Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jan and Klodi's Party Bus - part II **off topic discussion**

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,346 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

most of his 'tweets' are notifications about posting on the journal.
    i mean, who'd take the opinion of him seriously, if he spends so much of his time pointlessly arguing with people on the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,161 ✭✭✭buffalo

i mean, who'd take the opinion of him seriously, if he spends so much of his time pointlessly arguing with people on the internet.

duty_calls.png

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,999 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

I'm out
    How mad would I be to bring a second hand aluminium bike on a plane in a cardboard box - not sure which bike yet but will probably be something with a value of 400€ish.

I want to take an older bike to a holiday home and leave it there, but bringing back an empty bike box doesn't really make sense with costs. Is there any chance of it surviving if well wrapped?
    Cardboard box is fine.

He sent pictures of organised demonstrations to prove that cyclists break the rules of the road. Would like to think trolling, but....

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,346 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

This really exemplifies why such things need to be put into law, as well as bringing in an increase in Gardai and a reduction in paperwork for such offences. Some people cannot be reasoned with, and trying to only leads to mental issues that will affect you and not them.

I have had a bus driver tell me he pulled in on me to "show me" how dangerous cycling is. A motorist last week pulled across with no indication or warning into the bus lane. I dropped anchor and missed him by a cm. When I talked to him, his response was that he had seen me, and then asked do I have brakes. I had an instructor for another bus driver inform me that an overtake I asked him about was fine and there was plenty of space, my pedal struck the kerb and my elbow touched the bus. I had a van passenger throw a bottle of water at me and try to push me off because he felt I was holding him up, despite being behind another vehicle that never got more than a few metres away from me. Another van driver overtook me and parked sideways further up the road , jumped out and tried to punch me because he thought I stopped at a red light to annoy him. These are just a few of the ones where they didn't hit me. These are not even close to the worst things that have happened. All of these could have left me in a body bag. Every one of those people believed I was in the wrong, none of them could see their own wrong doing. Trying to illustrate this to them is futile, so unless I receive a response in as pleasant a tone as I use nowadays, I just leave it at that, because they will only drag you down to their level, and that is not somewhere I want to go.

Am I a perfect road user? No
    Have I made mistakes? Yes
    Have I admitted to them? Yes
    Are motorists the main problem on the roads? No
    Are cyclists the main problem? No
    Who are the main problem then? A small percentage of people. Regrettably, a number of those people control vehicles that could easily kill or maim others. In the short and long term, I know where resources should be put.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Missus Doubtfire

Cramcycle, if it is a Dublin Bus or Bus Eireann bus that pulled in to you, call the H&S people in the relevant company. There are cameras all over the busses these days and the H&S people will follow up. They will even advise you to go to the Gardaí AND they will supply any evidence (camera footage) that they might have. It happened to a friend of mine driving by Liffey Valley one morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,487 ✭✭✭manafana

Funny when it rains it pours,

Had car come past me at junction then turn left, indicating at last moment not before turn, so lucky enough given the traffic i decided to come cautiously when the lane comes in.

Then further down i get someone pulling in to the cycle lane in front me to squezze past, ended up just blocking lane, and had i being closer probably takes me out.

Further down the road a cycle lane blocked off by vans for builders working on some house, which I think i might report was just by ucd where cycle lane loops away for minute, was pretty inconsiderate.

I think parking offences are a huge problem but very bad driving is rarer but a noticeable issue. As pointed out its a n% of people who abuse their rights to drive etc without consideration for others.

To balance all this i was coming downhill and I slowed as their was parked cars on my side, the driver flashed me and yielded so i could continue on, I gave him a wave for his small but notable gesture.

My mate would be a good example of a honest viewpoint from regular car user, he gets very annoyed by two a breast cycling on country roads as its harder pass them, also question of road quality etc, but he will admit its a disgrace then that in the urban areas a car user will still have the priority despite taking up the limited space

FYI Luge is the business, team luge is the uiltimatwe

To balance all this i was coming downhill and I slowed as their was parked cars on my side, the driver flashed me and yielded so i could continue on, I gave him a wave for his small but notable gesture.

I'll always try to give a wave of thanks to cars as they move to pass when I know they've been sitting patiently behind me. I'm always grateful for them doing it. Again, small gesture hopefully helps them remember to always do the same rather than risk a close pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

I'll always try to give a wave of thanks to cars as they move to pass when I know they've been sitting patiently behind me. I'm always grateful for them doing it. Again, small gesture hopefully helps them remember to always do the same rather than risk a close pass.

I always give a wave of thanks to those that are courteous to me for the same reason.

I've still not ventured out on the bike, the bruising doesn't seem to be going down on my leg and hip. I'll be on the turbo tonight though, finally have it all set up in the shed and have a TV screen to watch Fair City while I cycle. Sorted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

Thank you. Couldn't find anything. Might do Galway to Dublin if I can find someone to bring the bike to Dublin.

http://www.larryvsharry.com/cargo-rando-riding-a-200km-brevet-on-a-bullitt/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

Thank you. Couldn't find anything. Might do Galway to Dublin if I can find someone to bring the bike to Dublin.

http://www.larryvsharry.com/cargo-rando-riding-a-200km-brevet-on-a-bullitt/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,073 ✭✭✭✭dahat

How does one facing 8 weeks on a turbo with one hand make it interesting?
    8 weeks endurance block?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭robyntmorton

dahat wrote: »
    8 weeks endurance block?

Put a dog on a treadmill behind you. Preferably one who hates cyclists. 8 week extended sprint training!

1 arm sprints, I'd mess the other shoulder up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

You can carry a stick in the working arm and shake it at the dog while escaping. The magic of turbo, I wish I could do this in real sometimes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭tampopo

AstraMonti wrote: »
    Talking about dedication..

https://i.imgur.com/rIgePve.gifv

I had to do that to rescue my own bike in James' Hospital in Dublin. Just walked in and out and had lost the key.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,908 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

Anti-speeding campaign from Western Australia: if you speed repeatedly you risk having to cycle and thus losing your girlfriend.

https://www.bikebiz.com/.amp/news/cycling-is-slow-unsexy-says-oz-govt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Alek wrote: »
    You can carry a stick in the working arm and shake it at the dog while escaping. The magic of turbo, I wish I could do this in real sometimes!

https://www.grc.com/tqc/thequietcanine.htm Fit one of these to your bike and give a short blast upon a dogs approach - they'll scarper.

fit.jpg

The above is "Musguard" - I run em on the commuter and find them great. Problem is the Sunday bike won't accommodate such a guard and the traditional guards that do fit look terrible - at least to me. There are plenty of saddle mounted blades but I'm looking for something a little more group friendly. Such a thing exist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,161 ✭✭✭buffalo

dahat wrote: »
    8 weeks endurance block?

Get a set of tri-bars and stick them pointing upwards from the handlebars. You'll be able to grip something without having to put too much weight through your arms.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

\

Jaysus :eek:
    buffalo wrote: »
    Get a set of tri-bars and stick them pointing upwards from the handlebars. You'll be able to grip something without having to put too much weight through your arms.

Depends on the injury whether you can do that. Particularly with dislocations and dodgy shoulders you can't move the arm forward at all to rest on aero bars or grip anything. Unless that's not what you're suggesting, which is entirely possible!

I was once one armed and had months of turbo work, but didn't do any endurance stuff. Life is too short. I couldn't move my arm out from the body, so I got an extra body band, to go around above the elbow and keep the sling and arm stable and close to the body when turboing. I had had surgery though and the leaning forward wasn't that comfy.
    listen to your body, it's not worth pushing it/fcuking it up now, so soon after the injury.

buffalo wrote: »

Do an Orla Walsh and go for the ironing board!
    https://www.instagram.com/p/BVK8klSAVM7/?hl=en&taken-by=pedalingheroine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭daragh_

That is genius.

I've to keep weight off left shoulder for a while yet but in the ladder stages this will be the aim.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Cycling is great and I'm one for doing it as much as possible and have gone back ridiculously early after injuries in the past. But this one needs to be properly looked after. Prioritize it first and the bike after...

Cramcycle, if it is a Dublin Bus or Bus Eireann bus that pulled in to you, call the H&S people in the relevant company. There are cameras all over the busses these days and the H&S people will follow up. They will even advise you to go to the GardaND they will supply any evidence (camera footage) that they might have. It happened to a friend of mine driving by Liffey Valley one morning
    Reported along time ago, and re reported, despite having the BE driver on camera, admitting it, him telling me his cameras also worked, BE saying they had the footage. After a few days, the footage had disappeared, I followed up a few times but as with everything, they won because I was just to busy with life.
    RobFowl wrote: »
    Cycling is great and I'm one for doing it as much as possible and have gone back ridiculously early after injuries in the past. But this one needs to be properly looked after. Prioritize it first and the bike after...
    Same here, not from cycling but a knee injury in football. Felt fine soon after the operation but eventually the issues reemerged and never fully resolved. If a doctor says take 2 or 3 months off, you take 3 months, they are not saying it for sh1ts and giggles.

RobFowl wrote: »

I agree fully, what I plan on doing is 2 x 2hrz z2/Z3 just to keep me ticking over, for physical and mental benefit. The mental battle of an injury is often as bad as the physical.

I had a follow up yesterday, the doctor is very pleased with progress so far and surgery not needed. He has encouraged me to engage in very gentle Rom stuff for elbow plus gentle rotation in the pendulum position for the shoulder. If the turbo sessions do affect recovery then I will of course stop.

CramCycle wrote: »
    Reported along time ago, and re reported, despite having the BE driver on camera, admitting it, him telling me his cameras also worked, BE saying they had the footage. After a few days, the footage had disappeared, I followed up a few times but as with everything, they won because I was just to busy with life.

Same here, not from cycling but a knee injury in football. Felt fine soon after the operation but eventually the issues reemerged and never fully resolved. If a doctor says take 2 or 3 months off, you take 3 months, they are not saying it for sh1ts and giggles.

3 months off the road was what I was told but given okay for stationary biking.