Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭Barlett

Yeah the Tyrone player broke his leg, dislocated shoulder for Lee Keegan I believe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,421 ✭✭✭tanko

Thanks, do you know which Tyrone player?

tanko wrote: »
    Thanks, do you know which Tyrone player?

Hugh Pat McGeary I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

....rides in on high horse...all prepared to do battle....

....chest puffed out at the injustice of it all...

....sees lots of 'sauce for the goose' posts from sane & rational Mayo heads....

.....mumbles "Fair play lads" under breath...

....slinks away, shaking head....

.....feck the lot of yiz anyway....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,068 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

ProudDUB wrote: »
    ....rides in on high horse...all prepared to do battle....

....chest puffed out at the injustice of it all...

....sees lots of 'sauce for the goose' posts from sane & rational Mayo heads....

.....mumbles "Fair play lads" under breath...

....slinks away, shaking head....

.....feck the lot of yiz anyway....

That post is so good, you should split it in two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

yop wrote: »
    As for the bloody pitch!!! Talking to the tyrone lads in front of me after the game they are thinking that lad broke his leg was down to the pitch as well. How many lads pulled up with twisted ankles! Its not good enough.

It was terrible for a county match. Had a look at it afterwards, very thick layer of sand and no holes that the sand would usually go into for drainage. Very little grass poking through and the plastic mesh that the grass is grown in sticking up here and there. Have no idea why it was done.

Both teams boots seemed to stick in the thick heavy sand, and mesh, and did not have the bit of give that mud has, and I could see the players were afraid and gingerly stepping, the Tyrone lads less so. It's a wonder more wernt taken off on a stretcher.

Well deserved win for Tyrone, they have made a few adjustments to their block defence taking the block on the offence, and a solid front line that were very agile and well able to kick from distance.

We have a bit of work to do, to avoid the drop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,456 ✭✭✭✭km79

Any news on any Cillian or Leeroy ?
    No news is good news on Andy !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭muddle84

km79 wrote: »
    Any news on any Cillian or Leeroy ?
    No news is good news on Andy !

All I've heard is rumours on leeroy, "I was talking to someone that knows him and he is out for the season!"

muddle84 wrote: »
    All I've heard is rumours on leeroy, "I was talking to someone that knows him and he is out for the season!"

A dislocated shoulder would be a minimum of 3 months anyway and probably longer
    Tom Heaton the Burnley goalkeeper was out for 5 months. Just back training recently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

pimpmyhat wrote: »
    It was Similar to Colm Boyles first yellow.

Similar in that the ref showed the wrong card in both cases?

cos that's the only similarity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

km79 wrote: »
    A dislocated shoulder would be a minimum of 3 months anyway and probably longer
    Tom Heaton the Burnley goalkeeper was out for 5 months. Just back training recently

Would it be that long for dislocation?i though it would be sooner for that.surely if it was put back in relatively quick and rested a month would go a long way on it

That is only rumour though folks. My sources are far from reliable!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

muddle84 wrote: »
    That is only rumour though folks. My sources are far from reliable!!!

I hear dislocated shoulder. Out for 3 - 4 months. No idea how reliable my sources are either though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Leroy's doctor plays poker on Friday's with my cousin's friend. Will let you know if I hear anything after their game.

My sources are 100 % reliable, it is a dislocated shoulder but he will be back for the championship albeit no idea what part he will play against Galway.

Barlett wrote: »
    My sources are 100 % reliable, it is a dislocated shoulder but he will be back for the championship albeit no idea what part he will play against Galway.

What do your sources say about Cillian?

Don't know about Cillian, Rochford said it didn't appear to be a bad hamstring injury but unlikely he'll feature against Donegal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

Don't know about Cillian, Rochford said it didn't appear to be a bad hamstring injury but unlikely he'll feature against Donegal

I know this is not good but at least it will force him to try some other guys in the forward line which he failed to do especially at the start. I think Rochford has made a bit of a balls of trying new guys in the league and in particular in the forward line. Some guys just need a bit of game time to build confidence in their play. Loftus is one guy that needs this time but he takes him off far to often or doesn't play him consistently.

Who knows what will happen on Sunday but a bad performance would be a disaster with Galway looming in a few weeks. I really hope they can come good but Sunday was worrying with what I saw on Galway going at the Dubs.

I know this is not good but at least it will force him to try some other guys in the forward line which he failed to do especially at the start. I think Rochford has made a bit of a balls of trying new guys in the league and in particular in the forward line. Some guys just need a bit of game time to build confidence in their play. Loftus is one guy that needs this time but he takes him off far to often or doesn't play him consistently.

I think that's a bit harsh on Rochford tbh. The dog on the street knows that there's not a whole pile out there in terms of forwards and those who do get a chance, rarely grasp it.

Did he give O'Donogue more time than others or did O'Donogue just seize his opportunity... definitely the latter I feel. That's up to the player.

Not saying Rochford is flawless but I would lay most of the responsibility on the player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

Loftus started against Galway and every ball that went into him bounced off him. Even when introduced on Sunday balls weren't sticking. He needs to start grabbing his opportunity to truly fulfill his potential

PARlance wrote: »
    I think that's a bit harsh on Rochford tbh. The dog on the street knows that there's not a whole pile out there in terms of forwards and those who do get a chance, rarely grasp it.

Did he give O'Donogue more time than others or did O'Donogue just seize his opportunity... definitely the latter I feel. That's up to the player.

Not saying Rochford is flawless but I would lay most of the responsibility on the player.

But given how many of your regulars start league and FBD games, how much of a chance are they really getting? If they are given a start and they know its curtains for them that year, if they fail to really impress, that is a lot of pressure for a young lad. No wonder a lot of them fail to perform.

What if they had a certain level of comfort of knowing that even if they had a crap day at the office, they had the freedom to make mistakes, as long as he learned from them? What if they knew the jersey would not be taken from them, after just 1 or 2 outings, would that not bring the young lads on at better rate? If, year after year, more regulars are being brought back in, to stave off the danger of relegation, what price are you really paying for staying up?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

But given how many of your regulars start league and FBD games, how much of a chance are they really getting? If they are given a start and they know its curtains for them that year, if they fail to really impress, that is a lot of pressure for a young lad. No wonder a lot of them fail to perform.

What if they had a certain level of comfort of knowing that even if they had a crap day at the office, they had the freedom to make mistakes, as long as he learned from them? What if they knew the jersey would not be taken from them, after just 1 or 2 outings, would that not bring the young lads on at better rate? If, year after year, more regulars are being brought back in, to stave off the danger of relegation, what price are you really paying for staying up?

Nail on the head. Lads weren't given their chance, using lads who played in the AI final back in the FBD games when thats your platform to blood new lads is down to Rochford.
    He goes back to the same lads time after time and at this stage some aren't up to it.
    He needs to grow a set, but at this stage with next Sunday and May 13th been critical then he has missed a chance. O'Donoughue agree is a fine player, but he has been given the FBD and league to blood in.
    Loftus has been fupped around, game in, game out, 1/2 a game, 10 minutes. You can't build confidence or gain experience from bit parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Likely to be a massive crowd on Sunday.

FYI

ACCESS TO MCCUMHAILL PARK, BALLYBOFEY

Games in McCumhaill Park,Ballybofey, Sunday 25th March 2018

Lidl Ladies National Football League: Division 1 Donegal v Kerry 1.00pm

Allianz National Football League: Division 1 Donegal v Mayo 3.00pm

On behalf of Donegal GAA & Sean McCumhaill’s Club we would like to welcome all supporters to Ballybofey on Sunday next,25th March 2018 for two very competitive National Football League games.It is expected to be a huge occasion for the teams involved.

These games will result in increased traffic in the Ballybofey/Stranorlar area and we would advise all supporters to arrive early to avoid traffic congestion and potential delays in entering the stadium.Gates will open at 12pm with tickets on sale at the grounds from 11.30am.There will be no parking inside the grounds for this event.

Entry to the stadium is by ticket only and no cash will be taken at the stiles.Advance Ticket purchases can be made in your local SuperValu or Centra store priced at €12 for Adults.On Match Day tickets can be purchased from our Ticket Sales Offices priced at €15 for Adults,€12 for Students/OAP ticket (with valid ID).U16 go free on the day but they will require a ticket from the ticket office on the day.

Entry to the stand is via the Villa Rose entrance only.With a large number of Season Tickets and Pre-Purchased tickets seats in the stand will be on a first come first served basis.Stand seats cannot be reserved under any circumstances. We expect that the stand will be full by 1.30pm and thereafter admission will be to the terrace area only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Nail on the head. Lads weren't given their chance, using lads who played in the AI final back in the FBD games when thats your platform to blood new lads is down to Rochford.
    He goes back to the same lads time after time and at this stage some aren't up to it.
    He needs to grow a set, but at this stage with next Sunday and May 13th been critical then he has missed a chance. O'Donoughue agree is a fine player, but he has been given the FBD and league to blood in.
    Loftus has been fupped around, game in, game out, 1/2 a game, 10 minutes. You can't build confidence or gain experience from bit parts.

With all of the above in mind,has Rochford made any difference to Mayo in contrast to Horan?

I would have thought you'd be more clued into the FBD than that Yop. I don't even follow FBD games and it was obvious that loads of players were used... 46/7 going by this. Thanks to mayogaablog
    http://mayogaablog.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/01/FBD-2018-table.jpg

Rochford even sent last years squad away to Malaysia for the start of it. For most of the league it was a B team. Plenty of people on the fringe got chances, few took them.

Team that played Roscommon in Round 4 of FBD:
    Robbie Hennelly; Eoin O’Donoghue, Ger Cafferkey, Caolan Crowe; Colm Boyle, Paddy Durcan (0-1), James Stretton; Stephen Coen, Danny Kirby; Fionn McDonagh (0-4, two frees), Diarmuid O’Connor (0-1), Conor O’Shea (0-1); Neil Douglas (0-1), Jason Doherty (0-1, free), Ciaran Treacy (0-2).
    Subs: Kevin McLoughlin for O’Connor, Jason Gibbons for Boyle, Shairoze Akram for O’Shea, Peter Naughton for McDonagh, Jamie Oates for Crowe, James McCormack for Kirby.

Loftus couldn't catch a ball into his chest on Sunday. Maybe he's not the answer that we want him to be.

I think it's borderline delusional to be saying lads haven't been given their chance. It's more than likely brought on by a desperation to find these magic few forwards that we don't have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

In fairness, not many could hold/catch the ball on Saturday or give a decent pass. Not really sure what was going on. More than meets the eye I have to think. However, I expect a different game at the weekend.

What do the ticks and S's mean Parlance....started and/or substituted?

Tick = Started
    S = Sub appearance

Not sure how accurately it was compiled but I've no reason to doubt the obsession.