Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Snowmagedagain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 SidekickSimon

"its too cold for snow" is a phrase I used to hear a bit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 SidekickSimon

Because lots of roads are not safe to drive on and there is no public transport.

It's called foresight.

Its also called complete overreaction from politicians and the media. They are all so scared that they might be blamed for doing too little that they go way too far :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Speed had very little to do with it. If you brake in those conditions at 50kph or 10kph the results will be similar. You will skid out of control.

The faster you're driving, it's more likely you'll have to brake.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 739 ✭✭✭Dev84

Its also called complete overreaction from politicians and the media. They are all so scared that they might be blamed for doing too little that they go way too far :mad:

When was the last time we had an event if this magnitude with snow like this?

There is an immediate danger. They are mitigating the risk.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 84 ✭✭Clickbait

Snow only forms within a certain temp range, it can be too cold to snow as the air will be too dry.

It doesn't explain why I'm not feeling the cold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

James 007 wrote: »
    That's bad form, on the other hand could you give me a hot one.
    Dev84 wrote: »
    All bars here in maynooth are open as far as i know. Crazy stuff.

I do get it though; everyone is off and we do often play the role of community hub. I'm in this industry because I love seeing people enjoy themselves and like to play a part in it but yesterday I was still trying to get people who live near the pub out at one AM because it was like a Saturday night. I had whats usually a 15 minute drive home on some dinky back roads still to face, certain that others in my trade faced much worse and we are all guilty of losing our empathy with a few drinks on us.

I'd hope those bars have live in staff or something if opening late tonight!
    Birneybau wrote: »
    Name and shame

When I find some new work maybe ;) I have had some terrible bosses in my life who hasn't? And some amazing ones! But these are a different breed of human and for the sake of my general optimistic view of my fellow human beings I'm going to have to extricate myself before I find myself a bitter cynical old man :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

BillyBobBS wrote: »

Looking outside if anything the snow is beginning to thaw.

In negative temperatures, where it's still snowing?

okp66FD.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,239 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

The couple from Miami on TV3 were hilarious. They are here on their honeymoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭gadgiemagoo

Because lots of roads are not safe to drive on and there is no public transport.

It's called foresight.

Wish they showed same foresight during the Banks collapse - they make sure we're all safe now if ye have a home to be in by 4pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,198 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Stay safe and warm y'all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Ursummupet

The amount of people who missed work today needlessly must be in the thousands.
    So long as it's taken out of their annual leave they might learn not to believe the scaremongering that goes on in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,772 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

You do realise they have to make decisions for the country and not just where you are?

And is it only am overreaction cos nothing had happened...which would be because they took the action they did?

What would you be doing anyway that you seem so put out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,106 ✭✭✭Christy42

Yes there is no public transport for two days. That is not way too far. That is a minor issue in the grand scheme of things and pretty sure you are over reacting yourself. Work from for a day or two or get two days off. Not a big deal in the grand scheme of things. It seems to be getting mad over very little really.

Driving conditions are unsafe (yes you could crash any day but the are riskier today - the you could die any day argument is idiotic). We do not have the infrastructure to deal with it and keep roads clear (and yes many are icy right now). Sure it is OK right now with people being careful but you stick hundreds of tired motorists on the roads this evening and you are asking for accidents to happen.

You also add in how early it gets dark which increases risk and the fact that we don't want people getting stranded when it hits properly and you have good reason for early warnings.

Wish they showed same foresight during the Banks collapse - they make sure we're all safe now if ye have a home to be in by 4pm.

Yeah, weather and banking are exactly the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭MarkY91

Clickbait wrote: »
    Does anyone else find that it's not that cold with the snow? I have been colder without the snow.

Been saying this alot the past few days.

Also I was in Budapest in January. It was alot colder there but didn't feel like it. Got off the plane in Dublin airport to the usual wind, I wanted to hope back on board to snowy Budapest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭erica74

Do people honestly think that in a few hours Met Eireann are going to say oh sorry lads, we got it all wrong, sure we don't know how to read any of those radar thingies, ignore us in future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    Looking outside if anything the snow is beginning to thaw.

It's not thawing. It's very dry and powdery and is being blown around, thus giving the impression that it is somehow thawing, despite temperatures being below zero all day.

In other news, these cows are small. Those cows are far away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Yeah the thaw is on.
    High Today
    -0.6°C
    17:12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Ursummupet

erica74 wrote: »
    Do people honestly think that in a few hours Met Eireann are going to say oh sorry lads, we got it all wrong, sure we don't know how to read any of those radar thingies, ignore us in future.

I don't care whether they do or don't, people need to be personally responsible for their own decisions and stop hiding behind these weather alerts.
    They're a joke and until such time as people keep heeding them they'll continue.
    Having said that, work was a pure joy today as there was no one on the roads!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 739 ✭✭✭Dev84

Ursummupet wrote: »
    I don't care whether they do or don't, people need to be personally responsible for their own decisions and stop hiding behind these weather alerts.
    They're a joke and until such time as people keep heeding them they'll continue.

You are obviously an employer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

went to Tesco Stillorgan and the place was like Christmas Eve. Queues everywhere, all the bread gone.

Let them eat cake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,106 ✭✭✭Christy42

The weather alerts are there to help people make an informed decision. No one is stopping you from going travelling. The same with businesses. No one is hiding behind them. Loving the edgy remarks as if there would not be chaos if there were thousands of cars on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,026 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Has become blizzardy in Wexford now in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,783 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

The amount of people who missed work today needlessly must be in the thousands.
    So long as it's taken out of their annual leave they might learn not to believe the scaremongering that goes on in the future.

You do realise if people had worked as normal then the rush hour would have been chaoitic as people travelling home in severe weather would have led to lots of accidents, injuries and possibly deaths.

Now, warnings have been given, with a stipulated time of 4, in advance of when the storm will hit so that most people are safely at home beforehand.

It's all about safety and that has to the utmost priority. People don't seem to get this though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Panjandrums

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Nothing here yet in Malahide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,239 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

My car is starting to look like a double decker with all the snow that has accumulated on it.

Yeah, weather and banking are exactly the same.
    Okaaaaaay so there were no predictions of the Banks losing the run of themselves? Excessive lending & borrowing? It came as a bolt from the blue?? :ermm:

I think you got lost looking for a banking thread. This thread is about the weather event in Ireland.

My car is starting to look like a double decker with all the snow that has accumulated on it.
    Start with a blizzard & end up with a people carrier.