Skinny jeans?

• 11-03-2018 12:35AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭

Now its like all fashion trends, they'll come and go, and probably look ridiculous when looked back upon.

That said.......what the f^^k is up with blokes wearing skinny jeans?

I mean, is it a stated mission to wear the most uncomfortable clothes possible, while looking like a ballerina wearing leggings that exaggerates the size of your fat hole and makes your legs look like sticks?

Or what?

Niece was looking at television the other day, some skinny-jean proto-human appears and I laugh at what hes wearing. "Whats wrong with that?" she says, "I'd wear that."

"exactly" I said!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,520 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

drillyeye wrote: »
    Now its like all fashion trends, they'll come and go, and probably look ridiculous when looked back upon.

That said.......what the f^^k is up with blokes wearing skinny jeans?

I mean, is it a stated mission to wear the most uncomfortable clothes possible, while looking like a ballerina wearing leggings that exaggerates the size of your fat hole and makes your legs look like sticks?

Or what?

Niece was looking at television the other day, some skinny-jean proto-human appears and I laugh at what hes wearing. "Whats wrong with that?" she says, "I'd wear that."

"exactly" I said!

Please use the search function. This has been don’t it death recently in AH. You are not unique and neither is your thread.

https://touch.boards.ie/thread/2055799874/1

They are getting harder to avoid. Straight cut jeans are becoming more and more like skinny jeans I have noticed. And to actually find a pair of boot cut to fit over my boots for work is a minor miracle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

I think they look good on men and women, not skin tight but slim fit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

They are getting harder to avoid. Straight cut jeans are becoming more and more like skinny jeans I have noticed. And to actually find a pair of boot cut to fit over my boots for work is a minor miracle

Bring back spacious boot cut!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭drillyeye

Please use the search function. This has been don’t it death recently in AH. You are not unique and neither is your thread.

https://touch.boards.ie/thread/2055799874/1

Oh I'm sorry. Has every conversation you've had in your life been a unique, one-time thing?

Nope but repetition usually gets cut off quite quickly. No point In going in circles as nothing progresses from it. :pac:

Tell me about it! You end up with a choice of "slim", "super-slim", "Tights" and then somewhere away in a corner, an actual choice of what to wear!

Stupid.

Nope but repetition usually gets cut off quite quickly. No point In going in circles as nothing progresses from it. :pac:

And here I was trying to affect social revolution :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

I don't think skinny jeans are the most offensive articles but when you've a blokes fit called "spray on jeans" it's a sign things have gone too far.

And here I was trying to affect social revolution :P

I wish it was as simple because i don’t get the ridiculous craze myself. Probably because I’m too muscular and rotund for it :D

wakka12 wrote: »
    I think they look good on men and women, not skin tight but slim fit

Honest question, are you a man or woman?

Because I have heard a few women say "oh they dont look so bad", whereas any man Ive met just laughs at them.

Is it because they are so effeminate looking, that women kinda relegate men wearing them in to a "gay best friend" kind of thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,498 ✭✭✭Wheety

I've taken to wearing slim jeans. They look much better on me. Not skinny but at least they're not baggy. Suppose you have to be slim too.

Bootcuts over trainers or shoes look awful, especially when they get all frayed.

Noveight wrote: »
    I don't think skinny jeans are the most offensive articles but when you've a blokes fit called "spray on jeans" it's a sign things have gone too far.

Why dont they just start wearing leggings! Its like the material being made of denim is the last shred of masculinity they cling to. But it makes no difference :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,609 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

They're basically jeggings for men.
    I got a couple of super stretch jeans,not skinny but regular fit and they are the most comfortable thing in God's creation.

Wheety wrote: »
    I've taken to wearing slim jeans. They look much better on me. Not skinny but at least they're not baggy. Suppose you have to be slim too.

Bootcuts over trainers or shoes look awful, especially when they get all frayed.

Depending on your body type, I reckon jeans should just look like jeans. It should be easy enough to tell them apart.

Ie...do they practically cling about your ankles while widening at the top to give that upside-down triangle shape?

Or are they just well-fitting jeans that suit a bit skinnier of a leg?

Honest question, are you a man or woman?

Because I have heard a few women say "oh they dont look so bad", whereas any man Ive met just laughs at them.

Is it because they are so effeminate looking, that women kinda relegate men wearing them in to a "gay best friend" kind of thing?

Im a man. I don't know what age group you are but nearly every college age or younger guy wear skinny or slim fit jeans now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,334 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Noveight wrote: »

I don't know really. It depends on the body. Here's a pic of me in my leotard:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

If my balls became itchy in those things it would be an emergency.

Probably end up with an indecent exposure charge for dropping my cacks to get at my unmercifully itchy bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

The OP said that these might just be a craze by they came in in 2005 and haven't gone away since. My fear is that they are now the default jean.

Im a man. I don't know what age group you are but nearly every college age or younger guy wear skinny or slim fit jeans now

No doubt, not in college anymore, but when I hear women saying that skinny jeans look nice, in a "i'd wear them too" way........that's....not for me.

In fact, one bloke I saw not too log ago was wearing what I think were actual leggings, and some kind of slip on shoe......the fact that the leggings were black and slip on shoes were white probably helped the strange looks he was getting all the way down the street.

Its just SO effeminate looking.

greencap wrote: »
    If my balls became itchy in those things it would be an emergency.

Probably end up with an indecent exposure charge for dropping my cacks to get at my unmercifully itchy bag.

Well you wouldn't notice, cos your trollocks would be numb from constriction

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

It's a scam! We're paying the same now for jeans as we were back in the 00s (accounting for inflation) when everything was super flared or that baggy Avril Lavigne-esque style, has to be like 20% less denim at least! There's a reason they've been in style for over a decade. Scam! Shenanigans!

They're really comfy though. But obviously I say that as someone without a bollocks.

It's a scam! We're paying the same now for jeans as we were back in the 00s (accounting for inflation) when everything was super flared or that baggy Avril Lavigne-esque style, has to be like 20% less denim at least! There's a reason they've been in style for over a decade. Scam! Shenanigans!

They're really comfy though. But obviously I say that as someone without a bollocks.

And to add, what man wants to highlight the size of his arse and "petite" legs?

The answer, I had assumed till recently, is a wo-man!

No doubt, not in college anymore, but when I hear women saying that skinny jeans look nice, in a "i'd wear them too" way........that's....not for me.

In fact, one bloke I saw not too log ago was wearing what I think were actual leggings, and some kind of slip on shoe......the fact that the leggings were black and slip on shoes were white probably helped the strange looks he was getting all the way down the street.

Its just SO effeminate looking.

Yeh actual leggings are a recent trend, but only in really young guys. Im in college and loads of lads wear skinny jeans..btu not leggings, but my little brother and guys around 15-16 I see wearing actual leggings quite often. I think it looks weird but I guess every fashion trend is only really judged in hindsight Ill probably cringe that I wore skinny jeans when Im middle aged looking back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭uch

I'm a fat oul bollix so me and skinny jeans aren't mentioned in the same sentence, but I have to say, whenever I see a fella wearing them I feel like rubbing me hairy crack on his face, it's just not on, on a girl on the other hand, there's a youngone of 47 who works with me and she looks feckin dynamite in them, get a stiffie just watchin her pass

22/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭MagicHumanDoll

It's an age thing obviously. I'm early twenties and wear skinny jeans no problem as they're fashionable at the moment, surprisingly comfy and apparently I've got nice legs so why not show them off a bit.

I know some are too far but nobody is making you wear them! I swear some people would rather sit in a dark room because turning the lights on is change and change is scary and bad haha! Lighten up! *da dumb tish*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,288 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Skinny jeans at the end of the day are fine but they don't suit me and I don't like them but some people like them.
    One fashion thing I never got is guys going around with no socks and their pale ankles hanging out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭uch

In fairness, if I wore Skinny jeans the trend would end,rolls of cake created fat and folds don't look good, yiz'd vomit

22/25

Yeh actual leggings are a recent trend, but only in really young guys. Im in college and loads of lads wear skinny jeans..btu not leggings, but my little brother and guys around 15-16 I see wearing actual leggings quite often. I think it looks weird but I guess every fashion trend is only really judged in hindsight Ill probably cringe that I wore skinny jeans when Im middle aged looking back

I dont know what to say. It really does seem like some sort of feminisation, I suppose!

Very strange. The future bodes ill :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Levis Athletic Fit ftw