Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Next 5! Next 5!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭JohnDozer

They recently put up the map for the half marathon you're doing on their Facebook page. It's not as bad as it could be! Big enough climb around mile 9 I think, and the rest is normal Kilnaboy/ Burren rolling terrain. Small enough event but should be fun!

Best of luck with it anyway, you're going well...

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,051 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Sunday 14th May - Mungret St Paul's 10 k - annual charity run just outside Limerick City.

Had intended to really attack the course and try to break 55 minutes. Ended up getting a text from an old friend on Saturday night and we went out for pints in town. :P I tried to keep with the 55 minute pacers. They had 2k done in 10 minutes, which utterly burnt me out. I stopped to fix my laces and stretch my calves but never really recovered. Crossed the line on 58:48 by my watch, 59:02 by the race clock, with shin splints and a dull head. Felt very sore in places so I took it easy for a few days to let my knee and my ankle calm down again. I won't make the mistake of drinking the night before a race again.

Saturday 20th May - Half Thru The Heart - Kilnaboy/the Burren, County Clare.

A half marathon to follow up the earlier series of runs in Clare. Hopefully it becomes an annual event. Numbers were limited to 250, but there were still a few familiar faces from the Limerick Parkrun and other races in this area this year. Stayed clear of booze for the week, but wasn't fit to train at all.

I set out with two goals: 1) get a faster time than I did in Limerick, and 2) break 2:10:00. I managed to stay under 10 minutes per mile but just didn't have enough ;eft in the tank to make the most of the last 2km, which were slightly downhill. Came in at 2:10:14, four seconds faster than Limerick, but it was a tougher course so I'm still delighted.

Sad news afterwards after hearing of the passing of Michael "Curley" Cunningham. I never knew him personally, but he was an instantly recognisable face at any run in this part of the country. I'm sure I ran more races with him these last six months than without. RIP to him and condolences to anybody who knew him.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,051 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Not much training done this week. Tried a few quick kilometers on Thursday but the heat was just too much for me. Spent half an hour doing yoga and core exercises instead.

Hit the Parkrun fairly hard this morning but couldn't keep up the pace.
    Km 1: 4:58
    Km 2: 5:19
    Km 3: 5:34
    Km 4: 5:40
    Km 5: 5:30

Still my third best 5km overall this year at 27:04. Should be able to beat that next week. I need to go back to whatever I was doing well the two weeks I broke 27:00 minutes and see if that approach works again!

Plan for Monday, Wednesday, Thursday:

Warm-Up: 1km run <5 minutes.
    Dynamic stretches and mobility work to finish off the second lap of the track.

"Circuits" x5 (10 press-ups, speed/sprint ladder (2 feet in x2, sideways left/right and back the opposite side, tangos x2, 2 feet in) short jog, 2 chin-ups on the crossbar, short sprint)

1km run <5 minutes
    Cool-down: Slow jog. Stretches.

Plan for Tuesday:

Warm-up: 1km under 5 minutes. Dynamic stretches, side-steps, Cariocas, lunges, etc. for half a lap of the GAA field.

Exercise 1: Lie face-down on goal-line of GAA pitch. On signal, jump to feet and sprint to 13 metre line. (x10)

Exercise 2: Stand on goal-line. Squat with finger-tips on the line, jump to touch the crossbar (x10) and sprint to 20 metre line. 1 minute break. (x5)

Exercise 3: Fartlek stuff: run, sprint, jog, repeat.

Cool-down: Walk 50 m, jog 50 m, walk 300 m. 10 minutes of stretches (hamstrings, quads, groins, calves, back)

I really, really, REALLY want to set a new PB this Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,795 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

The first two of those Tues exercises seem a little GAA specific to be of maximum benefit, assuming you're concentrating on running now (or are you playing football too?)

If parkrun PB is immediate focus, you need to be running more (perhaps you are, not clear from the log if you're including everything?). Nothing fancy needed, the first priority is getting out there a few times a week and getting in the miles. Either way, best of luck.

Murph_D wrote: »
    The first two of those Tues exercises seem a little GAA specific to be of maximum benefit, assuming you're concentrating on running now (or are you playing football too?)

Cheers for the feedback.

I'm not playing team sports at the moment. I took a clean break from that 12 months ago. But I do want to keep some core strength. I'll be doing the Turf Warrior challenge in Killary this coming weekend as well so crawling and climbing and carrying will all be part of that.

And I'm vain and want to keep some muscle definition up top for the summer as well. I'll be living with a cross-fitter for most of the next month so I need a head-start on the strength and speed drills before we start training together. :pac:
    If parkrun PB is immediate focus, you need to be running more (perhaps you are, not clear from the log if you're including everything?). Nothing fancy needed, the first priority is getting out there a few times a week and getting in the miles. Either way, best of luck.

I've been logging everything here, so you're spot on. I just haven't been running often enough. Partly due to recovery from long races, partly due to colds/flus, partly due to a mixture of depression and laziness.

I've a 5k run recorded on Runkeeper from June 2016 that took me over 33 minutes. I'm down from 30:45 on 8/1/17 to 27:05 on 27/5/17 (with a PB of 26:39 a few weeks ago). So the little bits of training I've been doing are definitely helping, but they're too inconsistent.

I signed up for the Achill Half Marathon last night so I've 32 days to prepare for that as well. I need to cut back on alcohol for the next month. Long story short, this running thing is only one piece in the puzzle of sorting my life out! :eek:

I can't believe it, but I've actually been asked to play GAA tonight for the first time in a year!

Was just after changing into my gear to hit the track when my phone rang. The manager needs me to play a game in the Senior County League.

That rules out my afternoon training session anyway!

I hit all my targets yesterday. Thinking of doing a long-ish run tomorrow afternoon instead of doing the drills I'd planned above. I've been thinking about the points you made and it does make sense to try to get some miles into my legs this week instead of just focusing on sprints and jumping squats.

Went out for my first decent run in a fortnight this morning. I was at away for a stag last weekend so I missed the Park Run. We made up for it by doing the Turf Warrior course in Killary, then several hours of paintball on Sunday. Great exercise for the whole body, but ruined with Guinness, whiskey, gin, etc over the two nights!

I'm in Conamara now for a few weeks and my next big challenge is the Achill Half Marathon at the start of July.

Went out to run 5k but ended up doing just over 5.4. Time of 31:53. Happy enough with that. Still beating 6 minutes per kilometer despite a few lazy weeks. The last 2.5k was all up-hill as well. If I can run the lot in 30 minutes by this time next week I'll be flying it.

Achill Half Marathon: 2:23:45 (1/7/17)

Dingle half marathon: 2:20:45 (2/9/17)

No training at all done for either. Made a weekend of Achill, and only went through with Dingle so I could get my running top and finisher's medal after I failed to pass on my registration to somebody/anybody else.

I've been taking things much more seriously since then.

My last four Park Run times are 29:26, 27:32, 26:56, 26:28 (a new PB at last!)

I completed a 75.75km cycle on Sunday afternoon in 3:08:00. I've done a few short training runs with my brother setting the pace to test me. I've also got involved with a small group Run Rise fun-run, meeting at 7:30 a.m. twice a week. My local soccer team has started spinning classes once a week as well. It's all great exercise and I'm enjoying getting out of the house and seeing different people too.

Today I slept in and missed the Run Rise so I went out to the woods for my old 5 mile challenge to see how I'd get on. The table here shows my times from April/May and today.

| Thursday 5/10 | Tuesday 2/5 | Thursday 13/4
    KM1 |5:29 | 5:41 | 5:41
    KM2 |6:22 | 6:23 | 6:30
    KM3 |5:52 | 6:03 | 6:03
    KM4 |5:09 | 5:05 | 5:15
    KM5 |6:11 | 6:29 | 6:19
    KM6 |5:36 | 5:57 | 5:51
    KM7 |5:04 | 5:32 | 5:12
    KM8 |5:49 | 5:38 | 5:38

That's an overall time of 45:32, an improvement of 1:15 since May, and more encouragement that I'm finally doing something right with my body again.

Parkrun 07/10/2017 : 26:05. Two PBs in a row.

Good and steady. Made 1.95km in the first 10 minutes and 1.85km in the next 10 minutes, then finished strong.

The route in UL is made up of a 1.1 km loop, followed by 3 laps of a 1.3km loop. My third lap keeps costing me time, every week, but I'm getting better at it!

Sunday afternoon run, 8/10/2017.

20 minute time-trial measured by Runkeeper. Used the walking track around one of the local soccer fields. 650m loop. Very flat.

Went out in hope rather than expectation after being left on the side-lines for a match earlier in the morning. Aimed to make at least 6 laps inside 20 minutes.

Managed to get an extra little bit in before the buzzer and finished with 4.07 km in 20:05. Maintained a perfect 5 min/km pace for the full run.

Thrilled with that. One step closer to a goal I set myself at the start of the year. Should be able to break the 25 minutes for 5km in the next month or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,795 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

If you can maintain 5 mins/k in a solo time trial for 4K you can certainly do so for 5k in a race or parkrun where you will have people to push against. Why wait?

I'm heading away on holidays this week, and I've put my name down as a volunteer for parkrun the weekend after that.

You're right though, I should try to run it on my own on or before the 21st. I'm just looking forward to seeing the time "officially" in the post run email! Saturday the 28th seems the most likely parkrun for hitting the target.

I also need to weigh myself again. I think I'm still a bit over 14 stone.

Weighed myself on Tuesday. 14 stone 4.7 lbs. Spent a few days eating well and relaxing in London so probably slightly heavier than that today. Nice to be getting close to the 200lb mark again though. 188 is the target for now.

Ran my hill run in the woods today. 45:02 on the clock for the route. I'll put up the splits soon, but it's a new PB again anyway. Very close to my target of a 45 minute run for 8 miles. October could be a great month for me this year!

Edit:

| Thursday 5/10 | Sunday 15/10
    KM1 |5:29 | 5:19
    KM2 |6:22 | 6:09
    KM3 |5:52 | 5:47
    KM4 |5:09 | 4:58
    KM5 |6:11 | 6:06
    KM6 |5:36 | 5:46
    KM7 |5:04 | 5:18
    KM8 |5:49 | 5:32

Looks like kms 6 and 7 let me down a little bit after a much stronger first half. Good over all though.

Followed that up with a bike ride, just before the sky grew dark.

Started at the traffic lights outside my estate, went out the dual carriageway, and stopped the clock after 46:30 as I was back approaching the same traffic lights.

22.3 km done at an average speed of 28.79 km/h. Feeling great after it. Should feel a bit stronger for the spinning class on Tuesday now, so long as the gym doesn't get blown away with the hurricane!

Tuesday.

1) Runkeeper's "Pace Academy Challenge" - step 1: Surges. Followed the instructions of the app, but set my own pace for parts of it.

5 minute warm-up jog at 7:50 per km.
    30 seconds @5:00/km pace, 2 minutes @6:20/km (x8)
    5 minute cool-down jog at 7:50 per km.

Overall target was (if I've got my maths correct) 4.6km in 30 minutes. Actual distance was 5.29km in 30:30. I screwed up on my first surge and kept it going for nearly 90 seconds so my legs were tired towards the end, but still ended up getting a lot of extra work in. Also did the warm-up jog at a much faster pace.

2) Went home and did a short core workout (anyone familiar with DDP Yoga will have heard of the ~13 minute Red Hot Core routine) which served to both stretch out my legs and challenge my middle! Found it slightly easier than expected, but still very tough.

3) Had a 45 minute spinning class in the evening. A combination of steady, sprints, and high gear slogs. Brilliant exercise.

All in all, a very good day. Got a nice mixture of cardio and muscle-burning. Feels good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭Huzzah!

I'm not sure how I'm only seeing this now but your times are very close to mine. I would say your goals are close to mine, too, but I won't be breaking 25 minutes for a 5k any time soon :) Best of luck with your goals. I'll be following with interest.

Huzzah! wrote: »
    I'm not sure how I'm only seeing this now but your times are very close to mine. I would say your goals are close to mine, too, but I won't be breaking 25 minutes for a 5k any time soon :) Best of luck with your goals. I'll be following with interest.

Thank you! :)

I made great progress in the spring and then got distracted and set myself back a long way.

I set a list of goals that I thought I could achieve by May. It looks now like I'll manage most of them by the end of November (my half marathon target will have to wait until 2018) but the improvement happened rapidly once I committed to running more often. I only really copped myself on in September.

It's meant that I've been too tired to perform properly at soccer training, but it'll be worth it in the long run. My weight is dropping and I've been drinking much less, so recovery time is improving too. Heading out for a short fartlek session soon. Will post again afterwards.

Just managed to break 5km in today's session. Had a few technical difficulties when I stopped getting instructions from the app. Had to guess from memory for a few intervals and got some of them wrong, but just about balanced it out.

Interval | Target Pace | Actual Pace
    5:00 | 7:50/km | 6:54/km
    5:00 | 6:20/km | 5:45/km
    1:00 | 5:00/km | 4:36/km
    1:00 | 7:30/km | 7:16/km
    1:00 | 5:00/km | 4:31/km
    1:00 | 7:30/km | 7:17/km
    2:00 | 5:00/km | 4:52/km
    2:00 | 7:30/km | 7:24/km
    1:00 | 5:00/km | 4:31/km
    1:00 | 7:30/km | 5:03/km
    1:00 | 5:00/km | 8:24/km
    1:00 | 7:30/km | 4:39/km
    1:00 | 5:00/km | 6:05/km
    6:00 | 7:50/km | 6:17/km

Everything was going fine for the warm-up and up until the 2 minute intervals. After that I was way off, but I think I managed to hit the same targets over all.

Did my core work-out again today but probably should have left it until tomorrow. My stomach muscles need more time to recover until they get stronger.

Still, that's two runs and two core workouts and a spinning session in less than 26 hours. And I've unlocked the next work-out in the app for tomorrow.

10 minutes slow, 10 minutes moderate, 10 minutes fast, 5 minutes walking.

And I've unlocked the next work-out in the app for tomorrow.

10 minutes slow, 10 minutes moderate, 10 minutes fast, 5 minutes walking.

I had a change of plans today, so the work-out above will have to wait until Friday.

Meant to meet some friends for an early morning out-door meditation and jog but it was cancelled at the last minute because of the weather.

Got a message from my uncle inviting me to train with him instead.

Started with a 4.7km cycle (untimed) across town to warm up. Very stop/start because of traffic lights. Pushed myself to climb the hills along the way as quickly as I could. From the meeting point it was a 2.7km cycle at a very gentle pace to the track.

From that point on it was a brick session. 10 minutes running, 10 minutes cycle, 10 minutes running, 10 minutes cycle, 10 minutes running. It wasn't an ideal track for cycling on. It was approximately 850 metres long, but narrow at each end so turning the bikes was a slow process each time. We spent a lot of time chatting about tougher workouts for proper track training. No accurate idea what distance we covered, but I'd guess somewhere around 5km jogging and 6.8km on the bikes. Nice and gentle.

Finished with a cycle home again on a different route, 6.2km (untimed). Lousy weather, but still felt good after. Over 20k on the bike and 5k of jogging is grand for one morning. Soccer training to look forward to tonight as well.

Tomorrow's challenge should be a nice bit tougher.

Might be doing a 10 mile run on Sunday depending on friends and their plans. Will worry about that later.

Tried Stage 3 in my series of speed workouts today, but really should have taken a rest day instead.

My brother went out with me to keep me company. I let him off at his own pace and tried to stay slow with the instructions on the app. Was aiming for 7:30 per kilometer for the first 10 minutes. Averaged 6:45 pace instead.

Target for the next 10 minutes was 5:50/km. Hit that one on the bull's-eye, but was feeling awful as I finished my third kilometer.

I was supposed to maintain 5:00 pace for the last 10 minutres, but just didn't have the energy to run against the wind. I missed my target by about 200 metres and just about salvaged an average of 5:30 pace for the last 10 minutes.

Over the course of 30 minutes I ran the required distance, but I'm disappointed with it all the same. I should have known from how my body felt that I'd done too much yesterday. Soccer training last night involved a lot more running than usual (and even at that I can usually avoid the extra work by doing goalkeeper drills) so I had nowhere near enough strength left for today.

Still managed to play an hour of a GAA challenge match on astro-turf this evening, despite all of that. :pac: Parkrun is cancelled in the morning because of the weather. I've unlocked Stage 4 in my series on Runkeeper but I think I'll repeat Stage 3 on Sunday, unless the 10 mile training run with the lads goes ahead.

Kind news from my weighing scale this morning!

I'm down to 14 stone 2.2 lbs /198.2 lbs/ 89.9 kg.

I'll probably ruin that with pints this evening, but it's great to be back under 200lbs again.

Was aiming for 7:30 per kilometer for the first 10 minutes. Averaged 6:45 pace instead.

Target for the next 10 minutes was 5:50/km. Hit that one on the bull's-eye, but was feeling awful as I finished my third kilometer.

I was supposed to maintain 5:00 pace for the last 10 minutres, but just didn't have the energy to run against the wind. I missed my target by about 200 metres and just about salvaged an average of 5:30 pace for the last 10 minutes.

I took a rest for the weekend. Went out Saturday and had a few drinks and just relaxed all day Sunday. I think I needed it, as much for my brain as for the benefit of my body. Decided to try this session again today to see if I could improve on it.

First 10 minutes: Target: 7:30/km. Actual Pace: 6:37
    Next 10 minutes: Target: 5:50/km. Actual Pace: 5:45
    Last 10 minutes: Target: 5:00/km. Actual Pace: 5:06
    Cool-down 5 minutes: Target: 12:30/km. Actual Pace: 9:00

Distance covered: 5.88 km (5.2km in 30 minutes). Much better over all, but still not quite hitting my target over the final 10 minutes. Weather conditions were much better today so the lack of a headwind certainly helped. I think I'd have made it if I'd stayed stronger on my second last lap of the track.

Heading out on my bike for an hour now to burn a few extra calories. Edit: bike ride cancelled due to flat tyres and me not having the correct pump! Might do another jog tonight instead.

Moving on to an Interval workout tomorrow.
    6x400m at 5:00 pace (alternating with 6x400 at 7:30 pace for recovery) and slow warm-ups and cool-downs. Looking forward to this one.

The final work-out in the programme is a ladder of progressively faster runs over 6:00, 4:00, 2:00 and 1:00 minutes. I'll aim to run that on Thursday morning to give myself time to recover for parkrun on Saturday morning.

Second run of the day done. Went with a little bit of speed play this time around to test my brother and see if he could match me. We managed 5.23 km in 30 minutes and a handful of seconds. Hit 5k just before the 29:00 mark.

5 minutes slow (warm-up), 2 minutes fast, 1 minute slow, 2 minutes fast, 1 minute slow, 5 minutes steady, 3 minutes slow, 6 minutes steady, 5 minutes slow (supposed to be a cool-down jog, but we pushed ourselves hard for a finish).

A very good workout indeed. Nice to have the company for this one too.

Moving on to an Interval workout tomorrow.
    6x400m at 5:00 pace (alternating with 6x400 at 7:30 pace for recovery) and slow warm-ups and cool-downs. Looking forward to this one.

My early morning jog was cancelled again, so I was able to get this out of the way early instead. I went to a different park for a change. There's an awful lot of moss on my regular track and not enough grip in my runners to deal with it at speed. Today's track was 710 metres around two soccer pitches, with plenty of fallen leaves and twigs but still fewer hazards than the usual spot.

Started with an 800 metre jog to get my body moving. After that, the times for the 400 metre fast runs were as follows.

1:34, 1:38, 1:48, 1:54, 2:00, 2:00.

I kept the pace between 7:00/km and 7:20/km on the slow intervals (ever so slightly faster than target, but still slow enough to recover). The app estimated I'd need 42:32 to get the through 6.4 km, including another 800m cool-down at the end. I managed to get 10 laps done for a total of 7.15km in 42:20.

A lot of great work done, with a few lung-busting intervals and a whole extra bonus lap at the end, and I still finished within the expected time limit.

Still going spinning tonight. It won't be easy, but it's helping with the weight-loss side of things too. Should be able to attack the track again tomorrow for the last workout in my training series, and then do a slow jog with the lads on Thursday morning before giving everything for 5km at parkrun on Saturday. I'll have to start aiming for 24 minutes soon.

Should be able to attack the track again tomorrow for the last workout in my training series, and then do a slow jog with the lads on Thursday morning before giving everything for 5km at parkrun on Saturday. I'll have to start aiming for 24 minutes soon.

Woke up Wednesday utterly shattered and kept telling myself I'd go for a run later, but deep down I knew it wouldn't happen.

I made up for it in style today. Met some friends at 07:30 for an early morning urban jog. We covered 6.35km in 43:40, staying with the pace of the slowest member of the group. It was nice to be able to use traffic lights as an excuse to stop for breath every now and again. :) And the Run/Rise idea is feeling much, much easier than the first one did on the 12th of September.

I knew I had to get through another tough session so I made myself go to the local soccer pitch again for a track workout.

Interval | Target Pace | Actual Pace
    6:00 | 7:50/km | 6:13/km
    6:00 | 5:20/km | 4:45/km
    3:00 | 7:30/km | 6:23/km
    4:00 | 5:13/km | 4:45/km
    2:00 | 7:30/km | 6:33/km
    2:00 | 5:07/km | 4:20/km
    1:00 | 7:30/km | 7:32/km
    1:00 | 5:00/km | 4:17/km
    5:00 | 7:50/km | 6:22/km

Ahead of target on all but one interval, and that was my shortest recovery run between two very fast runs. Hit 5km on 27:15, got the notification that the workout was complete on 30:00, and kept going around the track until I hit 6km on 33:00. Finished with 3/4 of a lap just walking.

Fastest kilometre: #2, at 4:46 pace.
    Slowest kilometre: #1, at 6:06 pace (warm-up).

Second fastest km: #4, at 5:18
    Second slowest km: #6, at 5:41 (cool-down).

Came home buzzing and did 6 chin-ups just for the fun of it. Looking forward to testing myself on Saturday morning over 5k. It's been 18 days since I managed 4k in 20:00 and I've done great work since, so unless there's a total disaster at parkrun I should hit my target very soon.

Parkrun done in 25:20 on my own clock. Should get the official time in an email around lunchtime.

Happy with another new PB. 45 seconds faster than my last effort three weeks ago.

A few little changes might have made the difference. I usually have a strong mug of coffee before a run for an extra boost, but missed that this morning. I never did a warm-up either. As usual I lost ground in the third lap. Was on 2.97 km after 15 minutes but only got to 3.86 on 20 minutes. I left it way too late to kick on at the end too. Should have pushed through the last 400 metres instead of waiting for the last 200.

Should do it next Saturday anyway. :)

Edit: Chip time 25:17. Even better again! :D

Final run of October done, and it was a good one.

I want to start adding mobility exercises into my work-outs again, so I did some research this morning on things to do before and after runs as part of the warm-up and cool-down periods. The MapMyRun/Cycle/Fitness website had a few articles that included pictures and the rationale behind each exercise so I made note of two lists and factored them into my training session today.

Started with one lap around the track to get myself moving, then followed the instructions from here: http://about.mapmyfitness.com/2016/05/6-hip-mobility-exercises-for-your-pre-run-warm-up/ Most of them were familiar to me from GAA and soccer training so it was just a case of paying attention to my form and keeping count on each drill. I was using a lot of these moves back in the spring as well and I know they were effective at the time. Hopefully I'll see the benefit of adding them back in.

My main goal was to test myself for 5km on a flat course. I was confident of doing it in 25:00 but it just was not to be. I did, however, achieve a new PB of 25:07. :)

KM 1: 4:43
    KM 2: 5:06
    KM 3: 5:18
    KM 4: 5:12
    KM 5: 4:47

Walked the last few hundred metres back to my starting spot and cooled down with these: http://blog.mapmyrun.com/5-hip-mobility-exercises-for-your-post-run-cooldown/ Again, lots of familiar material. It won't always feel good trying to do a cool-down in bad weather conditions, but at least I got a nice day for trying things out today.

Final work-out of the month is my last spinning class tonight. My brother and I will be the only members of the squad to have attended 6/6 so we're looking forward to it. :)

Wednesday 1/11/17

My brother fancied going for a "handy few laps around the field" so I said I'd join him and see how we got on. We decided to do 8 laps for a total of 5.25km. Timed it at 29:01, with both of us breaking 5k in 27:45 and finishing strong. We had been on course to do the 8 laps in exactly 30 minutes but picked up the pace big time for the last lap.

Thursday 2/11/17

I got my revenge today and brought the brother out to the woods and up and down the hills. We took a water-break after the first 4k with 22:45 on the clock. I wanted to try to beat that time and try to finish inside a total of 45:00, or at the very worst match that time on the return journey. Ended up tearing through it in 20:43 for a total time of 43:28. I haven't run the woods that quickly since 2013. Delighted with myself. Must try it all without taking a break the next time.

The brother matched me for 5km but fell behind and eventually blew up after 7km, but he had to save energy for soccer training later anyway.

I went for a jog around the block to loosen out when I got home and did my dynamic stretch routine from Tuesday again, then went around the corner to do some mild hill-sprints by one of the greens in the estate. Measured out 80 metres and sprinted it 10 times, with every sprint between 15.0 and 15.5 seconds, then walked home and finished with the "cool-down" stretches. One of my best days of training yet.

Parkrun Limerick, Saturday 4/11/17

I knew before it started that I wasn't feeling right. I trained too hard on Thursday, again. Will have to do my sprint sessions earlier in the week from now on.

Pushed myself as hard as I could anyway and was doing okay for the first 15 minutes (2.95 km) but could do nothing to recover over the last 2k. I managed 25:33 on my own clock, and was given 25:36 on the chip. I should improve on that again next weekend if I'm sensible for the week.