How many of the 10 commandments have you broken?

• 12-03-2018 01:53PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭

Well it's off to hell with me then...
    Here is the list:
    1. “I am the Lord thy God, thou shalt not have any strange gods before Me.”
    2. “Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain.”
    3. “Remember to keep holy the Sabbath day.”
    4. “Honor thy father and mother.”
    5. “Thou shalt not kill.”
    6. “Thou shalt not commit adultery.”
    7. “Thou shalt not steal.”
    8. “Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor.”
    9. “Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor’s wife.”
    10 “Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor’s goods.”

How many have you broken?

Me? - 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 10
    Not sure about 4.. I am sure I have dishonored them at some stage. 9.. I have lusted after many people, not sure how literal this is..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,356 ✭✭✭davo2001

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Probably only No. 2, but repeatedly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Do you mean the new ten commandments, or the original ten commandments - the first set of stone tablets that Moses smashed in anger:
    I. Thou shalt worship no other god.

II. Thou shalt make thee no molten gods.

III. The feast of unleavened bread thou shalt keep.

IV. Six days thou shalt work, but on the seventh day thou shalt rest.

V. Thou shalt observe the feast of weeks, of the firstfruits of wheat harvest,
    and the feast of ingathering at the year’s end.

VI. Thrice in the year shall all your men children appear before the Lord God.

VII. Thou shalt not offer the blood of my sacrifice with leaven.

VIII. Neither shall the sacrifice of the feast of the passover be left unto the morning.

IX. The first of the firstfruits of thy land thou shalt bring unto the house of the LORD thy God.

X. Thou shalt not seethe a kid [ie, a young goat] in his mother’s milk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Solomon Pleasant

Y’all need Jesus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Reati

seamus wrote: »
    Do you mean the new ten commandments, or the original ten commandments - the first set of stone tablets that Moses smashed in anger:
    I. Thou shalt worship no other god.

II. Thou shalt make thee no molten gods.

III. The feast of unleavened bread thou shalt keep.

IV. Six days thou shalt work, but on the seventh day thou shalt rest.

V. Thou shalt observe the feast of weeks, of the firstfruits of wheat harvest,
    and the feast of ingathering at the year’s end.

VI. Thrice in the year shall all your men children appear before the Lord God.

VII. Thou shalt not offer the blood of my sacrifice with leaven.

VIII. Neither shall the sacrifice of the feast of the passover be left unto the morning.

IX. The first of the firstfruits of thy land thou shalt bring unto the house of the LORD thy God.

X. Thou shalt not seethe a kid [ie, a young goat] in his mother’s milk.
    I didn't know he spoke old timey English.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Well it's off to hell with me then...
    Here is the list:
    4. “Honor thy father and mother.”
    8. “Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor.”

4, 5, 7, 8, 9 and 10 are the only ones in any way valid, so probably only 7. Ok 9, too. :o

On the other hand, I haven't kept any slaves or raped anyone, and those aren't commandments, so it would make you wonder about the people who made these ones up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Unsure the specifics for breaking number 4?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,422 ✭✭✭sjb25

1, 2, 3, 6more than once 7, 8, :( least I’ll be warm down below when I die

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭kieran.

Whats the churches official line on number 5, I have killed lots of things just not people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,422 ✭✭✭sjb25

kieran. wrote: »
    Whats the churches official line on number 5, I have killed lots of things just not people?

Oh **** I could be adding 5 to my list also then we need clarification from a cleric :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

What was the first mention of a motor bike in the bible?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Well I was doing 2 while committing 5 all because i got caught doing 6,9 & 10...

See you in hell fookers!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭LadyMacBeth_

The not killing a person one is the only one I haven't broken......so far! Watch this space folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,606 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Must you honour your mother and father if they encourage breaking the commandments?

What if they're serial killers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,688 ✭✭✭XsApollo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

In Judaism that stuff was just the 'mission statement' and then followed the list of 613 commandments.
    To be a real bad ass you have to check off those 613.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

My faith has 8 i really rather you didn'ts.

Of these, i've broken 3, and occasionally 5.

http://flyingspaghettimonster.wikia.com/wiki/The_Eight_I%27d_Really_Rather_You_Didn%27ts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Of the christian 10,

Yup

Yup

Yup

Kill what? Plenty of animals, no humans.

Does it count if herself joins in?

Shamefull moment long ago. Yup.

Yup.

Yup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭GypsyByName

Holy Mother of divine Jaysus a shower of adulterers!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

You really don't need 10 commandments.

2 is all you need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Bob Gray

I coveted my neighbours wife's goods, does that still count as 2?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dinorebel

Nice try officer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,917 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

Im sure everyone has broken number 5. Kill covers all living organisms does it not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,548 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

kneemos wrote: »
    Must you honour your mother and father if they encourage breaking the commandments?

What if they're serial killers?

catch 22. You're ****ed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

I don't know what some of them mean tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Half way there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Are Am Eye wrote: »
    What was the first mention of a motor bike in the bible?

John. 3.17 accord to the gospel of 'boards.ie', Thou shall not perform a punishment over take on the neighbours wife.

Re Adultery... Is that sex with another man's wife, or do you need to be married to have broken it? (never been married)

With the exception of killing (I'm assuming that means people), I've broken them all. But then, I always knew I was a terrible Catholic. No great surprise there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭pleas advice

the Catholic church, huh? :rolleyes: amirightguys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I live by the 4 Demandments, brother.