take no notice. It’s a classic message board response of the desperate.

shaunr68 wrote: »
    The OP suffered a minor inconvenience and should be slightly annoyed. Any normal person would shrug it off, curse the staff under his breath and swear never to visit the pub again. Instead he chose to be a massive drama queen.
    No drawn queen here. I am just not Mondeo man who has accepted his place to be walked on by low brow land lords. Man up.

These are also men who have over twenty years on me and pull pints for a living. Of course they are chippy. You have one life and they’ve made a complete hash of theirs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭4ensic15

There are no pub landlords in Ireland. There are publicans. You can't sue a pub landlord in Ireland because there is no such thing.

4ensic15 wrote: »
    There are no pub landlords in Ireland. There are publicans. You can't sue a pub landlord in Ireland because there is no such thing.

You know what I meant. Publicans.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭4ensic15

You know what I meant. Publicans.

If you go around referring to publicans as pub landlords you can expect to be barred. Lucky you weren't beaten up!

4ensic15 wrote: »
    If you go around referring to publicans as pub landlords you can expect to be barred. Lucky you weren't beaten up!

Who would seriously react to that, only a knackers/chav types or the landlord/publican of the kinda place they frequent. The type where lads where football shirts, tracksuit pants and sports shoes in public when not doing sport when drinking bulmers bottles and ice. Who goes to the places. I know people here don’t as them types don’t use message boards like this..too busy sharing Conor McGregor clips on WhatsApp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

People are saying this isn't a big deal, but I think it is. A friend of mine at university was accused of selling drugs in a Dublin pub. She was absolutely mortified and it was clear that the manager was just making trouble. I mean it's certainly defamation of character. Depending on the severity of the slander I find it hard to believe people would just move on.