Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Hopefully Mayo do it some day I hope they really do. They need to win it just once just for the county and it's lovely people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Gael85 wrote: »
    O'Connor would be better of concentrating on his football instead of trying to referee games. Maybe he feels as captain he needs to talk to referee? Mayo are not far away from wiining Sam. Prob need a natural full back and another forward to freshen things up. Where did Fergal Boland and Shane Nally go to?

Tis one of the great mysteries of the summer: the under utilisation of Shane Nally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Needles73 wrote: »
    Dublin and Mayo are neck and neck again and you rationalise it as Dublin under performed (as how else could Mayo dare run them so close...)
    Dublin are a great team and worthy winners, full stop. But give Mayo the credit they deserve and accept that maybe just maybe Dublin aren't the perfect article and have weaknesses like every team.!

Did you even read my post in its entirety, before deciding to have a hissy fit and put words in my mouth, that I did not say?

Teams under perform all the time? What about all the replays and extra time that Mayo had to go through this year, just to make it to the AI final? Did they not under perform over the course of the year too? Of course they did. They were nowhere near to their best againt Cork, Derry, or the first Roscommon quarter final? But I don't see people from Roscommon, Derry or Cork complaining about being insulted, when Mayo people describe the Mayo team as under performing in those games, because that is what they genuinely did - under perform. It's not meant as an insult to your opposition, despite it being taken as such in some quarters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

PARlance wrote: »
    Ah petal, I said it bugs me. I'm not upset or in tears over it. I've laid out the reason why it bugs me.

Dublin didn't perform to their full potential because they weren't allowed to. The performed as much as they could and were flat out at the end of the game like Mayo were. The term "under performed" would commonly be interrupted as they didn't turn up or could have given more. I take that as a slight on Mayo. There was no more to give from a lot of players leaving that field on both sides. Dublin won a great battle.

Don't be getting upset with something that bugs me ;)

Ok, as a poster, I really think you are under performing. Oh no wait, it's me who is under performing. No dammit...which one of us, is supposed to feel more insulted? Let's just call it quits and blame Lee Keegan, ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Ok, as a poster, I really think you are under performing. Oh no wait, it's me who is under performing. No dammit...which one of us, is supposed to feel more insulted? Let's just call it quits and blame Lee Keegan, ok?

Dublin - "3 in a row" bottlers.
    I do hope ye can turn up to a final one of these years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭Gael85

seligehgit wrote: »
    Tis one of the great mysteries of the summer: the under utilisation of Shane Nally.

How come he hasnt played much? I remen him playing wing back in minor final against Tyrone in 08 and thought would been seniors years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭Tellyium

Blackjack wrote: »
    Don't flatter yourself. You're not the only one trotting out that nonsensical line about mileage.
    It's nonsensical bull**** to mention mileage in relation to the
    Mayo team that's been on the go for 6 years to final/semi final stage?
    That drew with Roscommon, Derry Cork and were beaten by Galway this year when that would have been unthinkable 2 years ago? (Even though they're still a relatively young team).
    Fair enough, I'll leave it to ye then. Get some earplugs, will help keep the sand out.

Gael85 wrote: »
    How come he hasnt played much? I remen him playing wing back in minor final against Tyrone in 08 and thought would been seniors years ago

Good God it only seems like yesterday those All Ireland finals against Tyrone where Aidan O Shea first announced himself as a footballer.

Stephen Rochford seems to have a preference for introducing David Drake although IMO Shane Nally is a much superior footballer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Tellyium wrote: »
    It's nonsensical bull**** to mention mileage in relation to the
    Mayo team that's been on the go for 6 years to final/semi final stage?
    That drew with Roscommon, Derry Cork and were beaten by Galway this year when that would have been unthinkable 2 years ago? (Even though they're still a relatively young team).
    Fair enough, I'll leave it to ye then. Get some earplugs, will help keep the sand out.

Yeah, and it was trotted out last year, and the year before that, and the year before that. It'll probably get trotted out again next year too.

Along with the "going to the well" cliche. Keep trotting out whatever floats you're boat though. Eventually like a stopped clock you'll be right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭Tellyium

Blackjack wrote: »
    Yeah, and it was trotted out last year, and the year before that, and the year before that. It'll probably get trotted out again next year too.

Along with the "going to the well" cliche. Keep trotting out whatever floats you're boat though. Eventually like a stopped clock you'll be right.

I will and I will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

The group I mentioned will probably have an average age of 33/34 in 3 years. There aren't too many players playing intercounty football today at that age... and I would guess that a very high % of those older players are keepers or inside forwards.

Ferderer might do a job playing off Andy but I wouldn't stick him on Con O'Callaghan.

I think as long as these lads are fit and firing they'll be in the starting team, even if they aren't as effective as before

My main point is that there isn't near enough players coming through that you could trust at the highest level.

Quite frankly aside from the starting 15 and DOC (aside from this year) I wouldn't trust anyone to consistently perform in a big match. Loftus does have the potential yes. Can we suddenly produce/improve 6/7 lads in two years to replace all that you mention?

I think we'll be a lot like Kerry from 2011/2013, relying on the old guard as what's coming through aren't ready for it.

Of course if we win an AI in the next two years it changes things

Good God it only seems like yesterday those All Ireland finals against Tyrone where Aidan O Shea first announced himself as a footballer.

Stephen Rochford seems to have a preference for introducing David Drake although IMO Shane Nally is a much superior footballer.

Funnily enough drake was on that panel but as a complete bit part player

It's hard to believe AOS was actually born in the 90s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭WhiteMan32

Wanna see Mayo beat Dublin in a Senior Football Championship match held at Croke Park in September?

Five years ago - on Sunday 2nd September - both squads battled it out at GAA headquarters....and like this year's All-Ireland Final meeting of both teams, the following players were involved:-

Stephen Cluxton
        David Clarke
          Bernard Brogan
            Cillian O'Connor
              Paul Flynn
                Jason Doherty
                  Kevin McManamon
                    Keith Higgins
                      Ciaran KilKenny
                        Aidan O'Shea
                          Diarmuid Connolly
                            Colm Boyle
                              Eoghan O'Gara
                                Donal Vaughan
                                  Cian O'Sullivan
                                    Kevin McLoughlin
                                      James McCarthy
                                        Seamus O'Shea

And if that's not enough in common to compare both of these matches, then I can tell you that both games were refereed by Joe McQuillan.

The main difference of course is that this particular match was an All-Ireland Semi-Final. However, like the game we witnessed on Sunday last, see how the losing team on this occasion had chances to draw level as oppose to being defeated.

Finally, well done Dublin for winning 3 in a row!

jr86 wrote: »
                                        I think as long as these lads are fit and firing they'll be in the starting team, even if they aren't as effective as before

My main point is that there isn't near enough players coming through that you could trust at the highest level.

Quite frankly aside from the starting 15 and DOC (aside from this year) I wouldn't trust anyone to consistently perform in a big match. Loftus does have the potential yes. Can we suddenly produce/improve 6/7 lads in two years to replace all that you mention?

I think we'll be a lot like Kerry from 2011/2013, relying on the old guard as what's coming through aren't ready for it.

Of course if we win an AI in the next two years it changes things

We've 5 of the 2016 U21 winning team in the squad at present and 4 more on the extended / development squad. Will 6 or 7 become regulars in 3 years, probably not but I think 4 or 5 may be realistic.

Obviously DO'C is top quality but I think he needs a good rest. I'm not sure how Coen has gone down so much in estimations all of a sudden, I think he's one for the future and not far off it at present tbh. Loftus was a saviour for a lot over the summer, he seems to have joined Coen in a sudden decline. I think he needs another year or two to bulk up and be at ease but he looks a class footballer. They are 3 almost certainties for me.

It's a shame Matty Ruane has been injured since late last year, he's back now and I would love to see how he does at Senior. I wouldn't write off Boland if he bulks up, he has the brain and ability. I don't know the rest as well but there are others but we've a good few floating around but it'll be an important couple of years for them.

We've enjoyed a golden area of Mayo football. Unfortunately with no All Ireland to show. We'll do very well to keep up to this standard 3,4,5 years down the line. Dropping off a bit is a fairly real possibility but who knows. We won't really see how many of the u21s will make it for another year or two imo. We'll produce a few outside of the pool too.

But I do think that we'll hit a cliff edge in 2 years. I can't see that group of 8 players I mentioned being around in 3 years. Maybe 1 or 2 of them at best.

Id seriously have my doubts over Coen but would love to be proven wrong. Very limited impact v Kerry and absolutely anonymous Sunday. I honestly completely forgot he was even playing :(

With regard to mayo, players need to be judged in the big games. Who can come through who would honestly make a difference against Dublin or Kerry?

Yes maybe Loftus but remember how much of a world beater evan Regan was made out to be after doing well for his college at fbd league. Next year is crucial for Loftus I feel.

WhiteMan32 wrote: »
                                        Wanna see Mayo beat Dublin in a Senior Football Championship match held at Croke Park in September?

Five years ago - on Sunday 2nd September - both squads battled it out at GAA headquarters....and like this year's All-Ireland Final meeting of both teams, the following players were involved:-

Stephen Cluxton
                                            David Clarke
                                              Bernard Brogan
                                                Cillian O'Connor
                                                  Paul Flynn
                                                    Jason Doherty
                                                      Kevin McManamon
                                                        Keith Higgins
                                                          Ciaran KilKenny
                                                            Aidan O'Shea
                                                              Diarmuid Connolly
                                                                Colm Boyle
                                                                  Eoghan O'Gara
                                                                    Donal Vaughan
                                                                      Cian O'Sullivan
                                                                        Kevin McLoughlin
                                                                          James McCarthy
                                                                            Seamus O'Shea

And if that's not enough in common to compare both of these matches, then I can tell you that both games were refereed by Joe McQuillan.

The main difference of course is that this particular match was an All-Ireland Semi-Final. However, like the game we witnessed on Sunday last, see how the losing team on this occasion had chances to draw level as oppose to being defeated.

Finally, well done Dublin for winning 3 in a row!

Clarke completely saved our blushes that day. Outstanding first 50 but how we almost blew it!

Looking back I really felt the final was a missed chance that year. We probably just didn't have enough up front in Andy's absence. The mcgees gave a young cillian a real lesson

Id seriously have my doubts over Coen but would love to be proven wrong. Very limited impact v Kerry and absolutely anonymous Sunday. I honestly completely forgot he was even playing :(

With regard to mayo, players need to be judged in the big games. Who can come through who would honestly make a difference against Dublin or Kerry?

Yes maybe Loftus but remember how much of a world beater evan Regan was made out to be after doing well for his college at fbd league. Next year is crucial for Loftus I feel.

I've just watched from when he came on in the 55th minute (1-12) to our final score, not going to watch the rest.
                                                                            Coen had a part to play in every score. He also played a lovely ball into Loftus that should/could have amounted to a free or a score. Saying he was anonymous is very harsh. He was involved in driving the team forward.

I did watch on, he gave a poor hand pass to Barrett, that was his only mistake.

If he's being judged against the attacking quality of a Dublin or Kerry bench then that's an unfair comparison on the lad. Minor captain, u21 captain, helped changed the game for us against Clare. For a guy breaking into the team I think there's enough there to say he'll do well.

Gonna brave it out and hopefully watch the game back for the first time tomorrow.

Very harsh the criticism of Conor Loftus who has when given limited game time contributed well this summer.I've no doubt be has the talent to be and have no doubt will be a mainstay of our attack in the not too distant future.

Coen definitely has the pedigree too to establish himself as a regular in the first 15.

Matthew Ruane who is quite the talent must be brought in for both the FBD and league.

I think Fergal Boland has still the potential to establish himself in the senior team with adequate strength and conditioning.

Can the likes of Brian Reape establish themselves,can Liam Irwin with the right attitude and support establish himself?In spite of the great impediment that is his lack of pace.

Matthew Flanagan should be get more game time and David Clarke's likely successor.

Perhaps some more of the under 21s will have what it takes.

Fionan Duffy,James Carr and Akram.

There are others like Michael Hall who will likely be future defenders.

Not too many forwards standing out,can Evan Regan resurrect his inter county career?It has been a very tough summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭12gauge dave

Anyone have any ideas or hunches as to who will be hanging up the boots?
                                                                            I heard months ago that it was for sure keith higgins last year which wouldnt suprise me but i feel he had a good year and still has that crazy speed so he would be able to go on no problem for another 2 years at least imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,374 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

What Mayo could do with next year is a easy run in the Connacht championship.

Get drawn straight into the SF v the likes of Leitrim, Sligo or London.
                                                                            That's usually the game that see the last team make their championship debut.

And then a home final v one of the other two frauds.

Next year hopefully they will have the luxury of the quarter final groups to hone any skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

well besides federer so Muller who beat Nadal this year had his most successful season at 34, wawrinka won a major at 32, anderson just made his first final at 31, there's plenty more recent tennis examples and that's an individual sport.

I just don't get why there seems to be this general attitude that once you hit your 30s you're done. Cavanagh won tyrone an ulster last year, Donaghy had an outstanding year this year, remember tomas o'se bombing down the wing at 35 v dublin in 2013, Mickey lindon played an ulster final at 40! Ok these were great players but arguably much less to prove and far more reason to walk away earlier

I think it is very unfair to compare professional athletes with GAA players who have full time jobs.

There are very few gaelic footballers at the top level now in their mid 30s.

And it isn't just the decreasing stamina, the lack of pace to keep up, it is the fact that these guys no longer can dedicate the time to training that the younger guys can.
                                                                            By the time guys are in their early to mid 30s they are probably married and have young families.
                                                                            Also you find some of the guys are trying to progress career wise and they just no longer have the time.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

Gonna brave it out and hopefully watch the game back for the first time tomorrow.

Very harsh the criticism of Conor Loftus who has when given limited game time contributed well this summer.I've no doubt be has the talent to be and have no doubt will be a mainstay of our attack in the not too distant future.

Coen definitely has the pedigree too to establish himself as a regular in the first 15.

Matthew Ruane who is quite the talent must be brought in for both the FBD and league.

I think Fergal Boland has still the potential to establish himself in the senior team with adequate strength and conditioning.

Can the likes of Brian Reape establish themselves,can Liam Irwin with the right attitude and support establish himself?In spite of the great impediment that is his lack of pace.

Matthew Flanagan should be get more game time and David Clarke's likely successor.

Perhaps some more of the under 21s will have what it takes.

Fionan Duffy,James Carr and Akram.

There are others like Michael Hall who will likely be future defenders.

Not too many forwards standing out,can Evan Regan resurrect his inter county career?It has been a very tough summer.

Rochford (assuming he stays) needs to drop these lads in. He needs to move seasoned players on as they are only stopping the progression of the younger guys into the panel. I am not sure what has happened to Regan but he has a problem with the intensity of a tackle and staying on his feet. He also needs to be more controlled in possession. To me he needs to improve that aspect of his game if he is to force his way back into the team. Loftus/Coen will get better, but he needs to play them in the league for these guys to get better.

• Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭ [Deleted User]

Rochford (assuming he stays) needs to drop these lads in. He needs to move seasoned players on as they are only stopping the progression of the younger guys into the panel. I am not sure what has happened to Regan but he has a problem with the intensity of a tackle and staying on his feet. He also needs to be more controlled in possession. To me he needs to improve that aspect of his game if he is to force his way back into the team. Loftus/Coen will get better, but he needs to play them in the league for these guys to get better.

They need to be playing all the FBD and 4 or 5 of them for each league game.

Rochford (assuming he stays) needs to drop these lads in. He needs to move seasoned players on as they are only stopping the progression of the younger guys into the panel.

What seasoned players would you be moving on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

There isn't many you'd move on in fairness. Maybe Boyle, SOS and one or two more could be used off the bench. They'd be solid lads to bring on after fifty minutes or so. DOC coming on from the bench Sunday shows how important it is to have a bit of proven quality lying in reserve.

Rochford definitely needs to bring a few lads into the fold come January and stick with them in the league. If we don't start blooding new players soon then we will start to decline rapidly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭SeanJ09

Charlie Redmond continuing his one man crusade against Lee Keegan in the herald. Obviously has something against Lee on a a personal level.

Two come to mind that didn't play all year or very little.
                                                                            I am not naming players but I don't see the point of it. You have more to gain from younger guys getting experience and see how they progress especially if the experienced players are not getting game time.

SeanJ09 wrote: »
                                                                            Charlie Redmond continuing his one man crusade against Lee Keegan in the herald. Obviously has something against Lee on a a personal level.

Redmond - He is a first class w*****. He should get an medal for it. He is just pissed cause keegan had kilkenny in his pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Redmond - He is a first class w*****. He should get an medal for it. He is just pissed cause keegan had kilkenny in his pocket.

I bet he misses his 1995 medal though...

---

But Kilkenny has another celtic cross in his pocket. I can't see Charlie being too peeved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

Oldira wrote: »
                                                                            No offence but why would anyone feel sorry for supporters? Of any county? I love supporting my county, love the craic,the camraderie, the looing forward to an away trip etc. We are not toining in the muck and frost of January/February and having no social life...the opposite in fact. By Friday supporters will have moved on to the club champonship etc and will start dreaming again. Coming from Roscommon I have a natural antipathy towards Mayo fans for many reasons. I am sure many in Mayo feel the same way. I feel sorry for a brillant buch of players for not winning but not one ounce of sympathy for their fans. They are having the time of their lives.

Why do people bother with the 'No offence..' disclaimer? Say what you have to say, don't try to mitigate.

I have no antipathy towards the supporters of any county. If you don't have sympathy for supporters, in the same vein, why would you feel antipathy towards any? Ill feeling towards the supporters of any team is so goddamn petty and childish. I grew up near the Roscommon border and the school was fifty fifty Mayo and Roscommon students. There was good-natured slagging back and forth, that was it.

I feel sorry for the most dedicated fans, who put a lot of money and time into supportering their team in the good times and the bad.