Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

F&F Chitchat a hocht, an feirmeoir bocht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 785 ✭✭✭CHOPS01

Fair wrecked now, a fella asked me to bring back some cows out of a mountain that were getting near calving with him. 16km walked in 4 hours according to the phone across 1200 acres. Feel like I just climbed Everest.

Thats your pre-season training started so fair play to you !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Anyone hear the vegan lady on the Ciara Kelly show on news talk, my god she was some piece of work, she put farmers, butchers and meat factory workers in the same category as peodo’s, to be fair Ciara was letting her away with it. Their a dangerous group though with a lot of money behind them. Their running a big add campaign as well at the moment.:mad:

she was some **** :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,636 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

she was some **** :mad:

Ain't that the case with most of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,575 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Reggie. wrote: »
    Ain't that the case with most of them

There's just been a soapbox moment given to a former Guardian restaurant critic on News night on BBC 2 about 2018 being the year of vegan and how she feels fantastic and how people are doing the month with no animal derived foods at all and how farmers are worried about their livelihoods at stake.
    She said all of the above in her moment.

Personally she didn't look healthy to me.
    Too fragile looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,162 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Was at the Wildlights in Dublin Zoo tonight.

Was a really amazing event, nice night for it too.

https://ibb.co/bZ7Nmb

bZ7Nmb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Up from.a snooze between milkings now, rarely if ever id do it, but i cant undeestand how the kiwis do them day in day out youd feel like sh#t after it.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

CHOPS01 wrote: »
    Thats your pre-season training started so fair play to you !

Ah jeez the thought of it starting again, running around a mucky field with 6 inches of grass in the dark in a shower of hailstone. Shuddering at the thought, I'd face the hill any day before it.

There's just been a soapbox moment given to a former Guardian restaurant critic on News night on BBC 2 about 2018 being the year of vegan and how she feels fantastic and how people are doing the month with no animal derived foods at all and how farmers are worried about their livelihoods at stake.
    She said all of the above in her moment.

Personally she didn't look healthy to me.
    Too fragile looking.

We shouldn’t be too worried about this stuff. The only people who pay any attention are those already thinking along them lines, and of that group only a small hardline group stick with it - and we weren’t going to be selling much to them anyway.

I’ve said before this **** goes in cycles, I’m my short life this is the third time veg/vegan seems to have become sexy and I expect it will pass too.

Meat is delicious and people know damn well it is and good for them too. Let them try their lentils, they’ll be back for a steak soon enough - then they’re ours forever !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

_Brian wrote: »
    We shouldn’t be too worried about this stuff. The only people who pay any attention are those already thinking along them lines, and of that group only a small hardline group stick with it - and we weren’t going to be selling much to them anyway.

I’ve said before this **** goes in cycles, I’m my short life this is the third time veg/vegan seems to have become sexy and I expect it will pass too.

Meat is delicious and people know damn well it is and good for them too. Let them try their lentils, they’ll be back for a steak soon enough - then they’re ours forever !

I'd say from a vegans point of view the easiest part of it is not eating meat.
    I'd think it's avoiding everything else is the hard bit!

Officially started my notice period yesterday, 2 weeks. I just checked the roster and im off it altogether now i was due to have next weekend off as it was but the rosters changed from 9/3 to 6/3 as of today, anybody know how to approach this situation? Surely if we said we were continuing business as usual up until i finished id be getting my 3 days next weekend, wouldnt mind only a few of me mates are off that weekend too!!

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,437 ✭✭✭naughto

Officially started my notice period yesterday, 2 weeks. I just checked the roster and im off it altogether now i was due to have next weekend off as it was but the rosters changed from 9/3 to 6/3 as of today, anybody know how to approach this situation? Surely if we said we were continuing business as usual up until i finished id be getting my 3 days next weekend, wouldnt mind only a few of me mates are off that weekend too!!

Are u annoyed that you have to work less notice or am I reading it wrong.(on nights so I could be well off the mark)
    Any time I’ve worked noticed I never gave a flying f1uck still did my work mind.

naughto wrote: »
    Are u annoyed that you have to work less notice or am I reading it wrong.(on nights so I could be well off the mark)
    Any time I’ve worked noticed I never gave a flying f1uck still did my work mind.

Relieved in a way its just the short notice, annoyed that ill be working 14 days on no day off when i was rostered 3 off without being told about it whatsoever.

Better living everyone

Relieved in a way its just the short notice, annoyed that ill be working 14 days on no day off when i was rostered 3 off without being told about it whatsoever.

Has the roster ever been changed in the past to have you working 14 consequential days??
    If so they may try to argue this is business as normal.
    If not you should have a cast to approach someone saying this has never happened before and so couldn’t be business as normal.
    Has the roster change affected anyone else the same? Or are you being singled out ?

Ultimately it may come down to how much you want to leave on good terms and want a reference, if these matter you may just have to dig in and do it.

Has the roster ever been changed in the past to have you working 14 consequential days??
    If so they may try to argue this is business as normal.
    If not you should have a cast to approach someone saying this has never happened before and so couldn’t be business as normal.
    Has the roster change affected anyone else the same? Or are you being singled out ?

Ultimately it may come down to how much you want to leave on good terms and want a reference, if these matter you may just have to dig in and do it.

Never to work 14 days straight yes to only taking one day off before to accomadate a gaa match. Nobody else is working 14 days straight or ever has since i came, everyone else is rostered 6 on 3 off.

Better living everyone

Never to work 14 days straight yes to only taking one day off before to accomadate a gaa match. Nobody else is working 14 days straight or ever has since i came, everyone else is rostered 6 on 3 off.

Hes Hardly sticking the boot in now

There you go.
    If your inclined you could use this.

Now, like I said before it depends on how much you want to make a fight of this with two weeks to go, it’s awfully mean of him to do something so petty.
    I would always urge people to think about their reference - will you get a good one now, and how likely is this to change if you challenge over the new roster??

Lastly, what’s the chance this was an error ?

There you go.
    If your inclined you could use this.

Now, like I said before it depends on how much you want to make a fight of this with two weeks to go, it’s awfully mean of him to do something so petty.
    I would always urge people to think about their reference - will you get a good one now, and how likely is this to change if you challenge over the new roster??

Lastly, what’s the chance this was an error ?

Who's to say the reference will be good now. Unfortunately outside it being an error the boss man must be in a huff.

It is the boss man who makes out the roster?

Who's to say the reference will be good now. Unfortunately outside it being an error the boss man must be in a huff.

It is the boss man who makes out the roster?

Yea, boss could just be throwing toys outta the pram

Hate that rubbish

Yea
    If the guy is moving on then it’s a done deal and there’s o point in making the notice period a dose for everyone. It also shows remaining employees where they likely would stand too.
    Now, I will admit to giving a guy a bad reference, at that stage he’d jumped the gun and handed in his notice, and by handed in I mean threw a letter in my face, turned out his new job offer was conditional on references and it ended badly.

Yea
    If the guy is moving on then it’s a done deal and there’s o point in making the notice period a dose for everyone. It also shows remaining employees where they likely would stand too.
    Now, I will admit to giving a guy a bad reference, at that stage he’d jumped the gun and handed in his notice, and by handed in I mean threw a letter in my face, turned out his new job offer was conditional on references and it ended badly.

Well I hate when lads get in a huff because lads are leaving. I can understand that it might not be what the boss wants but people move on.
    If the boss thought that carroll wanted to leave over the "other" employee then why didn't he get rid of the bad egg sooner.

Well I hate when lads get in a huff because lads are leaving. I can understand that it might not be what the boss wants but people move on.
    If the boss thought that carroll wanted to leave over the "other" employee then why didn't he get rid of the bad egg sooner.

Lots of lads don’t really want to manage at all and let things go too far without dealing with situations, it never ends well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,437 ✭✭✭naughto

If you have another job lined up and don’t need the reference to get it.
    I wouldn’t show up fu1ck the cu1nt for being a d1ck.
    Go talk to him and ask why your in 14 days straight he will give you some bu1****e no doubt. Can you manage with out the notice money if you can enjoy a little break before the new job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,501 ✭✭✭Grueller

Slurry season opens here next weekend. My fung storage is full, can I store some of it in the corner of a field after the 12th?

Just back from my first quick run since the dose. Wasn't a pretty sight...... not one bit

Doesnt make the roster himself, asks the 2ic get the 2ic to make it up, the first day i provisionally handed in the notice he was praising me to the last just to keep me when we sat down about it a week later and said i hadnt changed my mind, he said i mustn't be cut out for it etc which did piss me off a bit to be fair had the manners not to tell him in reality if i wanted to get my own herd of cows going id need capital, health and my hands to do it and if i hang around here ill have none of those left.

Better living everyone

In relation to the new work and jobs, im expecting a call tomorrow from a recruiting agent (through a contact from gaa) and i also got a message from an irish lad last night with a civil construction company last night saying to ring closer to the time of moving as i had it down as starting February at the earliest. In regards accomadation i have a friend in my current area who said i can stay at his no problem at all till im on my feet.

Better living everyone

Doesnt make the roster himself, asks the 2ic get the 2ic to make it up, the first day i provisionally handed in the notice he was praising me to the last just to keep me when we sat down about it a week later and said i hadnt changed my mind, he said i mustn't be cut out for it etc which did piss me off a bit to be fair had the manners not to tell him in reality if i wanted to get my own herd of cows going id need capital, health and my hands to do it and if i hang around here ill have none of those left.

Sounds like he was sweet only when it suited him tbh. Poor reflection on the man

Hed have a name for being a good employer, one of the lads said fairly loudly in the pub about how id be stsrting in the new place by such a date, saw a few ears prick up around us looking for gossip all the same. Was also told not to be getting worked up during my notice period ring him with any problems etc thats what hes there for his farm his money, its 4 o clock on a sunday morning i rang him about half an hour ago in regards a downer cow not one light on in his house as i passed must only do call outs 9-5 monday to friday so.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,746 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Hed have a name for being a good employer, one of the lads said fairly loudly in the pub about how id be stsrting in the new place by such a date, saw a few ears prick up around us looking for gossip all the same. Was also told not to be getting worked up during my notice period ring him with any problems etc thats what hes there for his farm his money, its 4 o clock on a sunday morning i rang him about half an hour ago in regards a downer cow not one light on in his house as i passed must only do call outs 9-5 monday to friday so.
    If I was you I would back up the phone call with a text just letting him know that a cow is down. It's called covering your ass :)