Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

F&F Chitchat a hocht, an feirmeoir bocht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

I've been thinking about whether i should post this or not for awhile. But i think i will anyway.

I was in church on Christmas Day and the sermon was about the birth of Christ and the Christmas story.

The sermon went like this..
    In Judea, Jesus was born in a manger in Bethlehem. There were shepherds tending their sheep on the hills. Now shepherds at the time were considered very low in society. (How are they now?). But God sent a message to the shepherds that a saviour Christ the king was born in a stable in Bethlehem. The shepherds didn't know what to do as who would look after the flocks if they went?
    Eventually they decided they'd go for a quick look and get back as quick as they could. In the first stable they looked ..No sign of anything.
    Second stable same thing no sign.
    Third stable the same.
    Now by now the shepherds were getting worried as they were wondering did they get the whole thing wrong. But with each empty stable there was one shepherd who was getting more and more excited.
    They asked him "What the hell is wrong with you? You loon. There's nothing here."
    He replied " That just means we're one step closer to finding the Lord".
    And sure enough in the twelfth stable there was the baby Jesus lying in the manger.

Now in the far east. A group of "wise" men who had studied under the greatest theologians and thinkers at the time and who knew the stars like the back of their hand. Noticed a new star that was moving slightly west each night. They knew this was something special and could only take from it that a new king of men was going to be born sent from God.
    They decided to travel west following the light to where this messiah was born.
    Finally they arrived in Judea. Now Judea was a land ruled by king herod. Herod was a very paranoid king as most kings are and had anyone in his family who was a potential threat to his rule executed.
    Now a particular trait amongst learned or wise men is that they usually lack common sense.
    The wise men decided to go to the court of Herod and ask him where this new messiah king of kings was born as they had been following this star and he was somewhere in his kingdom. Herod replied he had no idea but that when they find him to report back so that he could too give him a gift and worship him.
    The wise men continued on their journey until they got to the spot where Jesus was born in the stable.
    After they gave him gifts they finally copped on what the hell they were after doing. So they went home a different way.
    As they were on their journey home Herod began a massacre of any boys aged 2 years and younger.

There's a thought for the day.
    Merry a few days after Christmas.

I remember reading passages for the Bible at Christmas (Carol) services
    a few:D years ago when I was about 10 or 11 years old. If I hear the same passage now I can almost repeat it word for word.

We will now stand and sing "Away in a Manger"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,636 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

visatorro wrote: »
    If you were drawing bales, would you charge by the bale?
    I think your undercharging, your first hour should be fifty euro anyway. If a job only takes an hour it's not your fault but I don't think 30 is enough to start the tractor for an hour iykwim

It's per hour hauling bales. Don't do much of it atm. It's mostly local aswell when I'm loading the artics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,352 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

I would not worry overly about course choices at the moment. Get the application set up with at least one course on it and application fee paid. Choices can be changed until after the leaving cert. A good idea is at some stage over the next 2-3 months to take him to a good career guidance professional. Check it out there are bound to be some good ones near you. I think they charge 60-100 euro they will have a chat with him, do some IQ tests and recommend some courses that you or he may not consider.

I agree with Carrolls, go and get his qualification he can do the short distance Green cert after, but he will have a qualification and can travel. Depending on what he qualify's at he may down the line be able to work and farm as well. Education broadens the mind. As well Carrolls as well that living away from home is a good idea all mine went to college away from home and it helps them to develop but they must be focused.

I hope you have him on the books and paying him a wage;)

Full agree with decent career guidance, I don’t how this is done nowaday, it was nearly nonexistent when I did the leaving.
    To me this along with leaving cert subjects are the most critical.

As for Carroll’s point, whilst I do agree it may suit here (Whelan seams to be on top of her game), I did the full time education & part-time Agri, which I felt was more tick box than educate.
    A friend did opposite, deferred course by 1 year to do Agri, then did college

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,367 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Any idea what wheat straw is making per bale out of the shed ? A fella rang me looking for a few bales

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,338 ✭✭✭✭Water John

He must have chanced it, knowing you couldn't take them to Australia, with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

davidk1394 wrote: »
    Any idea what wheat straw is making per bale out of the shed ? A fella rang me looking for a few bales

Depends what part of the country your in. Around here in Laois it's 25-30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭White Clover

sea12 wrote: »
    Depends what part of the country your in. Around here in Laois it's 25-30.

Being honest I don't think it's making that kinda dollar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Being honest I don't think it's making that kinda dollar.

It never does when your're the buyer for something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭White Clover

I have my buying done. Bought some barley straw last week, delivered for 22/good 4x4. It's no odds to me what it's making now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Well I was talking to a lad yesterday and he paid that. It was small amount 18 bales. Don't know other than that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,000 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Noticed a bit of a stretch in the evening this evening

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

whelan2 wrote: »
    Yeah, it's nice. Dry and bright for a change. There was a report that Valentia recorded 20 hours total of sunshine last month. We've beaten that already between yesterday and today.

We have solar panels up for heating water and we've had no hot water from it since early October.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,571 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Yeah, it's nice. Dry and bright for a change. There was a report that Valentia recorded 20 hours total of sunshine last month. We've beaten that already between yesterday and today.

We have solar panels up for heating water and we've had no hot water from it since early October.

Are you sure the panels are facing south? ;)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,047 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

whelan2 wrote: »

Earliest sunset was on 13 December so the 'stretch in the evenings' has been happening since then and we've gained about 20 minutes. Latest sunrise is on 29 December or 30 December and we've gained about 2 minutes at that end.

The rate of day-length change will increase from about 2 minutes/day at the moment to about 4 minutes and 10 seconds at the Spring equinox when the rate of increase is at its highest (nearly half an hour in a week). While day-length will continue to increase, the rate will slow down until it's at its slowest at the Summer Solstice (0.02 seconds).

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭L1985

Hey guys-question for ye. I'd to call the vet out today. Another bullock with a sore leg and I'm working tomorrow so I couldn't get him tomorrow. So my question is-it was a fairly easy thing to diagnose. I know he needed an antibiotic and an anti inflametry myself. I could also Inject him myself. So can I just ring the vets (obviously Sunday's are different!) and tell him what I want and collect it or do they have to see the animals before they will prescribe something? Or does it depend on the vet? I never thought of it before but this was an unusually simple issue!

Are you sure the panels are facing south? ;)
    Not quite south, about 3 degrees off:P

November December & January are normally bad for solar as limited sunshine, you may have daylight but clouds block solar

Has ThatsFarming stopped on Snapchat?

November December & January are normally bad for solar as limited sunshine, you may have daylight but clouds block solar
    Yeah, but we can normally knock the cold out of the water. Nothing at all this winter.

I'm sick of cold showers:rolleyes:

Yeah, but we can normally knock the cold out of the water. Nothing at all this winter.

I'm sick of cold showers:rolleyes:

Heard there was a smell off you alright :-p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,501 ✭✭✭Grueller

L1985 wrote: »
    Hey guys-question for ye. I'd to call the vet out today. Another bullock with a sore leg and I'm working tomorrow so I couldn't get him tomorrow. So my question is-it was a fairly easy thing to diagnose. I know he needed an antibiotic and an anti inflametry myself. I could also Inject him myself. So can I just ring the vets (obviously Sunday's are different!) and tell him what I want and collect it or do they have to see the animals before they will prescribe something? Or does it depend on the vet? I never thought of it before but this was an unusually simple issue!

Depends on the vets around here. One of them will say to bring a photo on the phone to let him verify the diagnosis when picking up the prescription.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭The man in red and black

greysides wrote: »
    Earliest sunset was on 13 December so the 'stretch in the evenings' has been happening since then and we've gained about 20 minutes. Latest sunrise is on 29 December or 30 December and we've gained about 2 minutes at that end.

The rate of day-length change will increase from about 2 minutes/day at the moment to about 4 minutes and 10 seconds at the Spring equinox when the rate of increase is at its highest (nearly half an hour in a week). While day-length will continue to increase, the rate will slow down until it's at its slowest at the Summer Solstice (0.02 seconds).

That is some bit of trivia!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Has ThatsFarming stopped on Snapchat?

Think they stopped putting up sh#te, had a good one up the other day of a young lady sheep farming and doing her PHD on clover i think it was

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Think they stopped putting up sh#te, had a good one up the other day of a young lady sheep farming and doing her PHD on clover i think it was

Yer one shares the posts tp every ****ing facebook group im on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

2 options report her to the admins or hide her posts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,367 ✭✭✭davidk1394

She'd give you a headache in your arsé so she would. Often thought of reporting her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

davidk1394 wrote: »
    She'd give you a headache in your arsé so she would. Often thought of reporting her

The amount of sh#t she puts up about lads who live in marts is shocking so it is, its gone beyond a joke at this stage.
    Im all for equality and everything now too but she does put up some scutter about women farmers to be fair.
    ( i have nothing against women farmers either)
    Ye shouldnt be called women farmers either yere just farners like the rest of us

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,161 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Ours would have ran a fair bit in that time, flat panel rather than tube type.
    We find this time of the year though that between the stove and oil in early mornings there isn’t much for the solar to do anyway.

But since beginning of December I’ve seen it running several times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭The man in red and black

That is unreal! Does that count as an animal using tools? Because I think they took use of tools to prove something about the intelligence of great apes. That dog is brilliant!