Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Never Say Never Again

john deegan had gone of screen for about 3 years a few years ago and was replaced by a garda mcguire

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

happyday wrote: »
    Who is ready break? Renee?

Yes Renee, I came up with it, Reeney break, stupid name I know.

Sure you’d get that for a tenner in Aldi, I wonder if Spar is happy about that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭braxen5

I thought it was hilarious how mondo was happy and congratulating Kerrianne when Decco announced she was pregnant, it didn’t even dawn on him at all that he could be the father until he’s daughter said it to him.[/QUOTE]T

Mondo must have a very low IQ. The expression on his face when Juliet told him the obvious. Like thick Dougal in Fr. Ted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭EIREDriver

I thought I missed an episode after watching the Christmas day hour. Caoimhe said Damo could have Saoirse on Christmas morning. Then Christmas morning comes and Damo hasn't got her... Starts shouting at Tommy in Spar. Literally makes no sense.

Very disappointed overall actually. Pete's injury after the break in was very anticlimactic. Thought they were going to go down the path of gardai investigating and wondering why the burglar stole nothing from the flat. Actually Pete and Doug didnt even ask that question. If I was broken into at Christmas time and attacked I'd be wondering what pressies my burglar had taken.
    Damo storyline made no sense because of the lack of continuity. And why is Tommy all of a sudden so against him?
    Bishops house was just cringey. Why would Ray be at the house? No connection at all really. Was funny when Mondo was delighted that Kerri Ann was preggers, then only copped on it could be his when Juliet asked him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

The whole thing was a pile of ****e, so it was actually great.

That Damo is some plonker. The courts as regards family law access cases are not bias towards the mother as they use to be and they certainly would have given him half day access each of the 3 days of the festive period.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

EIREDriver wrote: »
    I thought I missed an episode after watching the Christmas day hour. Caoimhe said Damo could have Saoirse on Christmas morning. Then Christmas morning comes and Damo hasn't got her... Starts shouting at Tommy in Spar. Literally makes no sense.

Very disappointed overall actually. Pete's injury after the break in was very anticlimactic. Thought they were going to go down the path of gardai investigating and wondering why the burglar stole nothing from the flat. Actually Pete and Doug didnt even ask that question. If I was broken into at Christmas time and attacked I'd be wondering what pressies my burglar had taken.
    Damo storyline made no sense because of the lack of continuity. And why is Tommy all of a sudden so against him?
    Bishops house was just cringey. Why would Ray be at the house? No connection at all really. Was funny when Mondo was delighted that Kerri Ann was preggers, then only copped on it could be his when Juliet asked him.

Is Ray not the baby's Grandfather? :D

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Im not a big fan of Tommy either but to be fair he has been getting a lot of aggression and thuggery from Damien these past few months, to the point where Tommy cant even open his mouth without Damien screaming at him and even pushing him, so hes bound to get frustrated sometimes.

Was Damien always such a scumbag?? I'm not watching it as long as others but its surely been years now since his father killed his mother, was he only a scumbag since then??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

bazermc wrote: »
    The whole thing was a pile of ****e, so it was actually great.

That Damo is some plonker. The courts as regards family law access cases are not bias towards the mother as they use to be and they certainly would have given him half day access each of the 3 days of the festive period.

That's what I said before too it really shows how rubbish the Fair City team are

Damien going around shouting "There's nothing I can do Maaaark!" When his brother was saying he should stand up for himself

Ffs he's automatically the child's guardian number one, because of a law change in the last few years and number two this "your not moving away to Munich with with me daaaaaughter!" is rubbish along with Caoimhes and Tommy's "Well I'm her MOTHER"

All he has to do is walk into a solicitor and a judge will grant an order making it a crime for Caoimhe to take the child out of the country without the express permission of Damien agreeing to it whether for a holiday or long term. If she took off to Munich all he has to do is go to the cops and they contact the German Polizi who will have Caoimhe and the child in custody and on the first place back to ireland before Carol even finishes a box of 20 Major

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Niall_76

What was the story with the fancy restaurant they were supposed to be in at Christmas? ****ty blinds and fag machine over Bob’s shoulder... classy. We don’t see Bob or Renee for ages and then they’re central on Christmas Day. When did they officially get together anyway?

Niamh told Paul ages ago she wouldn’t be back so what happened that he thought she would be?

All things wrong with the bishops day have already been pointed out.. my God what an episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

Niall_76 wrote: »
    What was the story with the fancy restaurant they were supposed to be in at Christmas? ****ty blinds and fag machine over Bob’s shoulder... classy. We don’t see Bob or Renee for ages and then they’re central on Christmas Day. When did they officially get together anyway?

Niamh told Paul ages ago she wouldn’t be back so what happened that he thought she would be?

All things wrong with the bishops day have already been pointed out.. my God what an episode.

As far as I know the crappy 5star restaurant is in fact the RTE sports bar
    And btw in my opinion the scenes in the restaurant were pure bull crap, the cracker, Huey, Paul ringing Niamh
    All stank of filler crap

I’m so over that tv show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,509 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

The one that wouldn't let Bob in the door last night reminded me a little of Katie Taylor!

That was a very adult backless dress that Juliet was wearing last night, she is only 13 or 14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Who is running Spar in Farrah's absence, where is she?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭MsWesterosi

KerryS wrote: »
    Happy Xmas everybody! Long time lurker on this thread but have been mia since the whole Katy/the Plan debacles (head melted after both!).

Have been dipping in and out recently in preparation for the usual Xmas day 'special' which i watched yesterday and must admit haven't a clue what's going on so would be so very grateful for an update on a few of the main 'plotlines'!

I get Kerri Ann/Decco/Mondo triangle (juliets interest and involvement slightly creepy), the Carol/Robbie/Aoife thing-WTF???!!! Dans a rapist now??? And this daughter, sorry name escapes me now, wasn't she a dancer that Sean had a thing with (where is Sean, is he officially gone for good now or still changing a barrel in the Station?) When did Robbie turn cheater? How many husbands is Carol on now, seriously writers, any chance of a happy ever after?

Niamh-whattt? So she's gone now, saw her sleezy hook up with hairy chest yank, but had she reconciled with Paul before that? What a crock of predictable sh1t! And then she hightails it to wherever she's gone and strings Paul along, is there actually any point to him anymore, and I won't even start on the Hayley Xmas day fumble, eeewwwww, dirty old man. I like how Wayne seems to have the upper hand in that particular pairing now, how did that happen? Was there not an issue with the insurance on the garage back when the writers blew it up? What's actually happening there?

And Damo, has he lost the plot or what? Tommy is still a gob****e, ranting about Damo being a psycho, ah hello? Were you not in the asylum not that many years ago for actually stalking your wife and shooting her partner, and then you turn on Damien for wanting to see his kid on Xmas day. Don't know what happened with him and Caoimhe but she's a moany wagon anyway, last time I saw that storyline she was heading clubbing and abandoning the buggy wherever she felt like it. And Debbie and Tommy-all over?

Pete-whats up with him, he's always been a whinger but any few bits I've seen of him he seems to have beef with everyone, very annoying!

And to the juicy part-what happened to poor Miriam??? She was a nice, albeit slightly nosey, do gooder when she came into it. Is she a baddie now? Didn't she get it on with Eoghan at one stage, I see she's using his house for her meetings. The doctor dude is obviously a fruit cake, one night I tuned in to see him threatening some girl that Doug was trying to help. Don't know what the hell is going on, is this a cult thing or what, how do Doug, Emmet, Charlotte and now poor Damien fit in? Obvs Miriam and Dr Psycho are the main players but what's the background??

Am sure I'm not the only one who lost faith after Katy got out of the box (where is she now anyway) so if any of you die-harders could get me up to speed it would be great! Thanks guys!

Happy Christmas, or belated one xxx

I'm new enough here myself; everyone here is lovely and welcoming - not like some other forums I won't mention, where newbies are treated like s***, and it's an enjoyable thread. Even though FC is hardly the best show out there, this thread makes it interesting - and even funnier than it already is at times!

Same thought crossed my mind!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

As far as I know the crappy 5star restaurant is in fact the RTE sports bar
    And btw in my opinion the scenes in the restaurant were pure bull crap, the cracker, Huey, Paul ringing Niamh
    All stank of filler crap

I’m so over that tv show

The engagement ring misunderstanding in the restaurant scene was the worst piece of fictional tv I have ever scene and I’m 52.
    I nearly choked on me cheese and crackers.
    The actress playing Paul’s tart, she must be some RTÉ bigwigs loved one.
    Could she be any worse?
    The cult storyline is a good idea, but the writing and acting and sets coupled with the inconsistencies is unforgivable.
    Car crash tv.

Re the Pete thing... It was so hyped up in the previews that i thought he'd die, or at least end up in intensive care, or that there'd be another twist right there in his hospital ward when Doug was clutching his side, that it would be Doug that'd keel over from internal injuries, but when he was looking peaky and holding that side of his, and Dolores asked him if he was okay he said they'd already checked him out and he was grand.. And how come all FC characters get single bed wards???? That's in no way reflective of the real world; then again, I have to keep reminding myself - it is Fair City.... :D

Im not a big fan of Tommy either but to be fair he has been getting a lot of aggression and thuggery from Damien these past few months, to the point where Tommy cant even open his mouth without Damien screaming at him and even pushing him, so hes bound to get frustrated sometimes.

Was Damien always such a scumbag?? I'm not watching it as long as others but its surely been years now since his father killed his mother, was he only a scumbag since then??

Damo was actually the complete opposite to what he has turned into! Not sure if you followed it when he was getting beaten by his wife Suzanne but back then he was afraid to defend/stand up for himself as he had witnessed his father being a wife beater and didn't want to hurt his wife (even if she was physically and mentally abusing him!) There's been a hint lately that he'll fly off the handle completely and get violent, which is what he never wanted to do before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,771 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Niall_76 wrote: »

The Bob and Renee part was really strange. We haven't seen them for weeks and then he just randomly proposes to her in the middle of the Christmas episode. It was like it was intended to be pure filler and thrown in there to pad out the episode.

Re the Pete thing... It was so hyped up in the previews that i thought he'd die, or at least end up in intensive care, or that there'd be another twist right there in his hospital ward when Doug was clutching his side, that it would be Doug that'd keel over from internal injuries, but when he was looking peaky and holding that side of his, and Dolores asked him if he was okay he said they'd already checked him out and he was grand.. And how come all FC characters get single bed wards???? That's in no way reflective of the real world; then again, I have to keep reminding myself - it is Fair City.... :D

If I could thank this twice I would. I thought Doug wouldn't get checked out and end up dying/seriously injured as everyone's attention was on Pete. They really missed a good spin here! Very disappointed.

I thought Pete - after he was more or less given the all clear and was sitting up in bed in his nice cosy private bed ward - was just a red herring, that Doug would be the real casualty. But..... Nothing..... It went nowhere, apart from a few ambiguous threats... And Emmet has suffered no consequences; have they forgotten that part - it was heavily implied that Oakley would pick off Miriam's supporters one by one and discredit them making her look an idiot, or worse, a facilitator for bad behaviour.
    And re the keys thing? Why didn't Damian show the guards the envelope and the note the keys arrived in and with? Wasn't that the whole point of Oakley stealing them from Miriam's bag and sticking them through the letterbox? But nothing, as per usual.... There are so many ways - were it a serious soap - that this story could have been developed, but like the PLAN it has descended into farce.... And why did Emmet face no consequences, when it was implied that he would, as it seems Oakley's aim to undermine Miriam out of revenge in order that he get back what power he lost to her? Then again FC doesn't do these type of plots very well. The Katy/Ciaran thing was interesting for about three minutes, the PLAN was basically nonsensical.... Dermot's miraculous recovery from liver cancer..... God! There are so many storylines that could have had a quick or poignant ending but became comical instead.

Has anyone here ever played the child's game Confessions? It's played basically with a page folded like an accordion and the rules are simple; a set of questions where each person, unbeknownst to the other writes a part. The first person writes the ''What happened'' the second writes the ''Why'' the third writes the ''When'', then the fourth person the ''Where'' and finally the fifth person writes the ''How'' , then the initial person writes the outcome, all the while each person is writing blind, following their own vision for their version of a tale in which they don't know the beginning, middle or end, as it's hidden, and is the original idea of the first person, who also doesn't know what the others have written. All that first writer knows is the ''confession'' and the ''ending''.

For example, if we were play it here, and I started off, I might make a statement in writing like ''I fell out of a tree'' then folded over the paper so the next person couldn't see what I'd written. Then the second person, not knowing what it was all about would tackle the ''why'' part and have a completely different story in their mind and write something like ''because it was a sunny day''. Then fold the paper again, and the third not being able to see what had been written by the former two, writes the ''when'' - maybe something like ''on my birthday''. Then the fourth writes the ''where'', again without anyone seeing what the others have written and by the end, when the person who set the ball rolling opens out the paper and reads the mini story in full it's usually hilarious and nonsensical.

Now, you might wonder what a kids game has to do with FC, but the reason I brought it up, is due to my belief that the FC writers operate on a very similar level, in an albeit more adult (if you could call it that) way, where neither of them consult with each other properly, or know what the other has written, they just ramble along picking up their own narrative from where they left out without looking over what the others have written. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭littelady

Poor Ruthie her parents were planning a Christmas dinner minus the child....imagine

Fair city don't really kill off people like the uk soaps tho. Very seldom they kill off a longterm charactor unless the actor dies in real life.

Why couldn't there be a big disaster like a plane crash and get rid of the most annoying characters in FC. Could you imagine FC handling a story like Lauren and Abi in EE falling off a building or Max's revenge. Not that EE is a great show but at least they have some bit of imagination and suspense in the plot.

Fair city don't really kill off people like the uk soaps tho. Very seldom they kill off a longterm charactor unless the actor dies in real life.

They need to change something.

I wish they would; it'd make it more watchable for the right reasons if they did - provided it was properly done. People die in real life all the time; young and old either of natural causes or in tragic circumstances. But when FC attempts tragedy, they always backtrack ( Dermot's ''terminal'' liver cancer which had spread), or else the death scene looks like something staged by a gang of five year olds.

Not meaning to go off topic here, but the Emmerdale Holly Barton death, and the Ashley dementia storylines were both so realistic and hard hitting - right down to the terrific performances of the actors involved in both storylines, and genuinely made you want to cry, whereas anything that tries to mimic tragedy on FC is always so badly written. I don't actually blame the actors, I blame the writers and producers, as they're the ones in charge.

braxen5 wrote: »
    Why couldn't there be a big disaster like a plane crash and get rid of the most annoying characters in FC. Could you imagine FC handling a story like Lauren and Abi in EE falling off a building or Max's revenge. Not that EE is a great show but at least they have some bit of imagination and suspense in the plot.

I second that; big tragedy needed - FC need to scuttle the dead wood and re-create the show from scratch in order that it be taken seriously. Then, if they did, we'd have nothing to laugh about anymore.....

splinter65 wrote: »
    The engagement ring misunderstanding in the restaurant scene was the worst piece of fictional tv I have ever scene and I’m 52.
    I nearly choked on me cheese and crackers.
    The actress playing Paul’s tart, she must be some RTÉ bigwigs loved one.
    Could she be any worse?
    The cult storyline is a good idea, but the writing and acting and sets coupled with the inconsistencies is unforgivable.
    Car crash tv.

Bob could of said they lady that went inside has my engagement ring but he didn’t so stupid