If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Justice League **Spoilers from post 980 onward**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,445 ✭✭✭mloc123

CramCycle wrote: »
    That's my biggest issue so far, I am not expecting high brow. I expect to park my brain at the door. I would have liked clever/smart but gave up on that awhile ago.

Alot of the effects, particularly the scenes with Batman/Aquaman, on the car, jumping up in the air look really far from being finished and remind me of that leaked version of Wolverine that they claimed ruined the movie (not what ruined the movie).

The CGI looks like something off syfy channel...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 375 ✭✭Tylerdurex

Some of odeons cinemas are showing this at 0:01 tonight . Can someone please tell me what does ST Subtitles mean ? Because it has that beside the 2D screening. if it means what I think it means then why would anyone think that is a a good idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

ST is short for subtitles.

It means there'll be subtitles.

It makes the film more accessible to people who otherwise not be able to enj.. watch it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 375 ✭✭Tylerdurex

Slydice wrote: »
    ST is short for subtitles.

It means there'll be subtitles.

It makes the film more accessible to people who otherwise not be able to enj.. watch it.

That's fair enough but why have it on the one and only first 2D showing? I know why so more people will stump up the extra cash for the 3D showing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 823 ✭✭✭q2xv9rjei4awgb

Post credits scene is kinda cool....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,377 ✭✭✭kdevitt

Agreed - was very very cool.

I really enjoyed it overall - brought my mate with me (who hated BvS and Suicide Squad) and he loved it. Flash stole the show for me.

Would have been happier had they used practical effects for the big baddie, but the CGi overall was ok to me. The ending CGI which has come in for most criticism was definitely no worse than the effects at the end of GOTG2 which got no mention in any reviews I saw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭youngblood

1 or 2 credits scenes?
    Mid way through credits or the very very end of the credits?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,213 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

Early reports say that the OD Box office is described as awful for JL in France. In Russia OD Box Office for JL is around 42 to 43% lower than Batman V Superman.

Ireland's OD Box Office could be described as slack up until the middle of the day because lots of people will be either at work, school or college tomorrow. The showings could improve later on Friday evening or Friday night when the crowds pick up later on in the day.

I am going to see it at The Odeon in Stillorgan for Friday afternoon as I will be looking forward to seeing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,377 ✭✭✭kdevitt

youngblood wrote: »
    1 or 2 credits scenes?
    Mid way through credits or the very very end of the credits?

Two of them - first is more humorous than anything else, second one is right at the end and is more pivotal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭IamMetaldave

kdevitt wrote: »

Agreed - was very very cool.

I really enjoyed it overall - brought my mate with me (who hated BvS and Suicide Squad) and he loved it. Flash stole the show for me.

Would have been happier had they used practical effects for the big baddie, but the CGi overall was ok to me. The ending CGI which has come in for most criticism was definitely no worse than the effects at the end of GOTG2 which got no mention in any reviews I saw.
    Post credits are very cool.
    I enjoyed it all, but my opinion is shockingly bias :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,349 ✭✭✭✭branie2

The trailer might be bad, but the doesn't mean that film might be. It's best to make your own opinion when you see the film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭ps3lover

Early reports say that the OD Box office is described as awful for JL in France. In Russia OD Box Office for JL is around 42 to 43% lower than Batman V Superman.

Ireland's OD Box Office could be described as slack up until the middle of the day because lots of people will be either at work, school or college tomorrow. The showings could improve later on Friday evening or Friday night when the crowds pick up later on in the day.

I am going to see it at The Odeon in Stillorgan for Friday afternoon as I will be looking forward to seeing it.

Thursday night numbers in the states aren't very encouraging either. Seems Batman V Superman has done damage that Wonder Woman couldn't fix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Lads if any of ye are planning to see this in Athlone, I just left after 30 minutes. Asked 3 times to correct the projector and they weren't interested. Zoomed in so I was only seeing about 50% of what should be on the screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭techdiver

Really enjoyed it. It is a bit messy and rushed but it's great fun and great chemistry between the members. Great action sequences. Loved The Flash.

I think it could have been longer to flesh out some of the characters better, but it can't be accused of being bloated and has a straight forward and linear story.

Poor enough villan but you don't roll out your A list villans for the first outing.

It's a serious shift in tone for the DCEU whilst still not going full Marvel on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 823 ✭✭✭q2xv9rjei4awgb

Meh.

Lots continuation errors, very rushed, very piss poor job on Steppenwolf

Gal Gadot was in it so it's money well spent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

They marlvelled it like the masses wanted so we end up with a mish mash of the two. There were some genuinely brilliant moments and some avengers 2 elements that took away from it... I would also add that I thought after a good entrance our main villain wasn’t as menacing or dangerous as the one in the end of BVS.

Certain music was a superb surprise, certain action sequences (two quick guys keeping up with each other!) were fun and I can see an extended edition flesh out rushed parts for those of us that can focus more then 120 mins on a movie.

But thanks again audience for wanting less (2.5 hours is too much for your attention) and the same (now it’s way more like marvel). Like Pepsi and coke we get to choose between the same product now. I don’t blame the studio, it’s just a shame we won’t get diversity because trying something different is met with such resistance!

While I enjoyed it, I think BVS was so much better. I still give it 7/10 because I can enjoy most these movies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,300 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

The bad :

It's too short for whats going on imo. There's definitely one thing that happens that they clip through far too quickly and a bunch more scenes that could have benefited from some extra time.

Ben Affleck's Batman showing isnt as strong in this one. It starts off great but there's a few odd moments with him, almost split personality at times and I'm not talking about the Bruce/Batman split.
    He'll be pretty harsh and mean in one scene and joking around in another. I'm guessing the re-shoots under Joss caused this. More weird than a huge problem though. I also get the impression in the film that Ben is over playing Batman at this stage.

Flash's jokes were more miss than hit for me.

Steppenwolf is little more than a reason to move the plot along to the next stage. Very forgettable but I guess he's only a first wave villain here.

The good:

The league itself feels right. It feels like a group where they all bring something different.

Alfred's one liners are great, there's a real dry wit behind them that is great to see.

Wonder Woman is great.

Cyborg is a lot better than I thought he would be.

Flash is good even if a little too jokie. But
    His reactions to Superman keeping up with him are brilliant. I loved their end credits scene

Auquaman is very good.
    His scene with Wonder Woman's lasso of truth is very funny

The casting in this universe overall has been superb bar Luthor and Joker.
    This Superman is the one people having been asking for, there can be no more complaints about his portrayal. Cavill is fantastic even if the hiding of the mustache is noticeable :pac: that's nit picking though. His recovery after coming back from death is the thing I said earlier that I felt they moved far too quickly through. But he is THE Superman imo

Where they land at the end of the film leaves this universe in a very interesting position.

They now have a good foundation to go in the new direction DC/WB has been looking to go. This is almost like a rebirth.

Finally:
    Overall this is an ok-good entry into the DC universe but nothing really happens that you haven't seen before at this stage, just you haven't seen it with these characters. Now that the introductions are done, I would expect that the next one has to be better overall with a much more interesting story and hopefully villain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

Damn didn’t realise there be another post credits scene left after first one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,213 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

paulie21 wrote: »
    Damn didn’t realise there be another post credits scene left after first one

I know what you're saying because I missed it as well.

A low quality clip is on Youtube if you missed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,633 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

So went and seen it today. After a slow enough start its gets very good.

I enjoyed it but it could have done with a bit more humour.

Wonder Women is the best.

I did not see anything wrong with the GCI thought it all looked good.

I agree it could have been longer I would have had no problem with that.

Only seen 1 post credit scene dammit.

I enjoyed it more than BvS

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

Drumpot wrote:
    Certain music was a superb surprise, certain action sequences (two quick guys keeping up with each other!) were fun and I can see an extended edition flesh out rushed parts for those of us that can focus more then 120 mins on a movie.

But thanks again audience for wanting less (2.5 hours is too much for your attention) and the same (now it’s way more like marvel). Like Pepsi and coke we get to choose between the same product now. I don’t blame the studio, it’s just a shame we won’t get diversity because trying something different is met with such resistance!

No. You don't get to blame the audience's attention span for bad filmmaking. I haven't seen Justice League, so I'm not judging it but if a filmaker can't tell a cohesive story within two hours, they're at fault. That is the medium within they have chosen to work, those are the parameters. The average film length has NEVER gone above 130 minutes so this isn't some new phenomenon, this is how it has always been. I'm fine with extended editions like LotR where you get bonus material because the theatrical realeases still make sense as a whole. But this nonsense of extended editions fleshing out plot points is bollix. As for lack of diversity and audiences wanting the same thing, I give you Logan and Deadpool, both massive successes that faced little to no "resistance" and the former much more in line with what WB want to do but much more successful. The success/failure of WB and the DCEU has nothing to do with what audiences want, audiences want to be entertained (We haven't got together behind your back and come up a list) and WB have thus far failed to do so for the most part.

Like/don't like a film fine, have a discussion about why certain elements worked/didn't work but don't pigeon hole everyone who disagrees with you into a collective and and say it's their fault the movie you like isn't doing well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,604 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Have to say, I quite enjoyed that. It's by no means perfect, and is pretty good rather than great, but it went a long way to fixing a lot of the problems the DCEU had.

Firstly, the three new Leaguers were great. I particularly liked Cyborg. His story and performance were the biggest surprise and I thought he pulled it off. Flash's powers were used well and I thought he was pretty funny. Aquaman too I thought was great despite the trailers making him seem a bit dudebro-ish.

Affleck was still great though at some points played up the emotion regarding Superman a bit too much. A bit more stoicism would have worked better, I feel, though not a huge problem.

Cavill was bang on. Finally, Superman smiling and laughing! And Gadot was still great.

No unnecessary side stories. No moping around pondering how hard it is to be a hero. No "You know that thing you want to see? Well f*ck you!" in the writing as with Jimmy Olson in BvS.

Yup. I have to say I'm happy with that. It's a good step in the right direction just like Wonder Woman was.

Only complaints were the Atlantis scenes as I kinda worry Aquaman is going to be a lot of that. Swim-fight scenes look a bit boring and the sea makes it look dull in general. And Cavill's moustache... They should have just paid a penalty fee to the Mission Impossible film and shaved it off. It was like when tv shows take a still image of someone and superimpose someone's mouth talking on it. It was so, so bad and seemed like it happened in almost every scene he was in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,349 ✭✭✭✭branie2

I saw it this evening, and I really enjoyed it. It was very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,703 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

saw it today, enjoyed it but one or 2 things bugged me
    i didnt like that when lois lane appeared when superman came back to life, he suddenly became normal again and then the whole 'its a warzone and lois lane appears like nothins happening. Does the public know that Superman is back, after the big deal they made of his death ????.
    What was the reason for the ruble lifting off supermans casket in BVS if they brought him back using the box ???

for those who saw the end credits scene
    who would be in the league of bad guys and who was the robot guy ???

7/10 for me, didnt watch the flash or see any old versions of Aquaman but enjoyed them in this

PTH2009 wrote: »
    i didnt like that when lois lane appeared when superman came back to life, he suddenly became normal again and then the whole 'its a warzone and lois lane appears like nothins happening. Does the public know that Superman is back, after the big deal they made of his death ????.
    Well in BvS in the scene where Flash appears to Bruce. He tells Bruce that Lois is the key, presumably in the case where Superman goes off the deep end.

It's maybe a call back to that but it's hard to know is that something that would have been explained but was cut out to get the run time under 2 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,604 ✭✭✭✭Penn

for those who saw the end credits scene
    who would be in the league of bad guys and who was the robot guy ???
    Not a robot, that's just armour. It's Deathstroke, a common Batman villain. As for the league of bad guys, they're hinting at the Legion of Doom. It'll just be a collection of the heroes' enemies. Could be anyone, really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,317 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Well.....that sucked.

Apologies in advance for not expanding on that, but it's probably a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭techdiver

As stated previously this goes back to Flash appearing to Bruce in BvS.
    What was the reason for the ruble lifting off supermans casket in BVS if they brought him back using the box ???

This annoyed me too big time.
    Whilst I really enjoyed the movie, I thought this was a lazy and rushed story point. There are so many more interesting way to bring him back that are part of canon but they made a mess of that to be honest. I feel the runtime restriction added to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Macker1

McDermotX wrote:
    Well.....that sucked.

Please elaborate a bit further. 😜

techdiver wrote: »

This annoyed me too big time.
    Whilst I really enjoyed the movie, I thought this was a lazy and rushed story point. There are so many more interesting way to bring him back that are part of canon but they made a mess of that to be honest. I feel the runtime restriction added to this.
    Yeah that whole chunk of film from where they start talking about the possibility of using a mother box to bring back Superman right up until the moment Superman appears in costume isn't great at all. I expected that the way they brought him back might be well... daft and it was.

Would love to know was that a Snyder or Whedon idea. You would think Snyder but it seems like most of Superman's stuff was re-shot because his CGI lip kept showing up :pac: