Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭healy1835

That's one of my go to sessions when I'm stuck for a track or decent stretch of road. It really is about getting into a nice rhythm. What race are you looking at for the wkend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

healy1835 wrote: »
    That's one of my go to sessions when I'm stuck for a track or decent stretch of road. It really is about getting into a nice rhythm. What race are you looking at for the wkend?

I'll either do the Dangle Balls 5k or a 10k in Ballina, whichever one suits Mrs TbL best :)

TbL

I had that same session today. Couldn't manage active recovery between all the sets. Had to walk a good bunch of the recoveries. killer session.

Yeah, I completely underestimated it, was happy that I managed not to have to walk. Had to can the cool down as I was caught for time (and wrecked!)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭healy1835

What pace were 60 secs 'on'?.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Yeah, I completely underestimated it, was happy that I managed not to have to walk. Had to can the cool down as I was caught for time (and wrecked!)

Sounds like me and you had very similar afternoons...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭Itziger

Sounds like me and you had very similar afternoons...

You flew to NYC and London and Paris as well? And went to a couple of Stoke games? And did a nursing home special?

Scarily similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Haha now that you mention it.......

Itziger wrote: »
    You flew to NYC and London and Paris as well? And went to a couple of Stoke games? And did a nursing home special?

Scarily similar.

Ha Lol, I'm saving the nursing home special for tomorrow as I'm going from London to Stoke tomorrow for the Stoke-Liverpool game tomorrow night :)

Ps. Have you not a sub 2.50 to be planning!!!

TbL

healy1835 wrote: »
    What pace were 60 secs 'on'?.........

Too fast for my current ability if you're to believe the watch but it's never right on the track. Fastest one by a fair bit was the last one at 5.25 pace...

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Too fast for my current ability if you're to believe the watch but it's never right on the track. Fastest one by a fair bit was the last one at 5.25 pace...

TbL

Wouldn't it be more beneficial to look at the distance you ran in the 60 seconds if you're using a track? As you say paces are never right there.

If you're doing Dangle Balls 5K for the love of god don't do a moonlight flit in and out!!!

Wouldn't it be more beneficial to look at the time it took to run the 60 seconds if you're using a track? As you say paces are never right there.

If you're doing Dangle Balls 5K for the love of god don't do a moonlight flit in and out!!!

You're right it took me 60 seconds ;)

Don't worry if I'm doing the Dangle Balls I'll say hello

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

TbL

In other words he'll embarrass the $hit out of you!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

TbL

exactly!! so problem solved :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭Itziger

TbL

What were you doing, 400's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Best of luck if you run in the morning C, 5k PB no doubt if you do. Run well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,603 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Good luck tomorrow C. I'll be looking ahead to see can I spot a lemon whizzing downhill to the finish.

Wed:Thur:Fri: was in London with work and it was a bit mental. Headed from London to Stoke on Wednesday afternoon to take in the Stoke-Liverpool game (shouldn't have bothered) and I'd planned to come back to London on the first morning train. Got a call Wednesday evening telling I'd to be at a meeting for 7.30am Thursday! Ended up in a taxi after the match for 3.5 hours to get back to London.

No running for the 3 days which was a little disheartening.

Saturday: 4 mile nursing home special started off real slow and picked it up a bit for the last mile. 4 @ 8.29. Got a bit of an unscheduled S&C session done as Mrs TbL had me move two pallets of wood into the shed, log by log!

Sunday: decided to head up early this morning near Snailsong territory, Ballina, for a 10k race. Registration at Ballina Soccer Club was pretty straightforward and I was handed my number, a beanie hat and a yoke that looked like a house arrest ankle monitor. "Wha's this thing", says I. "That's your timing chip", he said with a straight face. "Jesus" says I, "it's a bit on the chunky side, chunky chips" :) "you put it on your ankle or wrist" he said. "Might need to strap it to my back"

Decided I'd put it on later so as not to tire myself out unduly :) There was a running track beside the soccer club and I spent a half hour warming up and stretching. Was a perfect day weather wise for running and I was targeting a sub 41 having run 41.06 two weeks ago. I've made steady improvements off a low base over recent weeks and it's easy to stay positive and focused when you're seeing results. In the past I've been guilty of downing tools mentally when my target time seemed like too tough an ask.

Started off without much fuss and I hit mile 1 in 6.19, feeling good, by mile 2 the average pace was 6.32 and I was really struggling. Got to 5k in 20.33 and I felt like the effort was very high. A guy came up on my shoulder at 6k and that enabled me to at least maintain my pace and he drifted back. I knew the last 2k were in Belleek woods and I had this lined up as my get out of jail excuse, I was looking forward to a muddy trail that would have "forced" me to drop the pace, got to the start of the woods but "Fcuk it", it was a compact hard surface and the leaves weren't slippery enough. Managed to reel in a guy ahead of me but was passed with 500m to go and was disappointed that I couldn't muster up any fight.

Finished 2 seconds faster than 2 weeks ago in 41.04 but I was bitterly pissed off as I was confident I'd go sub 41 handy. Have absolutely no excuses today, I was just poor.

Very well organised and a nice spread afterwards, I'd definitely do it again.

Need to stay consistent, focussed and understand that gains will be more marginal going forward.

I'll keep tipping away.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

Well dine, C. Good effort. I'd normally be running Beleek but not yesterday as I'm perpetually half injured and trying to recover. I think I saw your helicopter pass overhead when we were out for the morning trot.
    There's a great community of runners and volunteers in Ballina. Anything they put on is top class. That's a reasonably fast course but you need to keep it handy for the first half and finish fast. Now he tells me, sez you.
    I hope to do my first 10k of the year at the Fields of Athenry. See you there.

Mon: plan called for a rest day. Woke up and felt every one of my half century years, tired, weary and stiffer than an arthritic dog! Decided that sitting on the couch with a pound of chocolate feeling sorry for myself was counterproductive so I decided to get a proper Nursing Home special done. Wrapped up really warm, was only short of a plaid blanket :). Got a very slow 4 mile NHS done @ 9.15. Felt better for it.

Tuesday: plan called for 6 miles easy. Got another very slow 6 miles done around a local route (including a few miles around a gloopy GA pitch) @ 9.01. PM: got a S&C session done, mainly concentrated on mobility.

Wednesday: plan called for 2 mile wu/cd with 12x90 seconds @ 6.40 pace off 45 seconds jog recovery. The memory of last weeks session lingered and I wasn't looking forward to this one little bit. Did a bit over 2 miles to warm up and then hit the track in Dangan for this.

First one was too fast as I was approaching the 400m line after 90 seconds. Slowed it down a bit but still kept the pace a bit under 6.40 to take account of the garmin overstating pace on the track. Maybe it was because of last weeks session and that I'd steeled myself for this session but I found this comfortable enough. Jogged all the recoveries and never felt like I was too far outside my comfort zone, even managed to get slightly more than 400 metres done for the last 90 seconds rep. Chalk and cheese compared to last week.

TbL

Thursday: plan called for 6 miles easy. I had a S&C session in the evening and had planned on running afterwards but he really put me through my paces and I was too tired afterwards to run so I just swapped the run with tomorrow's planned rest.

Friday: planned rest but needed to make up yesterday's missed miles, I kept putting this off, eventually putting an sos out to a friend of mine who I do most of my warm ups with at races and we met in Dangan for just over 6 easy miles. I was very happy with the company coz if left to my own devices the run was at risk of been jettisoned.

Saturday: plan called for 2 mile wu/cd with 18, 12 & 6 minutes @ 7.00 pace. Usually I'd fancy this as an easy enough session but I was very stiff and tired. Needed a base layer as it was fairly cold but otherwise perfect running conditions. Talked myself out of this session and I struggled more than I should have, didn't enjoy it at all. Only did a 1.5 wu and cd as I was pissed off.

18 mins @ 6.52
    12 mins @ 6.59
    6 mins @ 6.45

Sat in the jacuzzi for an hour after.

Sunday: plan called for 12 miles easy.

Had to bring my young lad and his classmate into Galway as they are rehearsing for an Christmas panto in the Taibhdhearc. I learned a new adjective today, as we were driving over I pointed out the snow capped twelve pins mountain range that looked amazing, covered in snow. The young wan said "oh yes they're so Instagramable", ffs, the future of mankind is doomed.

Dropped them off and parked up at the Salthill hotel, hat, gloves and base layer required today. Started off real slow making my way up along the prom and towards Dangan. The first mile came in about 9 mins pace but I was happy enough that the pace consistently dropped over the rest of the run.

12 miles @ 7.58

Happy with that run and a good week overall.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Had to bring my young lad and his classmate into Galway as they are rehearsing for an Christmas panto in the Taibhdhearc.

Sounds like its on the 'No Fly List'.

This week has been a total write off. Monday was down for a rest day and I didn't even make my S&C session as I was flat out with work.

Picked up a very nasty stomach bug and was up all night Tuesday. I was so bad at one stage I didn't know which end of me to point at the porcelain. :)

Felt weak and crappy for the rest of the week but I'd planned on doing an easy few miles yesterday. Spent the day in town with the clan and went to the young lads panto last night so another day with no run.

Today: plan had me down for 10 miles steady. Was in foul humour and having not run since last Sunday I was tempted just to write off the week entirely and start again tomorrow. Had to bring the young lad into town for the afternoon performance of his panto and this left we with 2 hours to spare so with a Ba Humbug face I started from the Salthill hotel. Headed out along the prom around the swamp and over the canal into Dangan. Pace dropped as the miles went by but I did start to tire on the last mile.

10 miles @ 7.20

I'm only 50/50 where I'll do Athenry now as I don't think I'd break 41 never mind the hoped for 40.30.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Back in Black

Well done on getting out for the 10 mile. Would have been easy to skip it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Ah come to athenry, we won't bite... it will be a good workout for you if nothing else, plus you'll be guaratteed a prize(fair enough, it's the one you already won ☺ ), plus it will keep you focused and away from the mince pies on Christmas day ☺

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

The few days missed this week won't make or break your race C in Athenry C, you'll probably feel differently about it anyway once you get a few more days training under your belt but I'd stick to the race if I were you, even if you don't see it as one where you can nail your target.
    Overall, you're still moving in the right direction - the race will only bring you on a bit more if nothing else

Duanington wrote: »
    The few days missed this week won't make or break your race C in Athenry C, you'll probably feel differently about it anyway once you get a few more days training under your belt but I'd stick to the race if I were you, even if you don't see it as one where you can nail your target.
    Overall, you're still moving in the right direction - the race will only bring you on a bit more if nothing else

Will ya feck off Double D, you're undermining my excuses to get out of having my ass handed to me by the Dolmen Snailsong and Mad Mart :)

Sigh...I'll check with the boss

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Testosterscone

TbL

I have ran your queries through our complex sandbagged algorithm, sadly your excuses do no compute.

Race on 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Will ya feck off Double D, you're undermining my excuses to get out of having my ass handed to me by the Dolmen Snailsong and Mad Mart :)

TbL

ha ha - sorry C!

( for what its worth, I'm in a similar boat, plenty of races on the horizon where I know I'm going to be whipped good and proper....but it'll pay off )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Duanington wrote: »
    ha ha - sorry C!

( for what its worth, I'm in a similar boat, plenty of races on the horizon where I know I'm going to be whipped good and proper....but it'll pay off )

Before you get good again :D, when are you racing??

I have ran your queries through our complex sandbagged algorithm, sadly your excuses do no compute.

Race on ��

I meant Mrs TbL :D but fair enough if I can't come up with some other hotch potch excuse I suppose I'll have to turn up :)

TbL