Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The slow death of forums *see OP for Admin warning and update 28/02/18*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Vronsky

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

I can't stand chat threads. I rarely look in them and never post in them. They are boring and cliquey tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Conspectus wrote: »
    While yere here bitching about that I have loads of pm's from people giving out about the chat in there. Not every point in there needs to be debated to death like it normally is.

Bltching? Unnecessary, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,693 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

While yere here bitching about that I have loads of pm's from people giving out about the chat in there. Not every point in there needs to be debated to death like it normally is.

considering that there are 3 stinge posts in the last while that are not stingy or are more of a grey area of stinge.
    how about some kind of way to point out that the post isn't stingy.

if there is a stingy chat thread opened would that be ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I wouldn’t even mind the discussion in the stinge thread so much, it’s the chat in the others that should be stamped out. Look at the TA threads etc., they’re chat threads where people post a TA as an afterthought, in most cases. No reason why the chat can’t be taken to FB or PM.

While yere here bitching about that

They're not gonna like that one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,126 ✭✭✭job seeker

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    I wouldn’t even mind the discussion in the stinge thread so much, it’s the chat in the others that should be stamped out. Look at the TA threads etc., they’re chat threads where people post a TA as an afterthought, in most cases. No reason why the chat can’t be taken to FB or PM.

Agree,

I think that the only thread that suits no chat is certain picture threads. In that case, I wouldn't consider chit chat necessary!

EDIT: Read this wrong, I go into the trivial things thread very rarely, so I can't comment. Although, I think the stinge thread needs discussion.

I think it becomes extremely doom and gloom without a bit of discussion and removes the fun from it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Vronsky

I can't be the only one wondering, TA?

Vronsky wrote: »
    I can't be the only one wondering, TA?

Trivial Annoyance, trivial things that annoy you thread.

You’ll see chatty/flirty/rubbish replies first, and then a oh yeah TA is I am cold or some crap like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,126 ✭✭✭job seeker

Don't you mean discussing?;)

You just clearly stated in the stinge thread that chat in the thread would result in a ban! :confused::confused: So where do you expect members to discuss it? The farming and forestry forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Ok well can you explain then, what specifically are they giving out about? Like, who comes to a discussion forum on the internet and expects people not to be discussing what's been posted? It's fairly bizarre - I don't think I've ever come across a rule like that on any other forum, ever, and particularly not for discussions happening inside a thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Why shouldn't it be open, though? Like if someone posts something that pisses them off and others agree, isn't that kind of the whole point of a forum - to have an open conversation about it?

I’m not talking about discussion, I’m talking about chit-chat circlejerk crap. Currently a lot of these threads are being used for pure chat and a TA etc is an afterthought.

Example from the TA thread:
    Don't grow unnecessary fringes!

From the where are you right now thread
    Can I come too?

Yeah, how is that discussion. It’s cringe.

You're right. It's comments like that that are bringing Boards to its knees :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,500 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Unnecessary fringe growing.

Is that not the very definition of a trivial annoyance?

GreeBo wrote: »
    Is that not the very definition of a trivial annoyance?

No, it was a response to another poster. The poster who posted that comment didn’t have a trivial annoyance, it was chitchat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 PanBrian

Far too many people banned over the years and many took their fans with them. Again, FB, Twitter, Instagram, Discord servers etc have allowed people better expression.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

PanBrian wrote: »
    Far too many people banned over the years and many took their fans with them. Again, FB, Twitter, Instagram, Discord servers etc have allowed people better expression.

Fans? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,019 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

I’m not talking about discussion, I’m talking about chit-chat circlejerk crap. Currently a lot of these threads are being used for pure chat and a TA etc is an afterthought.

From the where are you right now thread

Yeah, how is that discussion. It’s cringe.

For you it is cringe. Also please give examples on these threads of circle jerking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,771 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I know dat, I know dat (insider reference). They all hate Joe Duffy but insist on listening to Liveline ever day and writing pages about how bad he is. I was invited not to post there any more for not toeing the party line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,774 ✭✭✭✭josip

I've been reading this thread for 75 pages and this is the stand out post so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

The stinge thread has got out of hand in the past where there's really prolonged squabbling over some post. Inevitably a poster says "would ye STFU" maybe a mod says "yes, STFU", and it goes back to grand. Some of the best posts in that thread have been from people quoting and adding some colourful description, colloquialism or whatever, they're not directly contributing a stinge, that's just gone now is it? Or where's the line? I seriously thought that banning list was a joke. Like a funny haha one. But apparently it's the bad kind.

As for the chat on the trivial annoyances thread, honestly why are ye reading it if ye find it so annoying and cringey?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

I'd imagine you'd probably find similar statistics on any thread?

Sure you'd know all about that, Perma :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

What really annoys me about this forum now is the constant right wing Vs. left wing.
    A thread can be posted which was just clearly created to bait people into an argument (just look at the non-national taxi attack thread opened today) and it’ll be kept on the front page by BOTH sides of the argument. Left wingers constantly asking for links for information and right wingers complaining about SJW’s.

It’s just so boring and it feels like it’s EVERY thread. Have a bit of cop on and realise that you’re spreading the racism or the loony leftism every time you post in a thread that’s obviously bait. Ignore what you don’t like and it’ll fizzle out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

Thank you! I've thought of starting threads a few times and then though "Nah". Why? Well, it takes time and effort to construct a decent OP and if it gets posted and then pushed down the page by chat threads being posted in and refreshed, it won't get a chance to gain traction before it disappears without trace. Now of course, sometimes a thread isn't of interest and just doesn't gain posts for that reason. But as things stand currently, I believe that interesting threads could go unnoticed because of this. If there were a greater ratio of "fresh" threads, I absolutely would visit AH more often and I don't consider myself an unique snowflake. I'm sure others feel the same as I do. I am totally fed up of seeing so many of the same titles on the front page the whole time. And do the chat threads even attract a large number of readers and posters? There's a high volume of posts but is there a high volume of posters?

Can't we at least trial having less chat threads before people poo poo the notion? Maybe I'm wrong. Maybe the forum will die a death if some of the chat threads are consolidated. But I think I'm making some sense and it would be nice to see if I am. Especially as I have an inkling that the chat threads are no great shakes at bringing in a large number of posters.

For example, the beautiful women and beautiful men threads. I have no issues with them per se but at the same time, they're kinda pointless. We all have access to google images after all. They're pretty people. Big deal.

Trialing having less chat threads will only be fair if we trial having less serious threads.
    I say this because why should one group of posters lose out on something they enjoy?
    Surely a better compromise is possible.

Jesus this thread turned into the 'order your own personal boards.ie' didn't it

Thanks to the mods who hung around to fight their corner long enough for the discussion to die down from initial frustration and turn out to be interesting and illuminating from both sides.