Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Snowmagedagain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,713 ✭✭✭irishgeo

not even proper ****ing snowed and already a bunch of crashes. Imagine the carnage if the east get a proper dumping. All because idiots dont know how to drive in the snow or fog.

Didnt hear too many accidents around the west when people were on untreated roads a few weeks back and the above crashes are on main fecking roads.

I understand the need to warn people but christ its OTT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    We are senior citizens , neither of us want to risk slipping or falling . So we got a few extra litres of milk and extra bread yesterday . It was to keep us safe and warm and not having to go out in the bitter cold . I am not really bothered by your disdain to be honest

Because I really meant people like you, obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,781 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    We are senior citizens , neither of us want to risk slipping or falling . So we got a few extra litres of milk and extra bread yesterday . It was to keep us safe and warm and not having to go out in the bitter cold . I am not really bothered by your disdain to be honest

Isn't it grand for some that can stay inside from the elements, I'm not too far behind you but I'll be still heading out the door at 6 am whatever the weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Pero_Bueno wrote: »
    None, it's all hype and panic

Haven’t seen a touch of snow yet and hope it stays that way.too much hardship trying to travel in that.half the country can hardly drive on a good day with trying to steer and update their Facebook at the same time.im pure sick with fkrs who can’t use an indicator and a phone stuck to their jaw with a big important head on them.
    Pull in to fcuk and take the call or stay off the road and have some consideration for other people for once in your selfish life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

elbyrneo wrote: »
    I have a critical decision. Make 3x kids lunches for school tomorrow now? Will it be wasted if I make now and schools close. Will I be too lazy later this eve and end up rushing tmw am, if schools open.

Pressure.

Make them now and if no school they could eat them at home at lunch time sure or else feed it to birds 🦅

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Haven’t seen a touch of snow yet and hope it stays that way.too much hardship trying to travel in that.half the country can hardly drive on a good day with trying to steer and update their Facebook at the same time.im pure sick with fkrs who can’t use an indicator and a phone stuck to their jaw with a big important head on them.
    Pull in to fcuk and take the call or stay off the road and have some consideration for other people for once in your selfish life.
    Well said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,392 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

FatherTed wrote: »
    How much snow did ye get?

4 grams but Adrien Brody is here so it's going fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,040 ✭✭✭optogirl

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    Isn't it grand for some that can stay inside from the elements, I'm not too far behind you but I'll be still heading out the door at 6 am whatever the weather.

Aren't you marvellous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,627 ✭✭✭tedpan

The snow looks lovely, but it's slippy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Dakota Dan wrote: »

It is indeed ! For long enough I battled all elements to get into work at 6 am or 10 pm at night . So I am comfortable buying a few extra loaves and fishes to keep warm and safe

optogirl wrote: »
    Aren't you marvellous

Aren't I just, think of me when you are turning over for your second sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭lmimmfn

Some people are lucky.....having bread, lidl and tesco in Mullingar - empty shelves, in lidl many things sold out, grrrr.
    Got fancy bread rolls though so sorted.

Ignoring idiots who comment "far right" because they don't even know what it means

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,818 ✭✭✭marvin80

and also because the worst hasn't hit yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,449 ✭✭✭✭endacl

elbyrneo wrote: »
    I have a critical decision. Make 3x kids lunches for school tomorrow now? Will it be wasted if I make now and schools close. Will I be too lazy later this eve and end up rushing tmw am, if schools open.

Pressure.
    They'll still be lunches, and can be eaten at home tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,773 ✭✭✭smokingman

tedpan wrote: »

The snow looks lovely, but it's slippy!

Jayzis tedpan, you were going quare fast there! How did you stop so quick at the end?!

;D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,783 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Have you seen the forecast at all?

It's not hype. No heavy snow forecast for today at all. There may well be some tonight.

Worst of the snow is expected on Thursday.

Why people are expecting snow during the day today and then dismiss as it as hype when the non-forecasted snow does not materialise is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,627 ✭✭✭tedpan

smokingman wrote:
    Jayzis tedpan, you were going quare fast there! How did you stop so quick at the end?!

smokingman wrote:
    ;D

Haha! It would have been too boring if I didn't fast forward!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭elbyrneo

endacl wrote: »
    They'll still be lunches, and can be eaten at home tomorrow?

Childminder feeds them otherwise. 10 mins of extra evening chill time. Original post in jest (kinda)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Rala_

Thank god there's people on here who actually share my opinion. On the proper weather forum it was full of delusional idiots worrying.

lmimmfn wrote: »
    Some people are lucky.....having bread, lidl and tesco in Mullingar - empty shelves, in lidl many things sold out, grrrr.
    Got fancy bread rolls though so sorted.

You could always buy bread on donedeal, €30 for a small sliced pan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,997 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Anyone who is "panic" buying is an idiot.
    Stopped in to tesco this afternoon to get fresh rolls for the kids lunches and it's like armageddon. It's a couple of days of snow.
    If you are stuck in the house for a day or 2 I'm sure you could survive on what's in the cupboards and the fridge. Who makes their dinner and thinks "ahhh, I've no bread to have with my potatoes and vegetables".
    Some fool on the radio earlier buying 12 loaves of bread for a house with 2 people in it...dope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

How long would a bag of firewood last, while using a fire to heat a small room with mediocre insulation? (The bags they sell in lids, in case there is variation in size)

The power has gone here a couple of times when the weather is bad. We’ve a newborn so it is particularly important we can keep at least one room warm enough if the power goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,213 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

It’s weeks like this you really miss Sharon & Dobbo on the SixOne News!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Non-7am update from M.T. Cranium. Shit is getting real. Even mentions the b-word (blizzard, not bitch or bastard).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,217 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Non-7am update from M.T. Cranium. **** is getting real. Even mentions the b-word (blizzard, not bitch or bastard).

I'd say he gets all the rides in the weather forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

It’s weeks like this you really miss Sharon & Dobbo on the SixOne News!!

Yeah . Really not the same with Caitriona Perry Over EMPHASISING each WOrd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,086 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I'd say he gets all the rides in the weather forum.

How dare he be educated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,217 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

pjohnson wrote: »
    How dare he be educated.

I know what a bastard right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,392 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

This thread needs an Aerosmith theme song.

I'm thinking love in an elevator

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

No heavy snow was expected today. Pay attention.