Why are Nurses so highly praised?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Mr_Muffin

Thank you all for the replies and sharing your experiences with nurses in general.

I think It is apparent now that I just haven't experienced their care first hand for a prolonged period etc. to fully get a view of how hard they work and what they do on a daily basis - but reading your replies makes it clear that they deserve the praise they receive.

I have received my answer, again thank you all for taking the time to reply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,498 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

fando wrote: »
    Everyone knows that nurses and Gardai enter their vocation for the love for humanity and nothing else. They are practically saints.

Nope, I do it for the money.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,851 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Mr_Muffin wrote: »
    1. Why guess? http://www.irishexaminer.com/viewpoints/analysis/a-day-in-the-life-of-a-nurse-in-the-hospital-front-line-371291.html.

2. Going by the sheer number of different jobs available in society these days (hundreds/thousands maybe?) I think it is safe to say that there are probably quite a few jobs out there that are tougher.

You're speculating. Fair enough. Couch it in those terms.

I saw enough of what nurses do when my mother went in to have her jaundice assessed, to when she was told she had 3 months to love, when she went through chemotherapy and whT palliative care nurses do; when my daughter was in Crumlin; when my Dad was in for an operation.

Even jusr basic things like when one poor old sod shít all over the bed and while the rest of the ward was gagging, the nurses cleaned him and the bed up with an exceptionally pleasant demeanour. I think he died overnight after all.

But then one day I had paper jam after paper jam with a printer so six of one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭pitifulgod

They work insane hours, can face tonnes of crap from patients, get paid pretty poorly for what they are doing and the majority smile through it all.

In the last few years, I've spent about two months in Irish hospitals. I became incredibly depressed at times during the experience. The nurses were absolutely sound to me throughout. One day I remember breaking down crying as I was frightened that I'd end up having surgery done which would have meant that I would lose an organ. Nurse picked up that I was upset and took time out just to talk to me. Not the only nurse who was incredibly kind to me. Now consider facing and handling such scenarios multiple times a week.

Ignoring the ****ty hours and pay, they face an incredible amount of psychological stress and require plenty of empathy to do so. So yep, they're incredibly underrated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

I thought being a mother was the toughest job the world?

Bending over to put DVDS in the DVD player, you could put out your back for life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Thought this thread was from someone who was disappointed after getting lucky in Coppers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭robyntmorton

TMC, without quoting your whole post, I see your point. The working conditions dumped on the front line staff in the HSE are diabolical, and changes absolutely must be made.

That the staff do so much with so little, and the sh!t they have o go through is worthy of praise though.

Martina, you're right too. One of the nicest people I ever met was a HCA. She was always there with a joke, or a sarcastic comment to make me laugh, which after 4 weeks on a ward is really needed. There are so many unsung heroes behind the scenes too that keep the system going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

On my time in hospital, Most Nurses seem to annoyed when you asked for assistance or medication.

All the patients in the ward complained, worst offenders were Irish Nurses on placement from DCU

Most of the work was done by Nurses Aides or Health workers.

I dread the day I ever have to go to hospital again.

Way overrated in my opinion

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭fando

Any love for toolmakers? I make tools for surgeons to cut you with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,353 ✭✭✭limnam

Nurses are held in such high regard in Ireland and are consistently being praised, especially by the media.

The starting salary does seem quite low but like any job, it increases over time to what is a decent wage. Not to mention the pension.

I have no doubt that it can be tough work but aren't most jobs these days - am I missing something? Please explain.

Anyone who can insert a suppository with grace and finesse while discussing the latest happenings in fair city should be highly praised IMHO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭ainy

Mr_Muffin wrote:
    I've never worked as a Nurse so I do not know what a tough day for a Nurse entails thus I cannot make that comparison.

Disclaimer: I'm an oncology nurse.

A tough day for me could entail, having my allocated patients along with 2-3 more with being short staffed. These patients could incude one who is seriously unwell with infection, needing very frequent monitoring, antibiotics, blood draws, blood transfusions, trying to prevent the need for a transfer to icu

Another who could be end stage and is actively dying, needing lots of medications and care and family members needing questions answered/ support/help to grieve.
    Another patient starting a new treatment and requires education about it, new iv line, and then the treatment itself.
    From the other patients you could have some going for procedures that they need to be gotten ready for, others you are trying to organise to get discharged home with all required supports in place, which can involve numerous phone calls and faxes.
    Then you have patients ringing from home looking for advice on what they should do etc. You have all the other disciplines reporting to you with new orders for each patient.
    All this while trying to do the routine things like blood pressures and tablets and making beds and ordering supplies, following up with doctors to clarify what they want. All the while trying to ensure all the patients in my care are comfortable, have had time to talk and be listened to and understand fully what is happening.

That would be a day where things go the way we expect, other days patients condition could change from one hour to the next requiring a lot more input that was anticipated at the start of the day so you have to adjust your plan to try to incorporate everything that is now required!

I'm biased but I would say it is a tough job and nurses warrant the praise we get. I wouldn't change it for the world though, I love my job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭S. Goodspeed

As is the case for all public sector / union run careers there are some amazingly selfless and caring nurses and some amazingly lazy, unhelpful, unfriendly (to patients, doctors and new nurses) weapons.

Nurses are supposed to be taking on new responsibilities under the last pay deal, carrying out tasks previously limited to doctors. Some nurses are loving these new tasks while others refuse to undertake them.

Unfortunately all nurses get treated the same in terms of pay, promotions, job security etc. That’s the beauty of having a union...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,498 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

I dread the day I ever have to go to hospital again.

Way overrated in my opinion

Yeah, definitely over-rated, I'd avoid it unless you're ill.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,699 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

fando wrote:
    Everyone knows that nurses and Gardai enter their vocation for the love for humanity and nothing else. They are practically saints.

Don't know if I'd agree 100% with respect to Gardai but I absolutely believe nurses are fundamentally focused on helping others.

In a lot of jobs, you can tolerate being in bad form or having a bad day by sulking to yourself or letting off some steam or taking some quiet time but as a nurse every interaction is as important as the one previous.

This coupled with the very long hours, the physical nature of the job, the fact that the patients and their families are often stressed and dealing with traumatic news and events means that the behaviour shown to them has the capacity to make things much better it worse which is a big responsibility.

I've seen cases, where junior Dr's used them as a sounding board for treatment which showed the respect they had for the nurses opinion on medical matters.

There are some nurses better than others (and therefore you could say some are worse) but the majority of them are incredibly compassionate in what can be very trying circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Hmmm. Haven't witnessed many examples of this personally. I'm sure some are, but most I've encountered seem quite cold and uncaring. A lot to do with the HSE I'm sure, but with both my parents passing after long stints in a hospital I've unfortunately too many negative experiences for my liking.

My experience too, with my elderly mother, who has pleaded with me now and I have agreed to avoid our only hospital if at all possible in future to the point where we literally will die at home before returning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Oncology nurses don't get enough praise or recognition, imo. They are the ones administering your life saving drug, taking your blood, and will often know more about patient medical history than any consultant, registrar or oncologist ever will.

They are with the patient for the duration of their treatment, see to their needs and provide additional care and support, but it's often the "higher ups" who get the recognition where any progress is concerned. It's a tough job, and they are often given the shlt to shovel and have to deal with bad attitudes when they are only doing their best to save your life. They get to know the patient on a more personal basis whereas to many an oncologist you are only a number on a page and just another file on a trolley of paperwork.
    Not to discredit the amazing work oncologists do at all, but it can't be ignored that the lives of a lot of people are made a lot easier by the good natured work a lot of nurses do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,699 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

splinter65 wrote:
    My experience too, with my elderly mother, who has pleaded with me now and I have agreed to avoid our only hospital if at all possible in future to the point where we literally will die at home before returning.

That is sad to hear. I would write to the hospital and tell them of your experience if I were you.

I nearly lost my father last year but thankfully he pulled through after treatment in a public hospital.

My mother was so thankful for the care and respect he was shown continually, she left a card and gift at the nurses station when he was being discharged.

Galway University Hospital, fwiw.

Very Irish slightly unpleasant resentment and cynicism about nurses and Gardai never said out loud unless they are drunk generally accompanied by a chip on the shoulder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,908 ✭✭✭✭Tauriel

ainy wrote: »
    Disclaimer: I'm an oncology nurse.

Can I just say, as someone who watched their mother battle cancer for over a decade, thank you for the job you and your colleagues do.

Calling ye saints or angels doesn't come close to describing the impact that ye have on families during the worst times of their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Andrew Beef

I was an ignorant fecker. I thought that nurses made the beds and served the food.

Then I went out with a nurse and fell ill (the two weren’t related!).

Nurses are the people who make hospitals work. They are highly qualified and ridiculously underpaid.

If I was a nurse, I think I’d prefer to be appropriately remunerated rather than patronised with the “it’s a vocation” and “sure aren’t they great” stuff.

But make no mistake, these are special people.

There is something seriously wrong with a world where the people who actually look after us and our loved ones when we’re sick (i.e. nurses) and the people who look after our young children (i.e. primary school teachers) get paid X, whilst some of us get paid multiples of X, often to do makey uppy things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭Tilikum17

I had numerous illness throughout my 20’s. I spent a fair bit of time in a few hospitals back then.

Take my word for it, nurses are unbelievable. They have to put up with so much ****.

They are angels.

I’ll tell you a little story. One of the times I was ill, I had to go up to Dublin to see a surgeon. I spent my first few hours on the ground floor, where I met this particular nurse. She kept coming over to me to check on, make sure I ok as I was there on my own.
    Anyway, they thought I had the MRSA bug (whatever it’s called) because my infection was so bad. They moved me up to another floor where there was only two other patients who both had the bug.

That nurse came up to visit me everyday when her shift ended. She sat with me for an hour so I wouldn’t be lonely.

I will never ever forget that lady or the other women that did so much for me back then.

They are amazing women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭TommyKnocker

Nurses are held in such high regard in Ireland and are consistently being praised, especially by the media.

The starting salary does seem quite low but like any job, it increases over time to what is a decent wage. Not to mention the pension.

I have no doubt that it can be tough work but aren't most jobs these days - am I missing something? Please explain.

I'll just leave this here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

That is sad to hear. I would write to the hospital and tell them of your experience if I were you.

I nearly lost my father last year but thankfully he pulled through after treatment in a public hospital.

My mother was so thankful for the care and respect he was shown continually, she left a card and gift at the nurses station when he was being discharged.

Galway University Hospital, fwiw.

I wrote the first time and it wasn’t even a complaining letter to be fair.
    I tried to convey that I understood the effects of the over crowding and the trolleys, but sitting for long periods at my mothers bedside listening to other patients calling pitiably over and over for the nurse when the crowded nurses station was in my eyeline left me scared.
    She received no personal care, no comforting words, no one asked her how she was.
    I must say here that she was a nurse herself and we were reared on stories of how hard nursing is so we would have had a real respect and admiration of nurses.
    I also know that there are many excellent nurses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,375 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Help me understand, please. That's why I started this thread.

Maybe if you are asking this question then you can't be helped ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭aristotle25

Nurses are amazing, in my experiences they are so caring, professional, smart and give you the best care.

The nurses involved with the births of my two kids and also went one of them spent a few nights in hospital were unbelievable. They are on the ball and you just know you are gettign the best you can.

I’ve seen them work with people in life or death situations and I honestly don’t know how they do it. Many people owe their lives to them and I know a few of those people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sue Pa Key Pa

I've been in the face of many, many nurses over the years. Without going in to detail, suffice to say I will always be eternally grateful to each and every one of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Debtocracy

There is an illusion that Gardai and Nurses are the working poor but they are very much middle class. Most of the younger nurses I know do lots of agency work and overtime, bringing their salaries to well beyond the average for their age. The more experienced nurses tend to move into 9-5 managerial roles. So the majority of nurse's wages could be in the region of 40-70k, above the average industrial wage and often higher than other health professionals like Occupational Therapists, Physiotherapists, Psychologists etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭MarcusP12

Dunno why this should even be under discussion but it's the usual click bait type threads you get in after hours involving some professions. They absolutely deserve every bit of praise and credit which they receive but don't look for.

Thankfully I've never had to observe nurses in action except for when the kids were born and I have nothing but the highest regard for them based on that alone. Compared to a lot of overpaid workers out there, they deserve every cent they get and more.

Cannot understand how anyone can assume that there are tougher jobs out there. How are you describing tough? An overly demanding client who feels justified in making unreasonable demands because of the extortionate fees they are charged which goes towards your substantial wages, for example? I would guess that a tough day for a nurse, or anyone else in the medical profession, can involve caring for someone who has died. That's tough and very hard not to bring home with you....unlike say, a bad day with a client.

I always ask myself before I judge another person's job negatively, "could I do their job for what they are paid?" For nurses, the answer is definitely no and probably more like that you couldn't pay me enough to go through what they go through in a typical working week so I wouldn't begrudge them any bit of praise they get. Their job matters a hell of a lot more than my job and a lot of others. It's literally life and death they deal with and not a lot can say that.

Just my take on it.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

Like all jobs, you'll find good and bad.
    The good are just that - good. The bad should be fired. But who does that in our health service:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭Jobs OXO

They are the biz when you get one in coppers up for a bit of sexy fun. Even better if they bring you home and they put the uniform on !