Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Snowmagedagain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

I know he has a very sombre job and its been a tough week but...Eoghan Murphy is a very serious chap for his age. Dont think i ever saw him smile. For a young guy he is extremely intense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,699 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

2wcfo6p.jpg

I hope this works!
    I never used it before.

I took this photo today of a track in my country garden.
    Any idea of what it's from?

Pheasant. Tail making the fanlike marks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,116 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Walked own to the offy last night and it was nice to be saying hello to people as they passed and exchanging small talk with strangers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

The Mass, the Mass!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,699 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

2wcfo6p.jpg

I hope this works!
    I never used it before.

I took this photo today of a track in my country garden.
    Any idea of what it's from?

Pheasant. Tail making the fanlike marks.
    Thanks Francie.
    That makes sense. We have a pheasant friend in warmer times but obviously she's still around.
    I was thinking of footprints not tail prints!

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,083 ✭✭✭questionmark?

I know he has a very sombre job and its been a tough week but...Eoghan Murphy is a very serious chap for his age. Dont think i ever saw him smile. For a young guy he is extremely intense.

Good. I want a guy who is intense and invested in his job not some cute hoor from Kilgarven ranting and raving about fairies or talking the talk like Bertie. Eoghan Murphy has come across quite professional over the last few days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭koumi

I did my first good snow deed today, it was my first time out of the house since Tuesday though so. Spotted new neighbours car laying awray (I know that's not a word) across the road with a bit of a dent in the front passenger side and wondered if there had been some difficulty getting out earlier. I had managed to trek into town to pick up some stuff and had extra so gave a knock to see if everyone was ok and if they needed anything. They're all fine tg, but they have no wiffy yet so gave them my password so they can keep in contact with relatives.

Otherwise today was nice, my first trek out and the snow as I was leaving was still one to two foot in places with drifts up to a meter in others but I made it in and out safely and had a lovely cup of coffee along the way. It was a grand day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Patww79 wrote: »
    I didn't know you were able to tell if posters were making stuff up or not, but there you go.

Ya wannabe clairvoyant there obviously. Hasn't been long here by the looks of it and going to find it tough with that attitude imo :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭wheresmahbombs

I cleared bit of my footpath today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

Sand People,they move in single file to disguise their numbers.

Yep, I read that in the SandPaper

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

We're strictly rationing our milk as we have started into the last litre. Tea and coffee only, no cereal or anything else.

Now, I'm off to take a milk bath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭buried

lol F**king Hell man, shiny shopping centres really are the modern day Cathedrals

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Was out all day clearing the roads around the house with some of the neighbours so that people could get out of the estate and then had a cup of tea or beer with them.

That's a nice side to these events despite the depressing fact that it's still always a minority of people willing to help others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 383 ✭✭cinnamony

Tried to walk outside this morning as I needed food but could only get across the street, somehow the ice outside the apartment complex froze in mounds. So the foothpath that is usually flat is like a slope right now imagine having to walk straight ahead in the middle of a slippery slope if that makes sense... I didn't fall because there was a grid on the outside of the footpath which is now loose. I imagine from people having to grab onto it..
    On top of that I only have flat runners so its even worse.
    I really hope it has melted by tomorrow as I need to travel to Lidl/Aldi for groceries. The only shops near me are the more expensive Tesco Express, SuperValu, Spar etc.. so I really only shop at the weekend and I've fully ran out of food just now aha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

gozunda wrote: »
    Ya wannabe clairvoyant there obviously. Hasn't been long here by the looks of it and going to find it tough with that attitude imo :D

I'll be ok.

Shoveling snow and small talk with neighbours. Sounds like hell tbh, but each to their own.

What makes you think I'm even vaguely interested in your Nth iteration of I Don't Like Humankind riff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,363 ✭✭✭Jim Gazebo

Was out all day clearing the roads around the house with some of the neighbours so that people could get out of the estate and then had a cup of tea or beer with them.

That's a nice side to these events despite the depressing fact that it's still always a minority of people willing to help others.

Thought it was great to see the roads full of people walking. Some people that hadn't walked in years I'd say.

That said I laughed a lot at a neighbour trying to get up the hill in a car today rather than help... no regrets :D

Jim Gazebo wrote: »
    Thought it was great to see the roads full of people walking. Some people that hadn't walked in years I'd say.

That said I laughed a lot at a neighbour trying to get up the hill in a car today rather than help... no regrets :D

Or people slipping on the ice to be fair :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

After a near riot in the supermarket today when bread arrived out of the ovens, I'm inclined to think the people buying all this bread are people who normally subsist on take-aways, and haven't a clue how to cook for themselves. Grown men were shoving women out of the way to grab a bread roll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,488 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

The whole bread thing is just nuts.

Just shows the reliance some people have on convenience food and the lack of knowledge when it comes to nutrition. What happened to stews, onion soup (onions last a lot longer than bread) and other classics that will last over a few days. Power cut or not, the back garden is a fridge in this weather.

Brennan's sliced pan? It's barely bread. It's no wonder we've an obesity problem.

But I've a PC in front of me and I'm bored while my game loads.

Let us know how it gets on. Don't leave us hanging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,488 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Obesity costs the nation millions. Tax payers millions. I have a concern! ;)

Brothy onion soup. Perfect winter fuel for sledging and knocking around in the snow. Lots of garlic in there... cold and flu fighters.