Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Fair 'nuff so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

km79 wrote: »
    I'll give you the benefit that you posted this in complete ignorance
    I would advise deleting it

One hundred percent agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

PARlance wrote: »
    I'm a fan of Rochfords but I wouldn't give him credit for that. Aidan was carrying an injury for Galway, I'm almost certain Rochford himself said that Boyle was left out in favour of Vaughan(s physicality) for Galway(s forwards) and taking off Andy was just a bad call, especially after he had just scored that fine point. Rochford should have been in like a shot to cancel the sub imo.

Not physicality; height. Galway played conroy in the half forwards and had comer in the ff line, whereas we were lining up with keegan, durkan, boyle, higgins and barrett to pick up one of them. There was a potential mismatch there. Looking at it now, it was a very logical decision that he didn't deserve half the stick he got, for making. People just needed something to find fault with after we lost. Had boyle started and been targeted in the air and conroy won a load of kickouts or drifted in and rattled a goal off it, we'd be giving out that we needed more height in there and that the management were naive. The reality is AOS not being fit was a big problem for us on the day and we were trying to play catchup in the height department.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Not physicality; height. Galway played conroy in the half forwards and had comer in the ff line, whereas we were lining up with keegan, durkan, boyle, higgins and barrett to pick up one of them. There was a potential mismatch there. Looking at it now, it was a very logical decision that he didn't deserve half the stick he got, for making. People just needed something to find fault with after we lost. Had boyle started and been targeted in the air and conroy won a load of kickouts or drifted in and rattled a goal off it, we'd be giving out that we needed more height in there and that the management were naive. The reality is AOS not being fit was a big problem for us on the day and we were trying to play catchup in the height department.

I do think we had enough to beat them that day even with AOS not fully fit and I would put a good bit of blame with Rochford for that (but in saying that he gets a lot more right than wrong so I would never be too harsh on him).

He threw Kirby on in the FF line and AOS in at midfield... when their FB line was their biggest weakness and crying out to be exposed. We knew that coming into the match and after the first half. A half fit AOS would have caused that FB line serious trouble for the last 10 mins.

He can't be blamed for players actions on the pitch though, Regan threw away 2 chances to build for a score at critical times and Higgins left us down to 14 for most of the match due to a moment of madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

PARlance wrote: »
    I do think we had enough to beat them that day even with AOS not fully fit and I would put a good bit of blame with Rochford for that (but in saying that he gets a lot more right than wrong so I would never be too harsh on him).

He threw Kirby on in the FF line and AOS in at midfield... when their FB line was their biggest weakness and crying out to be exposed. We knew that coming into the match and after the first half. A half fit AOS would have caused that FB line serious trouble for the last 10 mins.

He can't be blamed for players actions on the pitch though, Regan threw away 2 chances to build for a score at critical times and Higgins left us down to 14 for most of the match due to a moment of madness.

Im bot really disputing what we had to beat them, im explaining the logic of boyle not starting. It was completely reasonable.

Carnacon ladies are through to another All Ireland club final.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

Here's the front of today's sports section which features an in-depth exclusive interview with Footballer of the Year, Andy Moran. Plus news that Lee Keegan is facing a spell on the sidelines. #mayogaa https://t.co/FRqexfZhVM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭glack

Just read the article... awful that he had to come out and deny that rumour! Just shows how easy a story can get legs!!!!

glack wrote: »
    Just read the article... awful that he had to come out and deny that rumour! Just shows how easy a story can get legs!!!!

I have not read the article but I was told from the most reliable source 2 weeks ago that it was 100% not true and it was quite upsetting for his family
    Does the article state he had keyhole hip surgery in America ?

km79 wrote: »
    I have not read the article but I was told from the most reliable source 2 weeks ago that it was 100% not true and it was quite upsetting for his family
    Does the article state he had keyhole hip surgery in America ?

Two surgical procedures on both hips which he had done in Waterford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,460 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Lee had hip surgery?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,460 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Lee had hip surgery?

Yep - Mayo News describes it as 2 separate surgical procedures on each of his hips with 4/5 months recovery and rehabilitation.

Great news,I'll have to set my hard drive to record on Sunday.

TG4 schedule on Sunday.

Corofin v Castlebar Mitchels live @ 2.

Deferred coverage of Nemo Rangers v Doctor Crokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭ureds

Great idea to produce a Mayo GAA calendar, just a pity they forgot to include David Clarke in the team photo on the front cover!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Many sign up for the Club +? Handy to get to a few club games and as well the percentage of attendance isn't an issue then for lads who struggle to get to the away games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭statto25

yop wrote: »
    Many sign up for the Club +? Handy to get to a few club games and as well the percentage of attendance isn't an issue then for lads who struggle to get to the away games.

I went for it this year. Baby just arrived in the house so not sure how my weekends will pan out come next year especially for away games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

Do you still have to pay for the matches (after the first championship match) that you don't attend with the club+ ST?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,732 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Oldtree wrote: »
    Do you still have to pay for the matches (after the first championship match) that you don't attend with the club+ ST?

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

I would just like to wish Lee Keegan all the best in recovering from his surgery.

It must be hard enough as a 28 year old to have to deal with two hips being worked on without having to go out publicly to quash utter hogwash about their long term health.

Lee Keegan has been a fantastic player for Mayo and deserves a rest and time to recuperate.

On a broader dimension to his surgery, I think it is very worrying that such a young man would have to get such surgery and I think it brings home the toll modern inter county football is having on the players.

Not alone are they giving up so much of their lives they are literally putting their bodies on the line.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,732 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Any word on the back room team yet

jmayo wrote: »
    I would just like to wish Lee Keegan all the best in recovering from his surgery.

It must be hard enough as a 28 year old to have to deal with two hips being worked on without having to go out publicly to quash utter hogwash about their long term health.

Lee Keegan has been a fantastic player for Mayo and deserves a rest and time to recuperate.

On a broader dimension to his surgery, I think it is very worrying that such a young man would have to get such surgery and I think it brings home the toll modern inter county football is having on the players.

Not alone are they giving up so much of their lives they are literally putting their bodies on the line.

Would second all what you said and add that hip problems for gaa players at a young age ( young in terms of real life) have escalated greatly in the past few years

Fingers crossed for the Mitchels today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Fair play to Castlebar for pegging that back. Extra-time now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭Kalyke

Come on now Mitchels!!

Cracking contest here in Tuam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Great save from Byrne, two point game now when it easily could have been six a minute ago.

Big bird can rest up for the winter now !
    Would have been a good option if fit against the dubs