Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

OnePlus 5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,822 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Phone now sold just waiting for money to show up in my bank account.
    There's never a problem when giving someone your IBAN and BIC I assume?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,663 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

sentient_6 wrote: »
    Looks like the 5 not the 5t? Cash price could be closer to 400 and then it's possibly a consideration.

Sorry about that, had presumed that the 5 was being discussed, not the model T :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭digitaldr

blade1 wrote: »
    Phone now sold just waiting for money to show up in my bank account.
    There's never a problem when giving someone your IBAN and BIC I assume?

I'd always use PayPal - bank transfer can take a while if the banks are different. Not sure about giving out iban/bic but the person you're buying off has excellent feedback to I reckon you'll be grand.

Lads, anyone after updating to 4.7.4 or 4.7.5 having battery drainage issues.
    I'm afraid to take the chance as I am having the best battery life I have ever had on any phone and am delighted with it.
    Over 10 hours OST on 4.7.2 :eek:

2q8r05x.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭godskitchen

blade1 wrote: »
    Lads, anyone after updating to 4.7.4 or 4.7.5 having battery drainage issues.
    I'm afraid to take the chance as I am having the best battery life I have ever had on any phone and am delighted with it.
    Over 10 hours OST on 4.7.2 :eek:

2q8r05x.jpg

On 4.7.4 here, don't notice any difference in battery life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭micks_address

On 4.7.4 here, don't notice any difference in battery life

Got my one plus 5t yesterday. Happy enough I upgraded from 5. Extra screen space is nice. Ordered karbon bumper case but using free supplied case which is actually nice. Keep hitting the home on screen button while typing...any solution apart from more accurate thumbs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭god's toy

Keep hitting the home on screen button while typing...any solution apart from more accurate thumbs?

Yep same here, every time I use the keyboard I end up knocking into the background via home button.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,873 ✭✭✭54and56

Thanks Panda, just ordered. US$29 delivered.

I'll update on how it works once I get it which will probably be in the new year given past experience with Ali Express!!

Just wanted to confirm that a) it took almost a month for this to arrive from Ali Express and b) that it works perfectly i.e. it dash charges whilst in the desktop dock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Ptrk85

Hey everyone, looking for some help or advice.

I've been having issues with mobile data on my Oneplus 5 for a few months now. When my connection is H+ the internet lags or slows to non existent speeds all the time. It lasts for a few minutes and normal speeds resume for a short time. Turning Aeroplane mode on and off again also "fixes" the issue but it literally lags again within a minute or two.
    It's getting quite frustrating since I've recently moved home temporarily and there is no WiFi. I'll provide as much info below as I can.

Thanks in advance for any help.

•Carrier is Three and I'm using their provided APN settings.
    •No issues when using 4G, internet works flawless 95% of the time.
    •There's no pattern or consistency to the lagging (i.e may lag for 1 minute or 4 minutes.
    •Switching Aeroplane mode on and off returns speeds to normal but it doesn't last too long
    •Ive soft reset, factory reset and cleared cache many times but it doesn't help.
    •Ive my network speed displayed and when it's lagging it shows speeds of less than 1.00 K/s
    •My sim works perfectly fine in my old phone with no internet issues whatsoever in the same house.

Hoping someone has had similar issues and got a fix!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Gunther_Gloop

Ptrk85 wrote: »
    Hey everyone, looking for some help or advice.

How about try another sim from a different network.. Just to see.

I was with Three and had similar issues inside the house (old phone). Had no problems after moving to vodafone. My daughter had no probs with Three with her phone though. You can get a sample sim from carphonewarehouse to test different networks.

Thanks in advance for any help.

•Carrier is Three and I'm using their provided APN settings.
    •No issues when using 4G, internet works flawless 95% of the time.
    •There's no pattern or consistency to the lagging (i.e may lag for 1 minute or 4 minutes.
    •Switching Aeroplane mode on and off returns speeds to normal but it doesn't last too long
    •Ive soft reset, factory reset and cleared cache many times but it doesn't help.
    •Ive my network speed displayed and when it's lagging it shows speeds of less than 1.00 K/s
    •My sim works perfectly fine in my old phone with no internet issues whatsoever in the same house.

Sound like the cell tower you are connected to is overloaded/over subscribed, that's classic signs right there. When you connect you get priority but quickly get bumped down the list as all the others auto reconnect from low data speeds they are getting.

There is a tower near me that does this every few months and a call to three sorts it (whatever they do)...For a few months at a time. Rep said it's over subscribed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭pandabat

god's toy wrote: »
    Sound like the cell tower you are connected to is overloaded/over subscribed, that's classic signs right there. When you connect you get priority but quickly get bumped down the list as all the others auto reconnect from low data speeds they are getting.

There is a tower near me that does this every few months and a call to three sorts it (whatever they do)...For a few months at a time. Rep said it's over subscribed.

The cells "breathe" depending on load. If there's low load then you've got more high-speed coverage (and better speeds). If there's high load then the premium-speed coverage area drops and you're left with lower-spec/speed coverage. In the case where many users are close to the tower then you're just dealing with contention. Keep reporting it to your network - they may eventually stick an extra cell nearby but don't hold your breath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Ptrk85

pandabat wrote: »
    The cells "breathe" depending on load. If there's low load then you've got more high-speed coverage (and better speeds). If there's high load then the premium-speed coverage area drops and you're left with lower-spec/speed coverage. In the case where many users are close to the tower then you're just dealing with contention. Keep reporting it to your network - they may eventually stick an extra cell nearby but don't hold your breath.

Thanks for the replies everone, not sure how to multi quote!

In regards to the cell tower, when I put my chip into my old phone (Galaxy A5) i have no issues with internet whatsoever and my mum who is also Three has no issues with her phone. I would use my old phone but the screen is badly damaged. Going to buy a Vodafone chip in the morning and get back with some results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 AnnaMD

Ive also had the same issue with the internet connectivity on my one plus 5 since I got it in June. I am on meteor. I got a new SIM a few weeks after I got the phone to see if that helped, but it didn't. It's very frustrating. I live in rural area but never had an issue with my previous phone, Samsung S5. I always meant to get onto one plus support about it.

AnnaMD wrote: »

Ive also had the same issue with the internet connectivity on my one plus 5 since I got it in June. I am on meteor. I got a new SIM a few weeks after I got the phone to see if that helped, but it didn't. It's very frustrating. I live in rural area but never had an issue with my previous phone, Samsung S5. I always meant to get onto one plus support about it.

I reckon it's Meteor support you should be contacting, but neither will do any good. Change to Vodafone is my advise -if only as a trial. It's a bit more expensive, but the coverage is unrivalled.

AnnaMD wrote: »

I reckon it's Meteor support you should be contacting, but neither will do any good. Change to Vodafone is my advise -if only as a trial. It's a bit more expensive, but the coverage is unrivalled.

What's the cheapest Sim only deal with 30gb from Vodafone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,559 ✭✭✭xtal191

Rumors that the Oneplus 6 will be out in March

xtal191 wrote: »

Not much of a rumour. It's to be expected. April I'd say, but much of a muchness.

xtal191 wrote: »

Think I'll be sticking with the T models myself, at least that way the bugs and complaints are dealt with first. Being the Newest and having the latest doesnt mean as it use too, but best in class value is hard to say no too... my op3 was just fine (until I knackered the camera)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭alwald

I reckon that it's time for me to change my Oneplus 1 and move on to the Oneplus 5t. I have a couple of questions before I decide to make the move: are there any codes out there to reduce the price? will I get a phone cover for free? has the camera improved since the phone was launched? Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Ionised

Can't comment if the camera has improved but the results I have gotten are better than my Nexus 6p (and i felt that was a pretty good camera). I have no complaints about the camera (or the phone in general).
    It comes with a basic clear case in the box but if you are looking for a discount feel free to use this referral code that will give you €20 off accessories -

https://oneplus.net/ie/invite#EC3SUNXC086Z7GK

Id agree with hanging on for the t versions. They generally seem to be the more refined product and only four or five months wait. Have the 5t few days now and prefer it to the 5..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭alwald

Order completed and should be delivered on the 29th :D, Thanks Ionised for the voucher!

Switching from one android to another seems easy, I followed the steps mentioned in this article: https://www.androidauthority.com/backup-android-phone-708622/.

Is there anything else that I should do (I don't need to back up SMS/MMS). Thanks!

alwald wrote: »
    Order completed and should be delivered on the 29th :D, Thanks Ionised for the voucher!

Switching from one android to another seems easy, I followed the steps mentioned in this article: https://www.androidauthority.com/backup-android-phone-708622/.

Is there anything else that I should do (I don't need to back up SMS/MMS). Thanks!

If you use nova launcher, you can email your settings to yourself.
    Just open the email on your new phone and download.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭sentient_6

Even easier is to save the back up to Google drive and you can select it straight from the cloud on the new phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭MJ434

Is the 128GB/8GB model worth the extra money? What cases would yous recommend? Cheers

MJ434 wrote: »
    Is the 128GB/8GB model worth the extra money? What cases would yous recommend? Cheers

The case that comes with the 5t isn't bad. I'm using it but have karbon bumper in the post office waiting to be collected. For the extra 50 euro the 128 is probably worth it. That being said I can't see the 64gb being a problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

FYI This takes a nano sim if anyone bought one for the wife for xmas and didnt know such a sim card existed :o:o:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭cefh17

dreamers75 wrote: »
    FYI This takes a nano sim if anyone bought one for the wife for xmas and didnt know such a sim card existed :o:o:o

You can cut them down to size if you're feeling brave! Google has printable guides where you just cut along the lines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

cefh17 wrote: »
    You can cut them down to size if you're feeling brave! Google has printable guides where you just cut along the lines

On beer number 5 when I hit 8 I trying this.

hahah it worked, scissors and a nail file :)

Cheers