Galway City pubs and little else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Deedsie wrote: »
    Andy Lee Boxing World Champion two years ago

Irelands number 1 Tennis player (lofty title) is from Limerick Conor Niland. Think he retired lately.

Nonsense re Munster, the team was going through a transitional phase while Connacht were having their most successful perio in their history.

Munster are playing in a Euro QF in a month. Connacht lost to Zebre lately.

Limerick Soccer has been in the doldrums for years but come on Galway has hardly been much better.

Limerick played in All Ireland finals every decade since last they won one. Just fall at the final hurdle. Galway for decades got a bye to the semi final and still can only manage 5 all irelands. Real hurling super powers.

Sporting facilities, 40000 GAA ground, 28000 rugby ground, UL sports campus.

Has Galway any equivalent sports facilities

Full credit to the likes of Lee and Niland for their many acheivements in their chosen fields but it seems that we are now deciding on a puzzle, Sporting CapitalTM, and then afterwards looking for pieces to make it. Limerick, on the whole, likes the barstool as much as, if not more than, the arena.

It is a brand without meaningful foundation. The Limerick locals are brow-beaten with it, and through attrition eventually accept it uncritically.

Likewise - the Cultural Capital TM. Very flimsy brand with shaky pillars that has just become accepted without question over time in Galway.

Not to beat up Limerick and Galway as sole offenders here with this phenomenon. Look east young man. See Dublin

Literature capital and writers.

BS.

The only half-succesful author of recent times to hail from this great city of Literature was Roddy Doyle. Hardly high art. The Joyces/Behans/Shaws/Wildes etc. are dusty bones. What a poor effort at a brand.

Don't get me started on the Viking BS.

Tsipras wrote: »
    Bull****

Why would i make it up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭spurshero

Galway 2020 European capital of culture.beat off limerick Kilkenny Waterford etc .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

spurshero wrote: »
    Galway 2020 European capital of culture.beat off limerick Kilkenny Waterford etc .

Limerick 2014 and Cork 2005 had that before though.

Largely meaningless for the average Joe beyond some outsize French macnas outfit coming on a weekend jolly.

Best of luck with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,075 ✭✭✭MarkY91

elefant wrote: »
    They're a part of the city's heritage, to be remarked upon while you drink a couple of cans and look out at the beautiful views on the Corrib and Galway Bay.

I'm not sure what more you could expect from a 16th century wall in Galway City tbh.

It's still ****e whatever way you describe it along with the museum next to it.

It's a town with a street like temple bar. Nothing more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

From what I hear!?
    I can think of nothing worse than spending a couple of days at the Galway races...

Edit: Actually I'm being quite negative there and maybe a bit jealous!?
    It sounds like great craic, just not my scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

From what I hear!?
    I can think of nothing worse than spending a couple of days at the Galway races...

I’m a Galway native and have been at the races maybe 3 times. I much prefer going into town for the day and taking part in the craic that goes on there, and indeed many do too. The races are grand, but it’s usually raining and Ballybrit is notoriously windy and I’m not all that interested in betting. There’s better craic to be had in town where you can at least be served without standing around in a mile long queue for a glass of wine served in a plastic pint glass

From what I hear!?

It's not that bad just drink up the west end and you'll avoid all the race goers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭spurshero

Amazing how Galway hotels B and B s etc are full all year around when it’s such a bad place to go . And the thousands that are dragged screaming against there will to the Galway race week . Begrudgery is usually highest against successful people and places . There’s a couple places in Ireland I wouldn’t be rushing to but I don’t spend my time writing on forums knocking them . I keep it to myself . As somebody on here said earlier let the people who don’t like Galway stay away we don’t need ye. Unfortunately for ye ye are hugely outnumbered by the people who love Galway and its atmosphere and who will keep coming back .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chrongen

anna080 wrote: »
    I’m a Galway native and have been at the races maybe 3 times. I much prefer going into town for the day and taking part in the craic that goes on there, and indeed many do too. The races are grand, but it’s usually raining and Ballybrit is notoriously windy and I’m not all that interested in betting. There’s better craic to be had in town where you can at least be served without standing around in a mile long queue for a glass of wine served in a plastic pint glass

You sound like my kind of filly (no pun) anna.

Pint and a game of cards wit ya in Murty's, then a cheeky second in An Pucan. Game of pool then on eglinton Street....I'll let you win. After, around the corner for a big guzzler at Golden Rickshaw. then I take you down to see a local rock band in the Dubh.

Night ends you maulling the arse off me as I'm dropping you to a taxi up by Dunnes.

Top. date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Chrongen wrote: »
    You sound like my kind of filly (no pun) anna.

Pint and a game of cards wit ya in Murty's, then a cheeky second in An Pucan. Game of pool then on eglinton Street....I'll let you win. After, around the corner for a big guzzler at Golden Rickshaw. then I take you down to see a local rock band in the Dubh.

Night ends you maulling the arse off me as I'm dropping you to a taxi up by Dunnes.

Top. date.

I mean, this could be my classiest date yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭zetalambda

I took a trip to Galway recently as I was thinking about maybe spending a few months or maybe a year there. It only took me a few hours to make my mind up. It doesn't have a city feel to it, not even a small city feel and I found the city center to be pretty underwhelming. Too many smug locals there too (I'm not sure why). But probably the defining factor in deciding that I'd never live there is all the Dublin accents I heard around the town. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

It's where I entered this world so I'll always have a soft spot for Galway even though I never lived a day there.

Very proud to have Gaillimh on my passport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,942 ✭✭✭Redo91

Beats Dublin where you're tripping over homeless people/drunks at every street corner. Of course there's more to do in Dublin but I'd hate to leave there. Nobody can say X city is crap as its very subjective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭whatever99

Think that comes from the large population of crusties in the city.

It's not meant as a slight against the average hard working Galwegian.

I take the ‘graveyard of ambition’ thing to be referring to people who don’t want to leave Galway because they love it too much, even if it means they’d progress in their careers, eg. wouldn’t want to move to the company head office in Dublin for a great promotion. I know I certainly wouldn’t want to leave.

I’m from Galway, and have lived here most of my life. I love it here, and wouldn’t want to live anywhere else. It’s small enough to not be impersonal, but big enough to have lots to offer. There’s always plays & musicals (amateur & professional)/gigs/sporting events etc. on. There’s lots of other stuff too. I’m not going to list stuff here, but suffice to say, walking down Shop St on a sunny (not very common, but it doesn’t rain all the time) Saturday afternoon, soaking up the atmosphere and the buzz is still one of my favourite things to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,631 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

whatever99 wrote: »
    I take the ‘graveyard of ambition’ thing to be referring to people who don’t want to leave Galway because they love it too much, even if it means they’d progress in their careers, eg. wouldn’t want to move to the company head office in Dublin for a great promotion. I know I certainly wouldn’t want to leave.

I’m from Galway, and have lived here most of my life. I love it here, and wouldn’t want to live anywhere else. It’s small enough to not be impersonal, but big enough to have lots to offer. There’s always plays & musicals (amateur & professional)/gigs/sporting events etc. on. There’s lots of other stuff too. I’m not going to list stuff here, but suffice to say, walking down Shop St on a sunny (not very common, but it doesn’t rain all the time) Saturday afternoon, soaking up the atmosphere and the buzz is still one of my favourite things to do.

That is not why Galway sometimes refers to itself as the "graveyard of ambition"...it is because Galway has not distinguished itself in anything...no Galway company has every distinguished itself in any industry (perhaps I am wrong on that) ....nobody with any ambition has come out of the city....I can only think of Christy O'Connor Jn as anyone who has....

Until the late 90s Galway was the most economically depressed Irish city....

Anyone I’ve spoken to from Galway takes the same meaning from the graveyard of ambition phrase as I do, which is in my post above.

Philip Tracey is from Galway. Seeing as he’s a famous milliner, I presume he’s ambitious enough.

Anyone I’ve spoken to from Galway takes the same meaning from the graveyard of ambition phrase as I do, which is in my post above.

Philip Tracey is from Galway. Seeing as he’s a famous milliner, I presume he’s ambitious enough.

Not too surprising....

Philip Tracy from Co Galway...about 40 miles from the city?

If you compare Galway to any other Irish city, from an industrial, historical, and cultural point of view, Galway is miles behind...wasn't it also said that during the War of Independence there wasn't a fist thrown in Galway...

It is, Ireland's most culturally irrelevant city....no amount of festivals or tourists are going to change that...a fine place to live no doubt if over priced property and chronic congestion doesn't bother you....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,682 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

That is not why Galway sometimes refers to itself as the "graveyard of ambition"...it is because Galway has not distinguished itself in anything...no Galway company has every distinguished itself in any industry (perhaps I am wrong on that) ....nobody with any ambition has come out of the city....I can only think of Christy O'Connor Jn as anyone who has....

You're so completely unaware of the origins of the term and it's application to Galway, but so confident that your personal projection is accurate.

It's amusing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,402 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Nonsense. There's Druid for a start, world renowned theatre company from the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover54

Galway is by far the least depressing city/large town in ROI. Cork is okay but it has a weird, worn-down feeling to it. Dublin is a sh*thole. Ditto Limerick.

The Regenerative Medicine Instituite in NUIG and associated spin out companies / industry partners are doing great things in Stem Cell research.

They now have the capabilities to produce stem cells to GMP standards and carry out clinical trials in humans.

They are the first in Ireland and one of only half a dozen in Europe who can do this.

Pretty big achievement by anyones standards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,682 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

jh79 wrote: »
    The Regenerative Medicine Instituite in NUIG and associated spin out companies / industry partners are doing great things in Stem Cell research.

They now have the capabilities to produce stem cells to GMP standards and carry out clinical trials in humans.

They are the first in Ireland and one of only half a dozen in Europe who can do this.

Pretty big achievement by anyones standards.

Added to that several of theresearch centres of The Ryan Institute in NUIG, such as the PABC headed by Professor Charles Spillane, are at the bleeding edge of global multidisciplinary approaches to climate change adaptation and mitigation strategies, partnering with organisations like the FAO, CGIAR, IFIAD, and some of the best universities in the world to develop solutions in the areas such as food security through improved agronomics, breeding and gene manipulation, as well as the development of policies, and researching technological developments to increase carbon emission mitigation capabilities.

But besides things like these, and dozens of other areas of excellence between both NUIG and GMIT, Galway produces nothing of value, ya know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Here is a list of some highlights of my trips back to Galway:

I went to a gig in a pub with my brother in law as it was the first night of the trip and with the time difference, we would be up staying awake late anyway. Didn't know who was playing but knew Galway had a strong enough music scene particularly during the summer that it would be grand. It was a weekday night and there wasn't much of a crowd. To my surprise, the performer was a young lad rapping (Stephen McLoughlin). He rapped over the theme to countdown and had another rap entirely about Tom Hanks movies. It was very entertaining. Something completely unexpected.

Another time (by the way without drinking) went into a gig and a fella called Kevin May did a set which was incredible. Another instance of a random weeknight.

When I lived there, there were amazing local bands like Cartoon Thieves too.

Galway has an amazing music scene.

My brother in law was adamant about trying a Michelin Star place. We went to Loam. I didn't like the look of the menu but went along anyway. It was one of the best meals I have ever had. The music playing in the background was matched to the food. The dessert featured pollen and honey ice cream...you could hear the sound of bees in the background music. It was so well thought out and put together. I didn't expect it at all.

We also ate at Massimos multiple times because we enjoyed it so much. The slice of pizza in Pizza and Pasta Napoli was lovely and we did something I use to do by myself when I lived in the city. We went to the bakery, got some fresh eclairs and ate them while sitting down by the river.

For one of our breakfasts, I brought him to Galway Arms Inn, not necessarily because of the food but because the owner to me epitomizes the Galway character. Laid back, whistling away and having the chat with the locals.

Galway use to have a mediocre food scene. Now Galway has an incredible food scene.

I was looking into hobbies and interests. Classes to take with my wife or kids. I'm not living there but may move back next year. I found that JP McMahon holds cooking classes. He even had a class on cooking the perfect Turkey dinner for the holidays. Right in the backyard, you can learn to cook from a Michelin star chef. He has also staged world-renowned chefs at culinary conference.

I also found several musical classes from renowned locals like David Donahue who set a world record last year.

On top of that the legendary creator of the Doom games, John Romero is actively involved with the Galway coder DoJo.

In Galway you can learn from some of the best talent in the world

When I was a young lad. Don O'Riordan was manager of Galway United. He did a lot with the club to bring up the entire county's grass roots game. After much f*ckery in recent years, the club is now run by the supporters. You can go watch, support and be apart of a club by and for the supporters.

When the Football and Hurling are on, it's a grand day to walk out through Salthill stopping for a 99 or bag of chips along the way.

Lough Corrib is frequently home to international fishing competitions.

Obviously, the Galways Races are renowned across Europe.

The Ironman competitions in the city have really picked up in popularity in recent years.

You can take or leave this one, since it's a bit far from the city but the Connemara cycling race is also a nice event.

The tennis club often holds competitions in Salthill and if pool or snooker are your thing the hall in Eglington has you sorted.

Galway is a yachtsman's dream and you'll see the kayakers out every weekend.

The driving range and golf course on Galway Bay are grand. Not world class or anything but it can scratch an itch if that's your thing.

Purefit is pretty unique. If the rain is too much for you and you'd rather stay active indoors, this is a great option.

Galway has a range of sporting options

The Spanish Arch may not look like much to some but it's steeped in history. When I go down there I picture the merchant ships docking alongside and selling their wears.

The Kings Head is reported to have housed the executioner of King Charles.

When walking over the grating, you are walking over old cellars and underground routes below.

When in Corbett's court, you can see some of the historic city wall.

The Lynch's window memorial down at the back of Eason's sits at the location where the mayor sentenced his own son to death after he admitted to murder.

Lynch's castle itself in the middle of town is worth a look, though it's not all that special imo since it's had a lot of restoration work done. There's a cool protected archaeology site down in Quay Street. Merlin Castle provides another unique landmark in Galway, along with the NUIG Quad and Cathedral.

The museum is free and has some cool medieval chalices and the like in it. Though a lot of the content it is more recent. It's interesting when they have specific exhibits. There's also a lovely view over the Corrib from the bay windows.

The entire city is a mix of some new but mostly old and pretty well-preserved buildings and by well preserved I don't mean like King John's in Limerick which hasn't just been preserved but in large parts restored (nothing wrong with that).

Galway's lack of action in restoring ruins to me actually makes some of them more interesting. For example, (not in Galway city) but if you go to the old ruins of the Marconi wireless station in Clifden, there's feck all there. Ditto the Alcock and Brown landing site, personally I like that. I think it gives a much more true sense of what it was like back then. The horrible ground they landed the plane on that night, how bumpy and marshy it was. How far out it was from the town...

Ross Abbey in Headford has started to rapidly fall apart but if you go today, you'll see it in it's natural state (bar a few gates they hung). I would argue, they should work on restoring parts of that because soon it'll be lost if they don't. Or there's the castle in Clifden which most tourists don't even know about.

Galway's historical sites are unlike most in the rest of the country. To Hell or to Connacht. Many of the historic sites in the other provinces have a much more British influence in architecture. Galway and Connacht less so. Lonely Planet called Galway Ireland's most Irish city and there's some truth to that. (Even if city is a bit of an exaggeration, imo)

There's alot of great histrocial sites to see

There are many art galleries at the end of Shop Street, down Quay Street, down Merchants road and by Dominick's street. The Cottage out by Salthill also regularly showcases local artists works.

Galway has influenced poets, authors, filmmakers and musicians. Even criticisms against the city and council were leveled at them in an poem by a local poet a couple of years ago.

Obviously, the arts festival is good and has been getting better each year attracting larger names.

Even if you don't drink (my wife isn't much of a drinker) you could go to a trad session to soak it in. We went to a session in the Crane a few years ago. My wife is Asian. To her surprise a young Asian lady walked in while a bunch of musicians were playing, sat down beside them and took our her own fiddle and started to join in. It was a big win for Galway in her eyes, it showed inclusiveness and was a great way to share part of our culture.

Shout out to the Taibhearc and Macnas too!

Galway really is a cultural hub

When I lived there, Sometimes I would wake up late on Saturday morning put a big coat on, stick the headphones on and just walk around for hours. Sometimes I would walk down to Salthill, sit on the rocks and watch the ocean or go down to the Spanish Arch and watch the swans or just watch the city go by.

If reading a book is your thing, you can do so in Eyre Square or at any number of beauty spots in the city when it's not raining or in one of the cafes if it is.

Galway is chill

Having said that my biggest problems with the city are the crappy city council. The dog sh1t and litter left around the place by feckless eejits, the terrible traffic and the fact it has the worst hospital in the country.

The drink culture does bother me but it seems to be improving a bit with more people getting into running, rowing etc. but I could say the same thing for any town in Ireland re: the drinking.

The Aquarium needs a lot of improvement. How can it be so poor when it's right on the Atlantic?

Also, good job options are lacking.

Anyway, that's just some of what I love about Galway. I'd move back tomorrow if I could.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

There are some great medical breakthroughs being done by researchers in NUIG in conjunction with some of the multi national companies here. There are several medical multinational companies in the city, employing thousands of people, developing and producing world class, industry leading products.

For economically depressed, read every town and city in Ireland, till the mid to late 90s. And some still are... we're doing ok though, thanks.

As for sport...
    Well, we sent a few lads up to Croke Park last September and they came home with a couple of lovely cups, so they did.
    And a few lads playing with the oval ball managed to win a European competition a couple of years ago.
    Local man Richard Donovan ran 7 marathons on 7 continents in 5 days (yes five) a few years back. You might compile a list of all the other Irishmen and women who've done that.
    And another local man, Gavin Hennigan, got it into his head to get into his boat and row across the Atlantic Ocean. So he did. And then another Galway man, Damian Browne must've thought this was a nice way to spend a couple of months, so he did it as well. Apparently more people have been in space than have successfully rowed the Atlantic Ocean solo.
    But ya, maybe sports aren't our thing.

I'm not smug, or arrogant about where I'm from. Im a proud Galwegian, but I don't brag to visitors or approach foreigners when I'm abroad to tell them they're blessed to be in the presence of a man from the City of the Tribes.
    We, like all towns and cities have our problems and issues, but on the whole, its a grand auld spot to find yourself in.

Gaillimh Abu!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Was in Croker for the hurling semi final, my own Tipp vs my birth county. Galway edged Tipp in the end.

It was basically the final, whoever won was going to beat the Deise.

I'm hoping for another Tipp , Galway enconter this summer.

Two best hurling sides in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

I lived in Galway for a few years in my thirties. I felt at first like I'd been granted another chance at youth; always a party, a night out, people were so friendly and welcoming with such a lovely relaxed approach to life.

Fast forward a few years and I couldn't wait to get back to Dublin. Give me the dub's alleged rudeness, shallowness and money obsession any day over the work-shy insincere alcoholic galwegians any day.

Not too surprising....

You said yourself, “Galway refers to itself as the graveyard of ambition.” (Can’t multi quote on my phone). Surely by saying “itself”, you meant the people of Galway? So yes, being from Galway, and having spoken about that phrase/heard others mention it, I am confident that most people in Galway would mean it as I’ve said.

You're so completely unaware of the origins of the term and it's application to Galway, but so confident that your personal projection is accurate.

It's amusing.

Can you explain to me then, the expression "The Wesht is awake" which is lashed around everytime Connaught Rugby or Galway hurling win a game .... is it because the Wesht is normally asleep because they all had so much fun the night before?

Arghus wrote: »
    Nonsense. There's Druid for a start, world renowned theatre company from the city.

Druid are state funded pal...like the Irish Chamber Orchestra in Limerick....