Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ray D'arcy on RTE Radio 1 **Mod Warning post 1, 1263, 1610**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

Who is the wan being interviewed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

I think she's a Maeve Higgins tribute act.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

He doesnt like crisp sandwichs , and he prefers Gormet crisps, not your common or garden cheese or onion.

Well if you can afford them, why not? Splash the cash Ray.

Is Darcy taking the piss? Presume when your one says she hates 'Galway Girl' and it's a pox, she wasn't referring to the ditty by Sheeran.

My god are you listening to this horsesh1t from Jarlath Regan. Is it gone that bad that even the comedians are this politically correct now. If I was his brother I would give him the f**king kidney back.

'Comedian' Jarlath jumping on a bandwagon :) He doesn't know where the train is headed but he's sure going to get on and try to milk it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,115 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

My god is the guy for real

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

its about the only hilarous thing hes said in his career !

my god the water damage from all this melting snow in the studio must be costing us liscense fee payers a fortune

Still tickets available ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭horseburger

after yesterdays clanger, about how much electricians have the cheek to charge a clever clogs, who could have done it himself, like Fr Ray , today, he further seperates himself from the ordinary people. He doesnt like crisp sandwichs , and he prefers Gormet crisps, not your common or garden cheese or onion . he is truely , a legend in his own lifetime

Perhaps he doesn't like crisp sandwiches because he might find the texture of the crisp, against the texture of the butter on the bread, an unhappy marriage?

Or, if he doesn't use butter, perhaps he finds the soft texture of the bread somewhat unpleasant, against the nice crunchiness of the crisp.

For example, some crisps are crunchier than others. I find the Lidl brand of Snacktastic crisps, a crunchier, firmer crisp, than other brands.

Also, if you were to have a crisp sandwich by utilizing Pringles, if you substitute Pringles with the new Walkers tube version of Pringles - Walkers Stax - you might notice a difference in texture. Walkers Stax, have, in my opinion, a nicer texture.

There is a comparison below, between the Walkers Stax and Pringles.

http://sowrongitsnom.com/pringles-vs-walkers-stax/

https://www.lidl.ie/en/price-drop.htm?articleId=3314

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/consumer/getting-behind-the-aldi-label-1.603978

Here's an interesting item, on the issue of crisp manufacturing:

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/world-news/aldi-crisps-hula-hoops-revelation-10245966

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭newcavanman

Perhaps he doesn't like crisp sandwiches because he might find the texture of the crisp, against the texture of the butter on the bread, an unhappy marriage?

Or, if he doesn't use butter, perhaps he finds the soft texture of the bread somewhat unpleasant, against the nice crunchiness of the crisp.

For example, some crisps are crunchier than others. I find the Lidl brand of Snacktastic crisps, a crunchier, firmer crisp, than other brands.

Also, if you were to have a crisp sandwich by utilizing Pringles, if you substitute Pringles with the new Walkers tube version of Pringles - Walkers Stax - you might notice a difference in texture. Walkers Stax, have, in my opinion, a nicer texture.

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/world-news/aldi-crisps-hula-hoops-revelation-10245966
    are you looking to be booked as a guest on the show ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

I hope someone puts that interview with Jarleth Regan on YouTube.

It deserves to be ridiculed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

I think she's a Maeve Higgins tribute act.

Lisa McInerney.

She has an infectious laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭artvanderlay

And what is your opinion on the taste of D'Arcy's arsehole, seeing as you spend most of your time up there? :D:D:D

I have no idea how it tastes. What's your opinion on it?

are you looking to be booked as a guest on the show ?

To counter your earlier assertion about gourmet crisps not being available in cheese and onion flavouring - you can, indeed, get cheese and onion flavoured gourmet crisps.

https://shop.supervalu.ie/shopping/food-cupboard-multipack-tayto-velvet-crunch-cheese-onion-6pk-20-grams-/p-1408839000

https://www.tesco.ie/groceries/Product/Details/?id=285634925

Also, an item about crisp sandwich construction. The inclusion of Nik Naks in a sandwich is one of the suggested options.

http://blog.britishcornershop.co.uk/2015/01/the-ultimate-guide-to-crisps-sandwiches/

http://www.kpsnacks.com/our-brands

Mod / can you lay off the link dumps, going very off topic now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭jelutong

Any recipes for Crispburgers?

lab man wrote: »
    Who is the wan being interviewed

Jarlath Reagan :)

after yesterdays clanger, about how much electricians have the cheek to charge a clever clogs, who could have done it himself, like Fr Ray , today, he further seperates himself from the ordinary people. He doesnt like crisp sandwichs , and he prefers Gormet crisps, not your common or garden cheese or onion . he is truely , a legend in his own lifetime

Regular crisps are actually nicer

jelutong wrote: »
    Any recipes for Crispburgers?

Not technically a crisp, but a corn snack - Monster Munch

https://jamesvsburger.com/2014/02/09/recipe-monster-munch-burger/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 877 ✭✭✭jk23

I hope someone puts that interview with Jarleth Regan on YouTube.

It deserves to be ridiculed.

I honestly thought it was part of his comedy act! He turned on Ray at one stage saying he was part of the problem. It was the first time I ever texted in to the show just to tell him what I thought of some of the nonsense he was spouting

jk23 wrote: »
    I honestly thought it was part of his comedy act! He turned on Ray at one stage saying he was part of the problem. It was the first time I ever texted in to the show just to tell him what I thought of some of the nonsense he was spouting

Jarlath Regan didn't get confrontational, in the way that you are suggesting, as if he turned on Ray D'Arcy.

They were having a discussion on the issue, neither Jarlath Regan or Ray D'Arcy were trying to be funny during this section of the interview. I thought it was an interesting exchange of observations.

https://www.facebook.com/rteradio1/videos/1616047535119610/

https://www.facebook.com/rteradio1/videos/vb.109225552468490/1616047535119610/?type=2&theater

Here is the Lisa McInerney interview that someone mentioned above.

https://www.facebook.com/rteradio1/videos/vb.109225552468490/1615981775126186/
    citykat wrote: »
    Ray: you're the oldest in your family.
    Guest: no I'm the youngest...

Ray D'Arcy was technically correct, in saying that she was the eldest child, of her mother.

When she said she was the youngest child, she was referring to the household, where she was brought up by her grandparents, where her siblings were her aunts and uncles.

Just in case anybody is wondering about that episode of Friends that Jarlath Regan is talking about - These are the relevant segments of the episode.

Jarlath's take:
    "They got a feminist book in it and they kind of made light of the whole thing and the notion that the girls were now arguing with themselves because they wanted to be feminists. And you were just going 'WOW, that episode would not be made today' .. I think it's wonderful that comedy now has to hold itself to a higher standard. It's a good thing"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 877 ✭✭✭jk23

Just in case anybody is wondering about that episode of Friends that Jarlath Regan is talking about - These are the relevant segments of the episode.

Jarlath's take:
    "They got a feminist book in it and they kind of made light of the whole thing and the notion that the girls were now arguing with themselves because they wanted to be feminists. And you were just going 'WOW, that episode would not be made today' .. I think it's wonderful that comedy now has to hold itself to a higher standard. It's a good thing"

I am rewatching friends on Netflix and it has to be one of the most feminist friendly shows ever made, I like Friends just to add as well

i've just listened back to that interview with Regan. "If you think you are blameless, you are part of the problem" says a rather smug and pious Jarlath Regan. Since when in RTE has it been allowed to tar all members of one community with the one brush. If any such sweeping statement was made about Travellers or migrants, they would have had Colm O'Gorman banging their door down within five minutes of the statement. But it's okay because it's about men. In fairness to D'Arcy, he did tackle him on it, but not strongly enough for my liking.

I hope his populist, band wagon jumping, cynical attention seeking effort gets him all the fame that the stunt deserves. And If anything, he should look back at the episode of Friends again. Not for moral guidance, but for a bit of instruction on how to make a few decent jokes. Because I think a lot of people did laugh at that episode of Friends, and he was the only one to take offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Just listened back after the lads linked to it in the LLS thead ... Jarlath sounds mindwashed, for once Ray sounded like he was on the side of reason.

But that was rotten to leave Eddi Reader with barely 90 seconds to perform and plug her show. Very unprofessional and Eddie dealt with it well, but Ray or his Producer should have arranged their timings far better.

Skid X wrote: »
    Just listened back after the lads linked to it in the LLS thead ... Jarlath sounds mindwashed, for once Ray sounded like he was on the side of reason.

But that was rotten to leave Eddi Reader with barely 90 seconds to perform and plug her show. Very unprofessional and Eddie dealt with it well, but Ray or his Producer should have arranged their timings far better.

Eddi Reader performed live before Jarlath Regan was interviewed and then spoke after Jarlath Regan was interviewed.

Eddi Reader's tour dates were read out by Ray D'Arcy, and are included on the RTE website.

She performed two songs live with Martin Tourish of Altan.

https://rte.ie/r.html?rii=b9_21300219_19148_12-01-2018_

https://www.rte.ie/radio1/ray/#102701585

https://www.facebook.com/rteradio1/videos/vb.109225552468490/1616028778454819/?type=2&theater

https://www.facebook.com/rteradio1/videos/vb.109225552468490/1616047535119610/?type=2&theater

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Fair enough, I only heard the last part.

Still poor to rush her into performing less than a full song.

Skid X wrote: »
    Fair enough, I only heard the last part.

Still poor to rush her into performing less than a full song.

She performed two songs live, with Martin Tourish on accordion

here's the audio:

https://rte.ie/r.html?rii=b9_21300219_19148_12-01-2018_

She performed two songs live, with Martin Tourish on accordion https://rte.ie/r.html?rii=b9_21300219_19148_12-01-2018_

He had no end of time for that wan from Galway blathering on about all sorts of nonsense, and gave Regan enough time to lecture him and all men about their collective past wrongs, but had not time for Eddi Reader. She's a right bit of craic and a great singer, she should have been priority.