Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Solo (young Han Solo film) *spoilers from post 1493*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

Any idea what time it's due?

It started about an hour ago and is on for about three hours I think so it’ll be in the Last ad break if the follow previous.

It’ll be on the Star Wars YouTube channel immediately so couple of hours I’d say.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

It's utterly bizarre how, in a sport I have neither interest nor even a modicum of respect for, the ad-breaks during its broadcast have become a promotional mecca for every upcoming Blockbuster we might have an interest for.

Reading today that the average American football game has only 11 minutes actual play time.
    It goes on for three hours sometimes. Wtf do they be doing???

Such a boring sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭thegreengoblin

david75 wrote: »
    It started about an hour ago and is on for about three hours I think so it’ll be in the Last ad break if the follow previous.

It’ll be on the Star Wars YouTube channel immediately so couple of hours I’d say.

Looking forward to it. My interest has been seriously piqued by that teaser.

There's no doubt it will feel odd knowing that it's only a few years between this and A New Hope but with different actors. But there are moments when I look at Ehrenreich and I think they may have got this spot on in terms of his likeness to Ford at least. Particularly the cheeky grin...I'm hoping we get a shot of that in the trailer.

Been watching a couple of clips him being interviewed and I could even hear something like that famous Ford drawl. Time will tell.

If its even halfway decent as a story we won’t even notice. We know it’s gonna be visually stunning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,746 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Reading today that the average American football game has only 11 minutes actual play time.
    It goes on for three hours sometimes. Wtf do they be doing???

Such a boring sport.

Dan marino was still playing for the Miami Dolphins the last American football game I watched, so I haven't watched a game in quite a while. But, yeh it's tedious and I'll never understand its draw. It's all yardage and "plays". There's no flow whatsoever. So that 11 minutes sounds about right.

Give me real football any day of the week.

Tony EH wrote: »
    Dan marino was still playing for the Miami Dolphins the last American football game I watched, so I haven't watched a game in quite a while. But, yeh it's tedious and I'll never understand its draw. It's all yardage and "plays". There's no flow whatsoever. So that 11 minutes sounds about right.

Give me real football any day of the week.

You’d imagine rugby would be huge in the states. It’s non stop by comparison and brutally physical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I wanted to see the trailer, just jumped on youtube and had to wade through the "reaction" vids. Holy crap, this sub industry is horrific.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

This looks far better than I expected it to. Pessimism waning slightly!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Pretty much this :)

You're quoting your own Tweets now David? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

Those 2 girls are far too attractive for that to work - TLJ girl would be a 600 pound, bald and hairy, pig ugly 60 year old :o

pixelburp wrote: »
    You're quoting your own Tweets now David? :)

I couldn’t find the pic online to link it :)

‘GMA preview for upcoming #Solo trailer featured several new shots, including Thandie Newton, more Woody, more Lando, and Emilia on the Falcon with Han & Chewie! Trailer Within the hour’

I couldn’t find the pic online to link it :)

Yeah but if you started replying to your own posts / tweets, then perhaps it's time to step back ;)

Didn’t reply to my own post?

IF you start. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Tony EH wrote: »
    But Drum, it's possible (in fact, it's imperative) to divorce pissing and moaning Anakin from Badass Darth, because there's a considerable time difference occuring between 'Revenge of the Sith' and 'Star Wars'. In the same way that McGregor's Kenobi doesn't jar (jar) that badly with Guinness's Kenobi.

But Ehrenreich's Han Solo is appearing in the same decade as Ford's Han Solo. There's just no way that that isn't going to have an impact on how we view the character now, expecially if all the unnecessary explanations that we're going to get in this film are twee and unsatisfying. Solo is going to exit teh screen as Ehrenreich and reenter as Ford all in the space of a few years.

Sure, we can eliminate it from our viewing, but the story goes into canon.

I know what you are saying but I feel it’s the same as how people are reacting differently to the new movies.

I love the originals and the universe but I am not rigid on the parameters to new movies that dabble into them or could effect how I feel about the old Ones. If you are fearful that a movie could ruin your SW Universe then you are already on the path to negativity or some might say the path to the dark side. Remember Fear leads to anger. Anger leads to hate. Hate leads to suffering.

Giant rathtars! Even bigger hair! And woody!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

My first reaction to that is that he's not doing an impression of Solo. And that it's actually a much younger Solo than the OT - maybe 10 - 15 years in the difference. He may not be quite the "scoundrel" he has become by ANH. His voice sounds a bit squeaky. Whether we'll get a few "c'mon Chewie"s is yet to be seen.

Still will require a lot of suspension of disbelief to accept him as Han Solo, but then again, it took me the same amount of disbelief to accept Old Harrison Ford as Han Solo as well.

Defo looks quite Rogue One-esque, which is good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭Falthyron

Bah, its a teaser, not a trailer.

Initial thoughts: I can't see Han. I see a young actor lost between trying to emulate Harrison Ford and at the same time, either through his own inability or choice not to, being himself.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,668 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Ah here. I know Jones is a great actor but bringing her character into this film is bonkers.

Car crash lads, a car crash.

faceman wrote: »
    Ah here. I know Jones is a great actor but bringing her character into this film is bonkers.

Car crash lads, a car crash.

Felicity Jones? She wasn't in the trailer, Emilia Clarke is though; those white brunettes do tend to look all alike ;)

As for the plot: I have a sneaking suspicion the scene with Woody is the end of the film leaving it open to sequels. At that stage he is already with Chewie and they are a partnership. I thought this film was about how Han and Chewie met?

As for the tone: This could be the most kid-targetted Star Wars film yet. The scene at the end of the trailer (presumably during the Kessel Run) felt a bit Scooby Doo and his team escaping danger with the collective gasps.

As for the visuals: Really, really, nice. It definitely has a look about it that suggests very different worlds will be visited. Perhaps a minimalist approach showing very empty worlds with beautiful scenery instead of a CGI-laden background.

Finding it really hard to care about this after the weak outings of Rogue One and TLJ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

I don't think the Kessel Run is going to be "a thing". I reckon it's nothing more than a well-known trade route that the Falcon was just able to do faster than any other ship, and become known for it.

I think that is what brings notoriety to Han. I think Woody's character invites Han to join his team because of what he achieved. I think this will be at the end of the film and sets up a number of heist-type films as sequels.

Ocean's Eleven in space.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,668 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Felicity Jones? She wasn't in the trailer, Emilia Clarke is though; those white brunettes do tend to look all alike ;)

Ahhhhhhhhhhh. :o:D