Netflix Recommendations 2.0 *READ FIRST POST*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭wilser

Couldn't get into altered carbon but really enjoyed the mist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

Watched Facing Ali last night. Really enjoyable and recommended for anyone with even a passing interest in boxing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,163 ✭✭✭✭anewme

I finished Wild Wild Country last night and thought it was excellent its a really good story crazy to even think something like that happened in America,the only thing is each episode is over an hour and some did drag on a bit.

I binged this...2 episodes one night and then 4 together yesterday.

Thought it was really good. It was so mad that it actually had me in fits of laughing at some of the stuff.

It had so many twists and turns that you'd wonder how it could be possibly true.

Education certainly does not equal cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭crustybla

Two episodes into Seven Seconds and I'm enjoying it so far. I had to take to Google to find out where I recognised the male detective from, it was driving me mad. He was the pastor in Ozark. Some memory I have seeing as I've only finished Ozark.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,608 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

crustybla wrote: »
    Two episodes into Seven Seconds and I'm enjoying it so far. I had to take to Google to find out where I recognised the male detective from, it was driving me mad. He was the pastor in Ozark. Some memory I have seeing as I've only finished Ozark.:pac:

I finished it a few days ago and it's enjoyable but a lot of plot holes in it. Dragged on towards the end as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,042 ✭✭✭cml387

"Annihilation" bears at lot of similarities to the H.P. Lovecraft story "The Colour Out Of Space".

Not a bad film by any means but it doesn't really have enough horror for a classic horror film and enough imagination for a good sci fi film.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭johnpatrick81

It’s really average in fairness. There’s a thread on it too out in the main film forum for anyone interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭Mr.Wemmick

When will we be able to see The Alienist on Netflix? Is it a different date for UK/Ireland? The Caleb Carr's books were great. Really looking forward to seeing the series.

Annihilation was very average.. kept waiting for it to take off, it didn't.

“Female is real, and it's sex, and femininity is unreal, and it's gender.

For that to become the given identity of women is a profoundly disabling notion."

— Germaine Greer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭Occono

Mr.Wemmick wrote: »
    When will we be able to see The Alienist on Netflix? Is it a different date for UK/Ireland? The Caleb Carr's books were great. Really looking forward to seeing the series.

Annihilation was very average.. kept waiting for it to take off, it didn't.

https://media.netflix.com/en/press-releases/first-season-of-the-alienist-to-premiere-on-netflix-on-april-19th

April 19th outside the US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

Guradians of the galaxy
    R.I.P.D.
    the standups season 2
    Added today

Wild Wild Country is batsh!t mental.

I'm on Episode 5 of 6, it's an incredible true story. Bizarre stuff altogether.

Yer wan Sheela is pure evil! Such a bunch of lunatics. Hate the lawyer guy too.

The first episode drags badly but get past that and it's great.

The music in the background constantly is a bit annoying, as is the really hard to read typeface they use for descriptive text.

Other than that, it's a must watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,378 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

The music in the background constantly is a bit annoying, as is the really hard to read typeface they use for descriptive text.

It is genuinely insane...no idea why I have never heard of it before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 846 ✭✭✭raspberrypi67

Anyone watching 'Designated Suvivor'?? I'm on season 1 number 15. I like Kiefer Sutherland ...always thought his dad was great in Kelly's Heros' .

I finished the 2nd episode last night and so far I fail to see what they did wrong. Bought land and built on it, why exactly were the locals so up in arms immediately?

Keep going :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,378 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Just to echo this...stick with it....

Oh I will be, I was just curious as to why the locals were so annoyed so early on. It wasn't very well explained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Oh I will be, I was just curious as to why the locals were so annoyed so early on. It wasn't very well explained.

If you still don't know what happened don't Google it just keep watching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,163 ✭✭✭✭anewme

I posted on this yesterday above. I watched 2 episodes Saturday night and then binged all the rest on Sunday morning.

I thought the middle few episodes especially were brilliant and had so much going on and I was actually laughing out at some of the antics, they were so bizarre. You literally could not make this stuff up. They did something and when it was a problem (eg homeless people) they just came up with another solution as if it made perfect sense.

I ended up with a slightly different view of Sheela at the end (still thought she was dangerous and mad) but I did not see her as the ultimate bad guy out of them.

The Solicitor guy was hilarious at one point (crying and referring to Bagran as "how could this happend such a beautiful man" when he clearly had been completely shafted) I felt the Solicitor guy was such a tool without an ounce of common sense.

The Mayor guy of the Rajneesh (cant think of his name) was a two faced yoke too.

Funny how they see themselves all so spiritual and yet it was their human traits that blew it all up, material greed, jealousy, envy.

I was laughing out loud when Bagran found his voice at one point. ( his face was simply priceless, not saying too much for spoilers)
    The Peace Force was also brilliant!

What I found fascinating is that people bought into this at all. It shows how many eejits there are out there.

I loved the little guy from the village that ended up on the Town Council. He took the whole thing in his stride and had the measure of them.

All in all, I thought this was excellent, one of the best things Ive watched lately.

It reminded me of that mad show from the 60's called the prisioner, where a big ball chased them down the village, only this was real.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,486 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

The new Letterman is up and really good and powerful stuff with Malala Yousafzai.

A very impressive person for someone so young, what she's committing her life to (better education for girls) and considering happened to her. Her father was great too.

anewme wrote: »

All in all, I thought this was excellent, one of the best things Ive watched lately.

It reminded me of that mad show from the 60's called the prisioner, where a big ball chased them down the village, only this was real.

It's barmy but brilliant. Can't wait to finish it later.

You should check Holy Hell, also on Netflix, if you've not yet seen it. And Going Clear, the Scientology docu.

Man there are some gullible people out there.

Sure Jaysus, Jesus himself eh. :pac:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 36,194 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Anyone watching 'Designated Suvivor'?? I'm on season 1 number 15. I like Kiefer Sutherland ...always thought his dad was great in Kelly's Heros' .

Yeah, up to date with it. Loved 24, this is watchable but no more than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,809 ✭✭✭Roberto_gas

cml387 wrote:
    "Annihilation" bears at lot of similarities to the H.P. Lovecraft story "The Colour Out Of Space".

cml387 wrote:
    Not a bad film by any means but it doesn't really have enough horror for a classic horror film and enough imagination for a good sci fi film.

Thats coz its more about human behaviour...self-destruction which ultimately inspires an alien to do the same !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,809 ✭✭✭Roberto_gas

The sinner...boy oh boy why i started it late !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭mooseknunkle

anewme wrote: »

I loved the little guy from the village that ended up on the Town Council. He took the whole thing in his stride and had the measure of them.

I thought he was brilliant everything was water of a duck's back to him,Netflix should give him his own show :D

I'm the same i really thought it was excellent one of the best series ive watched in a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

yabadabado wrote: »
    Yes well worth watching.

Thanks,it's exceptionally good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,425 ✭✭✭dunworth1

100% very poor choice of font i cant read most of it

other than that i'm loving it its very well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,746 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

I watched the Andy Kaufman of over two nights and I'm a huge fan of Jim carrey as an actor and still over the ace Ventura movies to the day. I like man on the moon the film when that came out as well as I had no clue who Andy Kaufman was.

The documentary is fascinating in ways but shows Jim carrey disapear at times in the BTS footage. Also listening to Jim carrey talk now he seems a very different person now, and doesn't seem as happy. It does make you think about stuff in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,163 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Has anyone watched Seven Seconds ?

Am wondering if it's worth watching ?

https://forumofgames.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Mam of 4 wrote: »
    Has anyone watched Seven Seconds ?

Am wondering if it's worth watching ?

You should watch it Mam, it’s very good. I binge watched it.