Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What really obvious thing have you only just realised?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,507 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

The penny just dropped that the start of "All Together Now" by The Farm sampled a piece of classical music. I went looking and found out it was Johann Pachelbel's "Canon in D Major"

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭R00ster

That there are final set tiebreakers at the US Open. Have never watched it due to it not being on BBC or ITV, so I had just presumed a deciding set was played to a conclusion like at the other Grand Slams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 silkey

quickbeam wrote: »
    The suffix "-ate" means that oxygen is included, eg, sulfate = sulfur + oxygen; phosphate = phosphorus + oxygen.

When we talk about the need to hydrate, we're talking about drinking, or adding moisture or water to something. Hydrate = hydrogen + oxygen, ie, H2O, or water.

Also carbohydrate = carbon + hydrogen + oxygen.

Mind blown!!!

Except for suffocate, Oxygen excluded!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭nazzy

everlast75 wrote:
    The penny just dropped that the start of "All Together Now" by The Farm sampled a piece of classical music. I went looking and found out it was Johann Pachelbel's "Canon in D Major"

Oh my god!

I have that song on so many Spotify play lists and listen to it all the time and never realised. Now it's all I hear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭shaneon77

rizzodun wrote: »
    Hamburgers are said to have originated in Hamburg, Germany, a beef steak between two slices of bread.

Buffalo wings from Buffalo, New York, they're chicken, of course.

I think they originated in a restaurant called buffalo.??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Don King is still alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

The runners brand is Asics not Basics. I always thought the squiggle in front of the a was a b.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,604 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

That Tabasco is actually a place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Christians are followers of Jesus Christ and the New Testament.

Jews follow the OT and Torah.

So lay off the Christians lads. ;):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Muslims follow the final and the literal word of God.

Delivered from God to the Prophet via the Angel Gabriel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,222 ✭✭✭obi604

That Tabasco is actually a place.

Did you hear this when they were on about a hurricane hitting some place and they mentioned tabasco?

obi604 wrote: »
    Did you hear this when they were on about a hurricane hitting some place and they mentioned tabasco?

Yip.

Yip.

Ah yeah. Same as meself !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

Don King is still alive.

Don't forget what a POS **** he is. He stomped an employee to death in the 60s. Plenty of other stellar stuff out there about him too.

Ah yeah. Same as meself !

That report was my sauce for that.

Geddit?

When I login to Internet banking, I login with my 8 digit registration number, after many years, I have just realised that the first 6 digits are my date of birth - thick or what !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,558 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Ever walk down Grafton Street, and see a strip of black paving running the length of it? Kind of sticks out amid all the normally coloured slabs.

Well that's a "guide strip" for the visually impaired and is made from a different material to the rest of the paving.

I genuinely thought it was just different for aesthetic purposes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Ineedaname

For the longest time I thought the iron in your blood was named after iron the metal because it's needed to keep you healthy and strong. Never occurred to me they're actually one and the same. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Hammer89

I was looking for this thread recently but couldn't remember what it was called.

Anyways, I never realised The George was (probably) called that because it's on Georges St :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,619 ✭✭✭valoren

Watching the The Story of Only Fools and Horses on UK Gold, I knew that Del Boy and Rodney's business was called Trotters Independent Trader's as it was clearly written on the side of the van, never copped that the acronym of it is TIT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

When I login to Internet banking, I login with my 8 digit registration number, after many years, I have just realised that the first 6 digits are my date of birth - thick or what !!

mine isnt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

valoren wrote: »
    Watching the The Story of Only Fools and Horses on UK Gold, I knew that Del Boy and Rodney's business was called Trotters Independent Trader's as it was clearly written on the side of the van, never copped that the acronym of it is TIT.

Hence why that college in Kerry calls itself Institute of Technology Tralee and not Tralee Institute of Technology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Hence why that college in Kerry calls itself Institute of Technology Tralee and not Tralee Institute of Technology.

Same thing it Tallaght.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,792 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

And Galway's college had to rebrand itself as Galway Mayo Institute of Technology, so the acronym wouldn't be GIT.

Worked well for Waterford to leave it as WIT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

If that's the case I'm either three years old or 103...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,029 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

I think me an you have been using this for a long longer than others as mine is the same. In fact i dont think they even had internet banking back then. it was all phone banking.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,072 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Or maybe some banks use your DOB and some others don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,029 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

New Home wrote: »
    Or maybe some banks use your DOB and some others don't.

Oh Yeah :) we're probably both with AIB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,330 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Mine's like that too, with AIB. I'd say for younger people, there's going to be more than 99 people with the same DOB, so they can't use that format

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Ulster bank uses that format, AIB don't.