My unemployed story

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Ajsoprano

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

You said there is nothing wrong with it because the US does it. The u S is a terrible model to follow. You think it’s a good thing people work way more than twice the usual hours for free. Taking two jobs out of the market.
    You think it’s great the government pay people social welfare instead of a company paying a wage. Again because the US do it or because experience is valuable.
    Why don’t we just get the government to pay everyone’s wages. Sure that’s create loads of experience. I had lots of jobs while in college before I started plumbing. None of them needed the government to pay for me to work there free because I’d fall out the window with no experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

What if you're unemployed, but not sitting at home watching Jeremy Kyle and Neighbours? What if you're reading Proust instead?

Obviously, that's a rhetorical question, but you get the point I'm making, yeah?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38,989 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Ajsoprano wrote: »
    I have a job thanks

You didn’t a few years ago and you seem to still have a chip on your shoulder about it. You expected the govt to take responsibility for you, rather than taking responsibility yourself and getting on with it.

Poor Ajsoprano, the govt were terrible to you. Is that what you are looking for?? :rollseyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38,989 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

So the private for profit companies in welfare fans are now saying job bridge is ok because it propped up businesses during a recession but also saying if you have no job feck off to England.

It’s ok because it gave people experience in jobs that wouldn’t be available. Experience in jobs that were declining?

Fudging the stats more like and helping turn Ireland into a cesspool like the USA.

It’s not like the Hollywood films you know. Nurses and schoolteachers don’t live in mansions. Everybody doesn’t have a big red sports car in high school.

They have fights at food banks. Armed security on schools. People working two jobs and still poor. A health system that really should have a bunch of UN lads to come in and inspect. Private prisons where the longer somebody is in jail the more the company make. The list goes on and on.

This seems to be what Leo veradkar wants for Ireland. An American utopia.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 739 ✭✭✭Dev84

Great post op. Delighted you are doing ok now. I am/was in the same position. Well done.

You didn’t a few years ago and you seem to still have a chip on your shoulder about it. You expected the govt to take responsibility for you, rather than taking responsibility yourself and getting on with it.

Poor Ajsoprano, the govt were terrible to you. Is that what you are looking for?? :rollseyes:

They will be terrible to you or a member of your family one day. I’d hate to see my da getting harassed in a car park if he lost his job.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 739 ✭✭✭Dev84

So the private for profit companies in welfare fans are now saying job bridge is ok because it propped up businesses during a recession but also saying if you have no job feck off to England.

It’s ok because it gave people experience in jobs that wouldn’t be available. Experience in jobs that were declining?

Fudging the stats more like and helping turn Ireland into a cesspool like the USA.

It’s not like the Hollywood films you know. Nurses and schoolteachers don’t live in mansions. Everybody doesn’t have a big red sports car in high school.

They have fights at food banks. Armed security on schools. People working two jobs and still poor. A health system that really should have a bunch of UN lads to come in and inspect. Private prisons where the longer somebody is in jail the more the company make. The list goes on and on.

Dont forget New Orleans which is still in ****e after catriona. And why? Because most of the residents are poor and black.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,370 ✭✭✭TheAnalyst_

So you're blanket anti privatisation. It doesn't matter how good Seetec are you'd have an issue regardless.

Not in some departments. I think most people feel the same. To highlight this last week I started a thread about it and people went ape****.

Any I have dealt with though seem to be out to make a fast buck. Weren’t seetec the uk crowd that had controversy after controversy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Go to any library during the day and the people there are mainly pensioners and the unemployed. Not perusing Proust, perhaps, but not sitting at home watching daytime television or any of the usual cliches either. I think if I found myself unemployed again, I'd sooner renew my old library card than touch the vast majority of internships that were available through Jobbridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭drillyeye

Youre absolutely correct in that this country has a hard-on for being micro-America.

The government has already abdicated responsibility for housing through various schemes, and now it relies on private, profit-taking individuals to "function".

They would LOVE to get the responsibility of social welfare off their back too, hence the sly introduction of private companies here and there.

Oh everyone loves America when theyre doing well (the American dream) its the vast majority that don't enjoy it so much on the otherside of the economic spectrum, those that live in wretched conditions that don't have choices.

People here should be very careful about their lot in life, things can change very quickly indeed, and they might prove to be their own worst enemies in time.

I was doing some work for a homeless shelter years ago (before it escalated out of hand). Met a bloke and his story was one of just blind, bad luck. He was fairly successful as a businessman, had his own house, married, children. He was let go from his job (not his fault), fell into depression, wife left him and took the children, fell further into depression, wife returns and takes home, hes out on his ear. In the space of 2 years he went from happy and normal to sleeping rough on the streets with severe depression. You'd never think to look at him the sequence of bad luck. No drugs or anything involved, just fooked. Wonder where he is now?!

Privatisation of social equity should not be allowed happen. Unfortunately, the people who don't need that social welfare are the very ones who will decide what happens. Ironic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 877 ✭✭✭jk23

I don’t begrudge anyone on social welfare who isn’t flaunting or blatantly taking advantage of the system. Anyone has worked or want to work can’t even begin to describe what it’s like to stand in a dole queue.

it certainly makes you motivated to get back to work but while you are looking in that time, it can destroy your mental health

They will be terrible to you or a member of your family one day. I’d hate to see my da getting harassed in a car park if he lost his job.

Well at least I’ll have your thread to look back on so I’ll know where to aim the blame. Personal responsibility, pah, that’s for losers. It’s all the gubberments fault!!

Who cares if I’m “making more money than doctors and accountants.” I’ll spend it like I’m a rapper. This is gonna last forever. And if it all goes tits up, blame the gubberment. Wah Wah Wah Wah Wah. Not my fault, always someone else’s.

What do you mean there’s loads of jobs all over Europe with Scandinavia crying out for plumbers and other trades on huge money, I don’t want to leave my comfort zone. Wah Wah Wah, gubberments fault.

I can’t believe the govt didn’t just give you a mansion and say, a stipend of €5000 a week. To see you through like.

Well at least I’ll have your thread to look back on so I’ll know where to aim the blame. Personal responsibility, pah, that’s for losers. It’s all the gubberments fault!!

Who cares if I’m “making more money than doctors and accountants.” I’ll spend it like I’m a rapper. This is gonna last forever. And if it all goes tits up, blame the gubberment. Wah Wah Wah Wah Wah. Not my fault, always someone else’s.

What do you mean there’s loads of jobs all over Europe with Scandinavia crying out for plumbers and other trades on huge money, I don’t want to leave my comfort zone. Wah Wah Wah, gubberments fault.

I can’t believe the govt didn’t just give you a mansion and say, a stipend of €5000 a week. To see you through like.

Jesus you are angry. What’s really annoying you?

I’m far from angry, i find the chip on your shoulder hilarious. You’ve the very Irish trait of everything being someone else’s fault but you are completely blind to it. Funny seeing such delusional posts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

What's a "gubberment"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    What's a "gubberment"?

It's a 'the' not an 'a'. It's to blame for all the wrongs in society - per Liveline.

I’m far from angry, i find the chip on your shoulder hilarious. You’ve the very Irish trait of everything being someone else’s fault but you are completely blind to it. Funny seeing such delusional posts.

It was my fault a private company degraded me while I was out of work for no reason other than collect taxpayer money?

You are just filled with hate and spite. Somewhere inside there is an insecurity or or unhappiness that makes you speak this way surely.
    Would you be happy for your father or son to do this job if they lost their job?

I’m guessing probably. Maybe they are the reason you have so much pent up anger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

What's a "gubberment"?

This

What's a "gubberment"?

Not sure, but I hear people like ajsporano (people who take zero personal responsibility but want everything handed to them) use it when giving out about Varadker and co.

It was my fault a private company degraded me while I was out of work for no reason other than collect taxpayer money?

You are just filled with hate and spite. Somewhere inside there is an insecurity or or unhappiness that makes you speak this way surely.
    Would you be happy for your father or son to do this job if they lost their job?

I’m guessing probably. Maybe they are the reason you have so much pent up anger.

As stated all over the thread, there was work available. It may have meant moving away for the week, but it was there. I myself had, and still have, friends working offshore.

And guess what, no private company got to degrade them and they didn’t have to collect taxpayer money. Crazy what having motivation and a backbone does. They were, and are, making decent money and providing for themselves and their families WITHOUT relying on handouts. They must be mad, eh??

Not sure, but I hear people like ajsporano (people who take zero personal responsibility but want everything handed to them) use it when giving out about Varadker and co.

Woah it upset you that much because I don’t like Leo. That’s why you came storming in spouting hatred? Leo ! Really? Is he nice in real life?
    What part of I work 40-60 hours a week earning while not FF type money but a wage do you think screams I want it all handed to me.
    What part of I pay 100-200 euro a week from my wages in tax screams I want it all handed to me?

You and Leo who’d have thunk it.

As stated all over the thread, there was work available. It may have meant moving away for the week, but it was there. I myself had, and still have, friends working offshore.

And guess what, no private company got to degrade them and they didn’t have to collect taxpayer money. Crazy what having motivation and a backbone does. They were, and are, making decent money and providing for themselves and their families WITHOUT relying on handouts. They must be mad, eh??

So you are saying we need these private companies to badger people into emigrating?

None of my friends who work offshore have emigrated.

None of my friends who work offshore have ever been badgered by a private company.

They went where the work was and is. They didn’t sit around waiting for the work to come back to them.

They didn’t expect the govt to provide them with jobs.

They had bills, mortgages and families to pay and provide for. They also had a work ethic and wanted to work. So they did what they had to, to do the above.

None of my friends who work offshore have emigrated.

None of my friends who work offshore have ever been badgered by a private company.

They went where the work was and is. They didn’t sit around waiting for the work to come back to them.

They didn’t expect the govt to provide them with jobs.

They had bills, mortgages and families to pay and provide for. They also had a work ethic and wanted to work. So they did what they had to to do the above.

Heroes every one of them. If only I wasn’t so lazy I could have had my children grow up without me.

I’m heading off to Africa to tell them to emigrate the lazy good for nothings. Famine my arse they need to head to Ireland or Sweden like weldonihnos friends. And what about them Haitian layabouts earthquake my arse plenty of jobs in Canada.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭koumi

I'm better than you that's all I'm saying

oh and also, I'm going to continuously remind you of the fact, loser.

Heroes every one of them. If only I wasn’t so lazy I could have had my children grow up without me.

I’m heading off to Africa to tell them to emigrate the lazy good for nothings. Famine my arse they need to head to Ireland or Sweden like weldonihnos friends. And what about them Haitian layabouts earthquake my arse plenty of jobs in Canada.

Deflect, deflect, deflect. Is that why you are so angry? Because you didn’t do anything to improve your own situation, you expected the govt to do it and wasted years??

I’m in quite a good situation. It doesn’t help my taxes for helping people in worse situations goes towards private companies who don’t help them.