Are men's razors a gimmick?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Who shaves these days? Do ye still put lard in your hair to style it?

People who don't want a beard? Do you go outside?

I love a shave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

Double Edged feather Razor Blades on a Muhle R89 Razor is the only way to go for me. www.shaving.ie - fantastic online store, all that good stuff up in there

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,707 ✭✭✭stimpson

Found the actual product, it did exist and even had a PatPend.

qd9k6kB.png

Way back in 1949, a Czechoslovakian named Karel Drbal tried to patent the 'Pharaoh's Shaving Device', which he claimed could sharpen razor blades if they were place in the pyramid in alignment with the earth's magnetic field. This is bad news for Bic if it gets out.

Apparently these do actually work: https://www.shaving.ie/products/razorpit-blade-sharpener.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

peckerhead wrote: »
    Those Lidl ones are grand altogether. Not at all to be confused with those horrible Bic things.

Think of all the useless shïte that gets flogged to women by the beauty industry, day in, day out. Creams, potions, gels, cleansers, toners, firmers, fillers, lifters, conditioners, moisturisers, serums, rejuvenating masks, bla, bla, bla....

Whereas when it comes to men, this is about the only product range where advertisers can rev it up to an equivalent degree. There are enough men prepared to shell out mad money for razors and canned foam because they feel they're treating themselves. The best a man can get, like.

they tried that in the early 2000s with the creation of the metrosexual

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

People who don't want a beard? Do you go outside?

I don't have a beard and I do go outside. I have fairly well maintained stubble using a beard clipper. Way less trouble.
    I love a shave

Fair enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,445 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Been using a Razorpit sharpener for about 5 years now - I reckon I've saved 100's of euro.

A blade usually lasts me about 10 weeks though I'd probably get longer if I wanted to. Also it keeps the blade really sharp so I cut myself way less than I used to.

I never understand why more people don't use one.

https://www.razorpit.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Bought a five blade one from Aldi. Pleasantly surprised given their three blade gave me awful problems.

Gillette is good but ridiculously overpriced.

I don't have a beard and I do go outside. I have fairly well maintained stubble using a beard clipper. Way less trouble

You should try some of the stuff on that online Irish shop JT
    Shaving used to be a pain in the arse for me, I f**king detested it, everything in the mainstream chain market shops would cut my face to bits, I seen that shop recommended up in here and I've never looked back. Shaving now is like a hobby now for me. I spend around 100 euros per year and a half on the fantastic gear from that place and it is really well worth it. I could probably spend less but like I said, it's become a nice little hobby for me now, whereas before, it was a gigantic pain in the crank

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

buried wrote: »
    Shaving used to be a pain in the arse for me

It's not just that it's a bit of a chore. I don't like how it looks when I'm clean shaven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,759 ✭✭✭blackbox

I use a Phillishave myself. No hassle, no cuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

stimpson wrote: »

Ah but doesn't use quantum entanglement pyramidic stuff.

Instead of that device, just do what the cowboys used to do: rub the blade on old pair of denim levis jeans. Cost:$0.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,363 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Fairly beardy but use a razor for tidy-up. I have sensitive skin and found over the years that the more money I spent trying to avoid a little oozing on the throat, the worse it all got ultimately.

Because nothing worked, I gave up and just went use the two blade Bic disposables and after a few weeks, my skin just reverted to a little bit of oozing. I wouldn't use anything else ever again. They also last for freaking ages.

Patww79 wrote: »
    Shaving all seems to be getting a bit craft beer.

Who first started pushing that shaving.ie site on here anyway? Very odd that people are buying from a .ie when there's surely cheaper options for the same stuff.

Think they had a rep on here. Still might do.
    And it's Irish so that's a bonus. Similar price to other places and a fraction of any physical shop

Dunno if you are saying all the fancy razors with gadgets are craft beer or just the simple 1 blade shave we are on about is craft beer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Can't remember myself, but in fairness, Who cares? If it works, it works, all you got to do is try the products they advise to use and if it works, then it's all good. You don't have to buy everything on the site, just what you want to use yourself.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

Rerto wrote:
    A colleague of mine was trying to convince me to move over to safety razors and he bought me a cheap safety razor handle (a tenner or something) and a pack of safety blades. Well, I haven't looked back!

Mac 3 are safety razors.

All razors apart from a straight blade (cut throat) are safety razors.

Rerto wrote:
    Is anyone brave enough to use a straight razor?

Even your local barber doesn't use a real straight razor. They all use a pretend straight razor but it's actually a safety razor with a replaceable blade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭BailMeOut

Try sharpening your Gillette razors on denim jeans which works brilliantly. Loads of videos online showing you how to do it and will at least double the life out of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,906 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Got a hape of Fusion blades on a link in Bargain Alerts about 18 months ago. Something like 24 for €28. Have about 10 left.

I don't have any issues with them as a blade. And they get the job done properly and quickly in the morning when I don't want to be faffing about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,988 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

I found 5 blade razors from outdoor aldi work fine. Given up completely on the brands and saved a fortune.

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭sbs2010

Anyone know have Lidl stopped doing the black&orange blades?

Haven't seen them there in the last few weeks.

The ones where people are buying a fifty quid diamond encrusted chrome handle to stick a single blade in.

And, of course, the scoffing at anyone who uses 'generic' maaaan.

Nothing wrong with the handles. I use them, they last for years. You can scoff at the brushes. There is some very pricey ones.

You do get a better shave from the single blade one and for a fraction of the cost.
    I probably shave faster using the double edge safety one, only takes 1 go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭SM35

whatever about the blades - I find a good shave oil works wonders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

The best shave I have had in years was recently with a disposable 2 blade razor, that I got in a hotel care package. I'm just waiting to finish my box of razors to convert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

One of my young lads bought me a double edged razor a few years back. Soap and a shaving brush as well. Cut myself the first time I shaved. Hasn’t happened since, and I’ve shaved a few times when I was either drunk or extremely hungover. Nothing to it at all lads. Save a fortune as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

The Irish market facilitates this.

Go to a poorer market and you will find less expensive, perfectly good razor blades.

simple

i use the 2 blade lidl job myself, very happy with it except the plastic waste. i also look out for wilkinson sword 2 blade when its on special offer and stock up on them

how do people dispose of the old blades? and with the blade and handle combo, do you snap off the blade and throw the plastic handle in the recycling?

i like the palmolive stick instead of a can of gel or foam, since it only has a tiny bit of a plastic base left as waste

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

I wet shave my head and find womens razors are actually the best. The ones with the aloe strip, can't recall the name of them but they come in a pack of 4(sometimes 6 on offer) and you can get them in pink or purple.

what do you rub in your head afterwards? have you tried aloe gel?