Fancies For Today II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,922 ✭✭✭zimmermania

Lord Glitters is short enough in the 3 30 at Newmarket and is not top rated,Bought for £270000 in France a couple of months ago the gelding already looks a bargain.

Thought to be a group horse in the making,the gelding can take this listed race following an unbelievable win in a very valuable handicap 2 weeks ago,last of 20 a furlong out he had the speed to beat a good yardstick in G M Hopkins.

The same trainer, David Omeara runs SUEDIOUS in the 10 19 at Del Mar,Suedious takes on Roly Poly and Ribchester and will have to run very well to have a chance,however the horse won £500000 race in the US 28 days ago to qualify for this and at 12/1 will come late to challenge and should not be underestimated.An ew bet to small stakes and pp are best price guaranteed in the offices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,810 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Liking the look of Harlem at Flemingtin (R4)

And Greycliffe in the Derby

Gigginstown are mob handed in the 3. 05 at Down Royal today and because of all the different trainers it is difficult to know who is fancied most.

I backed A Toi Phil ew at 9/2 before one was withdrawn,Jack Kennedy is on board and has a very good chance imo.

Lost a few quid sat bringing a fairly good run to an end,not a lot for me today but I am backing Royal Reserve in the 3 20 at Kempton.With £43,000 to the winner a few of these runners will have been campaigned with this final in mind.

Royal Reserve was only 8th last time behind Seniority,who is 2nd fav today.Royal Reserve was hampered that day and did not have much room before running on well to be beaten 3 1/2 lengths.He was probably trained for this race, is the only runner from the Omeara yard and makes the long journey from York for the inform stable.

6 lbs better off with Seniority today,Royal Reserve is worth a few quid ew at 14/1 (18s in a couple of places) at a course where he has winning form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,154 ✭✭✭akelly02

Lost a few quid sat bringing a fairly good run to an end,not a lot for me today but I am backing Royal Reserve in the 3 20 at Kempton.With £43,000 to the winner a few of these runners will have been campaigned with this final in mind.

Royal Reserve was only 8th last time behind Seniority,who is 2nd fav today.Royal Reserve was hampered that day and did not have much room before running on well to be beaten 3 1/2 lengths.He was probably trained for this race, is the only runner from the Omeara yard and makes the long journey from York for the inform stable.

6 lbs better off with Seniority today,Royal Reserve is worth a few quid ew at 14/1 (18s in a couple of places) at a course where he has winning form.

This is a genuine question zimmer do you basically back all of o mearas horses blind or do you have a contact in the yard or what

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭hurler97

Got him at 25/1 ew, thanks Zimmermania

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

c5cf52682caa06d2bf83bb9568f4efb4.png

I dont do big stakes on things i know **** all about but thanks nevertheless.

akelly02 wrote: »
    This is a genuine question zimmer do you basically back all of o mearas horses blind or do you have a contact in the yard or what
    Ha ha I am hardly going to answer that question but you can make up your own mind,i do not back any trainers horses blindly,i have been in the yard many times.I think I know a little of how they operate and they will be trying hard with almost everything they run until the end of the season to get as much over the 100 mark as they can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

cracking tip fella, many thanks

I can't remember having a bet in the Melbourne cup and I cannot advise anyone to get involved in such a competitive handicap, but I was waiting for Marmelo to run in the UK and I think the horse has a lot of class so I put a modest sum on the beast to come out on top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

A couple of small e/w bets for interest with 6 places on offer

Hartnel
    Ventura storm
    Wicklow brave
    Us Army Ranger

Joseph OBrien sends Grey Waters to Kempton for the 7 45,i must admit I don't know why this one is back on the AW.

Grey Waters beat Masterstonemason a couple of times and that is reasonable form and I expected the horse to be kept over hurdles and I am baffled that he is sent to Kempton for a mickey mouse race worth a couple of grand.

However I am sure Joseph has his reasons and stepping up to 2 miles for the first time on the flat I think the filly will be too good for the horses she meets here,she could be well handicapped over the trip and at 11/4 pp is worth backing.

I can't remember having a bet in the Melbourne cup and I cannot advise anyone to get involved in such a competitive handicap, but I was waiting for Marmelo to run in the UK and I think the horse has a lot of class so I put a modest sum on the beast to come out on top.
    It has a good chance, but as with more favorites on the Cup, the price is way too short

Mellor wrote: »
    It has a good chance, but as with more favorites on the Cup, the price is way too short

I fully agree but what allowed me to back it was the fact that Morrison took the trouble to give it a prep run over the track and help the pilot get to know the horse.

The preparation suggests they think it can win and I only have a modest bet and I did not back ew.

I think we'll see an irish raid this year. Max Dynamite and Rekindling being my singles, and i'll probably combine with Red Cardinal in a trifecta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Bozo Skeleton

redzerdrog wrote: »

Hartnel
    Ventura storm
    Wicklow brave
    Us Army Ranger

I've thrown my darts at Hartnell and US Army Ranger myself. 6 places with PP, decent offer.

Mellor wrote: »
    I think we'll see an irish raid this year. Max Dynamite and Rekindling being my singles, and i'll probably combine with Red Cardinal in a trifecta.
    Changed my mind and went for the Red Cardinal win and put Rekindling in the trifecta. Balls

Will it be long before the aussies take the same view as the UK handicapper does with the irish horses in handicaps at the Chel festival?

Unbelievable runs from the irish horses and a friend of mine who told me yesterday that the winner was "thrown in" will be in good form for a few days.

Joseph showed once more that he is a chip off the old block and not just on the gallops,he does not forget the "lads" when receiving the plaudits after a win.I just hope his luck carries on to Kempton tonight where my money is invested in one of his.

Joseph OBrien sends Grey Waters to Kempton for the 7 45,i must admit I don't know why this one is back on the AW.

Grey Waters beat Masterstonemason a couple of times and that is reasonable form and I expected the horse to be kept over hurdles and I am baffled that he is sent to Kempton for a mickey mouse race worth a couple of grand.

However I am sure Joseph has his reasons and stepping up to 2 miles for the first time on the flat I think the filly will be too good for the horses she meets here,she could be well handicapped over the trip and at 11/4 pp is worth backing.

Glad I took the 11/4 last night,now 9/4 so all she has do is win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭James Delaney

redzerdrog wrote: »

Hartnel
    Ventura storm
    Wicklow brave
    Us Army Ranger

Are these horses in the same race?
    If not any cjance of venue & times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭NATLOR

Are these horses in the same race? If not any cjance of venue & times.

They all ran in the Melbourne cup this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭gooseygander

Glad I took the 11/4 last night,now 9/4 so all she has do is win!

And win she did, top marks again Zimmerman. Great insights, keep them coming.

What a price 11/4 was! and there will be more to come when she goes back over hurdles,i will not be surprised to see this filly at Cheltenham in march.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,781 ✭✭✭ASOT

What a price 11/4 was! and there will be more to come when she goes back over hurdles,i will not be surprised to see this filly at Cheltenham in march.

Thanks pal

Plenty of racing Wednesday,but not too many bets leaping out at me.I have backed one at 9/1 that is available at a bigger price elsewhere as my only account is with PP.

Maraakib runs in the 3 55,a handicap for amateur riders and will not be everyones cup of tea,Maraakib is rated 65 for this class 5 race and he was rated 89 when 3rd beaten a length in a class 3 in june 2016.He was off for 300 days before coming back this season and it is fair to say he has been somewhat disappointing.

He has been running better of late,travelling strongly before finishing 2nd on the AW and at Redcar,only 7th last time in a similar race,again travelled well out the back before staying on to finish 7 lengths off the winner in a field of 19 at Doncaster.

Very well handicapped if he puts it all together Maraakib is still capable of winning and has been backed a few times recently which suggests David Omeara thinks he can win a race.
    The stable is in good form (had a nice winner again today) and an ew punt might give a return

He has a change of rider,James King replacing Alex Ferguson (who has a ride in the race) and could bounce back with a win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Fancy Memories Galore in the 2:50 @ Nottingham.

2nd last two runs. Now down in Class.

Bits of 9/2 about on BF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭HarshOstrich

Plenty of racing Wednesday,but not too many bets leaping out at me.I have backed one at 9/1 that is available at a bigger price elsewhere as my only account is with PP.

Maraakib runs in the 3 55,a handicap for amateur riders and will not be everyones cup of tea,Maraakib is rated 65 for this class 5 race and he was rated 89 when 3rd beaten a length in a class 3 in june 2016.He was off for 300 days before coming back this season and it is fair to say he has been somewhat disappointing.

He has been running better of late,travelling strongly before finishing 2nd on the AW and at Redcar,only 7th last time in a similar race,again travelled well out the back before staying on to finish 7 lengths off the winner in a field of 19 at Doncaster.

Very well handicapped if he puts it all together Maraakib is still capable of winning and has been backed a few times recently which suggests David Omeara thinks he can win a race.
    The stable is in good form (had a nice winner again today) and an ew punt might give a return

He has a change of rider,James King replacing Alex Ferguson (who has a ride in the race) and could bounce back with a win.

On marakibs last run he shouldn't beat the fav who was 2nd in that same race and similar weights today

You are of course correct, on a strict reading of the formbook Maraakib has 3 1/2 lengths to find with England Expects but handicaps are rarely as straightforward as that.

England Expects had the run of the race having every chance whereas Maraakib was trapped in on the rail for a long way and was not given the hardest of rides when his chance was gone,England Expects was beaten next time in a class 6,albeit by just a head off a 3 lbs lower mark and Maraakib has the beating of England Expects on a very tenuous line through Brother McGonagall.

These are low grade performers and are not as reliable as better class horses.Maraakib has run in much higher grade races and is slipping down the weights and his stable is in very good form.England Expects is a maiden,creeping up in the weights and I would rather back Maraakib ew at an attractive price (12/1 now)

Best of luck to you and I I don't collect I hope you do

late but

Notts
    2:50 Jabbarockie 7-1, CD winner over awesome allan who won next time, up 5lb but jock and horse have a good record so really liking place\win prospects

i like to do horses with anything to do with indians so

Chief Sittingbull 4:15 Chepstow 8-1

now although I managed to get 14-1
    noel fehily takes the ride and the yard in good form, raced in heavy before and did ok so hoping better ground suits, yard and jock doing well

last one is WOT A SHOT Muss 3pm 10-1, good 2nd recently although win record aint great
    but jock and stable are both in great form, both 23% in last 2 weeks

late but

Notts
    2:50 Jabbarockie 7-1, CD winner over awesome allan who won next time, up 5lb but jock and horse have a good record so really liking place\win prospects

i like to do horses with anything to do with indians so

Chief Sittingbull 4:15 Chepstow 8-1

now although I managed to get 14-1
    noel fehily takes the ride and the yard in good form, raced in heavy before and did ok so hoping better ground suits, yard and jock doing well

last one is WOT A SHOT Muss 3pm 10-1, good 2nd recently although win record aint great
    but jock and stable are both in great form, both 23% in last 2 weeks

close but no cigar, 2 places only