Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"do be"

Options
  • 20-02-2018 10:51am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭

I find myself lately using the words "do be"

I am not an expert, and am useless with tenses etc but to me , it just sounds wrong

What can I use instead of these words?

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

This post has been deleted.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Noo

I find myself lately using the words "do be"

I am not an expert, and am useless with tenses etc but to me , it just sounds wrong

What can I use instead of these words?

Can you give an example of how you use "do be"?

• Registered Users Posts: 34,461 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

As in 'I do be going to the shops on a Friday?'

I usually go to the shops on a Friday.
    I regularly go to the shops on a Friday.
    etc

• Registered Users Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

God that term drives me nuts. I work with an otherwise normal woman that uses it constantly. I cry a little inside every time she says it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭from_atozinc

Noo wrote: »

I do be on my phone all day, cant put it down

• Advertisement

Gravelly wrote: »
    God that term drives me nuts. I work with an otherwise normal woman that uses it constantly. I cry a little inside every time she says it.

can imagine for the people that pay attention to grammar that it is an awful word to hear

• Registered Users Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.