Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Snowmagedagain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

seamus wrote: »
    Former neighbours swears blind to me that she saw a guy in her local Lidl yesterday with a trolley full of bread. Like, I understand someone buying two loaves if they expect to be doing fry-ups for the rest of the week, maybe 3 if you've a big family. But what could possibly be going through someone's head with 20 or 30 pans?
    Yeah seems like selfish waste

Maybe he is suffering from psychological problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Yeah seems like selfish waste

Maybe he is suffering from psychological problems.

Maybe he was feeding the homeless or needy .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,040 ✭✭✭optogirl

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Snow showers in the west and North West earlier today. But no, not a mention, or official till it happens in Dublin.

:p

Not a mention? Where have you been?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,086 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

NIMAN wrote: »
    And he's another quote from the news

"a lot of older people live in houses with bad insulation"

Why do they?

There has been loads of schemes for years now to upgrade pensioners and people on welfares homes with energy efficient measures, new insulation etc.

Every pensioner should have applied and got it done. There's no excuses for not taking free upgrades to your home.

Unless the wall cavities have already had the crappy insulation filler from the 80's and can't take the modern insulation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

AAAAAHHHHH!!!! ITS SNOWING!!!

*bashes skulls in. Feasts on the sweet goo*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

Sorry but unless you know the numbers you are not qualified to say that. Maybe it's not clear what I'm saying, I mean if we look into it and see that the snow costs the economy X million every 10 years then it can be argued at least if its justified to spend X million every 10 years to mitigate it, but unless you do the study you don't know

You know what? I’m quite comfortable making those statements. It’s common sense. It’s not a pressing issue because cash is limited and so many things are more pressing and much more likely to both affect the economy and people’s lives if they are underfunded or if money is diverted away from there. You don’t need a peer-reviewed study to know this but I’d be willing to bet that there has been research published somewhere in the world on the subject.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

NIMAN wrote: »
    And he's another quote from the news

"a lot of older people live in houses with bad insulation"

Why do they?

There has been loads of schemes for years now to upgrade pensioners and people on welfares homes with energy efficient measures, new insulation etc.

Every pensioner should have applied and got it done. There's no excuses for not taking free upgrades to your home.

What's a "welfare home"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,209 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Jaysus some amount of snow outside!! What on earth am I gonna do!?

Might need to get one of those big thick muck savage culchies to look after me!

Plenty in here by the looks of it.....

Kind of disappointed in recent storms. Very over-hyped.

Pressure on weather forecasters to get this one right.

Yes because that’s their motivation - not disappointing Diddums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

DON'T MAKE UNNECESSARY JOURNEYS!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

DON'T MAKE UNNECESSARY JOURNEYS!!!

WHATS UNNECESSARY????!!!! MY JOBS CERTAINLY NOT FUPPING NECESSARY

I had no bother getting bread in my corner shop earlier. People want their supplies but they also want them chape so corner shops are still reasonably well-stocked! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

seamus wrote: »
    Former neighbours swears blind to me that she saw a guy in her local Lidl yesterday with a trolley full of bread. Like, I understand someone buying two loaves if they expect to be doing fry-ups for the rest of the week, maybe 3 if you've a big family. But what could possibly be going through someone's head with 20 or 30 pans?
    Possibly shopping for elderly neighbors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Mocha Joe wrote: »
    WHATS UNNECESSARY????!!!! MY JOBS CERTAINLY NOT FUPPING NECESSARY

DON'T TAKE RISKS ON TREACHEROUS ROADS!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,449 ✭✭✭✭endacl

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Maybe he was feeding the homeless or needy .
    Or the ducks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,781 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

greenspurs wrote: »
    Local news at 1.00 today...

A representative from an Animal shelter (? didn't get the name)
    "If you are bringing your pets for walks in the snow , make sure they are on a lead, because you don't know how deep the snow could be " !!???? WTF !!!!

Sweet Jesus the threat of snow brings out stupidity in some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Unless you live in the middle of nowhere, anybody out buying 'supplies' needs to be euthanized to preserve national intelligence levels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Jaysus some amount of snow outside!! What on earth am I gonna do!?

Might need to get one of those big thick muck savage culchies to look after me!

Plenty in here by the looks of it.....

I'll bring you down to the methodone clinic in the morning, no bother gossin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,392 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Duck you and your unnecessary.

Tesco just got 4 packs of monster back in i'd risk 50 people's lives just to taste that sweet sweet monster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Unless you live in the middle of nowhere, anybody out buying 'supplies' needs to euthanized to preserve national intelligence levels

We are senior citizens , neither of us want to risk slipping or falling . So we got a few extra litres of milk and extra bread yesterday . It was to keep us safe and warm and not having to go out in the bitter cold . I am not really bothered by your disdain to be honest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,019 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,781 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Jaysus, nearly had the virtual head bitten off me over on the weather forum for suggesting that weather nerds were making a bit of a big deal about this. You’d think we were about to enter another ice age by the way some of them are going on, and not facing into a few days of slushy snow and cold temperatures. There’ll be loads of people working through all this, while taking fairly reasonable precautions. Stocking up on gas cannisters, torches, and candles seems a bit much. It’s not a war time raid on London, or the Day After Tomorrow. Think some folk are getting into Ray Myers or Bear Grylls fantasies. No bread in Lidl – mother of God.

Anyways, I intend to work all week, and I’ve told my employees that they should expect to do the same, until they hear otherwise. A few inches of snow ain’t going to be changing that. I might reassess if I wake up and find out that my Ford Transit is underneath 4 foot of snow.

Pure unnecessary excitement and panic.

Imagine the panic if there were a natural disaster, I'd say the most of them idiots would die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

How much snow did ye get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Who are these nob heads buying out all the bread? Dunnes and Supervalu and Tesco were all bare for some reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

Its far worse in the UK from the scenes i saw on the news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

The drive through shed that sells coal in Oranmore had a que out to the road this evening and I passing.tis snotty nose weather alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭elbyrneo

I have a critical decision. Make 3x kids lunches for school tomorrow now? Will it be wasted if I make now and schools close. Will I be too lazy later this eve and end up rushing tmw am, if schools open.

Pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,739 ✭✭✭✭kylith

cantdecide wrote: »
    Seems legit...

443141.PNG
    Them penguins aren't cheap, you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

optogirl wrote: »
    Not a mention? Where have you been?

In the West and North West!

:p