Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Non-Nationals attacking Taxi drivers in West Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

Pepefrogok wrote: »
    Can anyone show any success stories in regards to European countries accepting mass immigration from largely third world countries?
    Not unless you're counting the days of slavery tbf.

Edit: Which shouldn't be condoned :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,321 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Can anyone show any success stories in regards to European countries accepting mass immigration from largely third world countries?
    Myself and others have repeatedly asked the same question, with no answer forthcoming. Though the usual "answers" tend to be along the lines of; the Irish emigrated everywhere, you're a racist! no extra social problems occur, it's good for diversity.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,649 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Wibbs wrote: »
    Myself and others have repeatedly asked the same question, with no answer forthcoming. Though the usual "answers" tend to be along the lines of; the Irish emigrated everywhere, you're a racist! no extra social problems occur, it's good for diversity.

It has worked to varying degrees in other countries. It’s never been 100% positive or 100% negative. You’re staring into your crystal ball and saying it won’t be any different here. I’m saying it won’t be any different if we intentionally marginalise ethic minorities.

But right now it doesn’t matter if we lock the doors and refuse to accept anymore immigrants. We have thousands of Irish people of black, Asian, Slav, Polish etc. descent. They are Irish people, whether you or anyone wants to argue they’re not, so what do we do about that? Deport them?

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,142 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Brian? wrote: »
    But right now it doesn’t matter if we lock the doors and refuse to accept anymore immigrants. We have thousands of Irish people of black, Asian, Slav, Polish etc. descent. They are Irish people, whether you or anyone wants to argue they’re not, so what do we do about that? Deport them?

Maybe make sure that they adhere to the law of the land like everyone else and that incidents such as groups of them attacking at lusk or attacking taxi men are not brushed under the carpet and denied.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

You mean other than Sweden, France, Germany and Britain? Yeah I think we'll be waiting awhile.

anewme wrote: »
    Maybe make sure that they adhere to the law of the land like everyone else and that incidents such as groups of them attacking at lusk or attacking taxi men are not brushed under the carpet and denied.

I 100% agree we should be doing that, and the Gardai are doing it. Who's brushing it under the table and denying it's happening?

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

It has worked to varying degrees in other countries. It’s never been 100% positive or 100% negative. You’re staring into your crystal ball and saying it won’t be any different here. I’m saying it won’t be any different if we intentionally marginalise ethic minorities.

I can't answer for them but the general impression I get is that people want the brakes to be put on in future,to proceed with caution and a conservative immigration strategy, rather than any kind of mass deportations. Which all sounds perfectly fair to me, personally.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,436 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

MSVforever wrote: »
    These guys are simply total scumbags. If the gardai can't deal with them then it's only a matter of time until people take the law into their own hands.

This appears to be starting already (although a quick search hasn't turned up any other source for this)

The Sun, Jan 16th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Dr Brown

Sweden is now the rape capital of Europe thanks to third world Immigration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Dr Brown wrote: »

That's been disproven multiple times, but I suppose that won't stop ye.
    There is simply no data to show that Sweden is the rape capital of Europe, or even that rape is on the rise in the country.
    https://www.snopes.com/crime-sweden-rape-capital-europe/
    The claim: Many young male migrants arrived in Sweden over the past few years, when the country accepted unprecedented numbers of refugees, and there has been a huge rise in sexual crime in Sweden especially in the southern port city of Malmo.

Reality Check verdict: Malmo, along with other urban centres in Sweden, has one of the highest levels of reported rapes in proportion to population in the EU, mainly due to the strictness of Swedish laws and how rape is recorded in the country.

The rate of reported rapes in Malmo has not dramatically risen in recent years and has in fact declined from its peak in 2010, before the recent large increases in refugees.
    http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-politics-39056786

Is Sweden really a 'rape capital' as repeatedly suggested by sections of the international media? The Local consulted experts to get to the bottom of the matter.
    In short, the answer is no.
    https://www.thelocal.se/20170221/why-sweden-is-not-the-rape-capital-of-the-world

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,321 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

It has worked to varying degrees in other countries. It’s never been 100% positive or 100% negative.
    The positives are nebulous, the negatives obvious.
    You’re staring into your crystal ball and saying it won’t be any different here. I’m saying it won’t be any different if we intentionally marginalise ethic minorities.
    I don't need to look into a crystal ball to predict with near total confidence that it won't be any different here. We will marginalise ethnic minorities and it won't be just "our fault", they will also marginalise themselves. There is not one single example in Europe where this didn't happen. But sure, we'll hold hands and have an oul pray and sure it won't happen here. To be sure. The level of naivete and refusal to look at history, past and recent boggles the mind. Oh I admire the heart behind the wishful thinking, but there appears to be little mind behind it.
    Keep that figure at thousands and severely restrict non EU migrants/migrants without employment. No non EU migrants straight onto social welfare(EU goes both ways as we can move to wherever in the EU and claim that kinda thing).

Clamp down hard and early on any sign of unrest or ethnocentric social issues. Good luck with that as the well above background rate of crime and social issues with our own indigenous ethnic Travelers.

They're a perfect example. You and others would no doubt be quick to point out the wider Irish communities attitude and treatment of Travelers and vice versa, yet you think we'll magically be more "tolerant" of say Irish Africans? We're not as racist as some European cultures, but that isn't because we're any nicer, it's because such folks were historically a tiny minority so weren't seen as a cultural "threat", more a novelty. As numbers climb and ghettoisation grows mark me, those folks will be seen as a threat and an easy to point at one too. Again this has happened in every single European country when demographics reach a certain point.

Better yet maybe talk to some Black folks living in Ireland, particularly in more disadvantaged areas and ask them do they see and hear racism directed at them. I'll bet the farm they do and regular with it. And as you say the numbers are in the thousands.

The plain fact is - and a sad one it is too - humans don't play well with people who are different, whether that be culture or colour or creed. They never have. Where historical examples of multiculturalism have worked at all(Rome, Byzantium, Islamic Europe) the "local" culture was an extremely powerful and controlling one and any dissent from the background culture was crushed mercilessly(and "outsiders" were usually of lower status). In essence and ironically multiculturalism is more likely to work in extremely right wing and militant cultures who are supremely self confident that their way is the right way.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Not sure if it's true but a friend from the area told me earlier he'd heard that a vigilante group has been targeting the gangs recently.

If it's purely a spontaneous and genuine community reaction (purely on the basis of the extreme antisocial behaviour and nothing else), it's hard to criticize it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

Not sure if it's true but a friend from the area told me earlier he'd heard that a vigilante group has been targeting the gangs recently.

If it's purely a spontaneous and genuine community reaction (purely on the basis of the extreme antisocial behaviour and nothing else), it's hard to criticize it.
    It’s needed when the guards won’t do anything and people living elsewhere think it’s exaggerated.

Dr Brown wrote: »

Can I see some data on that? It’s a bold claim.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

Tens of Swords just posted the article. A group fashioning themselves after the Famous Hell's Angels Biker gang went after the gang leaders.

PucaMama wrote: »
    It’s needed when the guards won’t do anything and people living elsewhere think it’s exaggerated.

I wouldn't be surprised if the Local Council Members are telling them to back down as well. Much like Mayors in Balitmore and Berkeley do whenever BLM or Antifa feel the need to destroy something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

Supposedly a huge gang of black teens were escorted back on to a train to Balbriggan from Lusk by Gardaí after causing trouble.

I don’t know if that’s a fact but that’s what I’m hearing locally. There’s video of it that I’m sure will surface eventually.

They were,I seen them getting off the train and they looked like trouble,later I seen them in Lusk village stopped by the gardai

Can I see some data on that? It’s a bold claim.
    I'd agree there B. Those stats are very much open to interpretation as all stats are, but especially those. For a start Sweden is a fairly unique case in how they approach and collect sexual assault stats. From my reading of it, the stats aren't particularly elevated and like the rest of the Western world such figures are in general decline since the 90's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Das Reich

People not learn with other countries mistakes (I am from Brazil and I know very well what makes that country a ****). They need to do the same mistakes, so let's open the doors to mass immigration and multuculturalism and future generations will suffer the same problems. Being a nice small homogenous ethnically and religiously country must be so boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,043 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Story in the journal ie about 2 teenagers in court today over robbing taxi drivers. 14 and 16 year olds. Can’t post link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭wildlifeboy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,142 ✭✭✭✭anewme

It does not anywhere they are non nationals.

This bit stands out though:

His mother initially refused to come to court with her son yesterday/today (WED) and he risked being held in custody. She arrived later and apologised.

She should be read the riot act.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

Keep mass immigration out of this country then we wont have this absolute crap going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,022 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 42 bot44

Mutant z wrote: »
    Keep mass immigration out of this country then we wont have this absolute crap going on.

There have been roving bands of hooligans in Dublin for hundreds of years.

bot44 wrote: »
    There have been roving bands of hooligans in Dublin for hundreds of years.

yes but its no excuse to bring in more is it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭flc37ie6ojwkh8

Guys you should stop the racism, remember how racist/xenophobic were the Americans with us before, do you want to be the same with others?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭wildlifeboy

glad the hells angels are sorting them out because the Garda wont. put some manners on the little pricks

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 42 bot44

Mutant z wrote: »
    yes but its no excuse to bring in more is it.

You said ending mass immigration would end it. It wont.

bot44 wrote: »
    You said ending mass immigration would end it. It wont.

The last thing this country needs is what is happening in Sweden unfortunately thats the road its heading if things arnt reversed asap not to mention the types of race riots there has been in the UK.