Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

F&F Chitchat a hocht, an feirmeoir bocht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,623 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

whelan2 wrote: »
    Isnt it annoying to see the dail on the news and so many empty seats there?

Try protecting it with them wasters there

Whelan ya may do a spring clean of that auld inbox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,827 ✭✭✭visatorro

Isnt it annoying to see the dail on the news and so many empty seats there?

Can’t watch news anymore Feckin depress the head of me. Never mind looking at those shower talking water

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,747 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Reggie. wrote: »
    Whelan ya may do a spring clean of that auld inbox

Very popular this evening I am

All them late birthday wishes and love letters :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,017 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Belfast Bomber.
    Perfect nightcap.

D3847_B5_A_A8_AF_40_C7_AA29_29_E56_B90594_C.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭White Clover

_Brian wrote: »
    Belfast Bomber.
    Perfect nightcap.

D3847_B5_A_A8_AF_40_C7_AA29_29_E56_B90594_C.jpg

What's the mix?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Belfast Bomber.
    Perfect nightcap. ]

Baileys and something? Whiskey?

Brandy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Brandy

I never thought much of brandy but someone got me a bottle at Xmas and a bottle of Port so lately I took to having a brandy & port. Not a bad drink. I could see myself getting used to it :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,316 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

I never thought much of brandy but someone got me a bottle at Xmas and a bottle of Port so lately I took to having a brandy & port. Not a bad drink. I could see myself getting used to it :-)

Did you try Brandy & Baileys?
    Suppose to be nice

Hot port with Brandy. Very soothing. 2:1 port to brandy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

After getting fond of the odd gin lately myself, only drank brandy once about a year ago nearly a full bottle (i was told after) after a few pints mighty night was had, might give it a go again when i return home.

Anyone ever drink a knackers wife before, its a blue WKD and a guinness head on it, ill leave ye figure out how it got its name

Better living everyone

After getting fond of the odd gin lately myself, only drank brandy once about a year ago nearly a full bottle (i was told after) after a few pints mighty night was had, might give it a go again when i return home.

Anyone ever drink a knackers wife before, its a blue WKD and a guinness head on it, ill leave ye figure out how it got its name

Gin is big at the moment
    Gun powder & fever tree elberry is supposed to be massive around this way at the moment

Hot port as in heat in a sauspan?

As in make it like a hot whiskey.

Gin is big at the moment
    Gun powder & fever tree elberry is supposed to be massive around this way at the moment

Either bombay or gordons out here, Hendricks if youre feeling wealthy.
    Theres a gin called berthas revenge, named after the oldest cow in Ireland big bertha from cork apparently its made using skimmed milk i think #teamdairy

Better living everyone

Drank brandy once at a party. I had the worst hangover ever after it. Think the headache lasted 3 days. Wont be drinking it again ever

Doing one of my last milkings this evening and i was taking habdy as there was a bit of a thunderstorm and tbe cows were nervous so i had plenty of time to think.
    I done out the maths there and then, when my grandfather was milking his most at 30 cows hed have to do 300 days of milking twice a day to match what cupping on id do in 40 days (120hrs), allow 45 minutes for 30 cows on a 4 unit parlour that would take him 450hrs throughout the year. Really shows the changes ive even seen in dairy technology in my short time on the earth, altough im not sold on the rotary parlours you have to say they do have great output of cows per hour. Now i can really understand why my wrists are giving me bother and im only a chap.

And this morning i had a brainwave to try a new way of holding the cups and it felt perfect there was no pain in my wrist at all, maybe ye do it this way anyway but i tried holding the pulsator and vacuum pipe instead of the bowl of the cup theres definitly less weight on your wrist doing int that way IMO what do ye think of that method of cups on?

Better living everyone

As in make it like a hot whiskey.
    Might try it at the weekend
    Think there’s brandy at the back of press from a few years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,389 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I was helping a relation with scanning sheep this morning.
    When they work with you it's great.
    When they don't. :rolleyes:
    There's a special breed of people that have sheep!

Some of the roads were closed with trees down from the wind last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,389 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Doing one of my last milkings this evening and i was taking habdy as there was a bit of a thunderstorm and tbe cows were nervous so i had plenty of time to think.
    I done out the maths there and then, when my grandfather was milking his most at 30 cows hed have to do 300 days of milking twice a day to match what cupping on id do in 40 days (120hrs), allow 45 minutes for 30 cows on a 4 unit parlour that would take him 450hrs throughout the year. Really shows the changes ive even seen in dairy technology in my short time on the earth, altough im not sold on the rotary parlours you have to say they do have great output of cows per hour. Now i can really understand why my wrists are giving me bother and im only a chap.

And this morning i had a brainwave to try a new way of holding the cups and it felt perfect there was no pain in my wrist at all, maybe ye do it this way anyway but i tried holding the pulsator and vacuum pipe instead of the bowl of the cup theres definitly less weight on your wrist doing int that way IMO what do ye think of that method of cups on?
    It's slower but I swap the weight bearing hands on every cow. So hold the bowl with your right hand and put on the two left side cups (front and back) with your left hand then swap and hold the bowl with your left hand and put on the two right hand side cups.
    I'd be a terrible slow relief milker and I've only a small number of cows but I've never had pains in my wrists from milking.

Had a visitor to the farm here yesterday. He took his dirty wellies out of the boot of his car and put them on. Wtf. Who does that in this day and age?

Another load

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Parishlad

Just registered for Dublin City Marathon 2018..........aaaggghhhh!!
    I swore after the last one in 2016 that I'd never do it again......but here goes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Another load

You would think you would bring a full load if you were going at all ! Haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Another load

Very good. Is it so much a scoop or do you go over weigh bridge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭White Clover

I was helping a relation with scanning sheep this morning.
    When they work with you it's great.
    When they don't. :rolleyes:
    There's a special breed of people that have sheep!

Some of the roads were closed with trees down from the wind last night.

Have sheep and cattle here. Much prefer working with the sheep. They are way more intelligent than the cattle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,519 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Muckit wrote: »
    Very good. Is it so much a scoop or do you go over weigh bridge?

I see our local contractor drawing it in a silage trailer.....seems to be drawing it for hire, at least a load per day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Bullocks wrote: »
    You would think you would bring a full load if you were going at all ! Haha

12 tonne, and not even a strap on it .....