Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

seligehgit wrote: »
    Maurice Deegan is the referee on Sunday.

Swap ye Deegan for Brannigan☺

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭finisklin

Squatman wrote: »
    i love these old wives tales. who get the win if the snow comes back, or if we get saharan weather. heres hoping for a sunny day. we'll be able to rest a good few player:eek: lol

Yeah the high ball into Aidan on a wet, windy day should do the trick. That worked a treat 3 years ago against Tyrone in the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,457 ✭✭✭✭km79

finisklin wrote: »
    Squatman wrote: »
    i love these old wives tales. who get the win if the snow comes back, or if we get saharan weather. heres hoping for a sunny day. we'll be able to rest a good few player:eek: lol

Yeah the high ball into Aidan on a wet, windy day should do the trick. That worked a treat 3 years ago against Tyrone in the league.
    It’s going to be dry
    Aidan will be midfield
    We have beaten them very game since ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

Looks like Bernard Flynn is playing "good cop" to last years "bad cop"

I'm sure he'll be first to cut them down when that time come too

Flynn: 'Steely' Mayo a different proposition in 2018

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2018/0313/947045-flynn-steely-mayo-a-different-proposition-in-2018/

Typical - one week a hero the next god knows what. We beat a poor enough Kildare side who have been beaten by all so far and probably lacking confidence. I wouldn't be reading a lot into that game really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭SeanJ09

Stoner wrote: »
    What a load of rubbish, there's no difference at all between Mayo this year and last, maybe Coen has more game time, that's about it.

Loads of those idiots following each other in a circle jerk of regurgitated secondhand stories every year. Pretty soon Mayo will have a rep for only coming good in August, and it will last for years.

The biggest one was in 2013 when Mayo were set up to play Dublin, the line to spin for the country pundit was

"If mayo had Andy Moran I'd go for them but since he's injured I'll have to say Dublin"
    Easy answers generated from reading about the games and not observations.

You mean 2012 right? Andy missed that final v Donegal through injury though he played the 2013 final v Dublin. Scored a goal into the hill too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

What a load of rubbish, there's no difference at all between Mayo this year and last, maybe Coen has more game time, that's about it.

Loads of those idiots following each other in a circle jerk of regurgitated secondhand stories every year. Pretty soon Mayo will have a rep for only coming good in August, and it will last for years.

The biggest one was in 2013 when Mayo were set up to play Dublin, the line to spin for the country pundit was

"If mayo had Andy Moran I'd go for them but since he's injured I'll have to say Dublin"
    Easy answers generated from reading about the games and not observations.

2012 was what a big loss Moran was, 2013 was "Mayo haven't been tested" and "Mayo haven't a marquee forward".

Although in fairness the latter did sort of ring true at the time after seeing how the final played out in 2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

SeanJ09 wrote:
    You mean 2012 right? Andy missed that final v Donegal through injury though he played the 2013 final v Dublin. Scored a goal into the hill too.

Correct sorry, that was the easy verdict in 2012, if Mayo had Moran etc they don't so I'll have to go with Donegal, it was Donegal that were not flavour of the month that year.

No it was definitely in advance of the Dublin semi alright.

When Conroy and Varley cut loose that game (finished Cian O'Sullivan as a corner back?), Moran was completely forgotten about in the build up to the final

That final in 2012 was when Mayo really struggled up front. The McGees bullied our FF line of it, and Dillon had a very passive game. never looked remotely like getting a goal and were reduced to hit and hopes from distance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

jr86 wrote:
    When Conroy and Varley cut loose that game (finished Cian O'Sullivan as a corner back?), Moran was completely forgotten about in the build up to the final

Always liked Conroy, himself and J Cooper had some good match ups

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭flasher0030

If only he had some degree of composure on the ball. Had a lot of skilful ability, enthusiasm and running ability, but seemed like he really lacked any guile and cleverness on the ball. Usually comes with experience as players get older. Didn't really happen for Mikey. I know that might sound a bit harsh.

He was class in 2012. One of the top forwards in the country. He had very little around him in the final though with the McGee's completely subduing a very young pre-prime Cillian O'Connor and Lacey rendering Dillon anonymous.

He struggled with injuries in 2013 then. Was pitched into the final in completely bizarre circumstances - taking off the best forward till that point and then launching high balls into a FF line of himself, O'Connor, and Moran :confused:

I recall him playing a bit deeper in 2014 when he came on v Kerry and I always felt he could go on to become a very handy wing forward these last few years but injuries/work commitments put paid to that

If only he had some degree of composure on the ball. Had a lot of skilful ability, enthusiasm and running ability, but seemed like he really lacked any guile and cleverness on the ball. Usually comes with experience as players get older. Didn't really happen for Mikey. I know that might sound a bit harsh.

Yeah he'd score a worldie point one minute and miss an open goal the next (literally - against Dublin in that semi)

He was probably the main reason Mayo won that day though. I seem to recall he didn't start in Connacht (that was the year of the Mortimer saga) and Mayo struggled past Sligo. Came into the side when Moran did the cruciate and was a super addition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

jr86 wrote: »
    He was class in 2012. One of the top forwards in the country. He had very little around him in the final though with the McGee's completely subduing a very young pre-prime Cillian O'Connor and Lacey rendering Dillon anonymous.

He struggled with injuries in 2013 then. Was pitched into the final in completely bizarre circumstances - taking off the best forward till that point and then launching high balls into a FF line of himself, O'Connor, and Moran :confused:

I recall him playing a bit deeper in 2014 when he came on v Kerry and I always felt he could go on to become a very handy wing forward these last few years but injuries/work commitments put paid to that

Agreed. Always rated Conroy. Never really worked out for him but he had some stormers in a Mayo jersey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,068 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Yeah he'd score a worldie point one minute and miss an open goal the next (literally - against Dublin in that semi)

He was probably the main reason Mayo won that day though. I seem to recall he didn't start in Connacht (that was the year of the Mortimer saga) and Mayo struggled past Sligo. Came into the side when Moran did the cruciate and was a super addition

Far too late to be thinking... but didn't he go 2 or 3 years without a game in Connacht around then?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

PARlance wrote: »
    Far too late to be thinking... but didn't he go 2 or 3 years without a game in Connacht around then?

Think so. Really intelligent player. When good unplayable.

Indeed, when he did a piece recently in the paper there was definitely some bizarre stat which shocked me

I think it was that he has actually never started a Connacht match ever?

"Edwin McGreal @edmcgreal

By my reckoning a win on Sunday over Tyrone does not fully ensure safety for Mayo. If Donegal beat Monaghan then it is quite conceivable that there could be five teams level on six points after the final round. Could be messy yet!

The results that will see this happen are: Mayo beat Tyrone, Donegal beat Monaghan, Kerry beat Kildare in round 6. And in round 7 Donegal beat Mayo, Tyrone beat Kerry and Dublin beat Monaghan. Mayo are safe though if they win and Donegal fail to beat Monaghan. #mayogaa"

From Ed McGreal this morning.

Personally if Mayo did win 3 and went down I wouldn't be overly disappointed. The losses would have come from a Galway team hitting form very early in the year, Dublin, kerry (early in league and missed plenty chances - not the worst loss) and Donegal away. far from disastrous. It's only if we went down without a whimper I'd be worried for the season ahead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,601 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

McGee`s really bossed that final in 2012, but they had been doing it all year. Against Tyrone, Kerry and Cork as well. Lacey did serious damage that day. played Dillion completely out of it, was all over the pitch and delivered the perfect ball to Murphy for the first Donegal goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,068 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Interview with Zippy on the latest GAA hour.

Is he coming back ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭Barlett

km79 wrote: »
    Is he coming back ?

He'll be back for the championship it seems - he said obviously he'll have to sit down and talk with the manager and take it from there but he's waiting until the league is finished with the hurlers

charlie14 wrote: »
    McGee`s really bossed that final in 2012, but they had been doing it all year. Against Tyrone, Kerry and Cork as well. Lacey did serious damage that day. played Dillion completely out of it, was all over the pitch and delivered the perfect ball to Murphy for the first Donegal goal.

It's funny looking back at the game 6 years on. At the time I felt it was a "positive" loss in that it was a young, inexperienced Mayo side and they would learn a lot from the experience. Given Dublin's rise it now looks a bit more like a chance missed. There was no way back from that 2-1 Donegal start sadly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

I was as depressed as I've ever been coming out of that final to be honest.

Me too
    It's the one on recent times that got away
    We just didn't turn up early doors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Interviews with Keith Higgins are rarer than a hen's teeth.

http://feeds.soundcloud.com/stream/4...ft-hurlers.mp3

Connaught Telegraph reported a couple of weeks ago that he was coming back after the finish of the hurlers league campaign.Reading between the lines that's what he seems to indicate in the interview.

Although he's a healthy interest in hurlers schedule in the Christy Ring cup.

Re the 2012 final loss I can't say I was overly disappointed as I was only hopeful we'd beat what was the outstanding team of the year.The start was gut wrenching,game over before it started.

The 2013 final loss was disappointing for many reasons,the drawn final in 2016 similar.

None remotely comparable to this year when I believed so late in the contest that we had a great chance of winning it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

None remotely comparable to this year when I believed so late in the contest that we had a great chance of winning it.

This lament ^^^^
    to the wire literally.

2013 the worst for me. Blew them away in the first quarter but didn't do near enough damage on the scoreboard. Then to concede an atrociously soft goal to launch them right back into the contest

Wasn't as gutted in 2017, where if I'm honest I was probably more used to it :( went up convinced we would win in 2013 whereas 2012, 16 and 17 deep down I felt we were up against it beforehand

[quote=
    None remotely comparable to this year when I believed so late in the contest that we had a great chance of winning it.[/quote]

Actually yes
    When we took the lead with about 10 to go myself and my friehd who goes to all the matches with me just looked at each other and nodded

Aaaaggggghhhhhhh

I still haven't seen Cillians missed free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

2013 the worst for me. Blew them away in the first quarter but didn't do near enough damage on the scoreboard. Then to concede an atrociously soft goal to launch them right back into the contest

Wasn't as gutted in 2017, where if I'm honest I was probably more used to it :( went up convinced we would win in 2013 whereas 2012, 16 and 17 deep down I felt we were up against it beforehand

2013 was the year where we'd the greatest of expectations.We were simply awesome up to the final.We should have had a very healthy lead at half time but sadly didn't and had blown a gasket at that stage.

Yet the fact we were up against it in 2017 it was our best performance in recent times in a final and were truly in the mix going into the home stretch.

Anyhow lads no more ruminating about what might have been!:D

Here's to 2018,what's another year?!

Hopefully two wins against the Red Hand and Mourne counties this weekend.I really want to see the lads cope successfully with breaking down a Tyrone like defence.We can expect same on May 13th and it won't be pretty.

Where's the team?

Here's to 2018,what's another year?!

Hopefully two wins against the Red Hand and Mourne counties this weekend.I really want to see the lads cope successfully with breaking down a Tyrone like defence.We can expect same on May 13th and it won't be pretty.

Where's the team?

Hear hear!