Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Let's all take Blindboy seriously now...

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,030 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Brian? wrote: »
    The idea that the Rubberbandits are RTÉ darlings is also hilarious. RTÉ were fairly late to pick them up.

They've also lost out on work with RTÉ, or had their work shown at ridiculous hours of the night, because they insist on a lot of creative control of their work. They definitely don't go out of their way to play ball with the national broadcaster. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Brian? wrote: »
    You do realise that he’s primarily a comedian and secondarily a musician?

Thirdly he’s relatively intelligent. So I doubt he’d be on the dole if it wasn’t for his enormously successful musical comedy career.

The idea that the Rubberbandits are RTdarlings is also hilarious. RTwere fairly late to pick them up.

Anyway, my point. You can agree or disagree with the man’s ideas, that’s fair enough. But attacking his right to express these ideas is ridiculous.

When was he last on RTE doing a comedy routine or a song??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Danjamin1

When was he last on RTE doing a comedy routine or a song??

They had a documentary on the Easter Rising a year or two ago.

Actually they had a series of Rubberbandits Guide To.... episodes as well not too long ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

That was the start of 2016 iirc - they did a mini series 'The Rubberbandits Guide to....' and they did 1916, the internet, money....that sort of thing.

I found them good, but BB always gives out that no-one ever saw it on RTE, so no-one is aware they did it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭Shoobs86

I'm from Limerick, and I have to say that yes the accent is exaggerated, but not that much - the majority of salt-of-the-earth Limerick people have and are proud of their accent. It's exaggerated for comedy purposes, much like the Cork accent in The Young Offenders or the Dublin accent in Love/Hate.

As far as being some eejit of the dole; he has a degree in Psychology (and psychotherapy) from UL, so I doubt he would be sitting around doing nothing.

He has highlighted a point that NO "real" person has managed to get into mainstream media - and that is that Limerick is the suicide capital of the country. We do need more help with mental health in Limerick, and if Blindboy Boatclub is going to get it for us then work away.

The bag is there for a specific reason - it's easier for young men to listen to valuable mental health advice when there is a distraction or a depersonalisation of the person giving the advice. This is something taught in Psychology and Psychotherapy courses.

Also, it's pretty funny. :)

Danjamin1 wrote: »
    They had a documentary on the Easter Rising a year or two ago.

Actually they had a series of Rubberbandits Guide To.... episodes as well not too long ago.

And how many times has he been on the LLS spouting his non-comedy, non-musical waffle since, given that "he’s primarily a comedian and secondarily a musician"??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Danjamin1

And how many times has he been on the LLS spouting his non-comedy, non-musical waffle since, given that "he’s primarily a comedian and secondarily a musician"??

I don't know, twice maybe? Then once on the Tommy Tiernan show? I don't follow his every move so I don't really know. You know he released a book that he's been working on for a while though right? He hasn't exactly been sitting idle waiting in RTE to come knocking.

Here's a good question though, how many times have RTE had a healthcare professional on a prime time show talking about mental health and when the did so did people take note and listen to what was said? The only things I recall hearing about mental health on RTE have come from Blindboy, Bressie & a woman who was talking about her family's experience with their mentally unwell brother who was prone to violent outbursts. The State's advice to her was that when this happened they should call the Gardai and there was nothing they could do to help her.

Danjamin1 wrote: »
    I don't know, twice maybe? Then once on the Tommy Tiernan show? I don't follow his every move so I don't really know. You know he released a book that he's been working on for a while though right? He hasn't exactly been sitting idle waiting in RTE to come knocking.

Here's a good question though, how many times have RTE had a healthcare professional on a prime time show talking about mental health and when the did so did people take note and listen to what was said? The only things I recall hearing about mental health on RTE have come from Blindboy, Bressie & a woman who was talking about her family's experience with their mentally unwell brother who was prone to violent outbursts. The State's advice to her was that when this happened they should call the Gardai and there was nothing they could do to help her.

Is his book on mental health??

Its a collection of short stories about all sorts of everything.

Pter wrote: »
    Its a collection of short stories about all sorts of everything.

No would have been more succinct.

Its mental health. Most short stories can be interpreted with that prism in mind. No would have been more succinct, but i dont think the extra 10 words i forced you to read were without merit.

Are you building up towards a point or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,040 ✭✭✭optogirl

No would have been more succinct.

'No' would have been rude and no doubt called out as such.

Its mental health. Most short stories can be interpreted with that prism in mind. No would have been more succinct, but i dont think the extra 10 words i forced you to read were without merit.

Are you building up towards a point or what?

Jesus, you are pulling at more straws than a scarecrow having a peddle.
    optogirl wrote: »
    'No' would have been rude and no doubt called out as such.

It was a yes/no question, how would it have been rude?

Is your shop open today? Yes.
    Is it raining out at the moment? No.
    Is his book on mental health? No.

Jesus, you are pulling at more straws than a scarecrow having a peddle.

It was a yes/no question, how would it have been rude?

Is your shop open today? Yes.
    Is it raining out at the moment? No.
    Is his book on mental health? No.

Great, so the shop is open all day. I can go at any time and dont need any more info.

Its probably only a drizzle and not a hurricane. Ill go out with a light jacket. Grand.

Its not a thesis on mental health, no - but there are a lot of thoughtful stories that will give people pause to reflect on their mental health.

You go off and live in your black and white world; ill just keep on recognising there is lots of grey open to interpretation.

Jaysis your posts are very grumpy.

Great, so the shop is open all day. I can go at any time and dont need any more info.

Its probably only a drizzle and not a hurricane. Ill go out with a light jacket. Grand.

Its not a thesis on mental health, no - but there are a lot of thoughtful stories that will give people pause to reflect on their mental health.

You go off and live in your black and white world; ill just keep on recognising there is lots of grey open to interpretation.

Jaysis your posts are very grumpy.

I never asked if it was a thesis. Is the book on mental health? No. I never asked for your interpretation of the book. It was a simple question. Although not as simple as i thought as you still seem to be struggling with it.

So we have established, loquaciously, about Dave Chambers that, "he’s primarily a comedian and secondarily a musician", also a writer of whimsical short stories who wears a shopping bag on his head.

Why is he being given a stage to spout nonsense about mental health? He was on Tommy Tiernan "to discuss the state of mental health in Ireland." A quote direct from RTE's blurb about the show. What community clinics, secure units, private clinics has he worked in, volunteered in etc. to give him this insight into "mental health in Ireland" and its state???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭GerryDerpy

I never asked if it was a thesis. Is the book on mental health? No. I never asked for your interpretation of the book. It was a simple question. Although not as simple as i thought as you still seem to be struggling with it.

So we have established, loquaciously, about Dave Chambers that, "he’s primarily a comedian and secondarily a musician", also a writer of whimsical short stories who wears a shopping bag on his head.

Why is he being given a stage to spout nonsense about mental health? He was on Tommy Tiernan "to discuss the state of mental health in Ireland." A quote direct from RTE's blurb about the show. What community clinics, secure units, private clinics has he worked in, volunteered in etc. to give him this insight into "mental health in Ireland" and its state???

What makes you say he is spouting nonsense?

You are not a very pleasant poster. That you are getting your information about BB on this thread rather to actually listening to his extended works or reading his work speaks volumes to me.

You can try to insult me in your sly little way for not following the little path you laid out with your 'simple questions', but you are trying to lead the conversation to a point above which shows that you already have your mind made up on the matter, rather than actually openly engage in conversation with me and with others.

I will ask you to read the thread more thoroughly, as it has been established that BB has some expertise in this area, if not to professional standard. He studied psychology in college, has received treatment for a mental health issue, and is certainly read up on the subject to a higher degree than most, imo.

To bash someone trying to use their limited public profile to raise awareness about mental health so that, hopefully, extra funding can eventually be given to the clinical workers and experts you deem are to be the only source of discussion on this topic, is silly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭GerryDerpy

You are not a very pleasant poster. That you are getting your information about BB on this thread rather to actually listening to his extended works or reading his work speaks volumes to me.

You can try to insult me in your sly little way for not following the little path you laid out with your 'simple questions', but you are trying to lead the conversation to a point above which shows that you already have your mind made up on the matter, rather than actually openly engage in conversation with me and with others.

I will ask you to read the thread more thoroughly, as it has been established that BB has some expertise in this area, if not to professional standard. He studied psychology in college, has received treatment for a mental health issue, and is certainly read up on the subject to a higher degree than most, imo.

To bash someone trying to use their limited public profile to raise awareness about mental health so that, hopefully, extra funding can eventually be given to the clinical workers and experts you deem are to be the only source of discussion on this topic, is silly.

Yurt!

I really do despair when I see the word 'yurt'..

GerryDerpy wrote: »
    What makes you say he is spouting nonsense?

The nonsense that he spouts.

I really do despair when I see the word 'yurt'..

How come?

RTE's blurb about the show has no bearing on BB's reasons for being there. He was interviewed & asked his opinion & he gave it. I must say I find his podcast and, dare I say it for fear of being called a blind idiot 'swallowing' nonsense, Russell Brand's podcast, incredibly thought provoking & reasoned. (Only mentioning Brand because he's been used as a comparison by a few of the surprisingly & somewhat unsettlingly angry posters who dislike BB). Neither is claiming to have the answers to life but both podcasts really get me thinking in ways that no TV show has for a long time. I can genuinely say they add to the quality of my week.

I honestly think his talking about feminism was enough for some people to shut down and not actually listen to what he was saying.

How come?

dunno to be honest..
    It's just nonsensical..
    Is it actually a rubber bandits thing?

dunno to be honest..
    It's just nonsensical..
    Is it actually a rubber bandits thing?

I thought it was a limerick thing.

I used to find it annoying too, but i guess ive grown desensitised to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,645 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

The nonsense that he spouts.

Is it jealousy or a begrudgery at work here? I can guarantee he has done more for mental health in Ireland than you have and yet you see a problem with him speaking about it.

I thought it was a limerick thing.

I used to find it annoying too, but i guess ive grown desensitised to it.

Yeah, it's definitely a Limerick thing..
    Can't envision a sequence of events that would end in me becoming desensitized to it..

Yeah, it's definitely a Limerick thing..
    Can't envision a sequence of events that would end in me becoming desensitized to it..

Well he described a drink in one of his podcasts that he called a 'Yurty Aherne' - i quite liked that as a name. I think thats the moment it started bothering me less.

Someones made a parody account of the Otter that he speaks of

https://twitter.com/YurtyAherne

Yeah..that's exactly the kind of blind boy/bandits output that I would consider the opposite of funny..

optogirl wrote: »
    Someones made a parody account of the Otter that he speaks of

https://twitter.com/YurtyAherne

Yeah i saw that; perhaps missing some of the charm BB imbued the Otter with in the pod.