Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Snowmagedagain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,888 ✭✭✭AtomicHorror

They weren’t correct about 4pm. Even you have to admit that.

Are you for real? Do you think any vaguely rational person expected a snowstorm to manifest across the 26 counties at 4pm sharp?

You are insufferable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,768 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

They never said the storm would hit at 4. They advised people to be home by then.

They wanted people in before it hit not just as it arrived.

Also it's almost impossible to predict the exact time the storm will hit a day beforehand so you can get over your few hours that they were out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Are you for real? Do you think any vaguely rational person expected a snowstorm to manifest across the 26 counties at 4pm sharp?

You are insufferable.

You haven't met his neighbour!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,768 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

I’m in Co Wicklow. Cold night. Windy. Nothing that unusual

So it snows every night where you live?

I am in Bray now and it's a very unusual night. Snowing very heavily and wind is getting stronger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,772 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Some great fights going on across all the forums tonight.

Cabin fever has already set in it seems.

Day two is only minutes away. Today will seem like a picnic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Deusexmachina

awec wrote: »
    Man whinging about government recommendation to stay indoors ends up staying indoors to post about it on the internet.

Fantastic.

In fairness, because of all the unnecessary palaver, there is nowhere to go. Might as well stay in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭nostro

Originally Posted by nostro View Post
    There has been an orwellian effort to make people afraid of the weather
    Yeah they''re using the weather to imprison us in a perpetual dystonia by giving the kids and their parents a day off.

This is terrible.

Orwell wrote of the government creating an artificial semi permanent state of fear and anxiety in the general population in order to control them. That is analogous to what is being done to the irish population over the last year or two with the semi permanent weather warnings and attempt to keep us in constant fear of the weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,043 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Very much doubt my neighbour was the only person to ignore the warnings.

The local pub for example was packed out this evening. Load of ppl having a great time and drinking away no work in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,969 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Jesus christ they had to pick a time, at the time they announced it their data suggested 4 o clock but things involving the weather can never be giranteed like that.

Pull your head out of your ass ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,440 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

He sounds like some man for one man! He swims in stormy seas while giving the government two fingers (ohhh err!)

In fairness, because of all the unnecessary palaver, there is nowhere to go. Might as well stay in.

You can go for a swim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Beethoven9th

murpho999 wrote: »
    They never said the storm would hit at 4.

They actually did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Deusexmachina

murpho999 wrote: »
    So it snows every night where you live?

I am in Bray now and it's a very unusual night. Snowing very heavily and wind is getting stronger.

It’s not ‘snowing heavily’ in Bray. I’m in Greystones. There’s a strong wind and tiny flecks of snow.
    Nothing to get all excited about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

Because lots of roads are not safe to drive on and there is no public transport.

It's called foresight.

Better that than what I saw from Scotland tonight where people are complaining they were told nothing and are trapped in their cars on the icy roads. People who were allowed off work early in Edinburgh were going out to the cars and lorries with food and supplies for those trapped in them. Something like that happened here in 1982 when some did not get home for days. Do people want situations like that here again? It's only going to be for a few days. Better to be safe than sorry, as my mother used to say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,043 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

gmisk wrote: »
    He sounds like some man for one man! He swims in stormy seas while giving the government two fingers (ohhh err!)

It was a river actually.

But the news showed ppl swimming in the sea.

More power to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,849 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

The local pub for example was packed out this evening. Load of ppl having a great time and drinking away no work in the morning.

Whilst defying the government imposed curfew? Rebellious hoores.

• Administrators Posts: 55,066 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Why don't you go join them and save us all from your inane wittering?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Beethoven9th

Why did they put Eoghan Murphy in charge of this anyway. He cant find his arse from his elbow with just deciding how many homeless people there are in Dublin !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,146 ✭✭✭misstearheus

Can ye imagine... If Boards Bosses banned ALL Snow talk and associated blame-imparting..... Oh. My. God! What would we all do... We'd have nothing else to talk about! :P:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Wheres Me Jumper?

Save up some of the snow. You will need it because the people of the West won't give you water from the Shannon.

ive seen people in the West out watering their moss-ridden lawns after 3 sunny days!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,440 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Whilst defying the government imposed curfew? Rebellious hoores.
    It's like the hunger games!
    This poster is truly our Katniss Everdeen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭Route1

Snow is absolutely class, the standstill the country comes to is a great novelty. It's like reality and the world stop, people seem friendlier. Perhaps its the scarcity of it is what gives it such a mystique. But I'm loving it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

It’s probably cuz they can’t legally declare a curfew that they use the weasel words like advice and strongly recommend.

Thank fcuk they can’t legally do it.

Why would they want to declare a curfew?

Jeez, some people are never happy. The same lads complaining they were advised to stay inside are the same lads who'll complain when the emergency services are called out to rescue some c*nt who went for a wander outside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

doylefe wrote: »
    To be fair, public transport shut down, government shutdown, private businesses shut down out of fear of liability. Might as well be a curfew.

But it’s not a curfew. The govt shuts down for months in the summer, that’s not a curfew either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,788 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

There is no sun just clouds. It should be pitch black outside the back of the house but instead its like there is street lights on. Anyone else have this outside their house. It's not just tonight either it was like this the last two nights as well.

I have a theory but could be wrong. First I want to know has anyone else noticed it.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭manonboard

my friend was out in the pub tonight.
    There was the odd cheeky snapchat bragging,
    He's fecked up his knee awful on the way home. Said it was just a slip, but cant put pressure on it at all. Nothing broken thankfully.

Awful eejit for being out tonight. He never goes out.

Mind yourself folks. Take it easy and enjoy the indoor rest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

How did they get out with the curfew??

There is no such thing as a Beer Jacket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,116 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Just turned the lights off in the house because the Irish Army were shooting people for being out in the snow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

Where I am in south Dublin it is properly vicious now