So this Hurricane

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,337 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

RayM wrote: »

This was between Greystones and Bray at around 3pm. Half the road was blocked, but the filth had the situation under control.
    The "filth"? Seriously R, WTF? You genuinely surprise me TBH. Like any career I've met very cool Guards and yes I've met the very definition of jumped up prick Guards, but most? Most were actually OK, just everyday average people just trying to do their sh1t. If anything and given what any folks in the emergency services have to deal with on a daily basis, they were more than average.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Ah for feck sake, this thread until the last few pages was a decent distraction for the equally scary and boring day that it was. That is until all the tetchy and taking offence nonsense started.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Defo getting worse where I am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭traveller0101

The filth, get over it ladies! It was obviously a joke :pac:

Still pretty windy out. I think the gov, met eireann and all emergency services did very well. Also, shout out to the weather forum on here :D

We're still in a status red warning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭fisgon

There is no doubt that a lot of the country has been badly affected by the storm, and people will be recovering for a while yet.

But to follow the various old and new media - FB, Twitter, RTE, Newstalk, as well as various commentators - you would think that the whole country was besieged, laid waste to, flattened. There is an element of this being a big media event and a narrative being formed where this was a national event, that we were all going to be seriously effected, hyped up by RTE and other outlets into a national event that we all had to take part in.

You could see some of the TV3 reporters around the country (like the ones in Limerick and Galway) desperately trying to find some minor damage to mention just so they could join in the narrative.

The fact is that a good part of the island had some medium-strong winds for a couple of hours today, a little rain, and that was it. There was no mass destruction in many parts, and virtually no reason for the mass shutdown that occurred. Where I live in the west, the streets were deserted this morning, people obviously too scared to come out, and there was blue sky! Stay in, be scared, your life is in danger, we were told - this was true in some parts of the country but in others it was simply alarmist.

They have closed all the schools again tomorrow, a total overreaction. Again, some schools undoubtedly needed to be shut, but to impose this disaster management on areas where there was no disaster is just overkill. In some parts of the country there was no catastrophe - it was just a bit windy - though that part of the story does not seem to be reported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,664 ✭✭✭Allinall

Ah stop, I didn't mean it literally. It's a term that I find darkly funny because of its unnecessary harshness. They were doing an amazing job of directing traffic in direct danger, while dealing with basically horizontal rain and zero visibility.

Crawling post of the year.

Well done you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I see Ophelia added the dead in Spain/Portugal's fires by spreading them further than would have otherwise been the case. About 30 dead there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Wibbs wrote: »
    The "filth"? Seriously R, WTF? You genuinely surprise me TBH. Like any career I've met very cool Guards and yes I've met the very definition of jumped up prick Guards, but most? Most were actually OK, just everyday average people just trying to do their sh1t. If anything and given what any folks in the emergency services have to deal with on a daily basis, they were more than average.

Just wondering if you posted that before or after reading my post above yours?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭begbysback

lol - Did Gfish escape from prison?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,795 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Power came back half an hour ago here, lot of trees down and a telephone pole across the road.

Thankfully no one was near it when it fell.

The lads from the ESB are doing a great job, I didn't think we would have power back tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Just wondering if you posted that before or after reading my post above yours?

Well... now I'm watching 'The Mainland'... thanks :pac:

CAuM6s6WkAEmLVl.jpg

"I heard his arm snap, and then it was just a matter of sitting on him, until the filth arrived."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

Today was one of the downsides of living alone. Except for Lidl at 8 I haven't spoke with a human all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 letyougo

The winds in Dublin seem to be a lot stronger now than they were earlier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,877 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

fisgon wrote: »
    There is no doubt that a lot of the country has been badly affected by the storm, and people will be recovering for a while yet.

But to follow the various old and new media - FB, Twitter, RTE, Newstalk, as well as various commentators - you would think that the whole country was besieged, laid waste to, flattened. There is an element of this being a big media event and a narrative being formed where this was a national event, that we were all going to be seriously effected, hyped up by RTE and other outlets into a national event that we all had to take part in.

You could see some of the TV3 reporters around the country (like the ones in Limerick and Galway) desperately trying to find some minor damage to mention just so they could join in the narrative.

The fact is that a good part of the island had some medium-strong winds for a couple of hours today, a little rain, and that was it. There was no mass destruction in many parts, and virtually no reason for the mass shutdown that occurred. Where I live in the west, the streets were deserted this morning, people obviously too scared to come out, and there was blue sky! Stay in, be scared, your life is in danger, we were told - this was true in some parts of the country but in others it was simply alarmist.

They have closed all the schools again tomorrow, a total overreaction. Again, some schools undoubtedly needed to be shut, but to impose this disaster management on areas where there was no disaster is just overkill. In some parts of the country there was no catastrophe - it was just a bit windy - though that part of the story does not seem to be reported.

It's very easy to be wise after the event.

This was not media driven. It was initiated by Met Eireann and in turn by government bodies and then the media passed on the information.

The red weather alert was done by Met Eireann not the media. The government advised everyone to stay in not the media.

It's based on a risk assessment and calls were made to minimise risk and try to keep people safe.

Sadly 3 people, who ultimately chose to disregard the advice, have paid the ultimate price.
    Imagine how high the death toll would have been if these warnings and advice were not in place and everybody went to work and school today?

Better to be safe than sorry and I think there is no doubt that lives were saved today because of it. Compared the last event like this in 1961, eleven people died then so it's fair to say the warnings have worked.

Surely it's worth it? It's not a narrative of fear.

Reporters are a different breed and they seek out a story, that's their job and raison d'etre.

As for schools, of course they are closed tomorrow, roads will be dangerous tomorow, trees can still fall and schools need to be assessed.

Why is it so bad?

I think an excellent job has been done by government and its agencies and even both RTE and TV3 did a great job in keeping people informed.

There's no narrative, it's all about keeping people informed and safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

Not everyone gets these 'in' jokes to be fair. Calling people out in a hurricane helping others 'filth' isn't funny no matter what bloody TV shows you watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

I agree with all of that. I live in rural Co Meath and, while it was very windy by times, it was not that unusually so. No trees came down in my area, there were no power outages and nobody's roof got blown off. The overreaction was probably due to everyone in authority covering their ass and making sure they don't get any blame for anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Roger_007 wrote: »
    I agree with all of that. I live in rural Co Meath and, while it was very windy by times, it was not that unusually so. No trees came down in my area, there were no power outages and nobody's roof got blown off. The overreaction was probably due to everyone in authority covering their ass and making sure they don't get any blame for anything.

Fear the worst hope for the best and prepare on that basis is wise. If nothing had been said and everyone went in to work school ect than dozens would be dead and injured. That is not hype on my part that is what happens when roofs are ripped off buildings and trees fall over and debris flies about on the roads. Just be happy that your corner of the world was not unduly effected as far as you know. Of course you could round a bend tomorrow and see a tree dragged on to the verge as you go past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭VanishingActs

letyougo wrote: »
    The winds in Dublin seem to be a lot stronger now than they were earlier

Yep, in D7 and was just thinking the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Sadly 3 people, who ultimately chose to disregard the advice have paid the ultimate price.
    Imagine how high the death toll would have been if these warnings and advice were not in place and everybody went to work and school today?

Bit harsh that, unless you're privy to the exact circumstances surrounding the 3 deaths, you can't really claim anyone disregarded anything.

Not everyone gets these 'in' jokes to be fair. Calling people out in a hurricane helping others 'filth' isn't funny no matter what bloody TV shows you watch.

That's fair enough. I shouldn't assume that everyone shares my sense of humour, or that my posts come across in the way that they were intended. It can be fun sometimes when people don't 'get' a stupid obscure joke, but not if people are genuinely offended or upset. I'd like to apologise to anyone who was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

That's fair enough. I shouldn't assume that everyone shares my sense of humour, or that my posts come across in the way that they were intended. It can be fun sometimes when people don't 'get' a stupid obscure joke, but not if people are genuinely offended or upset. I'd like to apologise to anyone who was.

It's ok. I'm just tired, it's been a long day and night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

Dont forget today has changed the lives of 3 families. For them it was no over reaction to the elements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭jon1981

The wind sounds much worse now in Dublin than it did earlier today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

No Luas tomorrow morning for anybody planning on using it. Seems a tech room was damaged today

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,706 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Weird constant hum in the air in Dublin. Like a distant plane engine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭jon1981

I think met eireann were afraid of getting it wrong and just put the whole country under red alert. Costly move, is it lazy weather forecasting or was it just that unpredictable?

I think the wind in north Dublin is far worse now.

Also, while i criticize the forecasting, had the scaremongering not taken place i feel many more would have been killed or seriously injured. Some large trees came down in parts of Dublin that would be along very busy pedestrian paths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 letyougo

There might be another one coming soon.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057798209

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

I thought the media, RTE and TV3, done an appalling job today. Very amateurish and little real information on wind speed / direction in the different areas. As you say, you could see some of the reporters around the country (like the ones in Limerick and Sligo) desperately trying to find some minor damage to mention just so they could join in the narrative.
    I agree "closing all the schools again tomorrow, a total overreaction. Again, some schools undoubtedly needed to be shut, but to impose this disaster management on areas where there was no disaster is just overkill."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,887 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

letyougo wrote: »
    There might be another one coming soon.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057798209

Our new normal. Hopefully Donald just gets the nukes out. This sh*t weekly isn't worth it.